Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to a Final Office Action having a notification date of April 23, 2026 (“Final Office Action”). Following the Final Office Action, Applicant filed the RCE and an amendment on July 13, 2026 (“Amendment”), amending claims 1, 9, and 17.
The present non-final Office Action addresses pending claims 1-20 in the Amendment.
Response to Arguments
Response to Applicant’s Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections Under 35 USC §102/103
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by the Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0358626 to Nicula et al. ("Nicula") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2024/0241094 to Remes et al. (“Remes”):
Regarding claim 1, Nicula discloses a computer implemented method for processing an unlabeled omics feature vector ([0345]-[0346] discloses using a trained autoencoder to determine whether methylation patterns/stages in CpG sites (omics features which are vectors per [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384]; also, [0088]-[0098] discloses various "omics" data) of a test subject correspond to a cancer state; furthermore, the omics features of the test subject are "unlabeled" as [0074], [0196] disclose the test samples are "unknown," hence the reason for using the autoencoder to determine the cancer state of the test subject in the first place), comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of datasets containing omics feature vectors ([0339] discloses obtaining a training dataset including methylation patterns/fragments and corresponding nucleic acid sequences including methylation states of CpG sites (omics feature vectors) per [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384]; for instance, Figure 1 and [0114]-[0115] illustrate/disclose various training data 124-130 for each of a plurality of training subjects 122; therefore, the various training data for each subject is a "dataset containing omics feature vectors" such that there are "a plurality of datasets containing omics feature vectors"; furthermore, processing core 102 in Figure 1 and [0053] disclose processor(s)), …;
preprocessing, by the one or more processors, the plurality of datasets to produce a preprocessed dataset ([0158], [0194], [0198], [0201] discuss performing preprocessing/filtering the training datasets of each of the subjects (which would result in a "preprocessed dataset") before training of the autoencoder), wherein the preprocessing comprises:
removing … technical noise across the plurality of datasets using one or more normalization techniques to produce a corresponding plurality of denoised datasets ([0158], [0167]-[0179] discloses how the filtering (preprocessing as noted above) can include analyzing and removing certain one of the methylation/nucleic acid fragments in the training datasets using various techniques ("normalization techniques") such as when they have less than a threshold sequencing depth, number of CpG sites, number of residues; are duplicates; also, [0194]-[0195] discloses how the preprocessing can include filtering by size, splitting, truncating, padding, etc. (all of which is removing "technical noise"); also, [0181] discloses removing noisy fragments); removal of the "technical noise" would result in "denoised datasets"); and
aggregating the plurality of denoised datasets to generate the preprocessed dataset ([0198] discloses using the preprocessed/filtered fragments 124 ("denoised datasets") to train the autoencoder, where the "denoised datasets" of the subjects collectively represent an aggregated "preprocessed dataset");
training, by the one or more processors, a machine learning model using a subset of preprocessed omics feature vectors labeled as non-anomalous to perform anomaly detection ([0338]-[0340] discloses training an autoencoder using the training dataset (which can previously be preprocessed/filtered as noted above per [0167]-[0181], [0194]-[0195] resulting in the preprocessed dataset as noted above) to detect a cancer state (perform anomaly detection), where the preprocessed training dataset includes methylation patterns/fragments and corresponding nucleic acid sequences including methylation states of CpG sites (omics features) which are vectors per [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384]; furthermore, as the end of [0339] notes how the training subjects have the cancer state which can be the absence of cancer per [0350], then some subset of the preprocessed omics feature vectors are labeled not having cancer (non-anomalous);
providing, by the one or more processors, an unlabeled omics feature vector to the trained machine learning model ([0346] discloses applying the trained autoencoder to a test dataset including methylation/nucleic acid fragments including methylation states of CpG sites (omics features) which are vectors per [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384]; furthermore, the omics feature vectors of the test subject are "unlabeled" as [0074], [0196] disclose how the test samples are "unknown," hence the reason for using the autoencoder to determine the cancer state of the test subject in the first place);
generating, using the trained machine learning model, a low-dimensional latent space representation of the unlabeled omics feature vector ([0206] discloses how the autoencoder encodes a compressed (low-dimensional) latent representation of the test input (the unlabeled omics feature vector));
reconstructing, using the trained machine learning model, the unlabeled omics feature vector from the low-dimensional latent space representation to produce a reconstructed feature vector ([0206], [0346] disclose using the compressed latent representation to reconstruct the unknown test input (reconstructing the unlabeled omics feature vector to produce a "reconstructed feature vector"));
evaluating a reconstruction error between the unlabeled omics feature vector and the reconstructed feature vector against an anomaly threshold to obtain a reconstruction error evaluation ([0346] discloses computing a score based on the reconstruction while [0050] discloses how the score is a loss/error between the reconstructed and inputted fragments (feature vectors) and [0281]-[0284] discloses how the score/loss/error is evaluated against a threshold);
generating a feature label indicating whether the unlabeled omics feature vector is anomalous or non-anomalous based on the reconstruction error evaluation ([0281]-[0283], [0291], [0346] disclose how the fragment is indicative of the cancer state (which can be presence (anomalous) or absence (non-anomalous) of cancer per [0080], [0085], [0342], [0349]-[0350]) based on the evaluation of the score in view of the threshold; furthermore, the output determination of the cancer state by the trained autoencoder (e.g., see end of claim 135) is a generated feature label); and
assigning the feature label to the unlabeled omics feature vector as metadata ([0326]-[0327] discloses how the cancer state determination can be repeated over time for continual cancer monitoring/assessments; accordingly, the feature label would be assigned to the omics feature vector of the test subject at each respective time to allow for such monitoring/assessments (e.g., to allow medical professionals to assess any similarities/differences in the omics feature vectors leading to the cancer state determinations over time); still further, the feature label would be assigned as "metadata" because the feature label is data about data (the later data being the omics feature vectors)).
However, Nicula appears to be silent regarding each dataset of the plurality of datasets being from a different study, each study being associated with a different experimental design or execution.
Nevertheless, Remes teaches ([0078]-[0079], [0117]-[0119]) that it was known in the machine learning and healthcare informatics art to train an ML model (e.g., autoencoder) based on a plurality of datasets of training data (e.g., biological components per [0031]) acquired during multiple different experiments/studies performed under different sets of experiment conditions that are performed under different sets of experiment conditions (different experiment design/executions) to advantageously enable use of the ML model across a wide range of experiment conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each dataset of the plurality of datasets of Nicula to be from a different study, each study being associated with a different experimental design or execution, similar to as taught by Remes to advantageously enable use of the ML model across a wide range of experiment conditions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id. As Nicula already discloses ([0158], [0167]-[0179], [0194], [0198], [0201]) preprocessing/filtering the datasets (which are from different studies associated with different experimental designs/executions per the above combination with Remes) by removing technical noise across the datasets using normalization techniques to produce denoised datasets as discussed above, then the removed technical noise is “inter-study” technical noise.
Regarding claim 2, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including wherein the preprocessing further comprises:
labeling the omics feature vectors in each of the plurality of datasets as anomalous or non-anomalous ([0114] of Nicula discloses how the first training subjects (represented by omics feature vectors per [0339], [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384] as noted previously) have the first cancer state (e.g., healthy/non-cancer/non-anomalous per [0128]) and second training subjects have the second cancer state (e.g., cancer/anomalous per [0128]); in order to distinguish the first and second training subjects, they would necessarily be labeled to indicate the respective first/second cancer state); and
separating the preprocessed dataset into the subset of preprocessed omics feature vectors labeled as non-anomalous ([0158], [0194], [0198], [0201] of Nicula discloses how the first training dataset (labeled as healthy/non-cancer/non-anomalous as noted above) can be filtered/preprocessed which results in a subset of preprocessed omics feature vectors labeled as non-anomalous) and a subset of preprocessed omics feature vectors labeled as anomalous ([0238]-[0239] of Nicula discloses how the second training dataset (labeled as cancer/anomalous as noted above) can be filtered/preprocessed which results in a separate subset of preprocessed omics feature vectors labeled as non-anomalous).
Regarding claim 4, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including wherein the subset of preprocessed omics feature vectors labeled as non-anomalous comprises the set of omics feature vectors across each of the plurality of denoised datasets that are identified to not be associated with a disease, an illness, or adverse health symptoms ([0114] of Nicula discloses how the first training subjects (represented by omics feature vectors per [0339], [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384] as noted previously) and which are denoised per [0158], [0167]-[0179] as discussed previously have the first cancer state (e.g., healthy/non-cancer per [0128]) (not associated with disease/illness/adverse health symptoms).
Regarding claim 6, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including wherein the omics feature vectors comprise gene expression levels or methylation statuses of mRNA, miRNA, methylated DNA, or microbiomes ([0339] of Nicula discloses obtaining a training dataset including methylation fragments/patterns and corresponding nucleic acid sequences including methylation states/statuses of CpG sites (omics features) which are vectors per [0094]-[0095], [0380], [0384]; also, [0045] discloses targeted DNA methylation sequencing, [0093] discloses methylated DNA fragments, and [0096] discloses DNA methylation).
Regarding claim 7, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including wherein the machine learning model is an autoencoder or a convolutional neural network ([0338]-[0340] of Nicula discloses training an autoencoder).
Regarding claim 8, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including wherein the plurality of datasets are public repository datasets or generated datasets ([0137]-[0154] of Nicula discloses performing one or more types of sequencing of biological samples to obtain the methylation/nucleic acid patterns/fragments (the datasets)).
Regarding claim 9, Nicula discloses a system (system 100 in Figure 1), comprising:
one or more memories (memory 111 in Figure 1);
at least one processor (processing core 102 in Figure 1) each coupled to at least one of the memories and configured to perform operations.
The remaining limitations of claim 9 are disclosed by the Nicula/Remes combination as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Claims 10, 12, and 14-16 are rejected in view of the Nicula/Remes combination as respectively discussed above in relation to claims 2, 4, and 6-8.
Claims 17, 18, and 20 are rejected in view of the Nicula/Remes combination as respectively discussed above in relation to claims 9, 10, and 12.
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0358626 to Nicula et al. ("Nicula") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0257047 to Zhu et al. ("Zhu"):
Regarding claim 3, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including wherein the preprocessing further comprises:
…using principal component analysis (the end of [0105] of Nicula discloses obtaining principal components of the training dataset which would necessarily involve use of PCA).
However, the Nicula/Remes combination appears to be silent regarding use of such PCA confirms that the technical noise across the plurality of datasets has been removed.
Nevertheless, Zhu teaches ([0421]-[0423]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to utilize PCA to remove noise from patient samples (including omics data per [0024]) to effectively improve normalization thereby increasing the accuracy of downstream analyses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the PCA of the Nicula/Remes combination to confirm that the technical noise across the datasets has been removed similar to as taught by Zhu to effectively improve normalization thereby increasing the accuracy of downstream analyses. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected in view of the Nicula/Remes/Zhu combination as discussed above in relation to claim 3.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0358626 to Nicula et al. ("Nicula") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2025/0022542 to Poole et al. ("Poole"):
Regarding claim 5, the Nicula/Remes combination discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1 but appears to be silent regarding wherein the one or more normalization techniques comprise quantile normalization, surrogate variable estimation, or z-score normalization, or combinations thereof.
Nevertheless, Poole teaches ([0074]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to Z-score normalize omics data to facilitate determination of overexpression and underexpression of biomolecules thereby improving downstream analyses such as colon cancer screening and the like ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the one or more normalization techniques of the Nicula/Remes combination to include z-score normalization similar to as taught by Poole to advantageously facilitate determination of overexpression and underexpression of biomolecules thereby improving downstream analyses such as colon cancer screening and the like. person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 13 is rejected in view of the Nicula/Remes/Poole combination as discussed above in relation to claim 5.
Conclusion
/JONATHON A. SZUMNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686