DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/22/25 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: memory unit, scan driving circuit, data driving circuit in claims 1, 6, and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hou et al. (CN108597460A).
Regarding claim 1, Hou teaches an electronic label device (¶2, electronic paper display technology), comprising, a display module (fig. 1; ¶9 and ¶34, display screen, note: the electrophoretic electronic paper display screen) comprising a driving substrate and an E-paper film (shown in fig. 1, the external rectangle corresponds to the substrate and ¶2, electronic paper display technology), wherein the E-paper film is disposed on the driving substrate (examples shown in fig. 3a-3c where ¶26, fig. 3a is the initial state, ¶27, fig. 3b is the product failure state, ¶28, fig. 3c is the adjusted product state); and a driving chip (¶9 and ¶34, driving control chip calls the first set of driving waveforms to drive the display screen to display information) disposed on the driving substrate and electrically connected to the driving substrate, wherein the driving chip drives the E-paper film to display images through the driving substrate (¶34, as shown in fig. 1, the present invention provides an extended life electrophoresis type electronic paper device, which mainly comprises: a display screen, a driving control chip and a waveform storage unit); wherein, the driving chip comprises a memory unit (¶35, The waveform storage unit contains multiple sets of driving waveforms, which can be any of the following: the built-in storage space of the drive control chip, external storage space, and application software, or other carriers that can realize waveform storage function. Note: from ¶9, ¶11, ¶35, waveform storage unit storing multiple sets of driving waveforms; can be built-in storage space of the drive control chip), the memory unit stores a plurality of lookup tables (¶35, The waveform storage unit contains multiple sets of driving waveforms, which can be any of the following built-in storage space) corresponding to a plurality of temperature ranges (¶38, , the driving waveform can also be adjusted according to different operating temperature ranges. Each of the driving waveforms is valid for the entire operating temperature range or for a specific operating temperature range. The temperature range is divided according to the display requirements of the display screen and note: ¶37,¶38,¶39, multiple sets of driving waveforms each mapped to specific temperature sub-ranges), each of the lookup tables comprises an index corresponding to one of the temperature ranges (¶38, , the driving waveform can also be adjusted according to different operating temperature ranges. Each of the driving waveforms is valid for the entire operating temperature range or for a specific operating temperature range. The temperature range is divided according to the display requirements of the display screen. ¶39, operating temperature range divided into sub-ranges (e.g., 0
°
C-3
°
C, 3
°
C-8
°
C), each mapped to a specific stored waveform set.) and a plurality of processing procedures for multiple display colors of the E-paper film (¶40, further divided into several parts: C-BALANCE (color waveform balance), KW-BALANCE (black and white waveform balance), SHAKING (fast pulse waveform), and PUSH-PULL (pull-out display waveform). If only black and white are required to be displayed, then there is no C-BALANCE part.), and the index indicates a driving mode of the processing procedures (¶44, multiple sets of driving waveforms to drive electronic paper in order to extend its service life; ¶38 and ¶39, each waveform set determines the driving mode; drive control chip calls waveform according to current temperatures).
Regarding claim 2, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the E-paper film comprises an electrophoretic material (¶34, as shown in fig. 1, the present invention provides an extended life electrophoresis type electronic paper device; ¶5, ¶9, ¶34, device expressly described as electrophoretic electric paper driven by charged particles).
Regarding claim 3, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein each of the lookup tables further comprises a processing procedure corresponding to a common voltage of the multiple display colors (¶40, waveform balance requirement: product of positive driving voltage
×
time = product of negative voltage
×
time , applied across all color procedures (C-BALANCE, KW-BALANCE)).
Regarding claim 4, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the driving mode comprises a synchronous driving mode (¶37 and ¶38, driving waveforms valid across entire operating temperature range applied uniformly to all ranges) and an asynchronous driving mode (¶38 and ¶39, drive control chip calls waveform corresponding to each specific temperature sub-range based on current operating temperature).
Regarding claim 5, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the memory unit comprises an OTP ROM or an MTP ROM (¶11, ¶35, ¶44, waveform storage unit described as built-in storage space of drive control chip; confirmed waveforms are “burned” into driver chip built-in storage).
Regarding claim 6, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the driving chip further comprises a scan driving circuit (¶9, ¶34, ¶40, drive control chip drives display screen at pixel level to display multiple colors and waveform types; scan driving circuit inherent to electrophoretic display architecture), the driving substrate comprises a plurality of pixel units (¶9, ¶34, display screen driven at pixel level through driving substrate to display information), and the scan driving circuit is electrically connected to the pixel units via a plurality of scan lines (¶9, ¶34, ¶40, pixel-level scan line connection inherent and inseparable from the disclosed electrophoretic display driving architecture).
Regarding claim 7, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 6, wherein the driving chip further comprises a data driving circuit (¶34, ¶40, drive control chip drives pixel-level display of multiple colors and waveform types (C-BALANCE, KW-BALANCE, SHAKING-PUSH-PULL); data driving circuit inherent to disclosed architecture), and the data driving circuit is electrically connected to the pixel units via a plurality of data lines (¶34,¶40, data line connection to pixel units inherent and inseparable from the disclosed electrophoretic display driving architecture.).
Regarding claim 8, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 1, further comprising: a system circuit board electrically connected to the driving substrate and the driving chip (fig. 1, ¶14, ¶34, integrated device comprising display screen, driving control chip, waveform storage unit, and temperature sensing chip necessarily interconnected by system circuit board.).
Regarding claim 9, Hou teaches the electronic label device of claim 8, further comprising: a connection circuit board connected to the system circuit board and the driving substrate (¶14, ¶34, integrated device with multiple components (display screen, driving control chip, waveform storage unit, temperature sensing chip) inherently requires intermediate connection structure between system-level and display level boards), wherein the system circuit board is electrically connected to the driving substrate and the driving chip via the connection circuit board (¶14, ¶34, intermediate connection between system-level and display-level components is a standard and routine design element inherent in the disclosed device architecture.).
Conclusion
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/12/26