DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following action is in response to the applicant’s Response to Election dated 1/5/2026, that was in response to the Requirement for Restriction dated 11/6/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 1-8 are elected and will be examined based on the merits, while claims 9-20 are considered non-elected and are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The previous restriction will be maintained because it is believed that the difference of the independent claims regarding the unmanned vehicle is not common to all claims, therein showing multiple inventive categories; the requirement of a propeller requires a different class search than the limitations of the flame system. Applicant is reminded that in the event of allowance of claims 1-8, claims 9-20 would be considered for allowance if amended in the same manner as claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hill [3256688].
With respect to claim 1, Hill discloses: A flame effect system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the flame effect system comprising: a hopper (18) configured to store a powdered fuel [col 2, line 12-17]; a propellant tank (14) configured to store a propellant [col 1, line 57-59]; a nozzle (10, 12) configured to expel the powdered fuel into an atmosphere [col 1, line 52-53]; and a fluid path (11, 13) extending from the propellant tank (14) to the nozzle, wherein the hopper is fluidly coupled to the fluid path at an intersection between the propellant tank and the nozzle, the hopper is configured to enable the powdered fuel to flow into the fluid path, and the propellant tank is configured to expel the propellant through the fluid path to fluidize the powdered fuel within the fluid path and to drive the fluidized powdered fuel through the nozzle [see FIG 1 below, col 1, line 52-col 2, line 2, line 29].
Hill further discloses:
{cl. 2} The flame effect system of claim 1, comprising an igniter (16) positioned at or proximate to the nozzle, wherein the igniter is configured to activate to initiate a combustion reaction between the fluidized powdered fuel and oxygen in the atmosphere [see FIG 1, col 1, line 63-66].
{cl. 3} The flame effect system of claim 1, comprising a valve (17) disposed along the fluid path between the propellant tank and the intersection, wherein the valve is configured to selectively open to facilitate flow of the propellant through the fluid path [see FIG 1, col 2, line 1-7].
{cl. 4} The flame effect system of claim 3, wherein the valve is adjustable to control a flow rate of the propellant through the fluid path [col 2, line 4-7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill [3256688], further in view of Clark [1559552].
With respect to claim 5, Hill discloses the invention as substantially claimed however does not show the type of powder and propellant used.
Clark makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 5} The flame effect system of claim 1, wherein the powdered fuel comprises lycopodium powder, the propellant comprises carbon dioxide, or a combination thereof [page 2, right column, line 78-84].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hill with the teachings of Clark because Clark provides a known combination of combustion reactants that will create a desirable flame effect.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill [3256688], further in view of Angevine et al [4250816].
With respect to claim 6, Hill discloses the invention as substantially claimed however does not show the fuel is configured to flow via gravity as claimed.
Angevine makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 6} The flame effect system of claim 1, wherein the hopper is configured to enable the powdered fuel to flow into the fluid path under the influence of gravity [col 4, line 39-52].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hill with the teachings of Angevine because Angevine provides a known manner in which to supply a substance from a hopper that requires fewer moving parts.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill [3256688], further in view of Strock et al [20130186920].
With respect to claim 7, Hill discloses the invention as substantially claimed however does not show the orifice plate as claimed. Hill utilizes a pump 19, that functions similarly to an orifice plate, therefore Strock makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 7} The flame effect system of claim 1, comprising: a second fluid path fluidly coupling the hopper to the fluid path; and an orifice plate (17) disposed along the second fluid path, wherein the orifice plate is configured to control a flow rate of the powdered fuel into the fluid path [see FIG 1, paragraph 0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hill with the teachings of Strock because Strock provides a known mechanism that allows for a smooth transport of reactants in order to control combustion.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill [3256688], further in view of Suzuki et al [20170219209].
With respect to claim 8, Hill discloses the invention as substantially claimed however does not show the controller as claimed.
Suzuki makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 8} The flame effect system of claim 1, comprising a controller comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the controller is configured to initiate a combustion reaction between the fluidized powdered fuel and oxygen in the atmosphere. [see claim 1, paragraph 0030-0033]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hill with the teachings of Suzuki because Suzuki provides a known manner in which to control combustion to ensure a desirable burner performance.
Conclusion
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
3/24/2026