DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to Application Ser. No. 18/901,780 filed on July 8, 2026, has been entered. Claims 2, 8, 10, 16 and 18 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17 and 19 are currently amended. Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17, 19 and 20 are pending and are examined.
Response to Arguments
The arguments with respect to the objection to the claims for minor informalities have been fully considered by the examiner. As new informalities are introduced by the amendment, the objection to the claims for minor informalities is maintained.
The arguments with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered by the Examiner but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), necessitated by the amendment, set forth in this Office Action.
The amendment to Claims 1 and 17 has overcome the rejection of Claims 1-8 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 8, 2026. The rejection of Claims 1-8 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
The arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of Claims 1-20 have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Specifically, on page 11 of the response filed July 8, 2026, Applicant argues, “Specifically, Hangal is devoid of any disclosure, teaching, or suggestion of a system configured to, inter alia: (i) store instances of electronic interaction over one or more social media networks between a plurality of users; (ii) collect information from the one or more social media networks and determine whether the collected information includes a second user; (iii) determine whether a first user is associated with a larger entity; (iv) assign a confidence rating to the collected information and compare the confidence rating to a predetermined threshold; and (v) display, on the first user's computer system, instances of electronic interaction over the one or more social media networks from the second user pertaining to the larger entity, wherein the second user did not transmit the instance of electronic interaction directly to the larger entity.”
Additionally, on page 12 of the response filed July 8, 2026, Applicant further argues, “McConnell fails to disclose, teach, or suggest several elements recited in the amended claims. First, McConnell does not disclose collecting information from social media networks and determining whether the collected information includes a second user. Second, McConnell does not disclose assigning a confidence rating to collected information and comparing that confidence rating to a predetermined threshold. Third, and of particular significance, McConnell does not disclose storing instances of electronic interaction over social media networks from a second user pertaining to a larger entity, where the second user did not transmit the instance of electronic interaction directly to the larger entity. McConnell's system is predicated on direct communications to and from a target person, which is fundamentally distinct from the claimed system's capture and presentation of electronic interactions that a second user generates on social media pertaining to a larger entity but does not direct to that entity. Fourth, McConnell does not disclose determining whether a first user is associated with a larger entity and displaying on the first user's computer system instances of electronic interactions over social media networks between the second user and the larger entity.”
The Examiner notes that at least the features, assigning a confidence rating to collected information and comparing the confidence rating to a predetermined threshold and storing / displaying instances of electronic interaction over the one or more social media networks from the second user pertaining to the larger entity, wherein the second user did not transmit the instance of electronic interaction directly to the larger entity (emphasis added), argued by Applicant as providing non-obviousness over the prior art of record are not recited within the claims.
Continuing on page 12 of the response filed July 8, 2026, Applicant additionally argues, “In addition to the foregoing substantive deficiencies, the Office Action has not articulated a sufficient rationale for combining Hangal and McConnell. Under KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), and the guidelines set forth in MPEP § 2143, the Examiner must provide a reasoned, fact-based explanation for why a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the cited references with a reasonable expectation of success. Hangal is directed to a personal browsing tool that indexes a single user's email and chat archives, while McConnell is directed to a CRM-based system for generating profiles of known target persons. These references address fundamentally different problems, operate through different architectures, and are directed to different end uses. No evidence of record supports the conclusion that a skilled artisan would have found reason to combine these disparate disclosures, and bare conclusory statements are insufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.”
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, the inventions of Hangal and McConnell are both concerned with surfacing messages from one or more databases, such as emails and social media posts, that are relevant to a first user and a motivation for combining the teachings was provided in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 8, 2026.
Nevertheless, new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, necessitated by the amendment, are set forth in this Office Action.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
regarding Claim 1, a line break should be inserted such that the limitation “ a server in communication...”, recited in lines 4-7, begins on a new line;
regarding Claim 9, the period in line 25 should be deleted;
regarding Claim 14, the word “interactions” recited in line 3 should be “interaction” and the term “each of the identified users” recited in line 3 should be “each identified user”; and
regarding Claim 17, a line break should be inserted such that the limitation “a server in communication...”, recited in lines 6-8, begins on a new line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “collect information from a website displayed in a web browser on the user computer system” in line 13. The relationship between “a web browser” and “the user computer system” recited here and “a web browser” and “a computer system of the first user” is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Additionally, Claim 1 recites the limitation “parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website” in lines 14-15. The relationship between “a website” and “identifying information” recited here and “a website” and “information” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Continuing, Claim 1 recites the limitation “transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information to determine whether the extracted identifying information matches a second one of the plurality of users stored in the database” in lines 16-19. The relationship between “a second one of the plurality of users” recited here and “a second one of the plurality of users” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Further, Claim 1, recites the limitation “in response to receiving from the server, via the API, data identifying one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user, dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting the one or more instances of electronic interaction in association with a display element corresponding to the second user on the website” in lines 22-25. The relationship between “the second user” recited here and “a second one of the plurality of users” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Last, Claim 1 recites the limitation “determine a larger entity with which the first user is associated and display on the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the second user and the larger entity other than the one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user” in lines 26-29. Again, the relationship between “the second user” recited here and “a second one of the plurality of users” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Dependent Claims 3-7 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 1 in view of their dependence thereon.
For examination purposes, the terms “a web browser” and “the user computer system” recited in line 13 are interpreted as “the web browser” and “the computer system of the first user”, the term “a website” in line 14 is interpreted as “the website”, and the term “the second user” recited in lines 23, 25, 27 and 29 is interpreted as “the second one of the plurality of users”, respectively.
Additionally, Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the application is configured to display on the user's computer system the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and each of the identified users” in lines 1-3. The terms “the user’s computer system” and “the computer system of the first user” recited back-to-back is confusing, rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether two elements are being recited intentionally, or whether the language “the user’s computer system” was not clearly marked for deletion by accident.
The Examiner suggests deleting the language “the user’s computer system” from the claim to overcome the rejection.
Additionally, Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the application is further configured to determine a larger entity with which the second user is associated and to display on the user computer system the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the larger entity other than the one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user” in lines 1-5. The terms “the user computer system” and “the computer system of the first user” recited back-t0-back is confusing, rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether two elements are being recited intentionally, or whether the language “the user computer system” was not clearly marked for deletion by accident.
The Examiner suggests deleting the language “the user computer system” from the claim to overcome the rejection.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “executing, by a browser extension operating within a process space of the web browser on a first user's computer systema computer system of a first user, a parsing operation on a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website” in lines 10-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the web browser” in the claims.
Additionally, Claim 9 recites the limitation “retrieving, by the server from a database that stores a plurality of electronic interactions between the first user and a plurality of other users, the plurality of electronic interactions comprising instances of interaction over one or more social media networks, the second user being one of the plurality of other users, one or more electronic interactions between the first user and the second user” in lines 18-22. The relationship between “a database” recited here and “ a database” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Dependent Claims 11-15 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 1 in view of their dependence thereon.
For examination purposes, the term “the web browser” recited in line 10 is interpreted as “a web browser” and the term “a database” recited in line 18 is interpreted as “the database”.
Additionally, Claim 12 recite the limitation “wherein displaying the one or more electronic interactions over the website interface the dynamically injecting of the visual overlay presenting the one or more electronic interactions between the first user and the second user is performed by the browser extension of the web browser” in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “wherein displaying the one or more electronic interactions over the website interface” in the claims. Additionally, the limitation is missing language that defines the relationship between “displaying the one or more electronic interactions over the website interface” and “the dynamically injecting...”, rendering the claim indefinite.
The Examiner suggests deleting the language “displaying the one or more electronic interactions over the website interface” from the limitation to overcome the rejection.
Additionally, Claim 13 recites the limitation “identifying each user of the plurality of users included in the information” in lines 1-2. The relationship between “the plurality of users” and “the information” recited here and “a plurality of other users” and “the extracted identifying information” recited in Claim 9 is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Dependent Claim 14 is rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 13 in view of its dependence thereon.
For examination purposes, the term “the plurality of users” recited in lines 1-2 is interpreted as “the plurality of other users” and the term “the information” is interpreted as “the extracted identifying information”.
Additionally, Claim 14 recites the limitation “displaying on the user's computer system the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interactions between the first user and each of the identified users” in lines 1-3. The terms “the user’s computer system” and “the computer system of the first user” recited back-t0-back is confusing, rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether two elements are being recited intentionally, or whether the language “the user’s computer system” was not clearly marked for deletion by accident.
The Examiner suggests deleting the language “the user’s computer system” from the limitation to overcome the rejection.
Additionally, Claim 15 recites the limitation “determining a larger entity with which the second user is associated, and retrieving and displaying on the user computer system the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the larger entity other than the one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user” in lines 1-5. The terms “the user computer system” and “the computer system of the first user” recited back-t0-back is confusing, rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether two elements are being recited intentionally, or whether the language “the user computer system” was not clearly marked for deletion by accident.
The Examiner suggests deleting the language “the user computer system” from the limitation to overcome the rejection.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “collect information from a website displayed in a web browser on the first user's computer system” in lines 9-10. The relationship between “a web browser” and “the first user’s computer system” recited here and “a web browser” and “a computer system of the first user” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Additionally, Claim 17 recites the limitation “parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website” in lines 16-17. The relationship between “a website” and “identifying information” recited here and “a website” and “information” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Continuing, Claim 17 recites the limitation “transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information, and receive a response identifying at least one of the plurality of other users matching the extracted identifying information” in lines 18-20. The relationship between “a second one of the plurality of users” recited here and “a second one of the plurality of users” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Last, Claim 17, recites the limitation “dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the at least one identified user that are stored in the database, the visual overlay displayed in association with a display element corresponding to the at least one identified user on the website” in lines 23-26. The relationship between “the at least one identified user” recited here and “at least one of the plurality of other users” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Dependent Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 17 in view of their dependence thereon.
For examination purposes, the terms “a web browser” and “the first user’s computer system” recited in lines 15-16 are interpreted as “the web browser” and “the computer system of the first user”, the term “a website” in line 16 is interpreted as “the website”, and the term “the at least one identified user” recited in lines 24 and 26 is interpreted as “the identified at least one of the plurality of other users”, respectively.
Additionally, Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the application is further configured to add information to the database based on the first user's activity of the first user in the web browser on one of the two or more social media networks” in lines 1-3. The term “the first user’s activity of the first user” is confusing, rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether two elements are being recited intentionally, or whether the language “first user’s” was not clearly marked for deletion by accident.
The Examiner suggests deleting the language “first user’s” from the limitation to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a server in communication with the database and configured to receive queries via an application programming interface (API) and return, in response to a query identifying a particular user, one or more stored instances of electronic interaction associated with the particular user” in lines 4-7. Paragraph [0020] of the instant specification states, in part:
“For example, the application server 12 may provide the social media context application 24 on a software-as-a-service basis, and the application 24 may be accessed via a client on the user computer system 14, such as a client associated with the web browser 28.”
While the specification suggests that the web browser on the computer system of the first user may access the social media context application provided by the server, the specification does not disclose querying the server via an API for instances of electronic interaction associated with a particular user.
Additionally, Claim 1 recites the limitation “parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website” in lines 14-15. Paragraph [0028] of the specification states, in part:
“For example, the social media context application 24 may be configured to scan a web page provided by the web server 18 as it is accessed by the user computer system 14 (e.g., via the web browser 28), collect information from that web page, determine if the collected information includes information about a user of a social media network or other individual or entity with whom the user of the user system 14 has had interaction, retrieve the interactions from the database 16, and display the interactions.”
While the specifications suggests scanning a web page provided by the web server to collect information from the web page and determining if the collected information includes information about a user, the specification does not disclose parsing a DOM of the website to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities.
Continuing, Claim 1 recites the limitation “transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information to determine whether the extracted identifying information matches a second one of the plurality of users stored in the database” in lines 16-19. Again, the specification does not disclose an API nor transmitting “a query based on the extracted identifying information” to the server.
Last, Claim 1 recites the limitation “in response to receiving from the server, via the API, data identifying one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user, dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting the one or more instances of electronic interaction in association with a display element corresponding to the second user on the website” in lines 22-25. Paragraph [0032] of the specification states, in part:
“As noted above, the social media context application 24 may be configured to extract information from the browser interface and to superimpose information on the browser interface for display on the display 26 of the user computer system 14.”
While the specification suggests that the social media context application may superimpose (overlay) information over the interface of the web browser, the specification does not recite the term “a display element corresponding to the second user” nor does the specification disclose receiving data identifying one or more instances of electronic interaction from the server via an API or dynamically injecting a visual overlay presenting one or more instances of electronic interaction into the DOM of a website.
Therefore there is insufficient written description support for “receive queries via an application programming interface (API)”, “return, in response to a query identifying a particular user, one or more stored instances of electronic interaction associated with the particular user”, “parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information”, “transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information”, “receiving from the server, via the API, data identifying one or more instances of electronic interaction”, “dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay”, and “presenting the one or more instances of electronic interaction in association with a display element corresponding to the second user on the website” as claimed.
Dependent Claims 3-7 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 1 in view of their dependence thereon.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “executing, by a browser extension operating within a process space of the web browser on a first user's computer systema computer system of a first user, a parsing operation on a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website” in lines 10-13. Paragraph [0028] of the specification states, in part:
“For example, the social media context application 24 may be configured to scan a web page provided by the web server 18 as it is accessed by the user computer system 14 (e.g., via the web browser 28), collect information from that web page, determine if the collected information includes information about a user of a social media network or other individual or entity with whom the user of the user system 14 has had interaction, retrieve the interactions from the database 16, and display the interactions.”
While the specifications suggests scanning a web page provided by the web server to collect information from the web page and determining if the collected information includes information about a user, the specification does not disclose parsing a DOM of a website to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities.
Additionally, Claim 9 recites the limitation “transmitting, by the browser extension via an application programming interface (API) to a server, a query comprising the extracted identifying information, and receiving from the server a response indicating that the extracted identifying information matches a second user having one or more electronic interactions with the first user stored in a database” in lines 14-17. Paragraph [0020] of the instant specification states, in part:
“For example, the application server 12 may provide the social media context application 24 on a software-as-a-service basis, and the application 24 may be accessed via a client on the user computer system 14, such as a client associated with the web browser 28.”
While the specification suggests that the web browser on the computer system of the first user may access the social media context application provided by the server, the specification does not disclose querying the server via an API for instances of electronic interaction associated with a particular user.
Last, Claim 9 recites the limitation “dynamically injecting, by the browser extension, into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting the one or more electronic interactions in association with a display element corresponding to the second user rendered on the website” in lines 23-25. Paragraph [0032] of the specification states, in part:
“As noted above, the social media context application 24 may be configured to extract information from the browser interface and to superimpose information on the browser interface for display on the display 26 of the user computer system 14.”
While the specification suggests that the social media context application may superimpose (overlay) information over the interface of the web browser, the specification does not recite the term “a display element corresponding to the second user” nor does the specification disclose dynamically injecting a visual overlay presenting one or more instances of electronic interaction into the DOM of a website.
Therefore there is insufficient written description support for “a parsing operation on a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information”, “transmitting, by the browser extension via an application programming interface (API) to a server, a query comprising the extracted identifying information”, “receiving from the server a response indicating that the extracted identifying information matches a second user having one or more electronic interactions with the first user stored in a database”, “dynamically injecting, by the browser extension, into the DOM of the website a visual overlay”, and “presenting the one or more electronic interactions in association with a display element corresponding to the second user rendered on the website” as claimed.
Dependent Claims 11-15 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 9 in view of their dependence thereon.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a database configured to store instances of electronic interaction between a first user and a plurality of other users of two or more social media networks, the instances of electronic interaction comprising timestamped records of communications retrieved via respective APIs of the two or more social media networks and emails exchanged between the first user and the plurality of other users” in lines 2-6. Paragraph [0024] of the specification states, in part:
“The database 16 may be populated by accessing a user’s social media accounts, in an embodiment. For example, interactions from a given one of the user’s social media accounts may be obtained by the application and stored in the database 16 by automatically polling the user’s history in that social network when the user logs in to the social network.”
While the specification suggests that the instances of electronic interaction stored in the database are obtained from one or more of the user’s social media accounts, the specification does not disclose timestamped records of communications nor retrieval via respective APIs of the social media networks.
Additionally, Claim 17 recites the limitation “a server in communication with the database and configured to receive queries via an application programming interface (API) and return stored instances of electronic interaction responsive to a received query” in lines 6-8. Paragraph [0020] of the instant specification states, in part:
“For example, the application server 12 may provide the social media context application 24 on a software-as-a-service basis, and the application 24 may be accessed via a client on the user computer system 14, such as a client associated with the web browser 28.”
While the specification suggests that the web browser on the computer system of the first user may access the social media context application provided by the server, the specification does not disclose querying the server via an API for instances of electronic interaction.
Continuing, Claim 17 recites the limitation “parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website” in lines 16-17. Paragraph [0028] of the specification states, in part:
“For example, the social media context application 24 may be configured to scan a web page provided by the web server 18 as it is accessed by the user computer system 14 (e.g., via the web browser 28), collect information from that web page, determine if the collected information includes information about a user of a social media network or other individual or entity with whom the user of the user system 14 has had interaction, retrieve the interactions from the database 16, and display the interactions.”
While the specifications suggests scanning a web page provided by the web server to collect information from the web page and determining if the collected information includes information about a user, the specification does not disclose parsing a DOM of the website to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities.
Further, Claim 17 recites the limitation “transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information, and receive a response identifying at least one of the plurality of other users matching the extracted identifying information” in lines 18-20. Again, the specification does not disclose an API nor transmitting “a query based on the extracted identifying information” to the server.
Last, Claim 17 recites the limitation “dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the at least one identified user that are stored in the database, the visual overlay displayed in association with a display element corresponding to the at least one identified user on the website” in lines 23-26. Paragraph [0032] of the specification states, in part:
“As noted above, the social media context application 24 may be configured to extract information from the browser interface and to superimpose information on the browser interface for display on the display 26 of the user computer system 14.”
While the specification suggests that the social media context application may superimpose (overlay) information over the interface of the web browser, the specification does not recite the term “a display element corresponding to the second user” nor does the specification disclose receiving data identifying one or more instances of electronic interaction from the server via an API or dynamically injecting a visual overlay presenting one or more instances of electronic interaction into the DOM of a website.
Therefore there is insufficient written description support for “timestamped records of communications retrieved via respective APIs of the two or more social media networks”, “receive queries via an application programming interface (API)”, “return stored instances of electronic interaction responsive to a received query”, “parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information”, “transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information”, “receive a response identifying at least one of the plurality of other users matching the extracted identifying information”, “dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay”, and “the visual overlay displayed in association with a display element corresponding to the at least one identified user on the website” as claimed.
Dependent Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 17 in view of their dependence thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 4 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the application is an extension of the web browser” in lines 1-2. Claim 4 does not further limit the subject matter of Claim 1 upon which it depends as Claim 1 already recites “an application comprising a browser extension”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein displaying the one or more electronic interactions over the website interface the dynamically injecting of the visual overlay presenting the one or more electronic interactions between the first user and the second user is performed by the browser extension of the web browser” in lines 1-4. Claim 12 does not further limit the subject matter of Claim 9 upon which it depends as Claim 9 already recites “dynamically injecting, by the browser extension, into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting the one or more electronic interactions in association with a display element corresponding to the second user rendered on the website (emphasis added).”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the paper authored by Hangal et al., titled “Effective Browsing and Serendipitous Discovery with an Experience-Infused Browser”, hereby “Hangal”, in view of Ting et al., Pub. No. US 2009/0292814 A1, hereby “Ting”.
Regarding Claim 17, Hangal discloses “A system (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience" and “SYSTEM DESIGN”: a system for recalling digital experiences while browsing) comprising:
a database configured to store instances of electronic interaction between a first user and a plurality of other users of two or more social media networks, the instances of electronic interaction comprising timestamped records of communications... of the two or more social media networks and emails exchanged between the first user and the plurality of other users (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § “Personal Digital Archives”, “Privacy Preserving Personalization”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”: a personal archive that includes email archive and chat logs – in the section titled “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”, the authors suggest that the personal archive may also contain interactions from social networking platforms such as Facebook and Twitter – as shown in Figure 3, the messages are associated with a date, i.e., are timestamped);
a server in communication with the database and configured to receive queries... and return stored instances of electronic interaction responsive to a received query (Hangal fig. 1 and § “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”: the Muse Index(er), which accesses a user’s email archive and chat logs to create an index of the content of the user’s messages, and uses the index to look up messages in the archive based on a post received from the browser extension that includes text extracted from the web page loaded by the browser);
a computer system of the first user, the computer system comprising a processor, a memory, and a web browser executing thereon (Hangal fig. 1 and § “Personal Digital Archives”, “Privacy Preserving Personalization” and “SYSTEM DESIGN”: “the user’s own computer” which is executing the web browser with Experience-Infused browser extension);
an application comprising a browser extension installed on the computer system of the first user and configured to execute within a process space of the web browser (Hangal fig. 1 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience" and "Privacy Preserving Personalization" and "SYSTEM DESIGN": web browser with Experience-Infused browser extension), the application configured to:
collect information from a website displayed in a web browser on the computer system of the first user (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “SYSTEM DESIGN”: the MUSE browser extension extracts text from the page loaded by the web browser and posts it to the MUSE indexer);
parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: the MUSE browser extension extracts text, e.g., proper nouns and names of friends and places, from the DOM of the loaded web page);
identify at least one of the plurality of other users in the information (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "Named Entities": "We extract named entities from the page text using the Stanford NLP toolkit [26]. The named entity recognizer can identify names from a piece of text, and also classify them as likely to belong to a person, place or organization." the identified names are then compared against the indexed contents of the personal archive);
transmit... a query based on the extracted identifying information to determine whether the extracted identifying information matches a second one of the plurality of users stored in the database (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: the MUSE browser extensions posts the extracted text to the MUSE Indexer, which uses the index to determine whether the extracted text matches one or more messages in the archive);
dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the at least one identified user that are stored in the database, the visual overlay displayed in association with a display element corresponding to the at least one identified user on the website (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "People names": the MUSE index returns named entities from the posted text to the browser extension, which modifies the DOM of the web page to highlight the terms of interest, insert a call-out and provide links to the actual message contents – as illustrated in Figure 3, snippets of messages associated with a highlighted term of interest are presented as a visual overlay)”.
However, while Hangal discloses a personal archive that includes email, chat and interactions of a user on or more social networking platforms (Hangal § “Personal Digital Archives”, “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”) and further discloses receiving, by the MUSE indexer, a query comprising the extracted text from the MUSE browser extension (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”), Hangal does not explicitly disclose “a database configured to store instances of electronic interaction between a first user and a plurality of other users of two or more social media networks, the instances of electronic interaction comprising timestamped records of communications retrieved via respective APIs of the two or more social media networks and emails exchanged between the first user and the plurality of other users (emphasis added);” and
“a server in communication with the database and configured to receive queries via an application programming interface (API) and return stored instances of electronic interaction responsive to a received query (emphasis added);” and
“transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information, and receive a response identifying at least one of the plurality of other users matching the extracted identifying information (emphasis added)”.
In the same field of endeavor, Ting discloses a plurality of social networking service servers having APIs that enable retrieval of information from the social network service servers (Ting fig. 1 and paragraphs 91-92: “The APIs also include APIs to support searching, for example for network resources of various kinds, by inquiry to networks such as social networks”) and further discloses using an API to support communication between a browser application on a mobile device and social network (Ting figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 32, 43, 45, 64 and 78: application 242, e.g., a web browser, executing on mobile device 200 utilizes API 245 to communicate with server 106 hosting a social network service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the method of Hangal to utilize an API for communication between the MUSE browser extension and a server hosting the MUSE indexer as taught by Ting because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (using an API to manage communication between a client and server) to known devices and/or methods (a system for recalling digital experiences while browsing) ready for improvement to yield predictable and desirable results (querying of the MUSE index). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Hangal and Ting discloses all of the limitations of Claim 17.
Additionally, Hangal discloses “wherein the application is configured to display the one or more instances of electronic interaction by overlaying the one or more instances of electronic interaction on the web browser (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "People names": "The browser also lets users find out why it highlighted the terms shown. By simply clicking any highlight terms or a term in the call-out, the user can see a preview of the email messages that contain the terms of interest." - as shown in Figure 3, snippets of the emails are displayed in an overlay over the web page by the browser).”
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hangal and Ting in view of McConnell et al., Pub. No. US 2013/0218991 A1, hereby “McConnell”.
Regarding Claim 1, Hangal discloses “A system (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience" and “SYSTEM DESIGN”: a system for recalling digital experiences while browsing) comprising:
a database configured to store instances of electronic interaction among a plurality of users, the instances of electronic interaction comprising instances of interaction over one or more social media networks (Hangal fig. 1 and § “Personal Digital Archives”, “Privacy Preserving Personalization”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”: a personal archive that includes email archive and chat logs – in the section titled “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”, the authors suggest that the personal archive may also contain interactions from social networking platforms such as Facebook and Twitter);
a server in communication with the database and configured to receive queries... and return, in response to a query identifying a particular user, one or more stored instances of electronic interaction associated with the particular user (Hangal fig. 1 and § “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “LIMITATIONS AND FUTURE WORK”: the Muse Index(er), which accesses a user’s email archive and chat logs to create an index of the content of the user’s messages, and uses the index to look up messages in the archive based on a post received from the browser extension that includes text extracted from the web page loaded by the browser);
a computer system of a first user of the plurality of users, the computer system comprising a processor, a memory, and a web browser executing thereon (Hangal fig. 1 and § “Personal Digital Archives”, “Privacy Preserving Personalization” and “SYSTEM DESIGN”: “the user’s own computer” which is executing the web browser with Experience-Infused browser extension);
an application comprising a browser extension installed on the computer system of the first user and configured to execute within a process space of the web browser (Hangal fig. 1 and § “Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience”, “Privacy Preserving Personalization” and “SYSTEM DESIGN”: web browser with Experience-Infused browser extension), the application configured to:
collect information from a website displayed in a web browser on the computer system of the first user (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “SYSTEM DESIGN”: the MUSE browser extension extracts text from the page loaded by the web browser and posts it to the MUSE indexer);
parse a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: the MUSE browser extension extracts text, e.g., proper nouns and names of friends and places, from the DOM of the loaded web page);
determine if the information includes a second user of the plurality of users (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: “We extract named entities from the page text using the Stanford NLP toolkit. The named entity recognizer can identify names from a piece of text, and also classify them as likely to belong to a person, place or organization.” - the identified names are then compared against the indexed contents of the personal archive);
transmit... to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information to determine whether the extracted identifying information matches a second one of the plurality of users stored in the database (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: the MUSE browser extensions posts the extracted text to the MUSE Indexer, which uses the index to determine whether the extracted text matches one or more messages in the archive);
in response to receiving from the server... data identifying one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user, dynamically inject into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting the one or more instances of electronic interaction in association with a display element corresponding to the second user on the website (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "People names": the MUSE index returns named entities from the posted text to the browser extension, which modifies the DOM of the web page to highlight the terms of interest, insert a call-out and provide links to the actual message contents – as illustrated in Figure 3, snippets of messages associated with a highlighted term of interest are presented as a visual overlay)”.
However, while Hangal discloses receiving, by the MUSE indexer, a query comprising the extracted text from the MUSE browser extension (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”), Hangal does not explicitly disclose “a server in communication with the database and configured to receive queries via an application programming interface (API) and return, in response to a query identifying a particular user, one or more stored instances of electronic interaction associated with the particular user (emphasis added);” and
“transmit, via the API to the server, a query based on the extracted identifying information to determine whether the extracted identifying information matches a second one of the plurality of users stored in the database (emphasis added)”.
In the same field of endeavor, Ting discloses using an API to support communication between a browser application on a mobile device and social network (Ting figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 32, 43, 45, 64 and 78: application 242, e.g., a web browser, executing on mobile device 200 utilizes API 245 to communicate with server 106 hosting a social network service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the system of Hangal to utilize an API for communication between the MUSE browser extension and a server hosting the MUSE indexer as taught by Ting because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (using an API to manage communication between a client and server) to known devices and/or methods (a system for recalling digital experiences while browsing) ready for improvement to yield predictable and desirable results (querying of the MUSE index). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
However, while Hangal suggests that the personal archive may capture relationships between the user and organizations associated with the user (Hangal § “Personal Digital Archives”, “USER EXPERIENCE” and “DISCUSSION”), the combination of Hangal and Ting does not explicitly disclose “determine a larger entity with which the first user is associated and display on the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the second user and the larger entity other than the one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user.”
In a related field of endeavor, McConnell discloses “determine a larger entity with which the first user is associated and display on the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the second user and the larger entity other than the one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user (McConnell figs. 1C, 2, 5D and 5E and paragraphs 120 and 134-144 and 155-160: an enterprise, e.g., a larger entity, associated with user 203 is determined and user 203 is presented with information based on at least user-specific information 471 and enterprise-specific information 481, the presented information including a comprehensive profile 352 which can include interactions involving a target person, including social media objects 206 posted by the target person that are relevant to the enterprise).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the system of Hangal, as modified by Ting, to display to the user, in response to detecting a reference to a person with whom the user has a relationship in the original content, a listing of communications by the person that pertain to an entity with which the user is associated, such as the company employing the user, as taught by McConnell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine displaying to the user, in response to detecting a reference to a person with whom the user has a relationship in the original content, a listing of communications by the person that pertain to an entity with which the user is associated, such as the company employing the user, to inform the user of correspondence between the entity that the user is associated with and the person even though the user may not have corresponded directly with the person (McConnell paragraphs 171-172).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hangal, Ting and McConnell discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Hangal discloses “wherein the instances of electronic interaction further comprise one or more emails (Hangal fig. 1 and § "Personal Digital Archives" and "Privacy Preserving Personalization" and "SYSTEM DESIGN": the personal archive includes emails).”
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hangal, Ting and McConnell discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Hangal discloses “wherein the application is an extension of the web browser (Hangal fig. 1 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience" and "Privacy Preserving Personalization" and "SYSTEM DESIGN": web browser with Experience-Infused browser extension).”
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hangal, Ting and McConnell discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Hangal discloses “wherein the application is configured to identify said second user of the plurality of users included in the information (Hangal fig. 1 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE" and "SYSTEM DESIGN": “Our browser brings the user’s attention to terms that are likely to be meaningful to him. Examples of such terms are proper nouns and names of friends or places that appear in the user’s email archive. Figure 2 shows a screenshot of the browser on the New York Times home page for one of the participants in our study. Here the terms Mumbai and USC are highlighted; it turned out that this user comes from the city of Mumbai and had applied to USC for admission.” – the name of the person may be extracted from the web page).”
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hangal, Ting and McConnell discloses all of the limitations of Claim 5.
Additionally, Hangal discloses “wherein the application is configured to display on the user's computer system the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and each of the identified users (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "People names": "The browser also lets users find out why it highlighted the terms shown. By simply clicking any highlight terms or a term in the call-out, the user can see a preview of the email messages that contain the terms of interest." - the displayed emails can include emails exchanged between the user and each of persons identified from the web page).”
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hangal, Ting and McConnell discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, McConnell discloses “wherein the application is further configured to determine a larger entity with which the second user is associated and to display on the user computer system the computer system of the first user one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the larger entity other than the one or more instances of electronic interaction between the first user and the second user (McConnell figs. 1D and 5F and paragraphs 163-172: an entity, such as a target account, associated with a second user is determined and user 203 is presented with comprehensive profile 352, which can include interactions with a target account, which may represent a company that has a relationship with user 203 or the enterprise associated with user 203).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the system of Hangal, as modified by Ting, to present to the user, in response to detecting a reference to a person with whom the user has a relationship in the original content, a plurality of messages between the user and an entity with which the person is associated as taught by McConnell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine presenting to the user, in response to detecting a reference to a person with whom the user has a relationship in the original content, a plurality of messages between the user and an entity with which the person is associated to inform the user of correspondence between the user and the entity with which the person is associated even though the user may not have corresponded directly with the person (McConnell paragraphs 171-172).
Regarding Claim 9, Hangal discloses “A method (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience" and “SYSTEM DESIGN”: a process for recalling digital experiences while browsing) comprising:
executing, by a browser extension operating within a process space of the web browser on a first user's computer systema computer system of a first user, a parsing operation on a document object model (DOM) of a website rendered in the web browser to extract identifying information of one or more persons or entities displayed on the website (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: the MUSE browser extension extracts text, e.g., proper nouns and names of friends and places, from the DOM of the loaded web page);
transmitting, by the browser extension... to a server, a query comprising the extracted identifying information, and receiving from the server a response indicating that the extracted identifying information matches a second user having one or more electronic interactions with the first user stored in a database (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”: the MUSE browser extensions posts the extracted text to the MUSE Indexer, which uses the index to determine whether the extracted text matches one or more messages in the archive);
retrieving, by the server from a database that stores a plurality of electronic interactions between the first user and a plurality of other users, the plurality of electronic interactions comprising instances of interaction over one or more social media networks, the second user being one of the plurality of other users, one or more electronic interactions between the first user and the second user (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "People names": the MUSE index returns the messages in the archive that match the extracted text); and
dynamically injecting, by the browser extension, into the DOM of the website a visual overlay presenting the one or more electronic interactions in association with a display element corresponding to the second user rendered on the website (Hangal figs. 1 and 3 and § "Infusing a Browser with the User's Experience", "USER EXPERIENCE", "SYSTEM DESIGN" and "People names": the MUSE index returns named entities from the posted text to the browser extension, which modifies the DOM of the web page to highlight the terms of interest, insert a call-out and provide links to the actual message contents – as illustrated in Figure 3, snippets of messages associated with a highlighted term of interest are presented as a visual overlay)”.
However, while Hangal discloses receiving, by the MUSE indexer, a query comprising the extracted text from the MUSE browser extension (Hangal fig. 1, Abstract and § “USER EXPERIENCE”, “SYSTEM DESIGN” and “Named Entities”), Hangal does not explicitly disclose “transmitting, by the browser extension via an application programming interface (API) to a server, a query comprising the extracted identifying information, and receiving from the server a response indicating that the extracted identifying information matches a second user having one or more electronic interactions with the first user stored in a database (emphasis added)”.
In the same field of endeavor, Ting discloses using an API to support communication between a browser application on a mobile device and social network (Ting figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 32, 43, 45, 64 and 78: application 242, e.g., a web browser, executing on mobile device 200 utilizes API 245 to communicate with server 106 hosting a social network service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the method of Hangal to utilize an API for communication between the MUSE browser extension and a server hosting the MUSE indexer as taught by Ting because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (using an API to manage communication between a client and server) to known devices and/or methods (a system for recalling digital experiences while browsing) ready for improvement to yield predictable and desirable results (querying of the MUSE index). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
However, while Hangal suggests that the personal archive may capture relationships between the user and organizations associated with the user (Hangal § “Personal Digital Archives”, “USER EXPERIENCE” and “DISCUSSION”), the combination of Hangal and Ting does not explicitly disclose “determining a larger entity with which the first user is associated, and retrieving and displaying on the computer system of the first user one or more electronic interactions between the second user and the larger entity other than the one or more electronic interactions between the first user and the second user.”
In a related field of endeavor, McConnell discloses “determining a larger entity with which the first user is associated, and retrieving and displaying on the computer system of the first user one or more electronic interactions between the second user and the larger entity other than the one or more electronic interactions between the first user and the second user (McConnell figs. 1D and 5F and paragraphs 163-172: an entity, such as a target account, associated with a second user is determined and user 203 is presented with comprehensive profile 352, which can include interactions with a target account, which may represent a company that has a relationship with user 203 or the enterprise associated with user 203).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the method of Hangal, as modified by Ting, to present to the user, in response to detecting a reference to a person with whom the user has a relationship in the original content, a plurality of messages between the user and an entity with which the person is associated as taught by McConnell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine presenting to the user, in response to detecting a reference to a person with whom the user has a relationship in the original content, a plurality of messages between the user and an entity with which the person is associated to inform the user of correspondence between the user and the entity with which the person is associated even though the user may not have corresponded directly with the person (McConnell paragraphs 171-172).
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 11 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 3.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 4.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 5.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 6.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Hangal and Ting discloses all of the limitations of Claim 17.
However, while Hangal suggests that the index created from the contents of the personal archive can be updated on an ongoing basis (Hangal § “Personal Digital Archives”), the combination of Hangal and Ting does not explicitly disclose “wherein the application is further configured to add information to the database based on the first user's activity of the first user in the web browser on one of the two or more social media networks.”
In the same field of endeavor, McConnell discloses “wherein the application is further configured to add information to the database based on activity of the first user in the web browser on one of the two or more social media networks (McConnell figs. 2 and 3A and paragraphs 33-34: a new correspondence record 326 is created and stored in data store 326 when the user posts on a social networking service 205 or sends an email).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the system of Hangal, as modified by Ting, to add new social media correspondence to the personal archive as taught by McConnell because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (adding new correspondence records to a data store when new social media posts or emails are sent) to known devices and/or methods (a system for recalling digital experiences while browsing) ready for improvement to yield predictable and desirable results (ensuring new correspondence is indexed and available for display to the user). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Golbeck et al., the paper titled “SocialBrowising: Integrating Social Networks and Web Browsing”, discloses a system for adding social context to a user’s web browsing experience by analyzing the content of a web page loaded by the browser and searching one or more social networks for information using terms extracted from the content.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C MCBETH/Examiner, Art Unit 2449