DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 4/09/2025. As directed by the amendment, no claims have been amended, claims 1-19 have been cancelled, and claims 20-33 newly added. Thus, claims 20-33 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 20-21 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Houzego (2007/0181123).
Regarding claim 20, Houzego discloses in the annotated fig 9 above an inhaler comprising: a replaceable dose cassette comprising top (34) (airway plate) and bottom layers (26) (insert) defining at least a portion of an air path, wherein the bottom layer (26) defines a reservoir containing a drug dose (insert (26) contains a respective dose of powder) (para [0155]), and at least a portion of the reservoir includes a curved surface (insert (26) is generally cup shaped) (para [0155], fig 9a), wherein the air path includes an air inlet (42) (para [0167]) and a restriction opposite the air inlet (42) (as shown in fig 21a, pocket portion includes a restriction (D) opposite the inlet at C1 (para [0029]), and a diverter is located proximate the restriction and above at least a portion of the reservoir to divert at least a portion of air into the reservoir when the air is drawn through the air path (see annotated fig 9(b)); and a mouthpiece (6) fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece (6) (para [0148]).
Regarding claim 21, Houzego discloses the air inlet (42) is formed between the top (34) and bottom layers (26) (see annotated fig 9(b)).
Regarding claim 23, Houzego discloses a surface shaped to divert the at least a portion of air into the reservoir (26) (as shown in fig 9(b), front surface of diverter portion directs air downwardly into reservoir).
Regarding claim 24, Houzego discloses at least a portion of the surface on the diverter is curved (as shown in fig 9b, portion of front surface of diverter portion is shown to be curved).
Regarding claim 25, Houzego discloses the top layer and the bottom layer are movable relative to each other (as shown in figs 7a-b, bottom layer (26) is movably vertically relative to top layer (34) to open insert (26)) (para [0164]).
Regarding claim 26, Houzego discloses the top layer (34) and the bottom layer (26) are movable from a closed position to an opened position (as shown in figs 7a-b, bottom layer (26) is movably vertically relative to top layer (34) to open insert (26)) (para [0164]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houzego.
Regarding claim 22, Houzego discloses the air path at the inlet has a 120% and 200% larger cross-sectional area than at the restriction (D) (para [0029]).
Houzego does not disclose the air path is wider at the air inlet than at the restriction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Houzego so that the air path is wider at the air inlet than at the restriction, as it has been held that changes in size and shape and optimization of ranges are within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, modifying the width of the air inlet and restriction so that the air path is wider at the air inlet than at the restriction by routine experimentation would have been an obvious modification so that the cross-sectional area of the air inlet is 120% to 200% larger than the cross-sectional area of the restriction (para [0029]).
Double Patenting
Claims 20-21 and 23-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,287 in view of Houzego.
Regarding claim 20, application claim 20 differs from US patent claim 3 (and claim 1, from which claim 3 depends from) in the following respect:
Application claim 20
US patent claim 3
20. (New) An inhaler comprising:
(1) a replaceable dose cassette comprising top and bottom layers defining at least a portion of an air path, wherein the bottom layer defines a reservoir containing a drug dose, and at least a portion of the reservoir includes a curved surface,
(2) wherein the air path includes an air inlet and (3) a restriction opposite the air inlet, and
(4) wherein a diverter is located proximate the restriction and above at least a portion of the reservoir to divert at least a portion of air into the reservoir when the air is drawn through the air path;
and a mouthpiece fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece.
1. A drug delivery device comprising:
(1) first and second parts moveable relative to each other from a closed position to an open position; wherein the first part defines, at least in part, a reservoir for containing a dose, the reservoir including a top, side walls and a bottom, and wherein at least a portion of the reservoir includes at least a first curved surface;
wherein at least a portion of the second part fits against the first part in the closed position to seal the dose in the reservoir;
(2) wherein the first and second parts, in the open position, create an air path including an air inlet to receive entering air flow and an air outlet,
wherein, in the open position, the top of the reservoir is open and the bottom of the reservoir is closed, wherein the air inlet is configured to direct at least a portion of the entering air flow at the air outlet in the open position,
(3) and wherein at least a portion of the air path is shaped to create a restriction.
3. The drug delivery device of claim 1 further comprising (4) at least a second curved surface located over the reservoir to divert at least a portion of the entering air flow into the reservoir.
US patent claim 3 does not disclose a mouthpiece fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece.
However, Houzego teaches a respiratory device including a restriction opposite the air inlet (42) (as shown in fig 21a, pocket portion includes a restriction (D) opposite the inlet at C1 (para [0029]), and a mouthpiece (6) fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece (6) (para [0148]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of US patent claim 2 by providing a mouthpiece fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece as taught by Houzego in order to allow a user to inhale the medicament through a mouthpiece (Houzego, para [0007]).
Regarding claims 21 and 23-26, US patent claims 1 and 3-5 discloses the limitations of application claims 21 and 23-26.
Claims 27-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 27, application claim 27 differs from US patent claim 3 (and claim 1, from which claim 3 depends from) as follows:
Application claim 27
US patent claim 3
27. (New) A dose cassette for use with an inhaler, comprising:
(1) a bottom layer defining a reservoir, wherein at least a portion of the reservoir includes a curved surface; and
(2) a top layer slidably movable relative to the bottom layer from a closed position to an opened position,
(3) wherein the top layer and the bottom layer define at least a portion of an air path having an air inlet in the opened position to allow air to flow into the reservoir,
(4) wherein the air path includes a restriction opposite the air inlet in the opened position, and
(5) wherein a diverter is located proximate the restriction and above at least a portion of the reservoir in the opened position to divert at least a portion of air into the reservoir when the air is drawn through the air path.
1. A drug delivery device comprising:
(2) first and second parts moveable relative to each other from a closed position to an open position; wherein (1) the first part defines, at least in part, a reservoir for containing a dose, the reservoir including a top, side walls and a bottom, and wherein at least a portion of the reservoir includes at least a first curved surface;
(2) wherein at least a portion of the second part fits against the first part in the closed position to seal the dose in the reservoir;
(3) wherein the first and second parts, in the open position, create an air path including an air inlet to receive entering air flow and an air outlet,
wherein, in the open position, the top of the reservoir is open and the bottom of the reservoir is closed, wherein the air inlet is configured to direct at least a portion of the entering air flow at the air outlet in the open position,
(4) and wherein at least a portion of the air path is shaped to create a restriction.
3. The drug delivery device of claim 1 further comprising (5) at least a second curved surface located over the reservoir to divert at least a portion of the entering air flow into the reservoir.
US patent claim 3 does not disclose a restriction opposite the air inlet.
However, Houzego teaches a respiratory device including a restriction opposite the air inlet (42) (as shown in fig 21a, pocket portion includes a restriction (D) opposite the inlet at C1 (para [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of US patent claim 2 by providing a restriction opposite the air inlet as taught by Houzego in order to provide a maximum air velocity through the pocket portion (Houzego, para [0030]).
Regarding claims 28-32, US patent claims 1 and 3-5 disclose the limitations of application claims 28-32.
Claims 20-21 and 23-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,469 in view of Houzego.
Regarding claim 20, application claim 20 differs from US patent claim 2 (and claim 1, from which claim 2 depends from) in the following respect:
Application claim 20
US patent claim 2
20. (New) An inhaler comprising:
(1) a replaceable dose cassette comprising top and bottom layers defining at least a portion of an air path, wherein the bottom layer defines a reservoir containing a drug dose, and at least a portion of the reservoir includes a curved surface,
(2) wherein the air path includes an air inlet and a restriction opposite the air inlet, and
(3) wherein a diverter is located proximate the restriction and above at least a portion of the reservoir to divert at least a portion of air into the reservoir when the air is drawn through the air path;
and a mouthpiece fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece.
1. A dose delivery device, comprising:
(1) a lower portion and an upper portion defining a reservoir for containing a dose and including a single reservoir opening, at least a portion of the reservoir including a curved surface,
and the reservoir being openable, wherein the upper portion and the lower portion define an opening mechanism movable from a closed position to an open position,
wherein, with the reservoir opened, the lower and upper portions define an air flow path generally along and across at least a portion of the single reservoir opening of the reservoir from an inlet opening to an outlet opening, such that at least a portion of air in the air flow path enters the reservoir through the single reservoir opening to entrain the dose in the reservoir, and air including entrained dose exits the reservoir through the single reservoir opening and then exits the outlet opening in a direction that is not back toward the inlet opening.
2. The dose delivery device of claim 1, further comprising (3) a diverter portion proximate the outlet to divert the at least a portion of air into a lower part of the reservoir to disperse the dose in the reservoir into air flowing into and out of the reservoir.
US patent claim 2 does not disclose a restriction opposite the air inlet, and a mouthpiece fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece.
However, Houzego teaches a respiratory device including a restriction opposite the air inlet (42) (as shown in fig 21a, pocket portion includes a restriction (D) opposite the inlet at C1 (para [0029]), and a mouthpiece (6) fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece (6) (para [0148]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of US patent claim 2 by providing a restriction opposite the air inlet, and a mouthpiece fluidly coupled to the air path such that the drug dose exits the reservoir into the air path and flows through the mouthpiece as taught by Houzego in order to provide a maximum air velocity through the pocket portion (Houzego, para [0030]) and to allow a user to inhale the medicament through a mouthpiece (Houzego, para [0007]).
Regarding claims 21 and 23-26, US patent claims 1-4 discloses the limitations of application claims 21 and 23-26.
Regarding claim 27, application claim 27 differs from US patent claim 2 as follows:
Application claim 27
US patent claim 2
27. (New) A dose cassette for use with an inhaler, comprising:
(1) a bottom layer defining a reservoir, wherein at least a portion of the reservoir includes a curved surface; and
(2) a top layer slidably movable relative to the bottom layer from a closed position to an opened position,
(3) wherein the top layer and the bottom layer define at least a portion of an air path having an air inlet in the opened position to allow air to flow into the reservoir,
wherein the air path includes a restriction opposite the air inlet in the opened position, and
(4) wherein a diverter is located proximate the restriction and above at least a portion of the reservoir in the opened position to divert at least a portion of air into the reservoir when the air is drawn through the air path.
1. A dose delivery device, comprising:
(1) a lower portion and an upper portion defining a reservoir for containing a dose and including a single reservoir opening, at least a portion of the reservoir including a curved surface,
(2) and the reservoir being openable, wherein the upper portion and the lower portion define an opening mechanism movable from a closed position to an open position,
(3) wherein, with the reservoir opened, the lower and upper portions define an air flow path generally along and across at least a portion of the single reservoir opening of the reservoir from an inlet opening to an outlet opening,
such that at least a portion of air in the air flow path enters the reservoir through the single reservoir opening to entrain the dose in the reservoir, and air including entrained dose exits the reservoir through the single reservoir opening and then exits the outlet opening in a direction that is not back toward the inlet opening.
2. The dose delivery device of claim 1, further comprising (4) a diverter portion proximate the outlet to divert the at least a portion of air into a lower part of the reservoir to disperse the dose in the reservoir into air flowing into and out of the reservoir.
US patent claim 2 does not disclose a restriction opposite the air inlet.
However, Houzego teaches a respiratory device including a restriction opposite the air inlet (42) (as shown in fig 21a, pocket portion includes a restriction (D) opposite the inlet at C1 (para [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of US patent claim 2 by providing a restriction opposite the air inlet as taught by Houzego in order to provide a maximum air velocity through the pocket portion (Houzego, para [0030]).
Regarding claims 28-32, US patent claims 1-4 and 7 discloses the limitations of application claims 28-32.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-33 are allowable over the prior art of record; however, claims 27-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting and therefore claim 33 is objected to for depending from a rejected claim base.
The following is an examiner’s statement for reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of the record, Houzego (2007/0181123) discloses a dose cassette for use with an inhaler, comprising: a bottom layer (26) (insert) defining a reservoir (insert (26) contains a respective dose of powder) (para [0155]), wherein at least a portion of the reservoir includes a curved surface (insert (26) is generally cup shaped) (para [0155], fig 9a); wherein the top layer (34) and the bottom layer (26) define at least a portion of an air path (lower arrow) having an air inlet (42) in the opened position to allow air to flow into the reservoir (26) (para [0168]), wherein the air path includes a restriction opposite the air inlet (42) in the opened position (as shown in fig 21a, pocket portion includes a restriction (D) opposite the inlet at C1 (para [0029]), and wherein a diverter is located proximate the restriction and above at least a portion of the reservoir in the opened position to divert at least a portion of air into the reservoir when the air is drawn through the air path (see annotated fig 9(b). However, neither Houzego nor the other prior art of record disclose and the top layer slidably movable relative to the bottom layer from a closed position to an opened position as recited in claim 27, as the device is movable to the opened position by pushing the lower layer (26) outwardly of a through hole (20) of the base (14) (para [0164]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Rand (2006/0062740), Bulbrook (2008/0142006), Ede (7,588,030), and Anderson (6,065,472) disclose dry powder inhalers including reservoirs configured to move from a closed to an open position
/DOUGLAS Y SUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785