DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 9 “so that a thickness decreases s toward a tip direction” should be --so that a thickness decreases toward a tip direction--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sundar (USP 6,322,312).
Regarding claim 1, Sundar discloses a substrate transfer method comprising:
moving a hand (64) of a substrate transfer apparatus (60) to a lower part of a substrate (302);
moving a plunger (90) of the substrate transfer apparatus to increase a pocket size (see column 16 lines 45-49) that is a distance between a substrate contact portion (70) of the hand (64) and the plunger (90) of the substrate transfer apparatus (60);
picking up the substrate (see column 15 lines 14-23); and
moving the plunger (90) to decrease the distance between the substrate contact portion and the plunger of the substrate transfer apparatus (see column 17 lines 8-12) and to a position that the substrate is not gripped (see column 8 lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 2, Sundar discloses the substrate transfer method according to claim 1, further comprising
stopping moving the plunger after moving the plunger of the substrate transfer apparatus to decrease the distance between the substrate contact portion and the plunger (see column 15 lines 41-43).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dogome et al. (USP 11,257,707).
Regarding claim 1, Dogome et al. disclose a substrate transfer method comprising:
moving a hand (20 or 20a) of a substrate transfer apparatus (10) to a lower part of a substrate (W);
moving a plunger (21b or 21b,21c or 21c) of the substrate transfer apparatus to increase a pocket size (see “the reciprocating direction” in column 6 line 11) that is a distance between a substrate contact portion (20b) of the hand (20 or 20a) and the plunger (21b or 21b,21c or 21c) of the substrate transfer apparatus (1);
picking up the substrate (see column 15 lines 14-23); and
moving the plunger (21b or 21b,21c or 21c) to decrease the distance between the substrate contact portion (20b) and the plunger (21b or 21b,21c or 21c) of the substrate transfer apparatus (see column 5 lines 59-67 to column 6 lines 1-4) and to a position that the substrate is not gripped (see column 5 lines 59-65 or column 7 lines 23-26).
Regarding claim 2, Sundar discloses the substrate transfer method according to claim 1, further comprising
stopping moving the plunger after moving the plunger of the substrate transfer apparatus to decrease the distance between the substrate contact portion and the plunger (see column 15 lines 41-43).
Regarding claim 3, Sundar discloses the substrate transfer method according to claim 2, wherein
the plunger movement is stopped at a position (P3) where at least one of the substrate contact portion and the plunger (21c) does not contact the substrate when decreasing the distance between the substrate contact portion and the plunger (see Figure 10A).
Regarding claim 4, Sundar discloses the substrate transfer method according to claim 1, wherein
a contact portion of the plunger in contact with the substrate comprises:
a contact bottom surface (21e) that is a bottom surface in contact with the substrate (see column 8 lines 8-13);
a contact side surface (21d) that is a side surface in contact with the substrate (see Figure 10A); and
a contact boundary surface (21c) connecting the contact bottom surface and the contact side surface (see Figure 5), wherein
the contact bottom surface (21e) is inclined so that a thickness decreases toward a tip direction (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Sundar discloses the substrate transfer method according to claim 4, wherein
the contact boundary surface (21c) is curved (see column 5 line 57).
Regarding claim 6, Dogome et al. disclose a substrate transfer method comprising:
moving a hand (20 or 20a) of a substrate transfer apparatus (10) to a lower part of a substrate (W);
picking up the substrate (see column 15 lines 14-23);
determining if the substrate is placed on the hand (see column 7 lines 43-67);
gripping the substrate when it is determined that the substrate is placed on the hand (see column 8 lines 1-19); and
proceeding to a next process when it is determined that the substrate is placed on the hand (see column 8 lines 43-51).
Regarding claim 7, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer method according to claim 6, further comprising:
moving a plunger of the substrate transfer apparatus to increase a distance between a substrate contact portion of the hand and the plunger, after moving the hand of the substrate transfer apparatus to the lower part of the substrate (see “P3” in Figure 10A to “P1” in Figure 8A or “P2” in Figure 9A).
Regarding claim 8, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer method according to claim 7, further comprising:
moving the plunger of the substrate transfer apparatus to decrease the distance between the substrate contact portion and the plunger (see “P1” in Figure 8A to “P2” in Figure 9A).
Regarding claim 9, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer method according to claim 6, wherein
a contact portion of a plunger (21b) in contact with the substrate comprises:
a contact bottom surface (21e) that is a bottom surface in contact with the substrate (see column 8 lines 8-13);
a contact side surface (21d) that is a side surface in contact with the substrate (see Figure 10A); and
a contact boundary surface (21c) connecting the contact bottom surface and the contact side surface (see Figure 5), wherein the contact bottom surface (21e) is inclined so that a thickness decreases s toward a tip direction (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer method according to claim 9, wherein
the contact boundary surface (21c) is curved (see column 5 line 57).
Regarding claim 11, Dogome et al. disclose a substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
an end effector (see Figure 3) comprising:
a hand (20 or 20a) that comprises a substrate contact portion (20b) and grips a substrate (W); and
a plunger (21b or 21b,21c,21d,21e) that comes into contact with the substrate and aligns the substrate (see column 7 lines 43-67), the plunger (21b or 21b,21c,21d,21e) comprising a contact portion (21d) that comes into contact with the substrate by moving in a direction of the substrate (see “P1” in Figure 8A to “P2” in Figure 9A), wherein the plunger picks up the substrate by increasing a distance between the substrate contact portion and the contact portion (see “P3” in Figure 10A to “P2” in Figure 9A).
Regarding claim 12, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 11, wherein
the plunger decreases the distance between the substrate contact portion and the contact portion after picking up the substrate, and grips the substrate (see column 7 lines 43-67 to column 8 lines 1-19).
Regarding claim 13, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 11, wherein
the end effector further comprises a sensor (24a or 24b or 24a,24b) that detects a placement of the substrate (see column 7 lines 18-21), wherein
the gripping of the substrate is started before completing detection of the placement of the substrate by the sensor (see column 7 lines 47-67).
Regarding claim 14, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 11, wherein
the contact portion of the plunger (21b) in contact with the substrate comprises:
a contact bottom surface (21e) that is a bottom surface in contact with the substrate (see column 8 lines 8-13);
a contact side surface (21d) that is a side surface in contact with the substrate (see Figure 10A); and
a contact boundary surface (21c) connecting the contact bottom surface and the contact side surface (see Figure 5), wherein
the contact bottom surface (21e) is inclined so that a thickness decreases toward a tip direction (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, Dogome et al. disclose the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 14,
wherein the contact boundary surface (21c) is curved (see column 5 line 57).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
10/13/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655