DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US Pub. No. 2016/0293742 A1).
As to claim 1, Watanabe discloses a semiconductor device (fig 2, device 1) comprising:
a support substrate (fig 2, 2);
a bonding layer (3) including a first metal region (13/14; [0036]) on at least a portion of an upper surface of the support substrate (2);
an underlying layer (25) on the bonding layer (3), the underlying layer (25) including a sub-collector region (25; [0038]) including a conductive semiconductor material ([0038]) and electrically connected to the first metal region (13);
a first transistor ([0033]) on the sub-collector region (25), the first transistor including a collector layer (26) electrically connected to the sub-collector region (25), a base layer (22) on the collector layer (25), and an emitter layer (23) on the base layer (22); and
a collector electrode (5) on the sub-collector region (25), the collector electrode (5) being outward of the first transistor to overlap the first metal region in plan view (metal region 13/14), and the collector electrode (5) being electrically connected to the sub-collector region (25).
As to claim 2, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first metal region includes at least one metal selected from the group consisting of Au, Ag, Pt, Cu, Al, W, Ti, and Ta ([0056]).
As to claim 3, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first metal region (13/14) includes a first lower metal region (13) closer to the support substrate (2) and a first upper metal region (14) closer to the underlying layer (25), and the first lower metal region and the first upper metal region are adhered to each other ([0056]).
As to claim 4, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the support substrate (2) includes a semiconductor material ([0034]) having a thermal conductivity higher than a thermal conductivity of a semiconductor material that configures the collector layer, the base layer, and the emitter layer of the first transistor and a thermal conductivity of the semiconductor material that configures the sub-collector region ([0034]).
As to claim 5, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the bonding layer further includes at least one second metal region electrically isolated from the first metal region (fig 22B, bonding layer 3 including first metal region corresponding to stack 4 and one second metal region corresponding to 91).
As to claim 7, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 5 (paragraphs above),
an insulating region (8A) between the first metal region (region corresponding to stack 4) and the second metal region (region corresponding to 91) in plan view, the insulating region including an oxide or a nitride ([0087]).
As to claim 8, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 5 (paragraphs above),
wherein a void is between the first metal region and the second metal region in plan view (fig 22A, void between first and second metal regions).
As to claim 9, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first metal region (13/14) includes a first lower metal region (13) closer to the support substrate (2) and a first upper metal region (14) closer to the underlying layer (25), and the first lower metal region and the first upper metal region are adhered to each other ([0056]).
As to claim 10, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the support substrate (2) includes a semiconductor material ([0034]) having a thermal conductivity higher than a thermal conductivity of a semiconductor material that configures the collector layer, the base layer, and the emitter layer of the first transistor and a thermal conductivity of the semiconductor material that configures the sub-collector region ([0034]).
As to claim 11, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 3 (paragraphs above),
wherein the support substrate (2) includes a semiconductor material ([0034]) having a thermal conductivity higher than a thermal conductivity of a semiconductor material that configures the collector layer, the base layer, and the emitter layer of the first transistor and a thermal conductivity of the semiconductor material that configures the sub-collector region ([0034]).
As to claim 12, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 9 (paragraphs above),
wherein the support substrate (2) includes a semiconductor material ([0034]) having a thermal conductivity higher than a thermal conductivity of a semiconductor material that configures the collector layer, the base layer, and the emitter layer of the first transistor and a thermal conductivity of the semiconductor material that configures the sub-collector region ([0034]).
As to claim 13, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the bonding layer further includes at least one second metal region electrically isolated from the first metal region (fig 22B, bonding layer 3 including first metal region corresponding to stack 4 and one second metal region corresponding to 91).
As to claim 14, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 3 (paragraphs above),
wherein the bonding layer further includes at least one second metal region electrically isolated from the first metal region (fig 22B, bonding layer 3 including first metal region corresponding to stack 4 and one second metal region corresponding to 91).
As to claim 15, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 4 (paragraphs above),
wherein the bonding layer further includes at least one second metal region electrically isolated from the first metal region (fig 22B, bonding layer 3 including first metal region corresponding to stack 4 and one second metal region corresponding to 91).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Umemoto et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0098585 A1), hereafter referred to as Umemoto.
As to claim 6, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 5 (paragraphs above).
wherein the underlying layer further includes an insulating element isolation region (8A) outward of the sub-collector region (25) in plan view.
However, Watanabe does not disclose the semiconductor device further comprises:
a passive element on an element isolation region and not overlapping the first metal region or the second metal region in plan view.
Nonetheless, Umemoto discloses a semiconductor device (figs 3-4; [0056]) comprising a similar HBT (30; [0058]) and a passive element (65; [0060]) on an element isolation region (22; [0043]) and not overlapping a sub-collector region (21; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the passive element over an element isolation region in the semiconductor device of Watanabe as taught by Umemoto since this will improve the integrated circuit performance of the semiconductor device as incorporated in an amplifier circuit.
As to claim 16, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above).
wherein the underlying layer further includes an insulating element isolation region (8A) outward of the sub-collector region (25) in plan view.
However, Watanabe does not disclose the semiconductor device further comprises:
a passive element on an element isolation region and not overlapping the first metal region or the second metal region in plan view.
Nonetheless, Umemoto discloses a semiconductor device (figs 3-4; [0056]) comprising a similar HBT (30; [0058]) and a passive element (65; [0060]) on an element isolation region (22; [0043]) and not overlapping a sub-collector region (21; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the passive element over an element isolation region in the semiconductor device of Watanabe as taught by Umemoto since this will improve the integrated circuit performance of the semiconductor device as incorporated in an amplifier circuit.
As to claim 17, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 14 (paragraphs above).
wherein the underlying layer further includes an insulating element isolation region (8A) outward of the sub-collector region (25) in plan view.
However, Watanabe does not disclose the semiconductor device further comprises:
a passive element on an element isolation region and not overlapping the first metal region or the second metal region in plan view.
Nonetheless, Umemoto discloses a semiconductor device (figs 3-4; [0056]) comprising a similar HBT (30; [0058]) and a passive element (65; [0060]) on an element isolation region (22; [0043]) and not overlapping a sub-collector region (21; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the passive element over an element isolation region in the semiconductor device of Watanabe as taught by Umemoto since this will improve the integrated circuit performance of the semiconductor device as incorporated in an amplifier circuit.
As to claim 18, Watanabe discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 15 (paragraphs above).
wherein the underlying layer further includes an insulating element isolation region (8A) outward of the sub-collector region (25) in plan view.
However, Watanabe does not disclose the semiconductor device further comprises:
a passive element on an element isolation region and not overlapping the first metal region or the second metal region in plan view.
Nonetheless, Umemoto discloses a semiconductor device (figs 3-4; [0056]) comprising a similar HBT (30; [0058]) and a passive element (65; [0060]) on an element isolation region (22; [0043]) and not overlapping a sub-collector region (21; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the passive element over an element isolation region in the semiconductor device of Watanabe as taught by Umemoto since this will improve the integrated circuit performance of the semiconductor device as incorporated in an amplifier circuit.
As to claim 19, Watanabe in view of Umemoto disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 6 (paragraphs above).
Watanabe further discloses an insulating region (8A) between the first metal region (region corresponding to stack 4) and the second metal region (region corresponding to 91) in plan view, the insulating region including an oxide or a nitride ([0087]).
As to claim 20, Watanabe in view of Umemoto disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 6 (paragraphs above).
Watanabe further discloses wherein a void is between the first metal region and the second metal region in plan view (fig 22A, void between first and second metal regions).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2010/0187571 A1 and US Pub. No. 2019/0326191A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 9/24/2026