DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berendsen (EP3057402B1)(cited by applicant).
Regarding claims 1 and 13-14, Berendsen discloses a metering member for an agricultural implement, comprising:
A body (29) configured to couple with a metering device
A raised ring/protruding structures (27, 28) formed circumferentially (cumulatively) around a rim of the body (29), the raised ring defining a plurality of seed receiving portions (17-20) each configured to receive a seed therein, the plurality of seed receiving portions having a plurality of walls defining a continuous wall structure and forming a cavity/cell therein
The cavity has an outwardly facing open end
One or more walls of the plurality of walls have a different height than one or more other walls within each seed receiving portion
At least one wall of the plurality of walls is an arcuate shaped wall having a configuration complementary to a seed shape
[AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 7, the plurality of walls comprise a front wall (wall portion adjacent outward opening) having a chamfered edge at a front outward end of the outwardly facing open end (See figure above).
Regarding claim 8, the plurality of seed receiving portions define spaced apart cavities, wherein a distance between the spaced apparat cavities is defined based on one of a type or size of the seed (defined based on size because the size of the opening has outwardly facing open end has to be able to accommodate the seed).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 17, Berendsen discloses that the body comprises a disc and/or bowl (Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berendsen (EP3057402B1)(cited by applicant) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 9, Berendsen discloses the invention as described above, but fails to disclose the type of seed that is metered by the disc. The examiner takes Official Notice that seed meters are known in the art to be able to meter sunflower and/or corn seeds. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have appreciated that the Berendsen device could be used or modified to be used to meter sunflower and/or corn seeds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 12 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lundie (4,600,122) discloses the use of cavities with walls of varying heights and complementary in shape to a seed to meter sunflower seeds.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671