DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on March 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, and 11 have been
amended. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claims 12-20 are new. The remaining claims are in original or previously presented form. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 5, and 12 are the independent claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brouwers (US 20210228039 A1) in view of Park (KR 20080022343 A) in further view of Mountz(US 20060210382 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brouwers teaches an autonomous movement system comprising(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface.):
a working robot configured to perform an operation while moving autonomously in a working area(Brouwers’ autonomous robot performs floor cleaning operation similar to the working robot. Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface); and
a charging station configured to charge the working robot and allow the working robot to dock therewith(Brouwers, paragraph 7, a docking station for an autonomous floor cleaner includes a housing, electrical contacts or charging contacts disposed on the housing that are adapted to mate with charging contacts of a robot to charge a battery of the robot.),
wherein the working robot comprises:
a working unit configured to perform the operation(Brouwers’s robot comprises a working unit with vacuum collection system to clean up debris. Brouwers, paragraph 56, the autonomous floor cleaner 12 can be a dry vacuum cleaning robot including at least a vacuum collection system for creating a partial vacuum to suck up debris.);
a movement unit configured to move the working robot(According to the specification, movement unit can comprise wheels. Similarly, Brouwers discloses using wheels to move the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 70, The drive system 26 can include drive wheels 64 for driving the robot 12 across a surface to be cleaned);
a movement motor configured to drive the movement unit(Brouwers, paragraph 70,The drive wheels 64 can be operated by a common wheel motor 66 or individual wheel motors 66 coupled with the drive wheels);
a battery configured to be charged at the charging station(Brouwers, paragraph 54,docking station for charging the battery of an autonomous floor cleaner) and supply power to the movement motor(Brouwers, paragraph 60, the docking station 14 can recharge a power supply of the autonomous floor cleaner);
a control unit configured to control the movement motor(Brouwers, paragraph 72,The controller 30 can receive input from the navigation/mapping system 28 or from a remote device such as a smartphone (not shown) for directing the robot 12 over the surface to be cleaned. The navigation/mapping system 28 can include a memory 68 that can store any data useful for navigation…, inputs from various sensors that are used to guide the movement of the robot.); and
a robot power receiver configured to receive power for charging the battery from the charging station while the working robot is docked with the charging station(Robot charging contact(82) of Brouwers is similar to the robot power receiver as it is the point of contact for charging the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 102, [A] charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot ),
the charging station comprises:
a station power transmitter configured to supply the power for charging the battery to the robot power receiver(Docking station charging contact (122) of Brouwers is similar to the station charging terminal as it is the point of contact on the docking station to charge the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 107, the docking station 14 can have a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 142 comprising the circuitry for supplying a suitable voltage and current to the robot 12 via the charging contacts 122 when the robot 12 is docked. Brouwers, paragraph 102, docking station 14 includes a housing 120, electrical contacts or charging contacts 122 disposed on the housing 120 that are adapted to mate with the charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot); and
when the working robot is docked with the charging station and in an unchargeable state in which charging to the battery is unable to be started(Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking), the control unit executes a docking retry process to move the working robot by the movement unit and dock the working robot again with the charging station(Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking the robot can drive away from the docking station, realign with the docking station relying on passive receivers and short docking signals from the docking station, and re-dock with the docking station.),
While Brouwers teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station for charging, it fails to disclose a station plate placed on a ground; and while the working robot is moving during the docking retry process, at least a part of the working robot overlaps the station plate as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the ground; and throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of a length of the working robot in a robot longitudinal direction keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground.
However, Park, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about the control of a robot vacuum cleaner device, discloses a station plate placed on a ground(Charging base plate of Park is similar to the station plate. Park, paragraph 79, a charging base plate 340 is arranged on the floor), and while the working robot is moving during the docking retry process(Park, paragraph 100, the robot cleaner 100 and the charging base (300) determination is made that the distance error and a predetermined distance backward and attempts to re-dock by going to the left or right after ), at least a part of the working robot overlaps the station plate as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the ground, and (Park’s Figure 7 and 8 demonstrate a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate).
Figure 7 of Park demonstrates a base plate 340 that is similar to a station plate.
Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers with Park to incorporate a base plate(station plate) on the same plane as the ground, and a robot that at least partially overlaps the plate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the ground(bird’s eye view).By having station plate with a charging docking station on which the robot overlaps(rests), it is possible keep the robot intact and stable while its charging which reducing charging interruption. Additionally, the charging base plate provides the robot a designated return spot after work operation reducing human interference and robot damage.
While the combination of Brouwers and Park specifically discloses a robot redocking process while overlapping a station plate, it fails to disclose a system of redocking wherein throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of a length of the working robot in a robot longitudinal direction keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground.
However, Mountz, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about transporting inventory discloses a system of redocking mobile drive unit wherein throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of a length of the working robot in a robot longitudinal direction keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(Mountz discloses a docking plate which is similar to the station plate that is located above the mobile drive unit(robot), but when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, 50% or more of a length of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking plate. The overlapping is demonstrated in Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B of Mountz where the mobile drive unit 20 docks under docking plate 350, which resides under the inventory holder 30. While under the inventory holder, the mobile drive unit rotates to align to with the docking station when there is a misalignment. The in-place rotation indicates 50% or more of the length of the mobile drive unit(robot) keeps overlapping the docking station during docking realignment process. Mountz, paragraph 56, the upward motion of docking cone 410 during docking may also cause lateral movement in docking head 110 and/or mobile drive unit 20 that aligns docking head 110 concentrically with docking plate 350. As a result, mobile drive unit 20 may correct a certain range of misalignments by moving docking cone 410 toward and/or into docking plate 350. Mountz, paragraph 70, particular embodiment of docking sensor 460 may detect rotational motion 530 and begin actively rotating mobile drive unit 20 in the direction of rotational motion 530, for example by rotating motorized wheels 124 of mobile drive unit 20 in opposite directions. Thus, mobile drive unit 20 may actively assist in the alignment of docking head 110 and docking plate 350. Alternatively or additionally, mobile drive unit 20 may be configured for rolling and may passively allow mobile drive unit 20 to rotate in the appropriate direction. Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again. Mountz, paragraph 37, drive module 120 is also configured to rotate mobile drive unit 20 while mobile drive unit 20 remains stationary with respect to translational movement).
Fig. 5G shows indicates 50% or more of a length of the mobile drive unit(20) keeps overlapping the docking plate(350).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers and Park with Mountz to retry alignment of mobile drive unit(robot) with a docking station while 50% or more of a length of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking station when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground. By rotating the robot in place to redock the robot while overlapping the station plate, it is possible to redock the robot in a confined space without requiring large space to maneuver.(Mountz, paragraph 82, particular embodiments of mobile drive unit 20 may utilize movement techniques that provide particular benefits when utilized in inventory system 10. For example, FIGS. 7A-7H illustrate a particular embodiment of mobile drive unit 20 that provides space-saving benefits when operating in inventory system 10.).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 1(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again), wherein
the robot power receiver is a robot charging terminal configured to be electrically connected to the charging station when the working robot is docked with the charging station(Robot charging contact(82) of Brouwers is similar to the robot power receiver as it is the point of contact for charging the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 102, [A] charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot),
the station power transmitter is a station charging terminal configured to be electrically connected to the robot charging terminal(Docking station charging contact (122) of Brouwers is similar to the station charging terminal as it is the point of contact on the docking station to charge the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 107, the docking station 14 can have a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 142 comprising the circuitry for supplying a suitable voltage and current to the robot 12 via the charging contacts 122 when the robot 12 is docked. Brouwers, paragraph 102, docking station 14 includes a housing 120, electrical contacts or charging contacts 122 disposed on the housing 120 that are adapted to mate with the charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot),
the docking retry process comprises a separation process to separate the working robot from the charging station(Brouwers discloses a robot driving away from the docking station to re-dock, which corresponds to a separation process. Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking, the robot can drive away from the docking station…and re-dock with the docking station), and
the robot charging terminal is separated away from the station charging terminal after the separation process(Brouwers’s disclosure of the robot driving away from the docking station indicates the separation of the robot’s charging terminal(Robot charging contact(82)) from the station charging terminal(Docking station charging contact (122)). Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking, the robot can drive away from the docking station).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 1(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again), wherein the control unit is configured to drive the movement motor at a predetermined number of rotations in the docking retry process(Brouwers, paragraph 178, To drive away from the docking station 14, the robot 12 can operate both drive wheels 64 (FIG. 3) in the forward direction for a predetermined time or number of revaluations. Brouwers, paragraph 70, the drive wheels 64 can be operated simultaneously at the same rotational speed for linear motion or independently at different rotational speeds to turn the robot 12 in a desired direction).
Regarding claim 5, Brouwers teaches an autonomous movement system comprising(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface.):
a working robot configured to perform an operation while moving autonomously in a working area(Brouwers’ autonomous robot performs floor cleaning operation similar to the working robot. Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface); and
a charging station configured to charge the working robot and allow the working robot to dock therewith(Brouwers, paragraph 7, a docking station for an autonomous floor cleaner includes a housing, electrical contacts or charging contacts disposed on the housing that are adapted to mate with charging contacts of a robot to charge a battery of the robot),
wherein the working robot comprises:
a working unit configured to perform the operation(Brouwers’s robot comprises a working unit with vacuum collection system to clean up debris. Brouwers, paragraph 56, the autonomous floor cleaner 12 can be a dry vacuum cleaning robot including at least a vacuum collection system for creating a partial vacuum to suck up debris);
a movement unit configured to move the working robot(According to the specification, movement unit can comprise wheels. Similarly, Brouwers discloses using wheels to move the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 70, The drive system 26 can include drive wheels 64 for driving the robot 12 across a surface to be cleaned);
a movement motor configured to drive the movement unit(Brouwers, paragraph 70,The drive wheels 64 can be operated by a common wheel motor 66 or individual wheel motors 66 coupled with the drive wheels);
a battery configured to be charged at the charging station(Brouwers, paragraph 54,docking station for charging the battery of an autonomous floor cleaner) and supply power to the movement motor(Brouwers, paragraph 60, the docking station 14 can recharge a power supply of the autonomous floor cleaner);
a control unit configured to control the movement motor(Brouwers, paragraph 72,The controller 30 can receive input from the navigation/mapping system 28 or from a remote device such as a smartphone (not shown) for directing the robot 12 over the surface to be cleaned. The navigation/mapping system 28 can include a memory 68 that can store any data useful for navigation…, inputs from various sensors that are used to guide the movement of the robot); and
a robot power receiver configured to receive power for charging the battery from the charging station while the working robot is docked with the charging station(Robot charging contact(82) of Brouwers is similar to the robot power receiver as it is the point of contact for charging the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 102, [A] charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot),
the charging station comprises:
a station power transmitter configured to supply the power for charging the battery to the robot power receiver(Docking station charging contact (122) of Brouwers is similar to the station charging terminal as it is the point of contact on the docking station to charge the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 107, the docking station 14 can have a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 142 comprising the circuitry for supplying a suitable voltage and current to the robot 12 via the charging contacts 122 when the robot 12 is docked. Brouwers, paragraph 102, docking station 14 includes a housing 120, electrical contacts or charging contacts 122 disposed on the housing 120 that are adapted to mate with the charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot); and
when the working robot is docked with the charging station and in an unchargeable state in which charging to the battery is unable to be started(Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking), the control unit executes a docking retry process to move the working robot by the movement unit and dock the working robot again with the charging station(Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking the robot can drive away from the docking station, realign with the docking station relying on passive receivers and short docking signals from the docking station, and re-dock with the docking station),
While Brouwers teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station for charging, it fails to disclose a station plate placed on a ground, while the working robot is moving during the docking retry process, at least a part of the working robot overlaps the station plate as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the ground, as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground the working robot has a first area, and throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the first area of the working robot keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground
However, Park, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about the control of a robot vacuum cleaner device, discloses a station plate placed on a ground(Charging base plate of Park is similar to the station plate. Park, paragraph 79, a charging base plate 340 is arranged on the floor), while the working robot is moving during the docking retry process(Park, paragraph 100, the robot cleaner 100 and the charging base (300) determination is made that the distance error and a predetermined distance backward and attempts to re-dock by going to the left or right after), at least a part of the working robot overlaps the station plate as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the ground(Park’s Figure 7 and 8 demonstrate a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate),
Figure 7 of Park demonstrates a base plate 340 that is similar to a station plate.
Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers with Park to incorporate a base plate(station plate) on the same plane as the ground, and a robot that at least partially overlaps the plate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the ground(bird’s eye view).By having station plate with a charging docking station on which the robot overlaps(rests), it is possible keep the robot intact and stable while its charging which reducing charging interruption. Additionally, the charging base plate provides the robot a designated return spot after work operation reducing human interference and robot damage.
While the combination of Brouwers and Park specifically discloses a robot redocking process while overlapping a station plate, it fails to disclose a system of redocking wherein as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground the working robot has a first area, and throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the first area of the working robot keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground.
However, Mountz, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about transporting inventory discloses a system of redocking mobile drive unit wherein as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground the working robot has a first area, and throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the first area of the working robot keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(Mountz discloses a docking plate which is similar to the station plate, that is located above the mobile drive unit(robot), but when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking plate. The overlapping is demonstrated in Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B of Mountz where the mobile drive unit 20 docks under docking plate 350, which resides under the inventory holder 30. While under the inventory holder, the mobile drive unit rotates to align to with the docking station when there is a misalignment. The in-place rotation indicates 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) keeps overlapping the docking station during docking realignment process. Mountz, paragraph 56, the upward motion of docking cone 410 during docking may also cause lateral movement in docking head 110 and/or mobile drive unit 20 that aligns docking head 110 concentrically with docking plate 350. As a result, mobile drive unit 20 may correct a certain range of misalignments by moving docking cone 410 toward and/or into docking plate 350. Mountz, paragraph 70, particular embodiment of docking sensor 460 may detect rotational motion 530 and begin actively rotating mobile drive unit 20 in the direction of rotational motion 530, for example by rotating motorized wheels 124 of mobile drive unit 20 in opposite directions. Thus, mobile drive unit 20 may actively assist in the alignment of docking head 110 and docking plate 350. Alternatively or additionally, mobile drive unit 20 may be configured for rolling and may passively allow mobile drive unit 20 to rotate in the appropriate direction. Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again. Mountz, paragraph 37, drive module 120 is also configured to rotate mobile drive unit 20 while mobile drive unit 20 remains stationary with respect to translational movement)
Fig. 5G shows indicates 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(20) keeps overlapping the docking plate(350).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers and Park with Mountz to retry alignment of mobile drive unit(robot) with a docking station while 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking station when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground. By rotating the robot in place to redock the robot while overlapping the station plate, it is possible to redock the robot in a confined space without requiring large space to maneuver.(Mountz, paragraph 82, particular embodiments of mobile drive unit 20 may utilize movement techniques that provide particular benefits when utilized in inventory system 10. For example, FIGS. 7A-7H illustrate a particular embodiment of mobile drive unit 20 that provides space-saving benefits when operating in inventory system 10).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 1(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again), wherein the docking retry process comprises: a retreating process to move the working robot rearward(Brouwers, paragraph 70, the drive wheels 64 can be driven in a forward or reverse direction to move the unit forwardly or rearwardly.); and an advancing process to move the working robot forward after the retreating process(Brouwers, paragraph 176, FIG. 24 is a flow chart showing one embodiment of a method 400 for re-docking the robot 12 at the docking station 14 after a lost charge. Brouwers, paragraph 178, If charging has been lost, the method proceeds to step 406, where the robot drives a predetermined distance D away from the docking station. Brouwers, paragraph 180, the robot 12 calculates a path that will move the center of the robot 12 to the current location of the rear receiver 116RR, 116RL that detected the center short docking signal CS. The calculated path can include rotation instructions, such as what direction to rotate the robot 12 (e.g. left or right) and the number of degrees to rotate. The path can additionally or alternatively include translation instructions, such as how far to drive the robot 12 in reverse or how far to drive the robot 12 forward).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 1(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again), further comprising an informing unit configured to inform a user(Brouwers, paragraph 171, The docking error notification can be a visual notification on the display 86 or elsewhere on the robot 12), wherein the control unit is configured to: execute the docking retry process once or more(Brouwers, paragraph 171, the controller 30 determines whether the robot 12 had successfully docked and the battery 80 is charging… If [robot is not successfully docked], at step 354 the controller 30 determines whether a predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success. In one example, the predetermined number X can be three attempts. If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 ); and control the informing unit when a number of the docking retry process executed reaches a reference number(Brouwers, paragraph 171, If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 and the robot 12 issues a docking error notification).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 9(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again), wherein the control unit is configured to stop the movement motor when the number of the docking retry process executed reaches the reference number( Brouwers discloses a robot issuing an error notification after unsuccessful dockings. The repeated unsuccessful dockings of the robot will eventually cause a motor shut down due to power depletion. Brouwers, paragraph 171, If [robot is not successfully docked], at step 354 the controller 30 determines whether a predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success. In one example, the predetermined number X can be three attempts. If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 and the robot 12 issues a docking error notification).
Claims 7, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brouwers (US 20210228039 A1) in view of Park (KR 20080022343 A) in further view of Mountz(US 20060210382 A1) in further view of Bushman (US 20170001311 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 6(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again),
While the combination of Brouwers and Park teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station while overlapping a base plate, it fails to disclose a retreating process wherein a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50 mm and equal to or less than 650 mm.
However, Bushman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about robot navigational sensor system, discloses a retreating process wherein a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50 mm and equal to or less than 650 mm(The system of Bushman determines if the robot is 10-30 cm away from the docking station to initiate a re-docking process. Based on Bushman’s predetermined distance of 10-30 cm to reverse the robot, it is possible to set the distance of retreat between 50 mm to 650 mm. Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked. The rear docking motion can be performed smoothly, without a wiggle motion of the robot or a re-docking procedure to correct alignment between the robot body 110 and the dock).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz with Bushman to re-dock a robot from a distance of 10-30 cm away from a docking station. The system of Bushman determines if the robot is 10-30 cm( that includes 50 mm to 650 mm ) away from the docking station and initiates a re-docking process. Travelling a predetermined distance before docking retry is advantageous as it provides enough room to realign and adjust orientation of the robot for another attempt of re-docking to the charging station. Furthermore, an adequate distance allows the robot to obtain holistic view of the charging station to determine an accurate point of contact of the charging station.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Brouwers, Park, Mountz, and Bushman teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 7(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again; Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked), wherein the retreating distance is equal to or more than 150 mm and equal to or less than 300 mm (Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked. The rear docking motion can be performed smoothly, without a wiggle motion of the robot or a re-docking procedure to correct alignment between the robot body 110 and the dock).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Mountz teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 2(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again), wherein the control unit is configured to drive the movement motor at a predetermined number of rotations in the docking retry process(Brouwers, paragraph 178, To drive away from the docking station 14, the robot 12 can operate both drive wheels 64 (FIG. 3) in the forward direction for a predetermined time or number of revaluations. Brouwers, paragraph 70, the drive wheels 64 can be operated simultaneously at the same rotational speed for linear motion or independently at different rotational speeds to turn the robot 12 in a desired direction),
the docking retry process comprises:
a retreating process to move the working robot rearward(Brouwers, paragraph 70, the drive wheels 64 can be driven in a forward or reverse direction to move the unit forwardly or rearwardly.); and
an advancing process to move the working robot forward after the retreating process(Brouwers, paragraph 176, FIG. 24 is a flow chart showing one embodiment of a method 400 for re-docking the robot 12 at the docking station 14 after a lost charge. Brouwers, paragraph 178, If charging has been lost, the method proceeds to step 406, where the robot drives a predetermined distance D away from the docking station. Brouwers, paragraph 180, the robot 12 calculates a path that will move the center of the robot 12 to the current location of the rear receiver 116RR, 116RL that detected the center short docking signal CS. The calculated path can include rotation instructions, such as what direction to rotate the robot 12 (e.g. left or right) and the number of degrees to rotate. The path can additionally or alternatively include translation instructions, such as how far to drive the robot 12 in reverse or how far to drive the robot 12 forward), the autonomous movement system further comprises an informing unit configured to inform a user(Brouwers, paragraph 171, The docking error notification can be a visual notification on the display 86 or elsewhere on the robot 12),
and the control unit is configured to:
execute the docking retry process once or more(Brouwers, paragraph 171, the controller 30 determines whether the robot 12 had successfully docked and the battery 80 is charging… If [robot is not successfully docked], at step 354 the controller 30 determines whether a predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success. In one example, the predetermined number X can be three attempts. If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 );
control the informing unit when a number of the docking retry process executed reaches a reference number(Brouwers, paragraph 171, If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 and the robot 12 issues a docking error notification); and
stop the movement motor when the number of the docking retry process executed reaches the reference number(Brouwers discloses a robot issuing an error notification after unsuccessful dockings. The repeated unsuccessful dockings of the robot will eventually cause a motor shut down due to power depletion. Brouwers, paragraph 171, If [robot is not successfully docked], at step 354 the controller 30 determines whether a predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success. In one example, the predetermined number X can be three attempts. If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 and the robot 12 issues a docking error notification).
While Brouwers teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station for charging, it fails to disclose a system where as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, the working robot has a first area,
during the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the first area of the working robot overlaps the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground,
a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50 mm and equal to or less than 650 mm,
the retreating distance is equal to or more than 150 mm and equal to or less than 300 mm,
However, Mountz, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about transporting inventory discloses a system of redocking mobile drive unit wherein as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(Fig . 7a and Fig. 7b of Mountz show bird’s eye view(perpendicular view of the mobile drive(robot)) and the inventory holder where the docking plate (station plate) is located under. Furthermore, fig. 5b of Mountz demonstrates 50% or more of the area of the working robot keeps overlapping the docking plate. Furthermore, fig.7b shows the full length of mobile drive under inventory holder 30), the working robot has a first area, during the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the first area of the working robot overlaps the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(Mountz discloses a docking plate which is similar to the station plate, that is located above the mobile drive unit(robot), but when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking plate. The overlapping is demonstrated in Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B of Mountz where the mobile drive unit 20 docks under docking plate 350, which resides under the inventory holder 30. While under the inventory holder, the mobile drive unit rotates to align to with the docking station when there is a misalignment. The in-place rotation indicates 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) keeps overlapping the docking station during docking realignment process. Mountz, paragraph 56, the upward motion of docking cone 410 during docking may also cause lateral movement in docking head 110 and/or mobile drive unit 20 that aligns docking head 110 concentrically with docking plate 350. As a result, mobile drive unit 20 may correct a certain range of misalignments by moving docking cone 410 toward and/or into docking plate 350. Mountz, paragraph 70, particular embodiment of docking sensor 460 may detect rotational motion 530 and begin actively rotating mobile drive unit 20 in the direction of rotational motion 530, for example by rotating motorized wheels 124 of mobile drive unit 20 in opposite directions. Thus, mobile drive unit 20 may actively assist in the alignment of docking head 110 and docking plate 350. Alternatively or additionally, mobile drive unit 20 may be configured for rolling and may passively allow mobile drive unit 20 to rotate in the appropriate direction. Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again. Mountz, paragraph 37, drive module 120 is also configured to rotate mobile drive unit 20 while mobile drive unit 20 remains stationary with respect to translational movement).
Fig. 5G shows indicates 50% or more of a length of the mobile drive unit(20) keeps overlapping the docking plate(350).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers with Mountz to retry alignment of mobile drive unit(robot) with a docking station while 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking station when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground. By rotating the robot in place to redock the robot while overlapping the station plate, it is possible to redock the robot in a confined space without requiring large space to maneuver.(Mountz, paragraph 82, particular embodiments of mobile drive unit 20 may utilize movement techniques that provide particular benefits when utilized in inventory system 10. For example, FIGS. 7A-7H illustrate a particular embodiment of mobile drive unit 20 that provides space-saving benefits when operating in inventory system 10).
While the combination of Brouwers and Park teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station while overlapping a base plate, it fails to disclose a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50 mm and equal to or less than 650 mm, the retreating distance is equal to or more than 150 mm and equal to or less than 300 mm.
However, Bushman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about robot navigational sensor system, discloses a retreating process a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50 mm and equal to or less than 650 mm(Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked. The rear docking motion can be performed smoothly, without a wiggle motion of the robot or a re-docking procedure to correct alignment between the robot body 110 and the dock),
the retreating distance is equal to or more than 150 mm and equal to or less than 300 mm(Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked. The rear docking motion can be performed smoothly, without a wiggle motion of the robot or a re-docking procedure to correct alignment between the robot body 110 and the dock),
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers and Mountz with Bushman to re-dock a robot from a distance of 10-30 cm away from a docking station. The system of Bushman determines if the robot is 10-30 cm( that includes 50 mm to 650 mm ) away from the docking station and initiates a re-docking process. Travelling a predetermined distance before docking retry is advantageous as it provides enough room to realign and adjust orientation of the robot for another attempt of re-docking to the charging station. Furthermore, an adequate distance allows the robot to obtain holistic view of the charging station to determine an accurate point of contact of the charging station.
Claims 12-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brouwers (US 20210228039 A1) in view of Park (KR 20080022343 A) in further view of Jang (KR 20200029256 A).
Regarding claim 12, Brouwers teaches an autonomous movement system comprising(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface.):
a working robot configured to perform an operation while moving autonomously in a working area(Brouwers’ autonomous robot performs floor cleaning operation similar to the working robot. Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface); and
a charging station configured to charge the working robot and allow the working robot to dock therewith(Brouwers, paragraph 7, a docking station for an autonomous floor cleaner includes a housing, electrical contacts or charging contacts disposed on the housing that are adapted to mate with charging contacts of a robot to charge a battery of the robot),
wherein the working robot comprises:
a working unit configured to perform the operation(Brouwers’s robot comprises a working unit with vacuum collection system to clean up debris. Brouwers, paragraph 56, the autonomous floor cleaner 12 can be a dry vacuum cleaning robot including at least a vacuum collection system for creating a partial vacuum to suck up debris.);
a movement unit configured to move the working robot(According to the specification, movement unit can comprise wheels. Similarly, Brouwers discloses using wheels to move the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 70, The drive system 26 can include drive wheels 64 for driving the robot 12 across a surface to be cleaned);
a movement motor configured to drive the movement unit(Brouwers, paragraph 70,The drive wheels 64 can be operated by a common wheel motor 66 or individual wheel motors 66 coupled with the drive wheels);
a battery configured to be charged at the charging station(Brouwers, paragraph 54,docking station for charging the battery of an autonomous floor cleaner) and supply power to the movement motor(Brouwers, paragraph 60, the docking station 14 can recharge a power supply of the autonomous floor cleaner);
a control unit configured to control the movement motor(Brouwers, paragraph 72,The controller 30 can receive input from the navigation/mapping system 28 or from a remote device such as a smartphone (not shown) for directing the robot 12 over the surface to be cleaned. The navigation/mapping system 28 can include a memory 68 that can store any data useful for navigation…, inputs from various sensors that are used to guide the movement of the robot); and a robot power receiver configured to receive power for charging the battery from the charging station while the working robot is docked with the charging station(Robot charging contact(82) of Brouwers is similar to the robot power receiver as it is the point of contact for charging the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 102, [A] charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot), the charging station comprises:
a station power transmitter configured to supply the power for charging the battery to the robot power receiver(Docking station charging contact (122) of Brouwers is similar to the station charging terminal as it is the point of contact on the docking station to charge the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 107, the docking station 14 can have a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 142 comprising the circuitry for supplying a suitable voltage and current to the robot 12 via the charging contacts 122 when the robot 12 is docked. Brouwers, paragraph 102, docking station 14 includes a housing 120, electrical contacts or charging contacts 122 disposed on the housing 120 that are adapted to mate with the charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot); and
when the working robot is docked with the charging station and in an unchargeable state in which charging to the battery is unable to be started(Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking), the control unit executes a docking retry process to move the working robot by the movement unit and dock the working robot again with the charging station(Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking the robot can drive away from the docking station, realign with the docking station relying on passive receivers and short docking signals from the docking station, and re-dock with the docking station),
the docking retry process comprises:
a retreating process to move the working robot rearward(Brouwers, paragraph 70, the drive wheels 64 can be driven in a forward or reverse direction to move the unit forwardly or rearwardly.); and an advancing process to move the working robot forward after the retreating process(Brouwers, paragraph 176, FIG. 24 is a flow chart showing one embodiment of a method 400 for re-docking the robot 12 at the docking station 14 after a lost charge. Brouwers, paragraph 178, If charging has been lost, the method proceeds to step 406, where the robot drives a predetermined distance D away from the docking station. Brouwers, paragraph 180, the robot 12 calculates a path that will move the center of the robot 12 to the current location of the rear receiver 116RR, 116RL that detected the center short docking signal CS. The calculated path can include rotation instructions, such as what direction to rotate the robot 12 (e.g. left or right) and the number of degrees to rotate. The path can additionally or alternatively include translation instructions, such as how far to drive the robot 12 in reverse or how far to drive the robot 12 forward).
While Brouwers teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station for charging, it fails to disclose a station plate placed on a ground, while the working robot is moving during the docking retry process, at least a part of the working robot overlaps the station plate as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the ground, and
after the retreating process and before the advancing process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of a length of the working robot in a robot longitudinal direction overlaps the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground.
However, Park, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about the control of a robot vacuum cleaner device, discloses a station plate placed on a ground(Charging base plate of Park is similar to the station plate. Park, paragraph 79, a charging base plate 340 is arranged on the floor) while the working robot is moving during the docking retry process(Park, paragraph 100, the robot cleaner 100 and the charging base (300) determination is made that the distance error and a predetermined distance backward and attempts to re-dock by going to the left or right after), at least a part of the working robot overlaps the station plate as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the ground(Park’s Figure 7 and 8 demonstrate a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate).
Figure 7 of Park demonstrates a base plate 340 that is similar to a station plate.
Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers with Park to incorporate a base plate(station plate) on the same plane as the ground, and a robot that at least partially overlaps the plate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the ground(bird’s eye view).By having station plate with a charging docking station on which the robot overlaps(rests), it is possible keep the robot intact and stable while its charging which reducing charging interruption. Additionally, the charging base plate provides the robot a designated return spot after work operation reducing human interference and robot damage.
While the combination of Brouwers and Park specifically discloses a robot redocking process while overlapping a station plate, it fails to disclose
after the retreating process and before the advancing process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of a length of the working robot in a robot longitudinal direction overlaps the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground.
However, Jang, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about transporting inventory discloses a system of a robot wherein after the retreating process and before the advancing process(Jang, paragraph 105, the driving unit 111 may control driving of the main wheel and the auxiliary wheel so as to move in the horizontal direction so as to increase the induced voltage at the current position or to move back and reapproach), a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of a length of the working robot in a robot longitudinal direction overlaps the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(The present specification discloses the longitudinal length of the station plate can be more than 700 mm and equal to or less than 1200 mm. Brouwers discloses when charging operation is lost, the robot retries the redocking process driving away the robot a predetermined distance of approximately 0.3 to 0.9 m before moving back to the charging station. The minimum predetermined distance of Brouwers 0.3m is less more than the present application’s station plate maximum length of 1200mm, indicating the robot does not move past the 1200mm station plate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the base plate of Park and limit the robot movement to 0.3 meters placing it within 1200mm distance (making up more than 50% of the robot length) in order for the robot to remain on the base plate(station plate) during redocking process. Moreover, Jang discloses moving away from charging station and reapproaching a charging station when charging is not possible. Furthermore, Jang’s fig. 1b demonstrates a charging station where a robot can overlap a base plate as shown in fig. 1a of Jang. Brouwers, paragraph 178, If charging has been lost, the method proceeds to step 406, where the robot drives a predetermined distance D away from the docking station 14. The predetermined distance D can be a distance that will keep the robot 12 within range of the short docking signals LS, CS, RS. In one example, the predetermined distance D can be in the range of one to three feet (approximately 0.3 to 0.9 m). Brouwers, paragraph 184, the method 400 proceeds to step 420 and the robot 12 executes the path. If the path includes both rotation instructions and translation instructions, the robot 12 can execute the rotation instructions first, and thereafter execute the translation instructions. After executing the path, the robot 12 should be at a position in which the robot is aligned with the center of the docking station. Jang, paragraph 105, the controller 180 of the robot cleaner 100 determines that the charging is impossible when the magnitude of the sensed organic voltage is equal to or less than the reference organic voltage, and the driving unit executes a driving command to re-dock the charging station 200. (111). Accordingly, the driving unit 111 may control driving of the main wheel and the auxiliary wheel so as to move in the horizontal direction so as to increase the induced voltage at the current position or to move back and reapproach ).
Figure 1a of Jang shows charging station with a base plate.
Figure 1b of Jang shows a robot overlapping a base plate.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers and Park with Jang to incorporate a station plate to the charging station where the robot attempts docks with. Even though Jang does not specifically disclose 50% or more of a length of the robot remains on the station plate, as discussed above, a person ordinary skill in the art would’ve modified the teaching of Brouwers and Park to limit the distance a robot travels during redocking process to keep the robot on the station plate. Jang supports the combination of Brouwers and Park by its demonstration of a base plate where its robot overlaps the base station and backs away from the charging station to retry docking. It is possible to see Jang’s drawing with a base plate and limit the distance travelled away from the base plate using Brouwers and Park’ teaching. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to keep most of robot’s length overlapping the station plate to keep the robot within range of short docking signals, preventing the robot from a full restart of the docking process.( Brouwers, paragraph 178, the robot drives a predetermined distance D away from the docking station 14. The predetermined distance D can be a distance that will keep the robot 12 within range of the short docking signals LS, CS, RS ).
This conclusion of obviousness corresponds to KSR rationale “A”: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2141, subsection III.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 12(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach), wherein the robot power receiver is a robot charging terminal configured to be electrically connected to the charging station when the working robot is docked with the charging station(Robot charging contact(82) of Brouwers is similar to the robot power receiver as it is the point of contact for charging the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 102, [A] charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot),
the station power transmitter is a station charging terminal configured to be electrically connected to the robot charging terminal(Docking station charging contact (122) of Brouwers is similar to the station charging terminal as it is the point of contact on the docking station to charge the robot. Brouwers, paragraph 107, the docking station 14 can have a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 142 comprising the circuitry for supplying a suitable voltage and current to the robot 12 via the charging contacts 122 when the robot 12 is docked. Brouwers, paragraph 102, docking station 14 includes a housing 120, electrical contacts or charging contacts 122 disposed on the housing 120 that are adapted to mate with the charging contacts 82 on the exterior surface of the robot 12 to charge the battery 80 of the robot),
the docking retry process comprises a separation process to separate the working robot from the charging station(Brouwers discloses a robot driving away from the docking station to re-dock, which corresponds to a separation process. Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking, the robot can drive away from the docking station…and re-dock with the docking station), and
the robot charging terminal is separated away from the station charging terminal after the separation process(Brouwers’s disclosure of the robot driving away from the docking station indicates the separation of the robot’s charging terminal(Robot charging contact(82)) from the station charging terminal(Docking station charging contact (122)). Brouwers, paragraph 17, if the robot loses charging contact with the docking station after docking, the robot can drive away from the docking station).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 12(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach), wherein the control unit is configured to drive the movement motor at a predetermined number of rotations in the docking retry process(Brouwers, paragraph 178, To drive away from the docking station 14, the robot 12 can operate both drive wheels 64 (FIG. 3) in the forward direction for a predetermined time or number of revaluations. Brouwers, paragraph 70, the drive wheels 64 can be operated simultaneously at the same rotational speed for linear motion or independently at different rotational speeds to turn the robot 12 in a desired direction).
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 12(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach), wherein throughout the docking retry process, the part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the length of the working robot in the robot longitudinal direction keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(Mountz discloses a docking plate which is similar to the station plate, that is located above the mobile drive unit(robot), but when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, 50% or more of a length of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking plate. The overlapping is demonstrated in Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B of Mountz where the mobile drive unit 20 docks under docking plate 350, which resides under the inventory holder 30. While under the inventory holder, the mobile drive unit rotates to align to with the docking station when there is a misalignment. The in-place rotation indicates 50% or more of the length of the mobile drive unit(robot) keeps overlapping the docking station during docking realignment process. Mountz, paragraph 56, the upward motion of docking cone 410 during docking may also cause lateral movement in docking head 110 and/or mobile drive unit 20 that aligns docking head 110 concentrically with docking plate 350. As a result, mobile drive unit 20 may correct a certain range of misalignments by moving docking cone 410 toward and/or into docking plate 350. Mountz, paragraph 70, particular embodiment of docking sensor 460 may detect rotational motion 530 and begin actively rotating mobile drive unit 20 in the direction of rotational motion 530, for example by rotating motorized wheels 124 of mobile drive unit 20 in opposite directions. Thus, mobile drive unit 20 may actively assist in the alignment of docking head 110 and docking plate 350. Alternatively or additionally, mobile drive unit 20 may be configured for rolling and may passively allow mobile drive unit 20 to rotate in the appropriate direction. Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again. Mountz, paragraph 37, drive module 120 is also configured to rotate mobile drive unit 20 while mobile drive unit 20 remains stationary with respect to translational movement).
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 12(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach), wherein, as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, the working robot has a first area, and
throughout the docking retry process, a part of the working robot that corresponds to 50% or more of the first area of the working robot keeps overlapping the station plate as the working robot is viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground(Mountz discloses a docking plate which is similar to the station plate, that is located above the mobile drive unit(robot), but when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the ground, 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) overlaps the docking plate. The overlapping is demonstrated in Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B of Mountz where the mobile drive unit 20 docks under docking plate 350, which resides under the inventory holder 30. While under the inventory holder, the mobile drive unit rotates to align to with the docking station when there is a misalignment. The in-place rotation indicates 50% or more of the area of the mobile drive unit(robot) keeps overlapping the docking station during docking realignment process. Mountz, paragraph 56, the upward motion of docking cone 410 during docking may also cause lateral movement in docking head 110 and/or mobile drive unit 20 that aligns docking head 110 concentrically with docking plate 350. As a result, mobile drive unit 20 may correct a certain range of misalignments by moving docking cone 410 toward and/or into docking plate 350. Mountz, paragraph 70, particular embodiment of docking sensor 460 may detect rotational motion 530 and begin actively rotating mobile drive unit 20 in the direction of rotational motion 530, for example by rotating motorized wheels 124 of mobile drive unit 20 in opposite directions. Thus, mobile drive unit 20 may actively assist in the alignment of docking head 110 and docking plate 350. Alternatively or additionally, mobile drive unit 20 may be configured for rolling and may passively allow mobile drive unit 20 to rotate in the appropriate direction. Mountz, Paragraph 80, Mobile drive unit 20 may also be configured to, in response to detecting a failed docking attempt, rotate and attempt to dock again. Mountz, paragraph 37, drive module 120 is also configured to rotate mobile drive unit 20 while mobile drive unit 20 remains stationary with respect to translational movement).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 12(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach), further comprising an informing unit configured to inform a user(Brouwers, paragraph 171, The docking error notification can be a visual notification on the display 86 or elsewhere on the robot 12),
wherein the control unit is configured to:
execute the docking retry process once or more(Brouwers, paragraph 171, the controller 30 determines whether the robot 12 had successfully docked and the battery 80 is charging… If [robot is not successfully docked], at step 354 the controller 30 determines whether a predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success. In one example, the predetermined number X can be three attempts. If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 ); and
control the informing unit when a number of the docking retry process executed reaches a reference number(Brouwers, paragraph 171, If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 and the robot 12 issues a docking error notification).
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 19(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach), wherein the control unit is configured to stop the movement motor when the number of the docking retry process executed reaches the reference number(Brouwers discloses a robot issuing an error notification after unsuccessful dockings. The repeated unsuccessful dockings of the robot will eventually cause a motor shut down due to power depletion. Brouwers, paragraph 171, If [robot is not successfully docked], at step 354 the controller 30 determines whether a predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success. In one example, the predetermined number X can be three attempts. If the predetermined number X of docking attempts have been made without success, the method proceeds to step 356 and the robot 12 issues a docking error notification).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brouwers (US 20210228039 A1) in view of Park (KR 20080022343 A) in further view of Jang (KR 20200029256 A) in further view of Bushman (US 20170001311 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Brouwers, Park, and Jang teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 12(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach),
While the combination of Brouwers and Park teaches about a robot that re-docks to a docking station while overlapping a base plate, it fails to disclose a retreating process wherein a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50mm and equal to or less than 650mm.
However, Bushman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about robot navigational sensor system, discloses a retreating process wherein a retreating distance by which the working robot moves rearward in the retreating process is equal to or more than 50mm and equal to or less than 650mm(The system of Bushman determines if the robot is 10-30 cm away from the docking station to initiate a re-docking process. Based on Bushman’s predetermined distance of 10-30 cm to reverse the robot, it is possible to set the distance of retreat between 50 mm to 650 mm. Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked. The rear docking motion can be performed smoothly, without a wiggle motion of the robot or a re-docking procedure to correct alignment between the robot body 110 and the dock).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Brouwers, Park, and Jang with Bushman to re-dock a robot from a distance of 10-30 cm away from a docking station. The system of Bushman determines if the robot is 10-30 cm( that includes 50 mm to 650 mm ) away from the docking station and initiates a re-docking process. Travelling a predetermined distance before docking retry is advantageous as it provides enough room to realign and adjust orientation of the robot for another attempt of re-docking to the charging station. Furthermore, an adequate distance allows the robot to obtain holistic view of the charging station to determine an accurate point of contact of the charging station.
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Brouwers, Park, Jang, and Bushman teaches the autonomous movement system according to claim 17(Brouwers, paragraph 2, Autonomous or robotic floor cleaners can move without the assistance of a user or operator to clean a floor surface; Figure 8 of Park demonstrates a robot (100) docking on charging plate (340), where the robot overlaps the base plate; Jang, paragraph 105, the robot cleaner… move[s] back and reapproach; Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked), wherein the retreating distance is equal to or more than 150mm and equal to or less than 300 mm(Bushman, paragraph 95, the robot stops when the proximity sensors 510 on the front of the robot detect that it is 10-30 cm away from the docking station…The robot then reverses (advances in a rear direction) at lower speed until the aft part of the robot is docked. The rear docking motion can be performed smoothly, without a wiggle motion of the robot or a re-docking procedure to correct alignment between the robot body 110 and the dock).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Lee(US 20120116588 A1) discloses a robot that judges whether or not docking with the charging station fails, and moves backwards to retry docking with the charging station upon judging that docking with the charging station fails. Lee further discloses a cleaning robot which moves backwards by a designated distance upon judging that docking fails and moves forwards again to retry docking with the charging station, and judges whether or not docking succeeds as a result of the retry.
Long(CN 114246524 A) discloses sending a docking request instruction to a supply device and moving to a preset supply area, to butt joint with the supply device, if not receiving the docking confirmation instruction, then re-docking until 5 times, if not receiving the docking confirmation instruction after 5 times of docking; then moving to a preset error reporting area and uploading an error reporting information to the server to indicate the maintenance personnel to maintain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665