DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 2014/0081455) in view of El-Galley et al. (US 2005/0143724).
Regarding claim 6, Goldberg discloses a method automatically assigning foot pedals of a surgical system to electrosurgical instruments (see Figs. 1 and 4), the method comprising: receiving a signal that a first electrosurgical foot pedal is actuated (see command signal when a foot pedal is depressed, [0030]); determining a number of electrosurgical instruments connected to the surgical robot in response to actuation of the first electrosurgical foot pedal (see detection of two surgical instruments, surgical instruments 102 and 103, [0035] and [0048], Fig. 1); assigning the first electrosurgical foot pedal to a first electrosurgical instrument connected to the surgical robot after the first electrosurgical foot pedal is actuated (see teleoperated surgical system 100 may assign an auxiliary function, in response to actuation of foot pedal 124a, [0079]), and generating a first electrosurgical firing command after the foot pedal is assigned (see, for example, monopolar energy sent to the tool in response to actuation of the foot pedal after assignment, [0079]). However, Goldberg fails to further disclose generating a first prompt for a clinician interfacing with the robotic surgical system to select one of the first or second electrosurgical instruments to assign to the first electrosurgical foot pedal in response to actuation of the first electrosurgical foot pedal; receiving a selection of the first electrosurgical instrument from the clinician; and assigning the first electrosurgical foot pedal to the first electrosurgical instrument in response to receiving the selection of the first electrosurgical instrument and before generating the first electrosurgical fire command.
El-Galley teaches an electrosurgical system with multiple electrosurgical devices (see Figs. 1 and 5) comprising a display on a user console for selecting an instrument for use from multiple instruments and assigning the input from foot pedals to the selected instrument based on a selection from the user before actual use of the electrosurgical devices, wherein the prompts/buttons for selection can be virtual buttons/prompts displayed on a touch screen (see [0045]-[0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Goldberg to further include generating a first prompt for a clinician interfacing with the robotic surgical system to select one of the first or second electrosurgical instruments to assign to the first electrosurgical foot pedal in response to actuation of the first electrosurgical foot pedal; receiving a selection of the first electrosurgical instrument from the clinician; and assigning the first electrosurgical foot pedal to the first electrosurgical instrument in response to receiving the selection of the first electrosurgical instrument and before generating the first electrosurgical fire command in light of El-Galley, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of increased flexibility in which foot pedal is assigned to what device and what function for that device (see El-Galley [0047]-[0048]).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,950. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,950 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the non-statutory Double Patenting rejections, as set forth in this Office action.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the non-statutory Double patenting rejections, as set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Goldberg et al. (US 2014/0081455), El-Galley et al. (US 2005/0143724), and Berry et al. (US 2015/0257814), fails to reasonably teach or suggest assigning the second electrosurgical foot pedal to the second electrosurgical instrument in response to receiving the selection of the first electrosurgical instrument when read in combination with the incorporated requirements of claims 2 and 14. The prior art of record generally teaches assigning a first and second instrument sequentially, however the prior art of record fails to specifically teach or suggest assigning the second electrosurgical foot pedal to the second electrosurgical instrument in response to receiving the selection of the first electrosurgical instrument as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, the closest prior art generally teaches generation of a first prompt to assign the first electrosurgical instrument to a foot pedal, however the closest prior art fails to reasonably teach or suggest regenerating the first prompt when delivering electrosurgical energy to the first electrosurgical instrument fails as specifically claimed.
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794