DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract submitted exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maddens [US 20230062139 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Maddens discloses a substrate connector (100, Fig 1) comprising:
a terminal (110A) including, with a first direction, a second direction, and a third direction being three orthogonal directions, a first connecting portion (115, Fig 3D) extending in the first direction and connectable to a mating terminal, a second connecting portion (113) extending in the second direction and connectable to a substrate (160), and a bridge portion (114) connecting the first connecting portion (115) and the second connecting portion (113), the bridge portion (114) including a first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) extending in the first direction from the first connecting portion (115), a second extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) extending in the second direction from the second connecting portion (113), and a curved portion (see annotated Figure 3D) connecting between the first extending portion and the second extending portion; and
an insulating housing (120) including an end surface (rear end surface of the housing opposite the mating end) in the first direction and an accommodation groove that is provided in the end surface and accommodates the second extending portion and the curved portion, the accommodation groove including a pair of inner side surfaces opposing to each other in the third direction and a groove bottom surface, and an insertion hole that opens in the groove bottom surface of the accommodation groove and extends in the first direction (the housing 120 includes channels and cover the terminal on three sides and the top, as the back and bottom of the conductive housing are open, see [0134-0136] and Fig 3C-4B),
wherein the second extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) includes a pair of press-fit protrusions (112”) protruding in directions opposite to each other in the third direction and are press-fitted and fixed in the pair of inner side surfaces of the accommodation groove, and
the first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) is loosely fitted to an inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole (the insertion hole includes wide portions 343 that provides clearance around the terminal first extending portion for impedance matching).
Regarding Claim 2, Maddens discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maddens further discloses the first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) includes a pair of projection portions (112’) protruding in directions opposite to each other in the third direction and including a carrier cut mark (see annotated Figure 3D) on an end surface.
Regarding Claim 3, Maddens discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maddens further discloses the terminal includes a plurality of terminals (110A, 110B) arranged at predetermined intervals in the third direction.
Regarding Claim 4, Maddens discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maddens further discloses the pair of press-fit protrusions (112”) are disposed at an end portion of the second extending portion adjacent to the curved portion (see annotated Figure 3D),
the second extending portion includes a pressed portion that is configured to be pressed in the first direction in a region including at least the end portion, and
the pressed portion includes a pressed surface extending in the second direction and the third direction (see annotated Figure 3D).
Regarding Claim 5, Madden discloses a method of manufacturing a substrate connector (100), the method comprising at least steps (S1) and (S2) described below:
(S1) A step of loosely inserting and fitting a part of a first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) of a terminal (110A) into an insertion hole that opens in a groove bottom surface of an accommodation groove provided in an end surface in a first direction of an insulating housing (120) and extends in the first direction so as to temporarily hold, in the housing (120), a terminal (110A) including, with the first direction, a second direction, and a third direction being three orthogonal directions, a first connecting portion (115) extending in the first direction and connectable to a mating terminal, a second connecting portion (113) extending in the second direction and connectable to a substrate (160), and a bridge portion (114) connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, the bridge portion (114) including a first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) extending in the first direction from the first connecting portion (115), a second extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) extending in the second direction from the second connecting portion (113), and a curved portion (see annotated Figure 3D) connecting between the first extending portion and the second extending portion; and
(S2) A step of pressing the second extending portion of the temporarily held terminal in the first direction to press-fit and fix a pair of press-fit protrusions (112”) provided on the second extending portion and protruding in directions opposite to each other in the third direction in a pair of inner side surfaces of the accommodation groove which oppose to each other in the third direction (the housing 120 includes channels and cover the terminal on three sides and the top, as the back and bottom of the conductive housing are open, see [0134-0136] and Fig 3C-4B).
Regarding Claim 6, Maddens discloses all the limitations of claim 5, Maddens further discloses the pair of press-fit protrusions (112”) are disposed at an end portion of the second extending portion adjacent to the curved portion (see annotated Figure 3D),
the second extending portion includes a pressed portion that is configured to be pressed in the first direction in a region including at least the end portion, and
the pressed portion includes a pressed surface extending in the second direction and the third direction (see annotated Figure 3D).
Regarding Claim 7, Madden discloses a terminal (110A) comprising, with a first direction, a second direction, and a third direction being three orthogonal directions, a first connecting portion (115) extending in the first direction and connectable to a mating terminal, a second connecting portion (113) extending in the second direction and connectable to a substrate (160), and a bridge portion (114) connecting the first connecting portion (115) and the second connecting portion (113),
wherein the bridge portion (114) includes a first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) extending in the first direction from the first connecting portion (115), a second extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) extending in the second direction from the second connecting portion (113), and a curved portion (see annotated Figure 3D) connecting between the first extending portion and the second extending portion, and
the second extending portion includes a pair of press-fit protrusions (112”) protruding in directions opposite to each other in the third direction.
Regarding Claim 8, Maddens discloses all the limitations of claim 7, Maddens further discloses the first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3D) includes a pair of projection portions (112’) protruding in directions opposite to each other in the third direction and including a carrier cut mark (see annotated Figure 3D) on an end surface.
Regarding Claim 9, Maddens discloses all the limitations of claim 7, Maddens further discloses the pair of press-fit protrusions (112”) are disposed at an end portion of the second extending portion adjacent to the curved portion (see annotated Figure 3D),
the second extending portion includes a pressed portion that is configured to be pressed in the first direction in a region including at least the end portion, and
the pressed portion includes a pressed surface extending in the second direction and the third direction (see annotated Figure 3D).
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834