DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on September 30, 2024 Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/7/2024, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-10 are drawn to a method and claims 11-20 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 11, and 20, recite an image rendering method performed by a computer device, the method comprising: determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions; determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object; re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region; and splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, and 20 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: An image rendering method performed by a computer device, the method comprising: determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions; determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object; re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region; and splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame.
Representative Claim 11: A computer device comprising a processor and a memory; the memory being configured to store a computer program; and the processor being configured to perform, based on the computer program, an image rendering method including: determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions; determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object; re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region; and splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame.
Representative Claim 20: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, and the computer program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, being configured to cause the computer device to perform an image rendering method including: determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions; determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object; re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region; and splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of processing circuitry, computer devices, and non-transitory computer readable mediums are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of an image rendering method performed by a computer device, the method comprising: determining a target game object that changes, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions; determining a first region and a second region; re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region; and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (determining a target game object, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object, dividing a game screen into a plurality of regions, re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region, and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen) and/or evaluation (determining a first region and a second region)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, and 20 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-10, and 12-19 further narrow the abstract ideas of determining a target game object that changes, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions; determining a first region and a second region; re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region; and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 11, and 20 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “determining a target game object that changes”, “determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object”, “dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions”, “determining a first region and a second region”, “re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region”, and “splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen” etc. (Claims 1, 11, and 20) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “determining a target game object that changes”, “determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object”, “dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions”, “determining a first region and a second region”, “re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region”, and “splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 11, and 20, and dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., determining a target game object that changes, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object, dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, determining a first region and a second region, re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region, and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of determining a target game object that changes, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object, dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, determining a first region and a second region, re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region, and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen (Claim(s) 1, 11, and 20), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 11, and 20, and dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of determining a target game object that changes, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object, dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, determining a first region and a second region, re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region, and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen (Claim(s) 1, 11, and 20), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure at paragraphs [0015], [00159], and [00160] acknowledges that “A third aspect of this application provides a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium being configured to store a computer program, and the computer program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, being configured to cause the computer device to perform operations of the image rendering method according to the first aspect”, “ Embodiments of this application further provide a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, the computer program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, being configured to cause the computer device to perform any one of the implementations of the image rendering method according to the foregoing embodiments”, and “ Embodiments of this application further provide a computer program product including a computer program, the computer program product, when run on a computer, causing the computer device to perform any one of the implementations of the image rendering method according to the foregoing embodiments” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 are dependent from claims 1, 11, and 20 and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 19 recite clarifications of determining a first and second candidate region, determine each candidate region comprised in any candidate region set, determine each first and second candidate region in their respective candidate region sets, the change parameter of the target object that represents a display size of the target game object, determine a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame of the game screen, determine a position at which the disappearance effect of a game object is to be displayed in the next frame of a game screen, and rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claim 8, 9, and 18 recite clarifications of determining a portion that the first region occupies, re-rendering display content when a target exceeds a threshold, re-rendering display content based on the change of a parameter of a game object, and determining a first region and a second region in a plurality of regions. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas of determining a target game object that changes, determining a corresponding change parameter of the game object, dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, determining a first region and a second region, re-rendering the first region to obtain an updated first region, and splicing the first updated first region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chunlei (CN 105069834 A), in view of Kaburlasos et al. (US 2015/0035853 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chunlei discloses an image rendering method performed by a computer device ([0052] The present application discloses a game image rendering method, [0089] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that embodiments of the present application can be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product), the method comprising:
determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object ([0023] a target element module, configured to determine a current logical scene, and compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element (target game object) that changes a position of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element, [0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program… The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements in the logical scene, [0075] The target element module 601 is configured to determine a current logical scene, compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element that changes a position (changes in a next frame of the game screen) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element);
determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object ([0077] The determination rectangle module 602 is configured to retrieve an image frame corresponding to the old logic scene as an old image frame; and determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position (change parameter) of the target element (target game object), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area);
re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] And re-rendering the area covered by the determination rectangle in the old image frame according to the current logic scenario, obtaining a current image frame, and displaying the current image frame, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined, [0083] The image generating module 603 is configured to re-render the area covered by the determination rectangle (re-rendering the first region) in the old image frame according to the current logic scene, obtain a current image frame, and display the current image frame); and
splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame ([0052] In the process of rendering an image frame, the method only erases and re-renders a partial region (splicing the first updated region) of the current image frame that changes with respect to the old image frame without performing full redrawing, [0071] the process of rendering an image frame. Rendering is repeated in a loop as described above to produce and display a large number of consecutive image frames).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions.
Kaburlasos teaches dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions ([0010] frames are broken up into tiles (regions) that are rendered separately, [0063] splitting a frame into tiles, [0065] a graphics processing unit comprising a processor to split a frame into tiles).
Chunlei and Kaburlasos are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, further including dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions, as taught by Kaburlasos for the purpose of re-rendering only the parts of the screen where a change is detected (Kaburlasos, [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining a first candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen, each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object before the change (Fig. 2 Bottom Left Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a first candidate region carrying the game object before the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle);
determining a second candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on the display position and the change parameter of the target game object, each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object after the change (Fig. 2 Top right Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a second candidate region carrying the game object after the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle); and
determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set, and determining the second region based on a region in the game screen other than the first region (Fig. 2 Dotted Rectangle – Game Screen, [0018] A decision rectangle is delineated on the old image frame for each target element in the current logical scene position and the old logical scene position).
Regarding Claim 3, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each candidate region comprised in any candidate region set of the first candidate region set and the second candidate region set as the first region ([0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes.
Kaburlasos teaches when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes ([0027] However if a change is detected in the tile that is currently considered to be non-changing (change parameter of the target game object represents neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes), then the tile is marked as changing so that it can be fully rendered on the following frame, [0063] fully rendering the tile if the pixel change is detected… detecting a pixel change of any extent).
Regarding Claim 4, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set and each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set as the first region when the change parameter of the target game object represents that the display position of the target game object changes ([0060] the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (display position of target game object) in the current logical scene (second candidate region) and the position in the old logical scene (first candidate region), and the area is the smallest (comparing current and old scenes indicates position of the game object has changed), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area).
Regarding Claim 5, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set as the first region if the display size of the target game object becomes smaller ([0060] In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle (first candidate region) should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (target game object) in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest (if size of target game object becomes smaller)).
Regarding Claim 8, Chunlei discloses wherein the method further comprises:
determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions as a target proportion ([0062] If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles, which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion));
the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0062] When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion)); and
the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold ([0062] Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen; performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region.
Kaburlasos teaches re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen ([0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame, [0063] detecting tiles with pixels that change by an amount above a threshold);
performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] The comparison of two tiles may determine if the tiles are exactly the same or whether differences between the two tiles are limited to a magnitude under a predetermined threshold in which case there is a slow change from one tile to another, [0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame).
Regarding Claim 9, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing wherein the method further comprises: re-rendering, when a scenario corresponding to the game screen is not a preset target scene, the display content of the game screen, to obtain the updated game screen; and performing, when the scene corresponding to the game screen is the preset target scene, the operation of determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a first region and a second region in a plurality of regions comprised in the game screen.
Kaburlasos teaches re-rendering, when a scenario corresponding to the game screen is not a preset target scene, the display content of the game screen, to obtain the updated game screen ([0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering display content of the game screen) starting with the following frame in one embodiment); and
performing, when the scene corresponding to the game screen is the preset target scene, the operation of determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a first region and a second region in a plurality of regions comprised in the game screen ([0036] Then more slowly changing tiles (below the threshold) may take advantage of the fact that they include a smaller degree of change and may be fully rendered at a slower rate relative to the baseline frame rate, since it is typically the fast changing geometries that benefit most from the higher render rate).
Regarding Claim 11, Chunlei discloses a computer device comprising a processor and a memory ([0048] For game programs, to use the image frame to form a dynamic game image, you must rely on CPU, GPU and memory hardware to calculate and render frame by frame);
the memory being configured to store a computer program; and the processor being configured to perform, based on the computer program, an image rendering method including ([0089] Moreover, the application can take the form of a computer program product embodied on one or more computer-usable storage media (including but not limited to disk storage, CD-ROM, optical storage, etc.) including computer usable program code):
determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object ([0023] a target element module, configured to determine a current logical scene, and compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element (target game object) that changes a position of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element, [0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program… The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements in the logical scene, [0075] The target element module 601 is configured to determine a current logical scene, compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element that changes a position (changes in a next frame of the game screen) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element);
determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object ([0077] The determination rectangle module 602 is configured to retrieve an image frame corresponding to the old logic scene as an old image frame; and determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position (change parameter) of the target element (target game object), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area);
re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] And re-rendering the area covered by the determination rectangle in the old image frame according to the current logic scenario, obtaining a current image frame, and displaying the current image frame, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined, [0083] The image generating module 603 is configured to re-render the area covered by the determination rectangle (re-rendering the first region) in the old image frame according to the current logic scene, obtain a current image frame, and display the current image frame); and
splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame ([0052] In the process of rendering an image frame, the method only erases and re-renders a partial region (splicing the first updated region) of the current image frame that changes with respect to the old image frame without performing full redrawing, [0071] the process of rendering an image frame. Rendering is repeated in a loop as described above to produce and display a large number of consecutive image frames).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions.
Kaburlasos teaches dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions ([0010] frames are broken up into tiles (regions) that are rendered separately, [0063] splitting a frame into tiles, [0065] a graphics processing unit comprising a processor to split a frame into tiles).
Regarding Claim 12, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining a first candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen, each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object before the change (Fig. 2 Bottom Left Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a first candidate region carrying the game object before the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle);
determining a second candidate region set in the plurality of regions based on the display position and the change parameter of the target game object, each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set being configured for carrying the target game object after the change (Fig. 2 Top right Rectangle within Dotted Rectangle – a second candidate region carrying the game object after the change, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined. In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest. Referring to Fig. 2, the dotted line frame is a decision rectangle conforming to the above principle); and
determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set, and determining the second region based on a region in the game screen other than the first region (Fig. 2 Dotted Rectangle – Game Screen, [0018] A decision rectangle is delineated on the old image frame for each target element in the current logical scene position and the old logical scene position).
Regarding Claim 13, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each candidate region comprised in any candidate region set of the first candidate region set and the second candidate region set as the first region when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes ([0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes.
Kaburlasos teaches when the change parameter of the target game object represents that neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes ([0027] However if a change is detected in the tile that is currently considered to be non-changing (change parameter of the target game object represents neither of the display position and a display size of the target game object changes), then the tile is marked as changing so that it can be fully rendered on the following frame, [0063] fully rendering the tile if the pixel change is detected… detecting a pixel change of any extent).
Regarding Claim 14, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set and each second candidate region comprised in the second candidate region set as the first region when the change parameter of the target game object represents that the display position of the target game object changes ([0060] the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (display position of target game object) in the current logical scene (second candidate region) and the position in the old logical scene (first candidate region), and the area is the smallest (comparing current and old scenes indicates position of the game object has changed), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area).
Regarding Claim 15, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, the first candidate region set, and the second candidate region set comprises:
determining each first candidate region comprised in the first candidate region set as the first region if the display size of the target game object becomes smaller ([0060] In order to reduce the occupation of resources by image rendering, the area of the decision rectangle (first candidate region) should be as small as possible. Therefore, the principle of delineating the decision rectangle is to cover the position of the target element (target game object) in the current logical scene and the position in the old logical scene, and the area is the smallest (if size of target game object becomes smaller)).
Regarding Claim 18, Chunlei discloses wherein the method further comprises:
determining a proportion that the first region occupies in the plurality of regions as a target proportion ([0062] If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles, which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion));
the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold ([0062] When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged to make the number of the determined determination rectangles (determining a proportion as a target portion)); and
the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold ([0062] Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen; and performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region.
Kaburlasos teaches re-rendering the display content of the game screen when the target proportion exceeds a preset proportion threshold, to obtain the updated game screen ([0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame, [0063] detecting tiles with pixels that change by an amount above a threshold);
performing, when the target proportion does not exceed the preset proportion threshold, the operation of re-rendering the display content of the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] The comparison of two tiles may determine if the tiles are exactly the same or whether differences between the two tiles are limited to a magnitude under a predetermined threshold in which case there is a slow change from one tile to another, [0021] If a pixel change is detected within a partially rendered tile, the tile exits the partial render mode immediately and is fully rendered (re-rendering the display content) starting with the following frame).
Regarding Claim 20, Chunlei discloses a computer program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, being configured to cause the computer device to perform an image rendering method including ([0052] The present application discloses a game image rendering method, [0089] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that embodiments of the present application can be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product… Moreover, the application can take the form of a computer program product embodied on one or more computer-usable storage media (including but not limited to disk storage, CD-ROM, optical storage, etc.) including computer usable program code):
determining, in a game screen, a target game object that changes in a next frame of the game screen and a corresponding change parameter of the game object ([0023] a target element module, configured to determine a current logical scene, and compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element (target game object) that changes a position of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element, [0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program… The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements in the logical scene, [0075] The target element module 601 is configured to determine a current logical scene, compare the current logical scene with an old logical scene, and use a logical element that changes a position (changes in a next frame of the game screen) of the current logical scene relative to the old logical scene as a target element);
determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object ([0077] The determination rectangle module 602 is configured to retrieve an image frame corresponding to the old logic scene as an old image frame; and determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position (change parameter) of the target element (target game object), [0078] The determination rectangle is a rectangle that covers the position of the target element in the current logical scene (second region) and the position in the old logical scene (first region), and has the smallest area);
re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0010] And re-rendering the area covered by the determination rectangle in the old image frame according to the current logic scenario, obtaining a current image frame, and displaying the current image frame, [0060] Depending on the position of the target element in the current logical scene (the position after the movement) and the position in the old logical scene (the position before the movement), the area that needs to be redrawn can be delimited in the old image frame, that is, the rectangle is determined, [0083] The image generating module 603 is configured to re-render the area covered by the determination rectangle (re-rendering the first region) in the old image frame according to the current logic scene, obtain a current image frame, and display the current image frame); and
splicing the first updated region and the second region, to obtain an updated game screen displayed in the next frame ([0052] In the process of rendering an image frame, the method only erases and re-renders a partial region (splicing the first updated region) of the current image frame that changes with respect to the old image frame without performing full redrawing, [0071] the process of rendering an image frame. Rendering is repeated in a loop as described above to produce and display a large number of consecutive image frames).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program; dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions.
Kaburlasos teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program ([0064] Another example embodiment may be one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions to enable a processor to perform a sequence comprising splitting a frame into tiles); and
dividing the game screen into a plurality of regions ([0010] frames are broken up into tiles (regions) that are rendered separately, [0063] splitting a frame into tiles, [0065] a graphics processing unit comprising a processor to split a frame into tiles).
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chunlei (CN 105069834 A), in view of Kaburlasos et al. (US 2015/0035853 A1), and in further view of Volotinen et al. (US 2014/0125686 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen; and determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen.
Volotinen teaches when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen (Fig. 2 Elements 100-112 – Image Rendering Method, [0016] comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change (including appearance or lack thereof) in an object in the image frames, with each image frame being defined by a scene graph and each object having an associated geometric bounding volume, [0091] Thereafter, and with reference now to FIG. 2, an image rendering method 100 is shown comprising the step of comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change in an object in the image frames, as indicated by block 102, [0093] If a dynamic change in an object is detected, the object’s geometric bounding volume is rendered to a stencil buffer (determining position of appearance for target game object in next frame, indicated by rendering of the image following the diagram of Fig. 2) for each dynamically changed object, as indicated by block 104); and
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen ([0092] each object in a scene graph has an associated transformation matrix, with the step 102 of detecting a change in an image in the image frames comprising detecting whether an objects transformation matrix has changed (determining a region for target game object). Alternatively, or as part of this process, this may, in more general terms, involves determining if the value of any property (including appearance, or not being there and then being there) affecting the visual appearance (or position or orientation in space) of the object has changed since the previous frame. If so, the object should be considered as having changed).
Chunlei and Volotinen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, as previously modified by Kaburlasos, further including wherein when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen; and determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen, as taught by Volotinen for the purpose of clearing results from old frames while only rendering dynamically changed areas (Volotinen, [0098]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region configured for carrying the disappearance effect of the target game object based on the position to display at as the first region ([0058] determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position of the target element (determining region configured for carrying the target game object)); and
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object.
Volotinen teaches determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object ([0095] The color buffer with respect to the areas in the previous image frame that have been redrawn (displaying object in the next frame) and with respect to areas in the current frame that need to be over drawn, is then cleared, as indicated by block 108, [0114] if a dynamic change in an object is detected (including disappearance), rendering the objects geometric bounding volume to a stencil buffer for each dynamically changed object (determining a position at which the object is to be displayed in the next frame)).
Regarding Claim 16, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen; and determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen.
Volotinen teaches when the target game object does not appear in the game screen, determining, based on the change parameter of the target game object, a position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen (Fig. 2 Elements 100-112 – Image Rendering Method, [0016] comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change (including appearance or lack thereof) in an object in the image frames, with each image frame being defined by a scene graph and each object having an associated geometric bounding volume, [0091] Thereafter, and with reference now to FIG. 2, an image rendering method 100 is shown comprising the step of comparing a current image frame with a previous image frame to detect a dynamic change in an object in the image frames, as indicated by block 102, [0093] If a dynamic change in an object is detected, the object’s geometric bounding volume is rendered to a stencil buffer (determining position of appearance for target game object in next frame, indicated by rendering of the image following the diagram of Fig. 2) for each dynamically changed object, as indicated by block 104); and
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region in which the target game object is to appear as the first region based on the position at which the target game object is to appear in the next frame in the game screen ([0092] each object in a scene graph has an associated transformation matrix, with the step 102 of detecting a change in an image in the image frames comprising detecting whether an objects transformation matrix has changed (determining a region for target game object). Alternatively, or as part of this process, this may, in more general terms, involves determining if the value of any property (including appearance, or not being there and then being there) affecting the visual appearance (or position or orientation in space) of the object has changed since the previous frame. If so, the object should be considered as having changed).
Regarding Claim 17, Chunlei discloses wherein the determining, among the plurality of regions, a first region and a second region based on the change parameter of the target game object comprises:
determining, among the plurality of regions, a region configured for carrying the disappearance effect of the target game object based on the position to display at as the first region ([0058] determine a determination rectangle on the old image frame according to the position of the target element (determining region configured for carrying the target game object)); and
determining the second region based on the plurality of regions except the first region ([0062] However, the old image frame may also contain a large number of target elements. If each target element corresponds to a decision rectangle, it will result in too many decision rectangles (plurality of regions), which in turn increases the amount of image rendering calculation. Therefore, it is preferable to set a threshold value. When the number of target elements exceeds the threshold value, after determining a determination rectangle for each target element, the determination rectangles are merged (determining second region) to make the number of the determined determination rectangles. Not greater than the number threshold, and the sum of the areas of the respective decision rectangles is the smallest, [0066] After the determination rectangle is determined, the area covered by the determination rectangle can be redrawed according to the specific situation of the current logic scene (redrawing scene for second region, meaning except the first region) to obtain the current image frame).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object.
Volotinen teaches determining a position at which a disappearance effect of the target game object is to be displayed in the next frame of the game screen when the target game object is a game object that is to disappear in the next frame of the game screen and based on a display position of the target game object in the currently displayed game screen and the change parameter of the target game object ([0095] The color buffer with respect to the areas in the previous image frame that have been redrawn (displaying object in the next frame) and with respect to areas in the current frame that need to be over drawn, is then cleared, as indicated by block 108, [0114] if a dynamic change in an object is detected (including disappearance), rendering the objects geometric bounding volume to a stencil buffer for each dynamically changed object (determining a position at which the object is to be displayed in the next frame)).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chunlei (CN 105069834 A), in view of Kaburlasos et al. (US 2015/0035853 A1), and in further view of Brunner et al. (US 2012/0274644 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Chunlei discloses wherein the re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region comprises ([0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program; the running of the game program causes the logical scene to change in real time. The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements (target game objects) in the logical scene, [0057] In this embodiment, the current logical scene is compared with the old logical scene, and it is determined which logical elements in the current logical scene have changed position relative to the old logical scene (ie, movement occurs) (resulting in an updated first region)).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process; and superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region.
Brunner teaches rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process ([0015] A framework for performing graphics animation and compositing operations is disclosed. The framework is used as part of rendering process to render a user interface of an application for display on a computer system. The frame work is divided into two processes. A layer tree process interfaces with the application, and a render tree process interfaces with a render engine. The layer tree process has a first data structure or layer tree that contains object (object layer) or layers associated with the user interface of the application. The layers can be content, windows, views, video, images, text, media, or any other type of object for a user interface of an application); and
superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region ([0017] the framework can focus on dirty regions (changed object layer) of the render tree when rendering. A "dirty region' is one or more layers or objects of the render tree that have changed relative to their immediate prior versions. For example, the dirty regions can be indicated by change objects added to the associated layers (superimposed) of the render tree that have been changed relative to their immediately prior version (unchanged object layer)).
Chunlei and Brunner are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of image rendering methods and/or systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for an image rendering method performed by a computer device, as disclosed by Chunlei, as previously modified by Kaburlasos, further including rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process; and superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region, as taught by Brunner for the purpose of being able to operate more efficiently and reduce the amount of image that is updated via compositing to only those layers of the render tree that have been modified since the last composite operation. (Brunner, [0124]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chunlei discloses wherein the re-rendering the first region based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a first updated region ([0054] The logical scenario is a virtual game scenario calculated during the running of the game program; the running of the game program causes the logical scene to change in real time. The various elements, such as characters, item props, backgrounds, and backgrounds, included in the logical scene are called logical elements (target game objects) in the logical scene, [0057] In this embodiment, the current logical scene is compared with the old logical scene, and it is determined which logical elements in the current logical scene have changed position relative to the old logical scene (ie, movement occurs) (resulting in an updated first region)).
However, Chunlei is not relied upon disclosing rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process; and superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region.
Brunner teaches rendering an object layer corresponding to the target game object based on the change parameter of the target game object, to obtain a changed object layer of the first region, different object layers being obtained through division based on different game objects in a game process ([0015] A framework for performing graphics animation and compositing operations is disclosed. The framework is used as part of rendering process to render a user interface of an application for display on a computer system. The frame work is divided into two processes. A layer tree process interfaces with the application, and a render tree process interfaces with a render engine. The layer tree process has a first data structure or layer tree that contains object (object layer) or layers associated with the user interface of the application. The layers can be content, windows, views, video, images, text, media, or any other type of object for a user interface of an application); and
superimposing an unchanged object layer of the first region on the changed object layer to obtain the first updated region ([0017] the framework can focus on dirty regions (changed object layer) of the render tree when rendering. A "dirty region' is one or more layers or objects of the render tree that have changed relative to their immediate prior versions. For example, the dirty regions can be indicated by change objects added to the associated layers (superimposed) of the render tree that have been changed relative to their immediately prior version (unchanged object layer)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mathe et al. (US 2011/0102438 A1) is in the field of systems and methods for processing an image for target tracking (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715