Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024. The submission is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement
is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2025. The submission is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement
is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa US 20230124719 A1 in view of Ishida US 20220410591 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa teaches A recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) comprising:
a device main body having a transport path in which a medium is transported and a recording section that performs recording on a medium in the transport path (apparatus main body 2 has a transport path T0, T1, T2, T3 in which the medium P is transported and a head unit 50 that performs recording on a medium P in the transport path T1; Fig. 1); and
a door section that opens and closes a side surface of the device main body, and that opens a part of the transport path by being opened and that forms a part of the transport path by being closed (a door 17 that opens and closes a side surface of the apparatus main body 2, and that opens a part of the transport path T1 by being opened and that forms a part of the transport path T1 by being closed; Fig. 1, 4, and 5), wherein
the door section (door 17; Fig. 1) has
a first path forming section that forms a part of the transport path (a first path forming section T3 between transport roller pairs 33 and 34 that forms a part of the transport path T3; Fig .1),
a first roller pair that nips and transports a medium (a transport roller pair 33 that nips and transports a Medium P; Fig. 1), and
a second roller pair that is located below or above the first roller pair and that nips and transports a medium (a second transport roller pair 34 that is located below or above the first roller pair and that nips and transports a medium P; Fig. 1),
the first roller pair and the second roller pair maintain a nipped state when the door section is opened or closed (the first transport roller pair 33 and second transport roller pair 34 maintain a nipped state as they are transport roller and they are required to nip the medium to transport the medium; Fig. 1),
when the door section is opened, at least a part of a path section between the first roller pair and the second roller pair is opened in the transport path (when the door 17 is opened, at least a part of a path section between the first transport roller pair 33 and the second transport roller pair 34 is opened in the transport path; Figs. 1, 4, and 5), and
a path length between the first roller pair and the second roller pair is shorter than a transport direction length of a smallest size of medium that is recordable (the path length between the first transport roller pair 33 and second transport roller pair 34 is shorter than the length of the smallest size of the medium cassette 3; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 1, wherein
the device main body has a support section that is provided at a position facing the recording section and that is configured to support a medium on which recording is performed by the recording section (apparatus main body 2 has a transport belt 13 that is facing the head unit 50; Fig. 1),
the support section has a second path forming section that forms a part of the transport path at a position facing the first path forming section (transport belt 13 has a second path section facing the first; Fig. 1), and
by the door section being opened, a space between the first path forming section and the second path forming section is opened (when door 17 a space is formed between the path forming sections; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
the door section (door 17; Fig. 1) has
a third path forming section that forms a part of the transport path at a position different from the first path forming section (third transport path is between 41 and 36 and different from the first; Fig. 1-5) and
a fourth path forming section that at least partly faces the third path forming section and forms a part of the transport path, and
the first roller pair is disposed in a part of the transport path that is formed by the third path forming section and the fourth path forming section (the fourth path is between the rollers 32 and 36 and faces the third; Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa teaches the recording device (inkjet printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 3, wherein
a path length of the part of the transport path that is formed by the third path forming section and the fourth path forming section is shorter than a path length of a part of the transport path that is formed by the first path forming section and the second path forming section and that is opened by opening the door section (the transport path of the third and fourth path forming section is shorter than the transport path of the first and second path forming section that is opened by the door 17; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 3, wherein
a path length of the part of the transport path that is formed by the third path forming section and the fourth path forming section is shorter than a transport direction length of a smallest size of medium that is recordable (the path length between the first transport roller pair 33 and second transport roller pair 34 is shorter than the length of the smallest size of the medium cassette 3; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 3, wherein
the transport path (recording transport path T1; Fig. 1) has
a switchback path that is used for switchback transport of a medium that passed between the recording section and the support section,
a guide path that guides the medium that passed between the recording section and the support section to the switchback path, and
an inversion path that is connected to the switchback path and that inverts the medium,
the fourth path forming section forms at least a part of the guide path and at least a part of the inversion path, and
the first path forming section and the second path forming section form at least a part of the inversion path at a downstream side of the third path forming section in the transport direction (switchback path T2 passes medium P between head unit 50 and the transport belt 13 while the guide structures guide the medium P from the head unit 50 to the switchback path T2 and has an inversion path T3 that is connected and inverts the medium P; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 6, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the fourth path forming section has
a first member and
a second member that is connected to the first
member, and
a charge removal brush that removes charge from a medium is provided in a state of being sandwiched between the first member and the second member.
However, Ishida teaches the recording device (inkjet recording apparatus 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 6, wherein
the fourth path forming section (conveyance path 110; Fig.11) has
a first member (first intermediate roller 71A; Figs. 8-11) and
a second member that is connected to the first
member (conveyance roller 72A is connected to first intermediate roller 71A through the conveyance of pinch roller 7a; Fig. 11), and
a charge removal brush that removes charge from a medium is provided in a state of being sandwiched between the first member and the second member (charge eliminating brush 30, 31, and 30a from medium S and brush 30a is in between conveyance roller 72A and first intermediate roller 71A; Figs. 8-11; paragraphs 0085).
Ogawa and Ishida are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a recording device that includes a conveyance unit and paths that have a surface. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyance path of the assembly to include a charge brush. This would have been done for the purpose of eliminating charge from the sheets and medium that are being recorded on to create a more a reliable recording.
Regarding claim 8, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 6, further comprising:
a switching section that is configured to switch between a state in which a medium is guided from the guide path to the switchback path and a state in which a medium is guided from the switchback path to the inversion path, wherein
the fourth path forming section has a plurality of support shaft sections that pivotably support the switching section along the medium width direction that intersects a medium transport direction,
the switching section has
a first engagement section that restricts movement of the switching section in a first direction, where the medium comes into contact with the switching section, by engaging with the support shaft sections and
a second engagement section that restricts movement of the switching section in a second direction, which is an opposite direction to the first direction, by engaging with the support shaft sections,
the switching section is pivotably engaged with the support shaft sections by sandwiching the support shaft sections between the first engagement section and the second engagement section,
the first engagement section and the second engagement section are provided in plurality along the medium width direction, and
the number of the second engagement sections is less than the number of the first engagement sections (switching section 100 has the guide structures, switchback path T2, and inversion path T3 guiding the medium P the through the four path forming sections. Support shaft being the switching section pivot shaft 101, first engagement section being the protrusion 103 and second engagement section being the slider 110; Figs. 4-8; Paragraphs 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 9, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 6, further
comprising:
a switching section that is configured to switch between a state in which a medium is guided from the guide path to the switchback path and a state in which a medium is guided from the switchback path to the inversion path, wherein
the fourth path forming section has a plurality of support shaft sections that pivotably support the switching section along the medium width direction that intersects a medium transport direction,
the switching section has
a first engagement section that restricts movement of the switching section in a first direction, where the medium comes into contact with the switching section, by engaging with the support shaft sections and
a second engagement section that restricts movement of the switching section in a second direction, which is an opposite direction to the first direction, by engaging with the support shaft sections,
the switching section is pivotably engaged with the support shaft sections by sandwiching the support shaft sections between the first engagement section and the second engagement section,
the first engagement section and the second engagement section are provided in plurality along the medium width direction,
the first engagement sections are provided at a center and both ends of the switching section in the medium width direction, and
the second engagement sections are provided at both ends of the switching section in the medium width direction (switching section 100 has the guide structures, switchback path T2, and inversion path T3 guiding the medium P the through the four path forming sections. Support shaft being the switching section pivot shaft 101, first engagement section being the protrusion 103 and second engagement section being the slider 110; Figs. 4-8; Paragraphs 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 11, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 10, wherein
the support section has a transport belt that transports a medium (transport belt 13 has a belt that transports a medium P; Fig. 1) and
the transport belt transports a medium in a direction that intersects with a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (transport belt 13 transports a medium P in a direction intersecting both horizontal and vertical directions in the incline transport belts; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 2,
the support section has a transport belt that transports a medium (transport belt 13 has a belt that transports a medium P; Fig. 1).
Claims 10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa US 20230124719 A1 in view of Yasumitsu US 20210373466 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
the support section (transport belt 13; Fig. 1)
Ogawa fails to teach is configured to switch by pivoting between a first state in which the support section is configured to support a medium to be recorded on by the recording section and a second state in which the support section is further retracted from the recording section than in
the first state and
has an operation section that releases a state of
holding the support section in the first state, and
the second path forming section has a guide section that guides a user's finger to the operation section.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
the support section (transfer belt 8; Fig. 1)
is configured to switch by pivoting between a first state in which the support section is configured to support a medium to be recorded on by the recording section and a second state in which the support section is further retracted from the recording section than in
the first state and
has an operation section that releases a state of
holding the support section in the first state (support section of transfer belt 8 supports sheet S and retracts from the recording section 5 to the conveyance unit 60; Fig. 1), and
the second path forming section has a guide section that guides a user's finger to the operation section (upstream guide portion 52 is the guide of the finger to release of the upstream holding releasing portion 51; Fig. 3 and 4; Paragraph 0063).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with doors. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the support section to allow for a guide for operation. This would have been done for the purpose of improving the user accessibility and improve the structure of the assembly body.
Regarding claim 15, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the support section is configured to switch by pivoting between a first state in which the support section is configured to support a medium to be recorded on by the recording section
and a second state in which the support section is further retracted from the recording section than in the first state and
the door section has a contact section that switches the support section to the first state by contacting the support section while the door section is closing from a state in which the door section is open and the support section is in the second state.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
the support section is configured to switch by pivoting between a first state in which the support section is configured to support a medium to be recorded on by the recording section
and a second state in which the support section is further retracted from the recording section than in the first state (transfer belt 8 in the first state supports the sheet S to the second state in the conveyance unit 60; Fig. 1) and
the door section has a contact section that switches the support section to the first state by contacting the support section while the door section is closing from a state in which the door section is open and the support section is in the second state (front door 120 has two contact portion closing units 50 and 70 and they support the conveyance unit 60 while the door is closing; Fig. 3 and 4).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with doors. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the door section to include door mount contact members. This would have been done for the purpose of improving the user operation as it will reduce the user error, improve maintenance, and ensure for the correct positioning of the transport paths.
Regarding claim 16, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the support section is configured to switch by pivoting between a first state in which the support section is configured to support a medium to be recorded on by the recording section and a second state in which the support section is further retracted from the recording section than in the first state and
the door section has a pressing section that presses the support section toward the first state.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein
the support section is configured to switch by pivoting between a first state in which the support section is configured to support a medium to be recorded on by the recording section and a second state in which the support section is further retracted from the recording section than in the first state (transfer belt 8 in the first state supports the sheet S to the second state in the conveyance unit 60; Fig. 1) and
the door section has a pressing section that presses the support section toward the first state (front door 120 has the retraction member 72a that is pressed during the operation; Paragraph 0085; Figs. 3-12).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with doors. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the door section to include door mount contact members with a pressing section. This would have been done for the purpose of improving the user operation as it will reduce the user error, allow the contact to press into the member, and ensure for the correct positioning of the transport paths.
Regarding claim 17, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 16, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the door section has a contact section that switches the support section to the first state by contacting the support section while the door section is closing from a state in which the door section is open and the support section is in the second state and
in conjunction with a close operation of the door section, the contact section transitions from a state in which the contact section is in contact with the support section to a state in which the pressing section presses the support section.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 16, wherein
the door section has a contact section that switches the support section to the first state by contacting the support section while the door section is closing from a state in which the door section is open and the support section is in the second state (front door 120 has the contact members 50 and 70 that contact the support section or the conveyance unit 60; Figs. 1-4) and
in conjunction with a close operation of the door section, the contact section transitions from a state in which the contact section is in contact with the support section to a state in which the pressing section presses the support section (the pressing sections 72a in contact section 70 are in contact with the support section; Fig. 1-4).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with doors. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the door section to add the contact portion with a pressing portion for the support section during closing state. This would have been done for the purpose of prevent impact loading during closure.
Regarding claim 18, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 17, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the contact section holds the pressing section.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 17, wherein
the contact section holds the pressing section (the contact member closing units 50 and 70 holds the pressing sections; Figs. 3 and 4).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with doors. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the door section to include a contact section that includes a pressing section. This would have been done for the purpose of ease of maintaining positional alignment of internal components.
Regarding claim 19, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 17, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the support section has a first section that engages with the contact section and the pressing section and
the door section has a guide section that guides the first section from the pressing section to the contact section when the door section is opened and the first section transitions from a state in which the first section is in contact with the pressing section to a state in which the first section comes into contact with the contact section.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 17, wherein
the support section has a first section that engages with the contact section and the pressing section (conveyance unit 60 is the first section that engages with the contact 50 and 70 and pressing 72a sections; Figs. 1-4) and
the door section has a guide section that guides the first section from the pressing section to the contact section when the door section is opened and the first section transitions from a state in which the first section is in contact with the pressing section to a state in which the first section comes into contact with the contact section (front door 120 has guides 72 and 52 that guide the pressing 72a from the contact 70 and 50 when the door 120 is open and closed; Figs. 1-4; Paragraph 0077).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with doors. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the door and assembly to include guides. This would have been done for the purpose of preventing misalignments and create a better reliability.
Regarding claim 20, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 17, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the support section has a transport belt that transports a medium and
the transport belt transports a medium in a direction that intersects with a horizontal direction and a vertical direction.
However, Yasumitsu teaches the recording device (image forming apparatus 100; Fig. 1) according to claim 17, wherein
the support section has a transport belt that transports a medium and
the transport belt transports a medium in a direction that intersects with a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (the transfer belt 8 transports a sheet S in a horizontal and vertical direction in the conveyance; Fig. 1; Paragraph 0024).
Ogawa and Yasumitsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving jam releasing recording devices with conveyance transporters. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the transport belt to be able to transport medium in the horizontal and vertical direction. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing for a more compact design as it can be moved in more directions.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa US 20230124719 A1 in view of Sata US 20220203732 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 12, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the support section has a cleaning section that performs cleaning of the transport belt and
as viewed in a direction that intersects with an outer surface of the door section, the transport belt and the cleaning section enter into a region of the second path forming section.
However, Sata teaches the recording device (recording device 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 12, wherein
the support section has a cleaning section that performs cleaning of the transport belt and
as viewed in a direction that intersects with an outer surface of the door section, the transport belt and the cleaning section enter into a region of the second path forming section (transport device 5 has a cleaning unit 14 that performs cleaning of the belt; Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0040-0042).
Ogawa and Sata are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a recording device that have transfer belts that need cleaning. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly to include a cleaning unit. This would have been done for the purpose of improve maintenance and operation quality of the recording device.
Regarding claim 14, Ogawa teaches the recording device (printer 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 13, wherein
Ogawa fails to teach the cleaning section has a paper dust collection container that collects paper dust from the transport belt and
as viewed in a direction that intersects the outer surface of the door section, the second path forming section covers the paper dust collection container.
However, Sata teaches the recording device (recording device 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 13, wherein
the cleaning section has a paper dust collection container that collects paper dust from the transport belt and
as viewed in a direction that intersects the outer surface of the door section, the second path forming section covers the paper dust collection container (cleaning unit 14 has a storage unit 18 that collects waste from the transport device 5; Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0043-0045).
Ogawa and Sata are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a recording device that have transfer belts that need cleaning. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly to include a cleaning unit. This would have been done for the purpose of improve maintenance and operation quality of the recording device.
Conclusion
/SADMAN SAKIB BAKHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853