DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the application filed received on September 30, 2024.
The Oath was received on Sept. 30, 2024.
The preliminary amendment was received on November 20, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on July 11, 2025 and Nov. 8, 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhendong Li, et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20250070999 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches that a system comprising: a first terminal device comprising first identification information and configured to establish a first session; a second terminal device comprising second identification information and configured to establish a second session; a first user plane network element comprising first tunnel information and configured to serve the first session; a second user plane network element comprising second tunnel information and configured to serve the second session; (Li, in Fig. 2A and in Paragraphs [0029], teaches that Fig. 2A shows a virtual network (VN) topology in a wireless communication network system 10 supported by SMF (Session Management Function)-1 (the first session network element) and SMF-2 (the second session network element). The SMF-1 assigns UPF (User Plane Function)-1 (the first user plane network element) as an PSA (PDU session anchor) to manage one or more UEs such as UE-1 and UE-2 (can be considered as first terminals) via one or more NG-RANs. The UE-1 and UE-2 each establish a PDU (Packet data unit) session with the UPF-1 (the first session). SMF-2 assigns UPF-2 (the second user plane network element) as another PSA to manage one or more UEs such as UE-3 and UE-4 (the second terminals) via one or more NG-RANs. The UE-3 and UE-4 each establish a PDU session with the UPF-2 (the second session). Further, to communicate, the UPF-1 and UPF-2 establish a data communication tunnel, such as an N19 tunnel (it becomes the first tunnel information and the second tunnel information), and additionally, the SMF-1 and the SMF-2 communicate with each other. Connections via N4 interfaces are also established between the SMF-1 and the UPF-1 or between UPF-2 and SMF-2. As described in Paragraphs [0035], since each network element is identified by its own identification such SMF ID, VN (Virtual Network) ID, etc, it is assumed for each network element to be identified by its own ID. ) a second session management network element comprising third identification information and configured to: (as mentioned earlier, Li teaches the second SMF (second session management network element) identified by its own identification (SMF-2 ID)(third identification information).) serve the second session; (Li, in Paragraphs [0029], teaches the SMF-2 (the second session management network element) serves the second PDU session established with UPF-2 to manage UE-3 and UE-4 (second terminals).) receive a second notification message comprising the second identification information and fourth identification information; (Li, in Fig 2A and 3A and in Paragraphs [0033]-[0034], [0029], and [0042], teaches that in Paragraphs [0033]-[0034], for VN group communication based on VN ID of VN, SMF-2 (the second session management network element (SMNE) establish communication with the SMF-1 (the first SMNE) to establish an inter SMF VN Session. Then, the SMF-2 obtains the information of SMF-1 (the fourth identification: SMF-1) from the VN management network element by active inquiry or by passive notification (the second notification message) when the SMF-2 is newly active in VN group communication. Further, the VN management network node can notify active SMFs associated with the same VN ID as that of the SMF-2 including the registration/addition of the information of the SMF-2 and the corresponding VN ID into the VN management network node, where the information of SMF-2 includes the second PDU session information such as the second PDU session identification (considered as the second identification). Thus, the SMF-2 receives a notification message from the VN management node including the second identification (the second PDU session ID) and the fourth identification (the SMF-1 ID).) receive a request message comprising the first tunnel information, the first identification information, and the second identification information; (Li, in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0094], teaches that SMF-2 receives a VN request message from SMF-1 and it includes the UPF-1 data communication tunnel information (the first tunnel information related to the first PDU session). The request establishes a data communication tunnel between the SMF-1 and the SMF-2 and serves as a command to establish the data communication between the UPF-1 and the UPF-2, such as N19 tunnel connection. Thus, the first identification (the first PDU session related to the SMF-1) and the second identification (the second PDU session related to the SMF-2) is included in the request message, to establish the tunnel connection between SMF-1 and SMF-2.) configure, for the second user plane network element and based on the first tunnel information and the first identification information, a first forwarding rule for sending, to the first user plane network element, a first data packet comprising a first destination address pointing to the first terminal device; and (Li, in Fig. 4B and 2A and in Paragraph [0095], teaches that at Step 712, after received VN session request, SMF-2 sends the received UPF-1 data communication tunnel information (the first tunnel information and the first identification information) from SMF-1 to UPF-2 and request UPF-2 to allocate proper tunnel recourse according to the tunnel recourse information of the UPF-1 to establish data communication tunnel between UPF-1 and UPF-2 such as the N19 data communication tunnel (as described in Paragraph [0096]). The UPF-2 return UPF-2 data communication tunnel information corresponding the allocated tunnel resource to SMF-2. In this N4 session request (communication) in step 712, as described in [0061] or [0091], further, SMF-2 configures the PDR (Packet Detection Rule) and FAR (Forwarding Action Rule) of UPF-2 by using the information of the SMF-1 (the first session management network element), such that UPF-2 can properly relay the data packet to their destinations. Thus, the data packets are relayed to UPF-1 if a data packet designates the UE-1 or UE-2 (the first terminals) under the UPF-1 as a recipient of the data packets.) send, in response to the request message and the second notification message, a response message comprising the second tunnel information and the second identification information; (Li, Fig. 4B and 2A and in Paragraph [0096], teaches that at step 713, SMF-2 sends a VN session response to SMF-1, after SMF-2 confirms that the UPF-2 has allocated the proper tunnel resource. The response includes the UPF-2 data communication tunnel information (the second tunnel information and the second identification information) corresponding to the tunnel resource allocated by the UPF-2, such that the UPF-1 can establish the N19 data communication tunnel with the UPF-2.) a first session management network element comprising the fourth identification information and configured to: (as mentioned earlier, Li teaches the first SMF (first session management network element) identified by its own identification (SMF-1 ID)(fourth identification information).) serve the first session; (Li, in Paragraphs [0029], teaches the SMF-1 (the first session management network element) serves the first PDU session, as an PSA (PDU Session Anchor), established with UPF-1 to manage UE-1 and UE-2 (first terminals).) receive a first notification message comprising the first identification information and the third identification information; (Li, in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0092], teaches that SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives a notification message (the first notification message) from the VN management network node to indicate the enrollment of the SMF-2 (including the third identification information) to SMF-1. Thus, the first identification information should be included since the destination of this message is SMF-1.) send, to the second session management network element and based on the first notification message, the request message; (Li, in Fig 4B and in Paragraph [0094], teaches that after receiving the notification message (the first notification message) from VN management network node, the SMF-1 (the first session management network element) sends a VN session request message to SMF-2 (the second session management network element). The request includes the UPF-1 data communication tunnel information to establish the data communication tunnel (N19) between UPF-1 and UPF-2.) receive the response message; and (Li, in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0096], teaches that the SMF-1 receives the response message of VN session that SMF-2 sends. The response message includes the UPF-2 data communication tunnel information corresponding to the tunnel resource allocated by UPF-2, to establish N19 data communication tunnel between UPF-1 and UPF-2.) configure, for the first user plane network element, based on the second tunnel information and the second identification information, and in response to the response message, a second forwarding rule for sending, to the second user plane network element, a second data packet comprising a second destination address pointing to the second terminal device; and (Li, in Fig. 4B and 2A and in Paragraph [0093] and [0096]-[0097], teaches that in Paragraph [0093], SMF-1 (the first session management network element) configures the PDR and/or FAR of the UPF-1 (the first user plane network element) and requests the UPF-1 to allocate the tunnel resource. Further, after SMF-1 obtains the information of SMF-2 (including the second identification), SMF-1 uses the information of the SMF-2 to configure the PDR and FAR of the UPF-2 (the second tunnel information including the second identification), such that the UPF-1 properly relay data packet to UPF-2 if the data packets designate the UE-3 or UE-4 (the second terminals) under UPF-2 as the recipient of the data packet.) a group management network element, coupled to the first session management network element, and a and the second session management network element and configured to: (Li, in Fig. 2A and in Paragraph [0033], teaches that as shown in Fig.2A, the VN group communication topology includes SMF-1 (the first session management network element) and the SMF-2 (the second session management network element). receive a group communication request message, comprising the first identification information and the second identification information; determine, in response to the group communication request message, the first session management network element and the second session management network element; (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. Further, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] and [0088]-[0089], in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707.) send to the first session management network element, the first notification message; and send to the second session management network element, the second notification message. (Li, in Fig. 2A and 4B and in Paragraphs [0086] and [0090], teaches that in step 703 in Paragraph [0086], SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives the notification message (the first notification message) from the VN group communication management network node such as UDR or UDM. The message includes information about VN group communication group, such as subscription information of SMF-1 to a service function of the VN management network node, newly enrolled SMF information in the group, etc. Further, in step 707 in Paragraph [0090], Li teaches that by using the same way with SMF-1, SMF-2 (the second session management network element) receives the notification message (the second notification message) from the VN group communication management network node such as UDR or UDM. The message includes information about VN group communication group, such as subscription information of SMF-2 to a service function of the VN management network node, newly enrolled SMF information in the group, etc. Thus, the group communication management network element sends the notification messages (the first or the second notification) to either SMF-1 or SMF-2, separately.)
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that wherein the group communication request message further comprises indication information, indicating to establish a group communication between the first terminal device and the second terminal device. (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. Further, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] and [0088]-[0089], in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707. Thus, the group communication request message (the message in step 502-503, 506-507, 702-703, or 706-707) comprises indication information (VN ID), indicating to establish a group communication between the first terminal devices and the second terminal devices through each PDU session and each SMF.)
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that wherein the first session management network element is further configured to send, to the group management network element, a first registration message comprising the first identification information, the fourth identification information, and fifth identification information of the first session; (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], and [0084]-[0085], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 (identified by the fourth identification) receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID (the fifth identification information) of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703.) wherein the second session management network element is further configured to send to the group management network element, a second registration message comprising the second identification information, the third identification information, and sixth identification information of the second session, and (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 (identified by the third identification) determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID (the sixth identification: the VN group communication ID) of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707.) wherein the group management network element is further configured to: receive from the first session management network element, the first registration message; and (Li, in Fig. 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], and [0084]-[0085], teaches that as described in Fig. 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 503 or steps 703, when SMF-1 (the first session management network element) sends the subscription request message (the first registration message) to UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository), acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM or UDR. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID (the fifth identification information) of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. The subscription is notified by the VN group communication management network node to SMF-1 as shown in step 703.) receive from the second session management network element, the second registration message. (Li, in Fig. 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that in steps 507 or steps707, when SMF-2 (the second session management network element) sends the subscription request message (second registration message) to UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository), acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM or UDR. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID (the sixth identification: the VN group communication ID) of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707. The subscription is notified by the VN group communication management network node to SMF-2 as shown in step 707.)
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches that a method implemented by a group management network element, wherein the method comprises: receiving a group communication request message comprising first identification information of a first terminal device and second identification information of a second terminal device; determining, in response to the group communication request message, a first session management network element serving a first session of the first terminal device and a second session management network element, serving a second session of the second terminal device; and (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. Further, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] and [0088]-[0089], in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707.) triggering the first session management network element and the second session management network element to establish a group communication between the first terminal device and the second terminal device. (Li, in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0092], teaches that from VN group communication management network node (element), the SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives the notification of the enrollment of the SMF-2 (the second session management network element) in VN group communication. The notification includes information of SMF-2 and VN ID. As indicated in [0707], the SMF-2 is also able to receive information of SMF-1 and VN ID, since the VN group communication management network node notify the enrollment of the new SMF in VN group to each SMF in the group to update subscription. Then, as explained in Fig. 4B and in Paragraphs [0094]-[0096], by using steps 711-714, the VN session request and response between SMF-1 and SMF-2 are performed to establish the data communication tunnel as shown in Fig. 2A. By this way, the group communication between SMF-1 and SMF-2 (including the first PDU session of the first terminals and the second PDU session of the second terminals) is set up and performed.)
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that wherein the group communication request message further comprises indication information, indicating to establish the group communication (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. Further, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] and [0088]-[0089], in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707. Thus, the group communication request message (the message in step 502-503, 506-507, 702-703, or 706-707) comprises indication information (VN ID), indicating to establish a group communication between the first terminal devices and the second terminal devices through each PDU session and each SMF.)
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that sending to the first session management network element, a first notification message comprising the first identification information and fourth identification information of the second session management network element; and (Li, in Fig. 2A and 4B and in Paragraphs [0086] and [0090], teaches that in step 703 in Paragraph [0086], SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives the notification message (the first notification message) from the VN group communication management network node such as UDR or UDM. The message includes information about VN group communication group (with VN ID), such as subscription information of SMF-1 (the first session management network element with the fourth identification) to a service function of the VN management network node, newly enrolled SMF information in the group, etc. Thus, the first notification message includes the first identification and the fourth identification since this message informs SMF-1 including the first PDU session regarding the VN group information.)
sending to the second session management network element, a second notification message comprising the second identification information and third identification information of the first session management network element (Li, in Fig. 2A and 4B and in Paragraphs [0090], teaches that in step 707 in Paragraph [0090], Li teaches that by using the same way with SMF-1, SMF-2 (the second session management network element) receives the notification message (the second notification message) from the VN group communication management network node such as UDR or UDM. The message includes information about VN group communication group (with VN ID), such as subscription information of SMF-2 (the second session management network element with third identification) to a service function of the VN management network node, newly enrolled SMF information in the group, etc. Thus, the second notification message includes the second identification and the third identification since this message informs SMF-2 including the second PDU session regarding the VN group information.)
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that sending to the first session management network element, a notification message comprising the first identification information, the second identification information, and third identification information of the second session management network element (Li, in Fig. 2A and 4B and in Paragraphs [0092], teaches that in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0092], in step 709, the SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives the notification message from VN group communication management node regarding the enrollment of SMF-2 (the second session management network element with the third identification (SMF-2 ID)) in the same VN group. The notification includes the information of SMF-2 and VN ID (VN group communication ID). From this, the first identification (the first PDU session ID) and the second identification (the second PDU session ID) should be included since two SMF is involved.)
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that receiving, from the first session management network element, a first registration message comprising the first identification information, fourth identification information of the first session management network element, and fifth identification information of the first session; and (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], and [0084]-[0085], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 (identified by the fourth identification) receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID (the fifth identification information) of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703.) receiving, from the second session management network element, a second registration message comprising the second identification information, third identification information of the second session management network element, and sixth identification information of the second session (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 (identified by the third identification) determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID (the sixth identification: the VN group communication ID) of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707.)
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches that an apparatus, comprising: one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: (Li, in Fig. 10 and in Paragraph [0171]-[0172], teaches that Fig. 10 shows hardware structures of the system 150 to perform multiple steps or instructions. The system is configured by the transceiver, transceiver module, memory, memory module, processor, and processor module.) receive a group communication request message, comprising first identification information of a first terminal device and second identification information of a second terminal device; determine, in response to the group communication request message, a first session management network element serving a first session of the first terminal device and a second session management network element serving a second session of the second terminal device; and (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. Further, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] and [0088]-[0089], in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707.) trigger the first session management network element and the second session management network element to establish a group communication between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Li, in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0092], teaches that from VN group communication management network node (element), the SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives the notification of the enrollment of the SMF-2 (the second session management network element) in VN group communication. The notification includes information of SMF-2 and VN ID. As indicated in [0707], the SMF-2 is also able to receive information of SMF-1 and VN ID, since the VN group communication management network node notify the enrollment of the new SMF in VN group to each SMF in the group to update subscription. Then, as explained in Fig. 4B and in Paragraphs [0094]-[0096], by using steps 711-714, the VN session request and response between SMF-1 and SMF-2 are performed to establish the data communication tunnel as shown in Fig. 2A. By this way, the group communication between SMF-1 and SMF-2 (including the first PDU session of the first terminals and the second PDU session of the second terminals) is set up and performed.)
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that wherein the group communication request message further comprises indication information, indicating to establish the group communication (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703. Further, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] and [0088]-[0089], in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707. Thus, the group communication request message (the message in step 502-503, 506-507, 702-703, or 706-707) comprises indication information (VN ID), indicating to establish a group communication between the first terminal devices and the second terminal devices through each PDU session and each SMF.)
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that to send, to the first session management network element, a notification message comprising the first identification information, the second identification information, and third identification information of the second session management network element (Li, in Fig. 2A and 4B and in Paragraphs [0092], teaches that in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0092], in step 709, the SMF-1 (the first session management network element) receives the notification message from VN group communication management node regarding the enrollment of SMF-2 (the second session management network element with the third identification (SMF-2 ID)) in the same VN group. The notification includes the information of SMF-2 and VN ID (VN group communication ID). From this, the first identification (the first PDU session ID) and the second identification (the second PDU session ID) should be included since two SMF is involved.)
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches that receive from the first session management network element, a first registration message comprising the first identification information, fourth identification information of the first session management network element, and fifth identification information of the first session; and (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], and [0084]-[0085], teaches that as described in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0084]-[0085], thru steps 501-503 or steps 701-703, the SMF-1 (identified by the fourth identification) receives a PDU session establishment request associated with UE-1 and/or UE-2 (the first terminals) and based on the information on the request message, such as DNN (Data Network Name) and/or S-NSSAI (single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information), the SMF-1 determines that this PDU session (the first session: the first identification) is to be established for a certain VN group communication. Then, the SMF-1 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-1 uses the VN ID (the fifth identification information) of the VN group to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group. By this way, SMF-1 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 502-503 or 702-703.) receive, from the second session management network element, a second registration message comprising the second identification information, third identification information of the second session management network element, and sixth identification information of the second session (Li, in Fig. 2A, 3B, and 4B and in Paragraphs [0058]-[0060], and [0088]-[0089], teaches that in steps 505-507 or steps705-707, when SMF-2 receives a PDU session establishment request associated with another UEs (UE-3 and/or UE-4: the second terminals), SMF-2 (identified by the third identification) determines and establishes this PDU session (the second session: the second identification) for a VN group communication group, based on the information in the request such as a DNN/S-NSSAI. Then, by using the same steps as that for SMF-1, the SMF-2 is registered and obtains the information of SMFs associated with the same VN group communication group from UDM (Unified Data Management) or UDR (Unified Data Repository) acting as the VN management network node (group management network element) via PCF (Policy Control Function), NRF (Network function Repository Function), NEF (Network exposure Function) using various mechanisms. Then, SMF-2 uses the VN ID (the sixth identification: the VN group communication ID) of the VN group communication to look up the record of the UDM or UDR to determine whether there is another SMF serving the same VN group communication group. By this way, SMF-2 is determined (registered) to be included in the VN group communication with VN ID through the request and response steps in 506-507 or 706-707.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhendong Li, et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20250070999 A1, hereinafter “Li”) in a view of Sangjun Moon et. al. (USPub. No: US 20250220772 A1, hereinafter, “Moon”).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li shows steps to obtain the context of the session, Li does not explicitly mention the context.
Moon teaches that wherein the group management network element is further configured to: obtain, based on the first identification information, a first context associated with the first session, wherein the first context comprises the fourth identification information; and (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraph [0063]-[0065], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0063]-[0065], upon receiving the subscription information related to the group communication supporting the plurality of SMFs from the UDM in step 505, SMF 1 (the first session management network element identified by SMF ID, the fourth identification information) notifies the AMF (access and mobility management function) that the SM (Session Management) context (the first context) for the PDU session (the first session identified by the first identification) related to the group communication is created in response to the PDU session establish request in step 503. In this case, the response includes the GCI (group communication ID) and a DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI. In step 507, SMF 1 selects a PCF for managing the operator policy by referring to the subscription information received from the UDM (PCF or UDM can be considered as a group management network element) and the PDU session context. In step 508, SMF 1 performs session management (SM) policy association with the PCF.) obtain, based on the second identification information, a second context associated with the second session, wherein the second context comprises the third identification information (Moon teaches in the above, when the new PDU session and SMF are added in the group communication list, the PDU session context is selected by its SMF. By the same way in step 505 and 506, when another PDU session (the second session) is requested by the another UEs (the second terminals) for group communication and added in the group, upon receiving the subscription information related to the group communication supporting the plurality of SMFs from the UDM as in step 505, SMF 2 (the second session management network element identified by SMF ID, the third identification information) notifies the AMF (access and mobility management function) that the SM (Session Management) context (the second context) for the PDU session (the first session identified by the first identification) related to the group communication is created in response to the PDU session establish request as in step 503. In this case, the response includes the GCI (group communication ID) and a DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI. As in step 507, SMF 2 selects a PCF for managing the operator policy by referring to the subscription information received from the UDM (PCF or UDM can be considered as a group management network element) and the PDU session context. As in step 508, SMF 2 performs session management (SM) policy association with the PCF.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of wherein the group management network element is further configured to: obtain, based on the first identification information, a first context associated with the first session, wherein the first context comprises the fourth identification information; and obtain, based on the second identification information, a second context associated with the second session, wherein the second context comprises the third identification information of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li also mentioned that in Paragraph [0059], SMF obtains the information from UDR via PCF, UDM or NEF using various mechanisms,
Moon further teaches that wherein the group management network element is further configured to receive, from a network exposure function network element, the group communication request message. (Moon, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0039]-[0040], teaches that when 5G VN group management method is performed in the system of FIG. 1, the AF 111 configures a virtual network (VN) group in the UDR 108 (VN group management network element) through the NEF (network exposure function) 110. In this way, a VN group (VN group communication) is created/modified/deleted in the 5G system, a member for each VN group is added/deleted, and the attributes for each VN group is set. NEF 110 is responsible for transmitting or receiving an event occurring in the 5G system and a supported capability to/from the outside. Thus, NEF is responsible to create or modify (by using request and response) the VN group communication session.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of wherein the group management network element is further configured to receive, from a network exposure function network element, the group communication request message of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li shows steps to obtain the context of the session, Li does not explicitly mention the context.
Moon teaches that obtaining, based on the first identification information, a first context associated with the first session, wherein the first context comprises third identification information of the first session management network element; and (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraph [0063]-[0065], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0063]-[0065], upon receiving the subscription information related to the group communication supporting the plurality of SMFs from the UDM in step 505, SMF 1 (the first session management network element identified by SMF ID, the fourth identification information) notifies the AMF (access and mobility management function) that the SM context for the PDU session (the first session identified by the first identification) related to the group communication is created in response to the PDU session establish request in step 503. In this case, the response includes the GCI (group communication ID) and a DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI. In step 507, SMF 1 selects a PCF for managing the operator policy by referring to the subscription information received from the UDM (PCF or UDM can be considered as a group management network element) and the PDU session context (the first context). In step 508, SMF 1 performs session management (SM) policy association with the PCF.) obtaining, based on the second identification information, a second context associated with the second session, wherein the second context comprises fourth identification information of the second session management network element (Moon teaches in the above, when the new PDU session and SMF are added in the group communication list, the PDU session context is selected by its SMF. By the same way in step 505 and 506, when another PDU session (the second session) is requested by the another UEs (the second terminals) for group communication and added in the group, upon receiving the subscription information related to the group communication supporting the plurality of SMFs from the UDM as in step 505, SMF 2 (the second session management network element identified by SMF ID, the third identification information) notifies the AMF (access and mobility management function) that the SM (Session Management) context (the second context) for the PDU session (the first session identified by the first identification) related to the group communication is created in response to the PDU session establish request as in step 503. In this case, the response includes the GCI (group communication ID) and a DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI. As in step 507, SMF 2 selects a PCF for managing the operator policy by referring to the subscription information received from the UDM (PCF or UDM can be considered as a group management network element) and the PDU session context. As in step 508, SMF 2 performs session management (SM) policy association with the PCF.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of obtaining, based on the first identification information, a first context associated with the first session, wherein the first context comprises third identification information of the first session management network element; and
obtaining, based on the second identification information, a second context associated with the second session, wherein the second context comprises fourth identification information of the second session management network element of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li also mentioned that in Paragraph [0059], SMF obtains the information from UDR via PCF, UDM or NEF using various mechanisms,
Moon further teaches that wherein receiving the group communication request message comprises: receiving, from a network exposure function network element, the group communication request message. (Moon, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0039]-[0040], teaches that when 5G VN group management method is performed in the system of FIG. 1, the AF 111 configures a virtual network (VN) group in the UDR 108 (VN group management network element) through the NEF (network exposure function) 110. In this way, a VN group (VN group communication) is created/modified/deleted in the 5G system, a member for each VN group is added/deleted, and the attributes for each VN group is set. NEF 110 is responsible for transmitting or receiving an event occurring in the 5G system and a supported capability to/from the outside. Thus, NEF is responsible to create or modify (by using request and response) the VN group communication session.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of wherein receiving the group communication request message comprises: receiving, from a network exposure function network element, the group communication request message of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li shows steps to obtain the context of the session, Li does not explicitly mention the context.
Moon teaches that obtain, based on the first identification information, a first context associated with the first session, wherein the first context comprises third identification information of the first session management network element; and (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraph [0063]-[0065], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0063]-[0065], upon receiving the subscription information related to the group communication supporting the plurality of SMFs from the UDM in step 505, SMF 1 (the first session management network element identified by SMF ID, the fourth identification information) notifies the AMF (access and mobility management function) that the SM context for the PDU session (the first session identified by the first identification) related to the group communication is created in response to the PDU session establish request in step 503. In this case, the response includes the GCI (group communication ID) and a DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI. In step 507, SMF 1 selects a PCF for managing the operator policy by referring to the subscription information received from the UDM (PCF or UDM can be considered as a group management network element) and the PDU session context (the first context). In step 508, SMF 1 performs session management (SM) policy association with the PCF.) obtain, based on the second identification information, a second context associated with the second session, wherein the second context comprises fourth identification information of the second session management network element (Moon teaches in the above, when the new PDU session and SMF are added in the group communication list, the PDU session context is selected by its SMF. By the same way in step 505 and 506, when another PDU session (the second session) is requested by the another UEs (the second terminals) for group communication and added in the group, upon receiving the subscription information related to the group communication supporting the plurality of SMFs from the UDM as in step 505, SMF 2 (the second session management network element identified by SMF ID, the third identification information) notifies the AMF (access and mobility management function) that the SM (Session Management) context (the second context) for the PDU session (the first session identified by the first identification) related to the group communication is created in response to the PDU session establish request as in step 503. In this case, the response includes the GCI (group communication ID) and a DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI. As in step 507, SMF 2 selects a PCF for managing the operator policy by referring to the subscription information received from the UDM (PCF or UDM can be considered as a group management network element) and the PDU session context. As in step 508, SMF 2 performs session management (SM) policy association with the PCF.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of obtain, based on the first identification information, a first context associated with the first session, wherein the first context comprises third identification information of the first session management network element; and obtain, based on the second identification information, a second context associated with the second session, wherein the second context comprises fourth identification information of the second session management network element of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li also mentioned that in Paragraph [0059], SMF obtains the information from UDR via PCF, UDM or NEF using various mechanisms,
Moon further teaches that to receive, from a network exposure function network element, the group communication request message. (Moon, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0039]-[0040], teaches that when 5G VN group management method is performed in the system of FIG. 1, the AF 111 configures a virtual network (VN) group in the UDR 108 (VN group management network element) through the NEF (network exposure function) 110. In this way, a VN group (VN group communication) is created/modified/deleted in the 5G system, a member for each VN group is added/deleted, and the attributes for each VN group is set. NEF 110 is responsible for transmitting or receiving an event occurring in the 5G system and a supported capability to/from the outside. Thus, NEF is responsible to create or modify (by using request and response) the VN group communication session.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of to receive, from a network exposure function network element, the group communication request message of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 17, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li also teaches that in Paragraph [0085], each SMF is updating or storing information its profile such as identification and/or VN ID to UDR or UDM (VN group communication management network elements),
Moon further teaches that store the first identification information, the fourth identification information, and the fifth identification information in a first context associated with the first session; and (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraphs [0069]-[0070] and [0073], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0070], in step 512, SMF 1 (the first session management network element with fourth identification, SMF 1 ID) registers with UDM by sending the message for registration. The message includes the GCI (group communication ID (VN ID) considered as the fifth identification), the subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) which is the ID of UE 1 (the first terminals), the DNN/S-NSSAI, the PDU session ID (the first session ID considered as the first identification), the SMF ID of SMF 1 (the fourth identification including SM context (the first context) as explained in step 511 in Paragraph [0069]), the PLMN ID and the network ID (NID). In Paragraph [0073], in step 515, the UDM (group communication management network element) stores the updated list of SMFs participating in group communication related to the DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI, including all the related identification information as mentioned earlier, based on updating by the new subscription like performing step 511.) store the second identification information, the third identification information, and the sixth identification information in a second context associated with the second session (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraphs [0069]-[0070] and [0073], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0073], UDM updates and stores the information related to SMF mapped to the corresponding GCI whenever SMF list is changed in the GCI. Thus, when the SMF 2 (the second session management network element with third identification, SMF 2 ID) is newly registered with UDM, as described in Paragraphs [0070], as in step 512, SMF 2 (the second session management network element with third identification, SMF 2 ID) registers with UDM by sending the message for registration. The message includes the GCI (group communication ID (VN ID) considered as the sixth identification), the subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) which is the ID of UE 1 (the first terminals), the DNN/S-NSSAI, the PDU session ID (the second session ID considered as the second identification), the SMF ID of SMF 2 (the third identification including its SM context (the second context) as explained in step 511 in Paragraph [0069]), the PLMN ID and the network ID (NID). In Paragraph [0073], as in step 515, the UDM (group communication management network element) stores the updated list of SMFs participating in group communication related to the DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI, including all the related identification information as mentioned earlier, based on updating by the new subscription like performing step 511, namely, based on the newly enrollment of SMF 2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of store the first identification information, the fourth identification information, and the fifth identification information in a first context associated with the first session; and store the second identification information, the third identification information, and the sixth identification information in a second context associated with the second session of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Li also teaches that in Paragraph [0085], each SMF is updating or storing information its profile such as identification and/or VN ID to UDR or UDM (VN group communication management network elements),
Moon further teaches that storing, in a first context associated with the first session, the first identification information, the fourth identification information, and the fifth identification information; and (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraphs [0069]-[0070] and [0073], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0070], in step 512, SMF 1 (the first session management network element with fourth identification, SMF 1 ID) registers with UDM by sending the message for registration. The message includes the GCI (group communication ID (VN ID) considered as the fifth identification), the subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) which is the ID of UE 1 (the first terminals), the DNN/S-NSSAI, the PDU session ID (the first session ID considered as the first identification), the SMF ID of SMF 1 (the fourth identification including SM context (the first context) as explained in step 511 in Paragraph [0069]), the PLMN ID and the network ID (NID). In Paragraph [0073], in step 515, the UDM (group communication management network element) stores the updated list of SMFs participating in group communication related to the DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI, including all the related identification information as mentioned earlier, based on updating by the new subscription like performing step 511.) storing, in a second context associated with the second session, the second identification information, the third identification information, and the sixth identification information (Moon, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraphs [0069]-[0070] and [0073], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0073], UDM updates and stores the information related to SMF mapped to the corresponding GCI whenever SMF list is changed in the GCI. Thus, when the SMF 2 (the second session management network element with third identification, SMF 2 ID) is newly registered with UDM, as described in Paragraphs [0070], as in step 512, SMF 2 (the second session management network element with third identification, SMF 2 ID) registers with UDM by sending the message for registration. The message includes the GCI (group communication ID (VN ID) considered as the sixth identification), the subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) which is the ID of UE 1 (the first terminals), the DNN/S-NSSAI, the PDU session ID (the second session ID considered as the second identification), the SMF ID of SMF 2 (the third identification including its SM context (the second context) as explained in step 511 in Paragraph [0069]), the PLMN ID and the network ID (NID). In Paragraph [0073], as in step 515, the UDM (group communication management network element) stores the updated list of SMFs participating in group communication related to the DNN/S-NSSAI mapped to the GCI, including all the related identification information as mentioned earlier, based on updating by the new subscription like performing step 511, namely, based on the newly enrollment of SMF 2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Li and Moon to include the technique of storing, in a first context associated with the first session, the first identification information, the fourth identification information, and the fifth identification information; and storing, in a second context associated with the second session, the second identification information, the third identification information, and the sixth identification information of Moon in the system of Li to provide a method and a device for supporting group communication in a wireless communication system to be able to share information between a plurality of SMFs having different service areas or tracking areas (Moon, see Paragraphs [0001] and [0009]).)
Conclusion
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472