DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2022/0329391 A1), hereinafter “BAE” in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0322388 A1), hereinafter “TAKEDA”.
Regarding claim 1, BAE teaches, ‘A method, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0011]: a method of transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request… information by a user equipment in a wireless communication system… performing physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in a plurality of cells):
‘receiving, by a terminal device and from a network device, first information comprising N information blocks,’ (Paragraph [0269]: A PUCCH carrier switching pattern (first information) may be configured for the UE through higher layer signaling of the BS. The PUCCH carrier switching pattern may mean information in which lists in which one or more available UL CCs are included are listed in order according to a certain time unit (e.g., a couple of slots) in a certain time period (e.g., dozens of slots, one frame, or 10 ms)… These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN} (corresponds to “first information” and “N information blocks”, where “jth information block” is an individual list entry Ln or L1 within the sequence), the total sum of the time lengths T for respective lists Ln may represent the length of the entire pattern),
‘wherein a jth information block in the N information blocks comprises a first field, wherein the first field indicates at least one of a first band or a first carrier after switching of the terminal device,’ (Paragraph [0269]: A PUCCH carrier switching pattern may be configured for the UE through higher layer signaling of the BS. The PUCCH carrier switching pattern may mean information in which lists in which one or more available UL CCs are included are listed in order… For example, there may be a certain UL CC list L1={C1, C2, C3} (first field), and the time information TL may be additionally assigned to the list L1. For example, L1={{C1, C2, C3}, TL} (first band) may be provided. In this case, at least one of C1, C2, or C3 may be used during the time TL),
‘and wherein N is a positive integer;’ (Paragraph [0269]: These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN}, the total sum of the time lengths T for respective lists Ln may represent the length of the entire pattern (representing the integer total count of list blocks in the pattern));
BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein the jth information block is associated with at least one of a second band or a second carrier before the switching of the terminal device,’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0085]: UE 115 may store or update schedule information 328, switch from a first uplink communication configuration (for first set of bands 321) to a second uplink configuration (for second set of bands 322)),
‘and transmitting, by the terminal device and based on the first information, uplink data in the at least one of the first band or the first carrier.’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0086]: After switching the uplink communication configuration, UE 115 transmits a second uplink message 388 via second set of bands 322; Paragraph [0121]: the UE transmits an uplink message via the first set of bands or the second set of bands indicated by the UL Tx switch configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 1, BAE further teaches, ‘wherein the jth information block further comprises a second field,’ (Paragraph [0193]: The DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1) carried by the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH may include the following information; Paragraph [0196]: PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator: This indicator indicates K1),
‘and wherein the second field indicates a time offset between the first information and the uplink data.’ (Paragraph [0192]: the UE may detect a PDCCH in a slot n. Next, the UE may receive a PDSCH in a slot n+K0 according to scheduling information received through the PDCCH in the slot n and then transmit UCI through a PUCCH in a slot n+K1. In this case, the UCI includes a HARQ-ACK response for the PDSCH; Paragraph [0196]: PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator: This indicator indicates K1).
Regarding claim 3, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 1, BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘further comprising sending, by the terminal device and to the network device, second information.’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0078]: During operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 generates a capability message 380 that indicates a UE capability of UE 115, such as which sets of bands can be enabled simultaneously for UL Tx switch operations; Paragraph [0116]: In block 1002, the UE transmits a UE capability that indicates a first set of bands and a second set of bands, each of the first set of bands and the second set of bands available for a UL Tx switch configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 1, BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘further comprising sending, by the terminal device and to the network device, second information’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0078]: During operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 generates a capability message 380 that indicates a UE capability of UE 115, such as which sets of bands can be enabled simultaneously for UL Tx switch operations. For example, capability message 380 may include at least a portion of capability information 320)
‘comprising at least a first switching correspondence that is between third bands and that is in a first case of switching of the terminal device between a first state and a second state,’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0091]: In some implementations, if the UL Tx chains for a scheduled or configured UL transmission on one or more bands of a pair of bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, such as a current state as indicated by state information 326, the UE may perform a UL Tx switch operation),
‘wherein the first state is that the terminal device supports a first quantity of sent radio frequency chains in a fourth band of a first band group,’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0096]: In some implementations, when UE capability signaling indicate multiple band pairs or multiple groups, UE 115 may also report its capability of how UL Tx chains (or UL antenna ports) can be distributed across uplink carriers (or sub-carrier or BWP) in each state. For example, the UE capability signaling may indicate a maximum total number of Tx chains ( or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, a maximum number of Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a band of a group or of a pair, fixed Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, distributable Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, or a combination thereof),
‘and wherein the second state is that the terminal device supports a second quantity of sent radio frequency chains in a fifth band of a second band group.’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0110]: The first group of bands (Group 1) is associated with a first Tx chain configuration and the second group of bands (Group 2) is associated with a second Tx chain configuration. The first Tx chain configuration indicates a first Tx chain for the first band (Band A), a second Tx chain for the second band (Band B), and a third Tx chain and a fourth Tx chain for the third band (Band C). The second Tx chain configuration indicates two Tx chains for the third band (Band C) and two Tx chains for the fourth band (Band D)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 4, BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein the second information further comprises at least a switching delay of the switching of the terminal device’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0079]: In some implementations, capability message 380, such as the UE capability, indicates a first switching time of switching time 324 for first set of bands 321, a second switching time of switching time 324 for second set of bands 322, or a combination thereof; Paragraph [0087]: The UE capability may also indicate a switch time to switch from one band pair to another band pair)
‘between the first state and the second state.’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0091]: In some implementations, if the UL Tx chains for a scheduled or configured UL transmission on one or more bands of a pair of bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, such as a current state as indicated by state information 326, the UE may perform a UL Tx switch operation; Paragraph [0110]: The first group of bands (Group 1) is associated with a first Tx chain configuration and the second group of bands (Group 2) is associated with a second Tx chain configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 4, BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein the second information further comprises at least a second switching correspondence that is between sixth bands’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0087]: In some implementations, UE capability signaling for UL Tx switch operations may indicate multiple pairs of bands to enable UL Tx switching for the multiple band pairs, not just so that UL Tx switch is carried out only from one band to another band on one of the pairs of bands as in conventional techniques. For example, the UE capability signaling may indicate a first pair that includes a first band (band A) and a second band (band b ), and a second pair includes a third band (band c) and a fourth band (band d))
‘and that is in a second case of switching of the terminal device from at least one seventh first band to at least one eighth band.’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0087]: Additionally, or alternatively, the UE capability may indicate a third pair that includes the second band (band b) and the third band (band c). The UE capability may enable UL Tx switching for the multiple band pairs, such as the first band pair and the second band pair, or the first band pair, the second band pair, and the third band pair. Stated in a different manner, by transmitting the UE capability, the UE, such as UE 115, reports for which set of pairs can be enabled simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 4, BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein the second information further comprises a correspondence between at least one channel of the terminal device and a sixth band,’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0096]: In some implementations, when UE capability signaling indicate multiple band pairs or multiple groups, UE 115 may also report its capability of how UL Tx chains ( or UL antenna ports) can be distributed across uplink carriers (or sub-carrier or BWP) in each state. For example, the UE
capability signaling may indicate a maximum total number of Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, a maximum number of Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a band of a group or of a pair),
‘and wherein the sixth is a band supported by the at least one channel.’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0110]: The first group of bands (Group 1) is associated with a first Tx chain configuration and the second group of bands (Group 2) is associated with a second Tx chain configuration. The first Tx chain configuration indicates a first Tx chain for the first band (Band A), a second Tx chain for the second band (Band B), and a third Tx chain and a fourth Tx chain for the third band (Band C). The second Tx chain configuration indicates two Tx chains for the third band (Band C) and two Tx chains for the fourth band (Band D)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claim 8, BAE teaches, ‘A method, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0016]: method of receiving HARQ-ACK information by a base station in a wireless communication system; Paragraph [0399]: When the BS schedules PDSCH transmission and PUCCH transmission for a HARQ-ACK response to the PDSCH transmission for the UE):
‘determining, by a network device, first information comprising N information blocks, (Paragraph [0269]: A PUCCH carrier switching pattern (first information) may be configured for the UE through higher layer signaling of the BS. The PUCCH carrier switching pattern may mean information in which lists in which one or more available UL CCs are included are listed in order according to a certain time unit (e.g., a couple of slots) in a certain time period (e.g., dozens of slots, one frame, or 10 ms)… These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN} (corresponds to “first information” and “N information blocks”, where “jth information block” is an individual list entry Ln or L1 within the sequence), the total sum of the time lengths T for respective lists Ln may represent the length of the entire pattern),
‘wherein the jth information block is associated with at least one of a second band or a second carrier before the switching of the terminal device,’ (Paragraph [0269]: A PUCCH carrier switching pattern may be configured for the UE through higher layer signaling of the BS… In order to represent that a list of available UL CCs (uplink data) occupies a certain time unit, a time length TL may be included in each list. The time length TL may mean a time occupied by the corresponding list… These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN} (“second band” corresponds to the active uplink component carrier (UL CC) or band used during the time unit TL of a preceding list entry (e.g., L1) before transitioning/switching to the target UL CCs in the current jth block entry (e.g., L2)),
‘and wherein N is a positive integer;’ (Paragraph [0269]: These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN}, the total sum of the time lengths T for respective lists Ln may represent the length of the entire pattern (representing the integer total count of list blocks in the pattern));
BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein a jth information block in the N information blocks comprises a first field, wherein the first field indicates at least one of a first band or a first carrier after switching of a terminal device,’ (TAKEDA - Paragraphs [0084]-[0085]: After reception of first uplink message 384 via first set of bands 321, base station 105 generates DCI 386 for dynamic UL Tx switching… In some implementations, DCI 386 includes or indicates a new configuration for UE 115… switch from a first uplink communication configuration (for first set of bands 321) to a second uplink configuration (for second set of bands 322)),
‘and sending, by the network device, the first information.’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0084]: base station 105 generates DCI 386 for dynamic UL Tx switching… The base station 105 transmits DCI 386 to UE 115; Paragraph [0149]: At block 1404, the base station transmits the UL Tx switch configuration for the first set of bands or the second set of bands).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claim 9, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 8, BAE further teaches, ‘wherein the jth information block further comprises a second field,’ (Paragraph [0193]: The DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1) carried by the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH may include the following information; Paragraph [0196]: PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator: This indicator indicates K1),
‘wherein the second field indicates a time offset between the first information and uplink data scheduled by the first information,’ (Paragraph [0192]: the UE may detect a PDCCH in a slot n. Next, the UE may receive a PDSCH in a slot n+K0 according to scheduling information received through the PDCCH in the slot n and then transmit UCI through a PUCCH in a slot n+K1. In this case, the UCI includes a HARQ-ACK response for the PDSCH; Paragraph [0196]: PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator: This indicator indicates K1),
BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘and wherein the uplink data is transmitted in the at least one of the first band or the first carrier. (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0086]: After switching the uplink communication configuration, UE 115 transmits a second uplink message 388 via second set of bands 322).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claim 10, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 8, further comprising: BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘receiving, by the network device, second information;’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0080]: Base station 105 receives capability message 380 and determines configuration information 360 for UE 115 based on capability message 380: Paragraph [0148]: At block 1402, the base station receives a UE capability that indicates a first set of bands and a second set of bands, each of the first set of bands and the second set of bands available for a UL Tx switch configuration);
‘and further determining, by the network device, the first information based on the second information.’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0080]: Base station 105 receives capability message 380 and determines configuration information 360 for UE 115 based on capability message 380; Paragraph [0084]: Base station 105 may generate DCI 386 based on configuration information 360, UE capability
information received form UE 115, scheduling information 362, or a combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claim 11, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The method of claim 8, further comprising: BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘receiving, by the network device, second information’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0148]: At block 1402, the base station receives a UE capability that indicates a first set of bands and a second set of bands, each of the first set of bands and the second set of bands available for a UL Tx switch configuration. For example, UE capability may include or correspond to capability message 380)
‘comprising at least a first switching correspondence that is between third bands and that is in a first case of switching of the terminal device between a first state and a second state,’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0091]: In some implementations, if the UL Tx chains for a scheduled or configured UL transmission on one or more bands of a pair of bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, such as a current state as indicated by state information 326, the UE may perform a UL Tx switch operation),
‘wherein the first state is that the terminal device supports a first quantity of sent radio frequency chains in a fourth band of a first band group,’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0096]: In some implementations, when UE capability signaling indicate multiple band pairs or multiple groups, UE 115 may also report its capability of how UL Tx chains (or UL antenna ports) can be distributed across uplink carriers (or sub-carrier or BWP) in each state. For example, the UE capability signaling may indicate a maximum total number of Tx chains ( or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, a maximum number of Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a band of a group or of a pair, fixed Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, distributable Tx chains (or antenna ports) in a group or in a pair, or a combination thereof),
‘and wherein the second state is that the terminal device supports a second quantity of sent radio frequency chains in a fifth band of a second band group.’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0110]: The first group of bands (Group 1) is associated with a first Tx chain configuration and the second group of bands (Group 2) is associated with a second Tx chain configuration. The first Tx chain configuration indicates a first Tx chain for the first band (Band A), a second Tx chain for the second band (Band B), and a third Tx chain and a fourth Tx chain for the third band (Band C). The second Tx chain configuration indicates two Tx chains for the third band (Band C) and two Tx chains for the fourth band (Band D)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claim 15, BAE teaches, ‘An apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:’ (Paragraph [0012]: a user equipment for transmitting HARQACK information in a wireless communication system. The
user equipment includes: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations; Paragraph [0072]: The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104):
‘receive first information comprising N information blocks,’ (Paragraph [0269]: A PUCCH carrier switching pattern (first information) may be configured for the UE through higher layer signaling of the BS. The PUCCH carrier switching pattern may mean information in which lists in which one or more available UL CCs are included are listed in order according to a certain time unit (e.g., a couple of slots) in a certain time period (e.g., dozens of slots, one frame, or 10 ms)… These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN} (corresponds to “first information” and “N information blocks”, where “jth information block” is an individual list entry Ln or L1 within the sequence), the total sum of the time lengths T for respective lists Ln may represent the length of the entire pattern),
‘wherein a jth information block in the N information blocks comprises a first field, wherein the first field indicates at least one of a first band or a first carrier after switching of the apparatus,’ (Paragraph [0269]: A PUCCH carrier switching pattern may be configured for the UE through higher layer signaling of the BS. The PUCCH carrier switching pattern may mean information in which lists in which one or more available UL CCs are included are listed in order… For example, there may be a certain UL CC list L1={C1, C2, C3} (first field), and the time information TL may be additionally assigned to the list L1. For example, L1={{C1, C2, C3}, TL} (first band) may be provided. In this case, at least one of C1, C2, or C3 may be used during the time TL),
‘and wherein N is a positive integer;’ (Paragraph [0269]: These lists may be enumerated in order. For example, if the lists are given as {L1, L2, L3, ... LN}, the total sum of the time lengths T for respective lists Ln may represent the length of the entire pattern (representing the integer total count of list blocks in the pattern));
BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein the jth information block is associated with at least one or a second band or a second carrier before the switching of the apparatus,’ (TAKEDA – Paragraph [0085]: UE 115 may store or update schedule information 328, switch from a first uplink communication configuration (for first set of bands 321) to a second uplink configuration (for second set of bands 322)),
‘and transmit, based on the first information, uplink data in the at least one of the firs band or the first carrier.’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0086]: After switching the uplink communication configuration,
UE 115 transmits a second uplink message 388 via second set of bands 322).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Regarding claim 17, BAE and TAKEDA teach, The apparatus of claim 15, BAE does not explicitly teach but TAKEDA teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the programming instructions to cause the apparatus’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0078]: During operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 generates a capability message 380 that indicates a UE capability of UE 115, such as which sets of bands can be enabled simultaneously for UL Tx switch operations; Paragraph [0116]: In block 1002, the UE transmits a UE capability that indicates a first set of bands and a second set of bands, each of the first set of bands and the second set of bands available for a UL Tx switch configuration)
‘to determine the first information.’ (TAKEDA - Paragraph [0080]: Base station 105 receives capability message 380 and determines configuration information 360 for UE 115 based on capability message 380; Paragraph [0084]: Base station 105 may generate DCI 386 based on configuration information 360, UE capability information received form UE 115, scheduling information 362, or a combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of TAKEDA with BAE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of TAKEDA into BAE is that TAKEDA provides a physical terminal device’s hardware limitations, capability signaling, and state tracking (e.g., maintaining state information between a pre-switching band set and a post-switching band set) when managing multi-band/multi-carrier uplink transmit switches. When a terminal device switches between frequency bands or carriers, tracking the current state versus the next target state prevents scheduling collisions, accounts for necessary switching delays, and enables proper handling of transmission parameters across shared or non-shared RF chains. This allows the base station and terminal device to maintain mutual awareness of active carrier states, eliminating potential signal drops or timing ambiguities when switching uplink data transmissions between distinct carrier frequencies in 5G/NR systems (See Paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0091], TAKEDA).
Conclusion
should be directed to HAESHIL J CHOI whose telephone number is (703)756-5409. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday ET.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479