DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: The Applicant argues that Johnson does not disclose a “controller configured to determine a first number of slices, among the plurality of slices, for the first bandwidth based on the first data and the second data generated by the external device based on the first data, because Johnson does not disclose determining a number of slices based on transmitted (first) data and received corresponding (second) data”.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner asserts that Johnson discloses a controller (see Fig. 2, block 66) configured to determine a first number of slices, among the plurality of slices (see paragraphs 0016-0017, 0020-0021, 0045, 0048, 0050, and 0060), for the first bandwidth (see the abstract and paragraphs 0001, 0021, and 0045) based on the first data (see paragraphs 0004, 0015-0017 (“The computing system may select the number of slices to balance data signal integrity (e.g., minimizing transmission losses or bit error rates (BER)) and power consumption of the system. In order to maintain signal integrity and minimize BER across multiple die in a computing system and across multiple computing systems the output driver should exhibit a consistent and predictable drive strength (or impedance) for a given number of slices selected by the system across variations of manufacturing process and operation environment variations of operating voltage and temperatures (PVT).” Paragraph [0017] clearly shows that the number of slices is selected based on the BER or transmission loss of the signal generated by block 60 (i.e., the first signal)), 0052 (“the power state control circuit 66 may transmit power control signals during a data transmission operation. At block 108, the power state control circuit 66 may de-assert the power control signals to open the transistors 82 after the data bit transmission completes and the output buffer 60 is idle.” Paragraph [0052] states that in response to completion of data bit transmission (i.e., transmission of the first data) changes are made in number of slices (see also paragraphs 0019, 0021, 0045, and 0048)), and 0060) and the second data (see paragraphs 0016, 0048, 0050 (“the power state control circuit 66 may receive a slice configuration of the output driver 60. The slice configuration may be a value stored in a register 52 accessible by the calibration circuit 54 and/or by the power state control circuit 66. In some cases, an input received by the power state control circuit 66 indicates the slice configuration, such as an input received via an input device, via a wired or wireless coupling, from another circuit, or the like. The slice configuration may indicate a number of pull-up slices 62 and pull-down slices 64 to use in the output driver 60. Over time, the slice configuration may be changed.”), 0060, and claim 10 (“10. A method, comprising: receiving a slice configuration, wherein the slice configuration is configured to program a number of slices of an output driver used when transmitting a data bit, wherein the number of slices comprise a first plurality of transistors that close to transmit the data bit, wherein the first plurality of transistors have a first channel width;”). Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Johnson) (US 2023/0063891).
As to claim 1, Johnson discloses a device comprising: a transmission circuit (see Fig. 2, block 60 and paragraph 0042) configured to transmit first data in at least one slice, among a plurality of slices in the transmission circuit (see paragraphs 0004, 0015, 0016, and 0042), in a first bandwidth (see the abstract and paragraphs 0001, 0021, and 0045); a reception circuit (see Fig. 2, block 66) configured to receive, from an external device (see paragraph 0050 “In some cases, an input received by the power state control circuit 66 indicates the slice configuration, such as an input received via an input device, via a wired or wireless coupling, from another circuit, or the like.”), second data generated by the external device based on the first data (e.g. the “slice configuration” information, see paragraphs 0015-0017, 0021, and 0050-0052); and a controller (see Fig. 2, block 66) configured to determine a first number of slices, among the plurality of slices (see paragraphs 0016-0017, 0020-0021, 0045, 0048, 0050, and 0060), for the first bandwidth (see the abstract and paragraphs 0001, 0021, and 0045) based on the first data (see paragraphs 0004, 0015-0017, 0052, and 0060) and the second data (see paragraphs 0016, 0048, 0050, 0060, and claim 10). In the rejection of claim 1 no patentable weight is given to the limitations cited in the preamble of claim 1.
As to claim 2, Johnson discloses that the controller is further configured to determine a second number of slices, among the plurality of slices, for a second bandwidth greater than the first bandwidth, the second number of slices being equal to or greater than the first number of slices (see paragraphs 0020-0021 and 0060).
As to claim 3, Johnson discloses that the controller is further configured to determine a second number of slices, among the plurality of slices, for a second bandwidth smaller than the first bandwidth, the second number of slices being equal to or lesser than the first number of slices (see paragraphs 0020-0021 and 0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-18 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 13, a comprehensive search of prior art of record failed to show either alone or in combination a transmitting device comprising: a first transmission gate configured to: receive a first signal, and output the first signal to a first node based on a selection signal of a first level; a first N-channel MOSFET (NMOS) transistor comprising: a drain connected to the first node, a gate through which an inversion signal of the selection signal is input, and a source that is grounded; a first inverter configured to output a second signal by inverting a signal input through the first node; a first P-channel MOSFET (PMOS) transistor comprising: a source through which a first driving voltage is input, and a gate through which the second signal is input, the first PMOS transistor configured to be turned on based on the second signal of a second level to transmit data to a receiving device; a second transmission gate configured to: receive the first signal, and output the first signal to a second node based on a selection signal of the first level; a second PMOS transistor comprising: a drain connected to the second node, a gate through which the selection signal is input, and a source through which a second driving voltage is input; a second inverter configured to output a third signal by inverting a signal input through the second node; and a second NMOS transistor comprising: a source that is ground, and a gate through which the third signal is input, the second NMOS transistor configured to be turned on based on the third signal of the first level to transmit the data to the receiving device.
Claims 19-20 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 19, a comprehensive search of prior art of record failed to show either alone or in combination a transmission training method comprising: transmitting first data to a receiver by using at least one slice, among a plurality of slices, in a first bandwidth; receiving second data corresponding to the first data from the receiver; storing the first bandwidth and a number of slices used for transmission of the first data, based on a verification of the second data being successful; and increasing the number of slices used for transmission of the first data, based on the verification of the second data being unsuccessful.
Claims 4-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LEILA . MALEK
Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/LEILA MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632