DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blanchard (US 9,169,061 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Blanchard discloses an industrial containment bag designed for containing bulk materials (Abstract), said containment bag comprising a top portion, a bottom portion laterally spaced below said top portion, and side portions positioned between and perpendicular to said top and bottom portions, said side portions interconnecting with said top portion at the containment bag’s top perimeter edge, and said side portions interconnecting with said bottom portion at the containment bag’s bottom perimeter edge (Fig. 5), said industrial containment bag comprising, (a) a closeable opening positioned on said top portion (at 36, or 30), (b) a closure system (30) configured to seal said closable opening in a closed position, and (c) a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on said closure system when said containment bag that contains bulk materials is lifted (20/50).
Regarding claim 4, Blanchard discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the outside wall surfaces of said bag (50).
Regarding claim 5-6, Blanchard discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces has a belt-securing configuration of flap securing configuration comprising a series of individual strap systems, or considered to be thin flaps (50) wherein at least one of which can (a) cross over a portion of said closure system, (b) be pulled to reduce the torsional forces that will be exerted on the bag’s closure system when said bag is filled and subsequently lifted, transported, stored or disposed, and (c) be secured in this torsional force-reducing position (50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7-8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard (US 9,169,061 B2) in view of Nelson (US 2019/0375572 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Blanchard does not specifically disclose a means for visually inspecting the inside of said containment bag.
Nelson teaches the ability to have a bulk bag including an inspection opening allowing for visually inspecting the inside of the bag (Paragraph 0057) separate from a main opening or closing system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Blanchard and include a separate slit opening that is usable to inspect the interior of the bag in order to allow a user to check on the contends of the bag as suggested by Nelson.
Regarding claim 7-8, Blanchard discloses an industrial containment bag designed for containing bulk materials (Abstract), said containment bag comprising a top portion, a bottom portion laterally spaced below said top portion, and side portions positioned between and perpendicular to said top and bottom portions, said side portions interconnecting with said top portion at the containment bag’s top perimeter edge, and said side portions interconnecting with said bottom portion at the containment bag’s bottom perimeter edge (Fig. 5), said industrial containment bag comprising, (a) a closeable opening positioned on said top portion (at 36, or 30), (b) a closure system (30) configured to seal said closable opening in a closed position, and (c) a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on said closure system when said containment bag that contains bulk materials is lifted (20/50).
Blanchard does not specifically disclose a means for visually inspecting the inside of said containment bag.
Nelson teaches the ability to have a bulk bag including an inspection opening allowing for visually inspecting the inside of the bag (Paragraph 0057) separate from a main opening or closing system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Blanchard and include a separate slit opening that is usable to inspect the interior of the bag in order to allow a user to check on the contends of the bag as suggested by Nelson.
Regarding claim 10, Blanchard discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the outside wall surfaces of said bag (50).
Regarding claim 11-12, Blanchard discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces has a belt-securing configuration of flap securing configuration comprising a series of individual strap systems, or considered to be thin flaps (50) wherein at least one of which can (a) cross over a portion of said closure system, (b) be pulled to reduce the torsional forces that will be exerted on the bag’s closure system when said bag is filled and subsequently lifted, transported, stored or disposed, and (c) be secured in this torsional force-reducing position (50).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard (US 9,169,061 B2) in view of Polett et al. (US 5,316,387 A).
Regarding claim 3, Blanchard does not specifically disclose said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the inside wall surfaces of said bag.
Polett teaches the ability to have a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on the containment bag’s closure system when the containment bag is at least partially filled attached to an inside wall surface of the bag (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Blanchard and use the teaching of Polett thereby including additional structural reinforcement thereby reducing the changes that the bag will fail structurally.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard (US 9,169,061 B2) in view of Nelson (US 2019/0375572 A1) as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Polett et al. (US 5,316,387 A).
Regarding claim 9, modified Blanchard does not specifically disclose said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the inside wall surfaces of said bag.
Polett teaches the ability to have a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on the containment bag’s closure system when the containment bag is at least partially filled attached to an inside wall surface of the bag (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Blanchard and use the teaching of Polett thereby including additional structural reinforcement thereby reducing the changes that the bag will fail structurally.
Claims 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strickland et al. (US 8,562,212 B1)(Strickland) in view of Buell (US 2014/0254956 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Strickland discloses an industrial containment bag (Fig. 10) designed for containing bulk materials, said containment bag comprising a top portion, a bottom portion laterally spaced below said top portion, and side portions positioned between, and perpendicular to, said top and bottom portions (Fig. 10) at the containment bag’s bottom perimeter edge, said industrial containment bag comprising, a closeable opening (via 1070) positioned on said top portion, a closure system which, when in its closed position, is centrally-positioned on said top portion and forms two-opposing triangular-shaped folds (1060A/1060B), and a means for securing the folded triangular shaped folds proximal to the top of the bag and over the closed opening (2000).
Strickland does not specifically disclose a means for independently securing each of the two-opposing triangular-shaped folds to said top portion.
Buell teaches the ability to have a bag including a closure system including triangular shaped end portions that each independently include securing means to secure the triangular shaped end portions to the outside surface of the bag (Figs. 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the device of Strickland and replace the coupling strap (2000) with independently securing means to attach the triangular shaped folds to the top of the package because such a change would allow the portions to be secured in a fully closed position or detached separately thereby allowing a user to open only a portion of the opening system while maintaining some degree of structural stability.
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strickland et al. (US 8,562,212 B1)(Strickland) in view of Buell (US 2014/0254956 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Polett et al. (US 5,316,387 A).
Regarding claim 14, Strickland does not specifically disclose a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on said containment bag's closure system, after, said containment bag is at least partially-filled with a bulk material, and said at least partially-filled containment bag's closure system is closed.
Polett teaches the ability to have a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on the containment bag’s closure system when the containment bag is at least partially filled (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Strickland and use the teaching of Polett thereby including additional structural reinforcement thereby reducing the changes that the bag will fail structurally.
Regarding claim 15, modified Strickland discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces is attached to the inside wall surface of said bag (Polett, 36).
Claims 14 and 16-18 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strickland et al. (US 8,562,212 B1)(Strickland) in view of Buell (US 2014/0254956 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Blanchard et al. (US 9,169,061 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Strickland does not specifically disclose a means for reducing the torsional forces exerted on said containment bag's closure system, after, said containment bag is at least partially-filled with a bulk material, and said at least partially-filled containment bag's closure system is closed.
Blanchard teaches the ability to have a means (50, Figs. 12-13) for reducing torsional forces exerted on a bags closure system (30) when the closure system is closed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Strickland and use the teaching of Blanchard thereby including additional structural reinforcement thereby reducing the changes that the bag will fail structurally.
Regarding claim 16, Blanchard discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the outside wall surfaces of said bag (50).
Regarding claim 17-18, Blanchard discloses said means for reducing the torsional forces has a belt-securing configuration of flap securing configuration comprising a series of individual strap systems, or considered to be thin flaps (50) wherein at least one of which can (a) cross over a portion of said closure system, (b) be pulled to reduce the torsional forces that will be exerted on the bag’s closure system when said bag is filled and subsequently lifted, transported, stored or disposed, and (c) be secured in this torsional force-reducing position (50, Figs. 12-13).
Double Patenting
It is acknowledged that a restriction and election was made in the parent application 16/840,369. It is noted that the claims in the present application are considered to be generic to the different species as set forth in the restriction, or appear to read on the elected species.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claim 3.
Claims 7-8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claims 7-8.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 19 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9, 19 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
Claims 13-14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claims 13-14.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 teaches all of the limitations of claim 15.
Claims 4-6 and 16-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 in view of Blanchard (US 9,169,061 B2).
Regarding claims 4-6 and 16-18, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 does not specifically disclose said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the outside wall surfaces of said bag said means for reducing the torsional forces has a belt-securing or flap securing configuration comprising a series of individual strap systems or flaps wherein at least one of which can (a) cross over a portion of said closure system, (b) be pulled to reduce the torsional forces that will be exerted on the bag’s closure system when said bag is filled and subsequently lifted, transported, stored or disposed, and (c) be secured in this torsional force-reducing position.
Blanchard teaches the ability to have a means (50, Fig. 12-13) for reducing torsional forces exerted on a bags closure system (30) when the closure system is closed including a series of strap systems, or flap systems, to the degree that portions 50 are considered thin flaps.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the device of claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 and use the teaching of Blanchard and include a system of straps/flaps attached to an outside surface thereby including additional structural reinforcement thereby reducing the changes that the bag will fail structurally.
Claims 10-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 in view of Blanchard (US 9,169,061 B2).
Regarding claims 10-12, claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 does not specifically disclose said means for reducing the torsional forces are attached to the outside wall surfaces of said bag said means for reducing the torsional forces has a belt-securing or flap securing configuration comprising a series of individual strap systems or flaps wherein at least one of which can (a) cross over a portion of said closure system, (b) be pulled to reduce the torsional forces that will be exerted on the bag’s closure system when said bag is filled and subsequently lifted, transported, stored or disposed, and (c) be secured in this torsional force-reducing position.
Blanchard teaches the ability to have a means (50, Fig. 12-13) for reducing torsional forces exerted on a bags closure system (30) when the closure system is closed including a series of strap systems, or flap systems, to the degree that portions 50 are considered thin flaps.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the device of claims 9 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,194 and use the teaching of Blanchard and include a system of straps/flaps attached to an outside surface thereby including additional structural reinforcement thereby reducing the changes that the bag will fail structurally.
Conclusion
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734