DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on August 17, 2026 Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/7/2024, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed August 17th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/17/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101, the examiner agrees and has withdrawn the rejection. As stated by the applicant, the claims are directed toward an improvement in the technology reducing GPU workload, rendering duration, and increasing frame rate without reducing image quality. Section 2106.05(a) of the MPEP states that improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field is an integration of the invention into a practical application. The claimed invention is drawn to improvements in rendering of computer graphics, and therefore is an improvement in the technical field of computer image/graphics rendering.
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicant’s arguments are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chunlei (CN 105069834 A), in view of Kaburlasos et al. (US 2015/0035853 A1), in view of Brown (US 2014/0354664 A1), in view of Holland et al. (US 2019/0341007 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chunlei discloses an image rendering method performed by a computer device ([0052] The present application discloses a game image rendering method, [0089] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that embodiments of the present application can be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product), the method comprising:
determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object based on a local game event generated by the computer device or a remote game event transmitted by a server ([0023] a target element module, configured to determine a current logical scene, and compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element (target game object) that changes a position (local game event) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element, [0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program… The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements in the logical scene, [0075] The target element module 601 is configured to determine a current logical scene, compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element that changes a position (changes in a next frame of the game screen) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element);
determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object ([0077] The determination rectangle module 602 is configured to retrieve an image frame corresponding to the old logic scene as an old image frame; and determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position (change parameter) of the target element (target game object), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area);
re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] And re-rendering the area covered by the determination rectangle in the old image frame according to the current logic scenario, obtaining a current image frame, and displaying the current image frame, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined, [0083] The image generating module 603 is configured to re-render the area covered by the determination rectangle (re-rendering the first region) in the old image frame according to the current logic scene, obtain a current image frame, and display the current image frame); and
splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame ([0052] In the process of rendering an image frame, the method only erases and re-renders a partial region (splicing the first updated region) of the current image frame that changes with respect to the old image frame without performing full redrawing, [0071] the process of rendering an image frame. Rendering is repeated in a loop as described above to produce and display a large number of consecutive image frames).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position; determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Kaburlasos teaches dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions ([0010] frames are broken up into tiles (regions) that are rendered separately, [0063] splitting a frame into tiles, [0065] a graphics processing unit comprising a processor to split a frame into tiles).
However, Kaburlasos is not relied upon teaching each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position; determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Brown teaches each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen ([0030]-[0031] Each frame sub-region should represent a different part (sub-region) of the frame, such as a plurality of data positions within the frame);
recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system ([0031] Suitable sub-region sizes would be, e.g., 8×8, 16×16 or 32×32 data positions in the frame (as is known in the art, each frame will essentially be generated as an array of data (e.g. colour) values, each representing a respective position in the frame), [0094] The driver 12 then uses that dirty region information to determine which tiles in the frame to be rendered by the graphics processor 13 have changed from the frame previously stored in the frame buffer 2);
including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position ([0041] thus should be rendered will accordingly in an embodiment comprise converting a screen-space area indication of changed parts of a frame (such as the screen-space dirty rectangles determined, e.g. by the compositor), to sub-region indications within the frame).
However, Brown is not relied upon teaching determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Holland teaches determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0028] For example, the electronic device may determine a differing region of image data that has changed from the previous frame… In one embodiment, if the amount of changed image data is greater than a threshold, a partial frame update may be precluded, [0058] The controller 42 may determine if a partial scaling region 86 or the full source image is to be fetched based on multiple factors exampled by flowchart 88 in FIG. 10… If the partial frame update is precluded (decision block 92), a scene change is detected (decision block 94), or an environmental change is detected (decision block 96), then a full source image may be fetched (process block 98), [0059] If the difference between the current source image and the subsequent source image is greater than a threshold (decision block 108), partial frame update is precluded (process block 110)).
Chunlei and Kaburlasos are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, further including dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, as taught by Kaburlasos for the purpose of re-rendering only the parts of the screen where a change is detected (Kaburlasos, [0063]-[0065]).
Chunlei and Brown are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, further including each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position, as taught by Brown for the purpose of allowing only “updated” regions of the frame to be rendered instead of the entire frame, thereby saving power and increasing performance. (Brown, [0029]).
Chunlei and Holland are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of reducing rendering workload spent on unchanged areas of a frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, further including determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, as taught by Holland for the purpose of facilitating reducing power consumption and/or other system resources such as memory access and/or processing bandwidth (Holland, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining a first candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen, each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object before the change (Fig. 2 Bottom Left Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a first candidate region carrying the game object before the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle);
determining a second candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on the display position and the change parameter of the target game object, each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object after the change (Fig. 2 Top right Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a second candidate region carrying the game object after the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle); and
determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set, and determining the second region based on a region in the game screen other than the first region (Fig. 2 Dotted Rectangle – Game Screen, [0018] A decision rectangle is delineated on the old image frame for each target element in the current logical scene position and the old logical scene position).
Regarding Claim 3, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each candidate region comprised in any candidate region set of the first candidate region set and the second candidate region set as the first region ([0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes.
Kaburlasos teaches when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes ([0027] However if a change is detected in the tile that is currently considered to be non-changing (change parameter of the target game object represents neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes), then the tile is marked as changing so that it can be fully rendered on the following frame, [0063] fully rendering the tile if the pixel change is detected… detecting a pixel change of any extent).
Regarding Claim 4, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set and each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set as the first region when the change parameter of the target game object represents that the display position of the target game object changes ([0060] the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (display position of target game object) in the current logical scene (second candidate region) and the position in the old logical scene (first candidate region), and the area is the smallest (comparing current and old scenes indicates position of the game object has changed), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area).
Regarding Claim 5, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set as the first region if the display size of the target game object becomes smaller ([0060] In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle (first candidate region) should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (target game object) in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest (if size of target game object becomes smaller)).
Regarding Claim 8, Chunlei discloses wherein the method further comprises:
determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions as a target proportion ([0062] If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles, which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion));
the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0062] When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion)); and
the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold ([0062] Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen; performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region.
Kaburlasos teaches re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen ([0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame, [0063] detecting tiles with pixels that change by an amount above a threshold);
performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] The comparison of two tiles may determine if the tiles are exactly the same or whether differences between the two tiles are limited to a magnitude under a predetermined threshold in which case there is a slow change from one tile to another, [0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame).
Regarding Claim 9, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing wherein the method further comprises: re-rendering, when a scenario corresponding to the game screen is not a preset target scene, the display content of the game screen, to obtain the updated game screen; and performing, when the scene corresponding to the game screen is the preset target scene, the operation of determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a first region and a second region in a plurality of regions comprised in the game screen.
Kaburlasos teaches re-rendering, when a scenario corresponding to the game screen is not a preset target scene, the display content of the game screen, to obtain the updated game screen ([0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering display content of the game screen) starting with the following frame in one embodiment); and
performing, when the scene corresponding to the game screen is the preset target scene, the operation of determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a first region and a second region in a plurality of regions comprised in the game screen ([0036] Then more slowly changing tiles (below the threshold) may take advantage of the fact that they include a smaller degree of change and may be fully rendered at a slower rate relative to the baseline frame rate, since it is typically the fast changing geometries that benefit most from the higher render rate).
Regarding Claim 11, Chunlei discloses a computer device comprising a processor and a memory ([0048] For game programs, to use the image frame to form a dynamic game image, you must rely on CPU, GPU and memory hardware to calculate and render frame by frame);
the memory being configured to store a computer program; and the processor being configured to perform, based on the computer program, an image rendering method including ([0089] Moreover, the application can take the form of a computer program product embodied on one or more computer-usable storage media (including but not limited to disk storage, CD-ROM, optical storage, etc.) including computer usable program code):
determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object based on a local game event generated by the computer device or a remote game event transmitted by a server ([0023] a target element module, configured to determine a current logical scene, and compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element (target game object) that changes a position of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element, [0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program… The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements in the logical scene, [0075] The target element module 601 is configured to determine a current logical scene, compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element that changes a position (changes in a next frame of the game screen) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element);
determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object ([0077] The determination rectangle module 602 is configured to retrieve an image frame corresponding to the old logic scene as an old image frame; and determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position (change parameter) of the target element (target game object), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area);
re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] And re-rendering the area covered by the determination rectangle in the old image frame according to the current logic scenario, obtaining a current image frame, and displaying the current image frame, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined, [0083] The image generating module 603 is configured to re-render the area covered by the determination rectangle (re-rendering the first region) in the old image frame according to the current logic scene, obtain a current image frame, and display the current image frame); and
splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame ([0052] In the process of rendering an image frame, the method only erases and re-renders a partial region (splicing the first updated region) of the current image frame that changes with respect to the old image frame without performing full redrawing, [0071] the process of rendering an image frame. Rendering is repeated in a loop as described above to produce and display a large number of consecutive image frames).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position; and determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold
Kaburlasos teaches dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions ([0010] frames are broken up into tiles (regions) that are rendered separately, [0063] splitting a frame into tiles, [0065] a graphics processing unit comprising a processor to split a frame into tiles).
However, Kaburlasos is not relied upon teaching each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position; determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Brown teaches each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen ([0030]-[0031] Each frame sub-region should represent a different part (sub-region) of the frame, such as a plurality of data positions within the frame);
recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system ([0031] Suitable sub-region sizes would be, e.g., 8×8, 16×16 or 32×32 data positions in the frame (as is known in the art, each frame will essentially be generated as an array of data (e.g. colour) values, each representing a respective position in the frame), [0094] The driver 12 then uses that dirty region information to determine which tiles in the frame to be rendered by the graphics processor 13 have changed from the frame previously stored in the frame buffer 2);
including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position ([0041] thus should be rendered will accordingly in an embodiment comprise converting a screen-space area indication of changed parts of a frame (such as the screen-space dirty rectangles determined, e.g. by the compositor), to sub-region indications within the frame).
However, Brown is not relied upon teaching determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Holland teaches determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0028] For example, the electronic device may determine a differing region of image data that has changed from the previous frame… In one embodiment, if the amount of changed image data is greater than a threshold, a partial frame update may be precluded, [0058] The controller 42 may determine if a partial scaling region 86 or the full source image is to be fetched based on multiple factors exampled by flowchart 88 in FIG. 10… If the partial frame update is precluded (decision block 92), a scene change is detected (decision block 94), or an environmental change is detected (decision block 96), then a full source image may be fetched (process block 98), [0059] If the difference between the current source image and the subsequent source image is greater than a threshold (decision block 108), partial frame update is precluded (process block 110)).
Regarding Claim 12, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining a first candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen, each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object before the change (Fig. 2 Bottom Left Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a first candidate region carrying the game object before the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle);
determining a second candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on the display position and the change parameter of the target game object, each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object after the change (Fig. 2 Top right Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a second candidate region carrying the game object after the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle); and
determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set, and determining the second region based on a region in the game screen other than the first region (Fig. 2 Dotted Rectangle – Game Screen, [0018] A decision rectangle is delineated on the old image frame for each target element in the current logical scene position and the old logical scene position).
Regarding Claim 13, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each candidate region comprised in any candidate region set of the first candidate region set and the second candidate region set as the first region when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes ([0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes.
Kaburlasos teaches when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes ([0027] However if a change is detected in the tile that is currently considered to be non-changing (change parameter of the target game object represents neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes), then the tile is marked as changing so that it can be fully rendered on the following frame, [0063] fully rendering the tile if the pixel change is detected… detecting a pixel change of any extent).
Regarding Claim 14, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set and each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set as the first region when the change parameter of the target game object represents that the display position of the target game object changes ([0060] the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (display position of target game object) in the current logical scene (second candidate region) and the position in the old logical scene (first candidate region), and the area is the smallest (comparing current and old scenes indicates position of the game object has changed), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area).
Regarding Claim 15, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set as the first region if the display size of the target game object becomes smaller ([0060] In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle (first candidate region) should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (target game object) in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest (if size of target game object becomes smaller)).
Regarding Claim 18, Chunlei discloses wherein the method further comprises:
determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions as a target proportion ([0062] If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles, which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion));
the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0062] When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion)); and
the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold ([0062] Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen; and performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region.
Kaburlasos teaches re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen ([0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame, [0063] detecting tiles with pixels that change by an amount above a threshold);
performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] The comparison of two tiles may determine if the tiles are exactly the same or whether differences between the two tiles are limited to a magnitude under a predetermined threshold in which case there is a slow change from one tile to another, [0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame).
Regarding Claim 20, Chunlei discloses a computer program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, being configured to cause the computer device to perform an image rendering method including ([0052] The present application discloses a game image rendering method, [0089] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that embodiments of the present application can be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product… Moreover, the application can take the form of a computer program product embodied on one or more computer-usable storage media (including but not limited to disk storage, CD-ROM, optical storage, etc.) including computer usable program code):
determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object based on a local game event generated by the computer device or a remote game event transmitted by a server ([0023] a target element module, configured to determine a current logical scene, and compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element (target game object) that changes a position (local game event) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element, [0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program… The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements in the logical scene, [0075] The target element module 601 is configured to determine a current logical scene, compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element that changes a position (changes in a next frame of the game screen) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element);
determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object ([0077] The determination rectangle module 602 is configured to retrieve an image frame corresponding to the old logic scene as an old image frame; and determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position (change parameter) of the target element (target game object), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area), including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position;
re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] And re-rendering the area covered by the determination rectangle in the old image frame according to the current logic scenario, obtaining a current image frame, and displaying the current image frame, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined, [0083] The image generating module 603 is configured to re-render the area covered by the determination rectangle (re-rendering the first region) in the old image frame according to the current logic scene, obtain a current image frame, and display the current image frame); and
splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame ([0052] In the process of rendering an image frame, the method only erases and re-renders a partial region (splicing the first updated region) of the current image frame that changes with respect to the old image frame without performing full redrawing, [0071] the process of rendering an image frame. Rendering is repeated in a loop as described above to produce and display a large number of consecutive image frames).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position; determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Kaburlasos teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program ([0064] Another example embodiment may be one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions to enable a processor to perform a sequence comprising splitting a frame into tiles); and
dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions ([0010] frames are broken up into tiles (regions) that are rendered separately, [0063] splitting a frame into tiles, [0065] a graphics processing unit comprising a processor to split a frame into tiles).
However, Kaburlasos is not relied upon teaching each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen; recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system; including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position; determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Brown teaches each region carrying display content of a different area of the game screen ([0030]-[0031] Each frame sub-region should represent a different part (sub-region) of the frame, such as a plurality of data positions within the frame);
recording, for each region included in the game screen, a coordinate range corresponding to the region in a screen coordinate system ([0031] Suitable sub-region sizes would be, e.g., 8×8, 16×16 or 32×32 data positions in the frame (as is known in the art, each frame will essentially be generated as an array of data (e.g. colour) values, each representing a respective position in the frame), [0094] The driver 12 then uses that dirty region information to determine which tiles in the frame to be rendered by the graphics processor 13 have changed from the frame previously stored in the frame buffer 2);
including determining a display position of the target game object in an updated game screen displayed in the next frame based on the change parameter and determining the first region as the region whose coordinate range intersects the display position ([0041] thus should be rendered will accordingly in an embodiment comprise converting a screen-space area indication of changed parts of a frame (such as the screen-space dirty rectangles determined, e.g. by the compositor), to sub-region indications within the frame).
However, Brown is not relied upon teaching determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold.
Holland teaches determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions and re- rendering the display content of the entire game screen when the proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0028] For example, the electronic device may determine a differing region of image data that has changed from the previous frame… In one embodiment, if the amount of changed image data is greater than a threshold, a partial frame update may be precluded, [0058] The controller 42 may determine if a partial scaling region 86 or the full source image is to be fetched based on multiple factors exampled by flowchart 88 in FIG. 10… If the partial frame update is precluded (decision block 92), a scene change is detected (decision block 94), or an environmental change is detected (decision block 96), then a full source image may be fetched (process block 98), [0059] If the difference between the current source image and the subsequent source image is greater than a threshold (decision block 108), partial frame update is precluded (process block 110)).
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chunlei (CN 105069834 A), in view of Kaburlasos et al. (US 2015/0035853 A1), in view of Brown (US 2014/0354664 A1), in view of Holland et al. (US 2019/0341007 A1), and in further view of Volotinen et al. (US 2014/0125686 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen; and determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen.
Volotinen teaches when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen (Fig. 2 Elements 100-112 – Image Rendering Method, [0016] comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change (including appearance or lack thereof) in an object in the image frames, with each image frame being defined by a scene graph and each object having an associated geometric bounding volume, [0091] Thereafter, and with reference now to FIG. 2, an image rendering method 100 is shown comprising the step of comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change in an object in the image frames, as indicated by block 102, [0093] If a dynamic change in an object is detected, the object’s geometric bounding volume is rendered to a stencil buffer (determining position of appearance for target game object in next frame, indicated by rendering of the image following the diagram of Fig. 2) for each dynamically changed object, as indicated by block 104); and
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen ([0092] each object in a scene graph has an associated transformation matrix, with the step 102 of detecting a change in an image in the image frames comprising detecting whether an objects transformation matrix has changed (determining a region for target game object). Alternatively, or as part of this process, this may, in more general terms, involves determining if the value of any property (including appearance, or not being there and then being there) affecting the visual appearance (or position or orientation in space) of the object has changed since the previous frame. If so, the object should be considered as having changed).
Chunlei and Volotinen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, as previously modified by Kaburlasos, further including wherein when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen; and determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen, as taught by Volotinen for the purpose of clearing results from old frames while only rendering dynamically changed areas (Volotinen, [0098]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region configured for carrying the disappearance effect of the target game object based on the position to display at as the first region ([0058] determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position of the target element (determining region configured for carrying the target game object)); and
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object.
Volotinen teaches determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object ([0095] The color buffer with respect to the areas in the previous image frame that have been redrawn (displaying object in the next frame) and with respect to areas in the current frame that need to be over drawn, is then cleared, as indicated by block 108, [0114] if a dynamic change in an object is detected (including disappearance), rendering the objects geometric bounding volume to a stencil buffer for each dynamically changed object (determining a position at which the object is to be displayed in the next frame)).
Regarding Claim 16, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen; and determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen.
Volotinen teaches when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen (Fig. 2 Elements 100-112 – Image Rendering Method, [0016] comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change (including appearance or lack thereof) in an object in the image frames, with each image frame being defined by a scene graph and each object having an associated geometric bounding volume, [0091] Thereafter, and with reference now to FIG. 2, an image rendering method 100 is shown comprising the step of comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change in an object in the image frames, as indicated by block 102, [0093] If a dynamic change in an object is detected, the object’s geometric bounding volume is rendered to a stencil buffer (determining position of appearance for target game object in next frame, indicated by rendering of the image following the diagram of Fig. 2) for each dynamically changed object, as indicated by block 104); and
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen ([0092] each object in a scene graph has an associated transformation matrix, with the step 102 of detecting a change in an image in the image frames comprising detecting whether an objects transformation matrix has changed (determining a region for target game object). Alternatively, or as part of this process, this may, in more general terms, involves determining if the value of any property (including appearance, or not being there and then being there) affecting the visual appearance (or position or orientation in space) of the object has changed since the previous frame. If so, the object should be considered as having changed).
Regarding Claim 17, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region configured for carrying the disappearance effect of the target game object based on the position to display at as the first region ([0058] determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position of the target element (determining region configured for carrying the target game object)); and
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object.
Volotinen teaches determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object ([0095] The color buffer with respect to the areas in the previous image frame that have been redrawn (displaying object in the next frame) and with respect to areas in the current frame that need to be over drawn, is then cleared, as indicated by block 108, [0114] if a dynamic change in an object is detected (including disappearance), rendering the objects geometric bounding volume to a stencil buffer for each dynamically changed object (determining a position at which the object is to be displayed in the next frame)).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chunlei (CN 105069834 A), in view of Kaburlasos et al. (US 2015/0035853 A1), in view of Brown (US 2014/0354664 A1), in view of Holland et al. (US 2019/0341007 A1), and in further view of Brunner et al. (US 2012/0274644 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Chunlei discloses wherein the re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region comprises ([0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program; the running of the game program causes the logical scene to change in real time. The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements (target game objects) in the logical scene, [0057] In this embodiment, the current logical scene is compared with the old logical scene, and it is determined which logical elements in the current logical scene have changed position relative to the old logical scene (ie, movement occurs) (resulting in an updated first region)).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process; and superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region.
Brunner teaches rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process ([0015] A framework for performing graphics animation and compositing operations is disclosed. The framework is used as part of rendering process to render a user interface of an application for display on a computer system. The frame work is divided into two processes. A layer tree process interfaces with the application, and a render tree process interfaces with a render engine. The layer tree process has a first data structure or layer tree that contains object (object layer) or layers associated with the user interface of the application. The layers can be content, windows, views, video, images, text, media, or any other type of object for a user interface of an application); and
superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region ([0017] the framework can focus on dirty regions (changed object layer) of the render tree when rendering. A "dirty region' is one or more layers or objects of the render tree that have changed relative to their immediate prior versions. For example, the dirty regions can be indicated by change objects added to the associated layers (superimposed) of the render tree that have been changed relative to their immediately prior version (unchanged object layer)).
Chunlei and Brunner are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering methods and/or systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, as previously modified by Kaburlasos, further including rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process; and superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region, as taught by Brunner for the purpose of being able to operate more efficiently and reduce the amount of image that is updated via compositing to only those layers of the render tree that have been modified since the last composite operation. (Brunner, [0124]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chunlei discloses wherein the re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program; the running of the game program causes the logical scene to change in real time. The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements (target game objects) in the logical scene, [0057] In this embodiment, the current logical scene is compared with the old logical scene, and it is determined which logical elements in the current logical scene have changed position relative to the old logical scene (ie, movement occurs) (resulting in an updated first region)).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process; and superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region.
Brunner teaches rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process ([0015] A framework for performing graphics animation and compositing operations is disclosed. The framework is used as part of rendering process to render a user interface of an application for display on a computer system. The frame work is divided into two processes. A layer tree process interfaces with the application, and a render tree process interfaces with a render engine. The layer tree process has a first data structure or layer tree that contains object (object layer) or layers associated with the user interface of the application. The layers can be content, windows, views, video, images, text, media, or any other type of object for a user interface of an application); and
superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region ([0017] the framework can focus on dirty regions (changed object layer) of the render tree when rendering. A "dirty region' is one or more layers or objects of the render tree that have changed relative to their immediate prior versions. For example, the dirty regions can be indicated by change objects added to the associated layers (superimposed) of the render tree that have been changed relative to their immediately prior version (unchanged object layer)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mathe et al. (US 2011/0102438 A1) is in the field of systems and methods for processing an image for target tracking (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715