Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US Patent No. US 10963014 B1 and Park hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) an electronic apparatus comprising: a first housing (200a); a second housing (200b) coupled to the first housing such as to be slidable in a first direction (X) away from the first housing and in a second direction (opposite direction of X) opposite to the first direction; a roller (400) comprising a rotation shaft (401) oriented perpendicular (Z) to the first direction and the second direction, the roller being in at least one from among the second housing and the first housing (fig.6a); and a heat transfer sheet (350) comprising a flexible and thermally conductive material (flexible metal plate), wherein one end portion of the heat transfer sheet is coupled to the roller, wherein the roller is configured to wind the heat transfer sheet in a case where the second housing slides in the second direction and unwind the heat transfer sheet in a case where the second housing slides in the first direction (figs 4 and 6 (a-b) and col 27, lines 3-15).
Regarding Claim 2, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer sheet further comprises: a fixed portion (fixed to 320) fixed to at least one from among the first housing and the second housing; and an extension portion (fixed to 310) configured to be wound or unwound by the roller (figs 6(a-b) and 7a).
Regarding Claim 3, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 2, wherein the roller is in the second housing, wherein the fixed portion is fixed with respect to the first housing (fig.6a), and wherein the extension portion is located on an area of the first housing overlapping with the second housing in a case the second housing slides in the second direction (shows in fig.6a).
Regarding Claim 4, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 2, wherein the roller is in the first housing, wherein the fixed portion is fixed with respect to the second housing, and wherein the extension portion is located on an area of the second housing overlapping with the first housing in a case where the second housing slides in the second direction (shows in figs 6a-b).
Regarding Claim 5, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an elastic member (370) configured to apply a force in the first direction with respect to the roller.
Regarding Claim 6, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the roller further comprises a motor configured to drive the roller (180, fig.1).
Regarding Claim 9, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the roller further comprises: a body (400) on which the heat transfer sheet is wound; journals at two end portions (501-502) of the body; and a chock (510, 520) configured to support at least a portion of the journals (fig.8).
Regarding Claim 13, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a guide member (250) configured to slide in engagement with the roller in a case where the second housing slides in the first direction, and guide the heat transfer sheet to have a flat shape in a case where the heat transfer sheet is unwound (fig.6b).
Regarding Claim 14, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 13, wherein the guide member is at a shoulder portion of the heat transfer sheet (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 15, Park discloses (figs. 1-16) the electronic apparatus of claim 13, wherein the roller and the guide member are in the second housing, wherein the heat transfer sheet comprises a fixed portion (320 fixed to 350) fixed to at least one from among the first housing and the second housing, wherein the fixed portion is fixed with respect to the second housing, and wherein the first housing comprises a guide reception space (210) in a case where the second housing slides in the first direction (fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al in view of Lee et al (US Pub No. 2023/0217610 A1 and Lee hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 7, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the roller further comprises: an external body having an internal space, wherein the heat transfer sheet is wound around the external body (figs.6a-b); an internal shaft (401) passing through the external body and relatively fixed with respect to rotation movement of the roller, but fails to disclose a rotation elastic member fixed with respect to each of the internal shaft and the external body and configured to apply rotation force to the external body. However, Lee teaches (figs. 1-7B) a rotation elastic member (SM) fixed with respect to each of the internal shaft and the external body and configured to apply rotation force to the external body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a rotation elastic member of Lee to device of Park in order to provide a tension of the spring member applied to the rotation of the display panel (Lee and [0102])
Regarding Claim 8, Park/Lee discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 7. Lee further teaches (figs. 1-7B) wherein the rotation elastic member comprises a spiral torsion spring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a spiral torsion spring of Lee to device of Park in order to provide a tension of the spring member applied to the rotation of the display panel (Lee and [0102])
Regarding Claim 10, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the roller is configured to be driven by a motor, and wherein one of the journals is supported by the chock, and another one of the journals is supported by the motor. However, Lee teaches (figs. 1-7B) wherein the roller (160) is configured to be driven by a motor (MT), and wherein one of the journals is supported by the chock (side plate), and another one of the journals is supported by the motor (fig.4B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine motor as claimed of Lee to device of Park in order to rotate the flexible display in a clockwise direction or a counterclockwise direction in accordance with the operation of the motor. (Lee and [0084])
Regarding Claim 11, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 9, but fails to disclose an elastic member between the second housing and the chock and configured to apply a force in the first direction with respect to the chock. However, Lee teaches (figs. 1-7B) an elastic member (TS) between the second housing (HB) and the chock (RA frame) and configured to apply a force in the first direction with respect to the chock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an elastic member of Lee to device of Park in order to provide a tension of the spring member applied to the rotation of the display panel (Lee and [0102])
Regarding Claim 12, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the chock comprises a rotation elastic member configured to apply a rotation force having a rotation direction for winding the heat transfer sheet with respect to the journals. However, Lee teaches (figs. 1-7B) wherein the chock comprises a rotation elastic member (BT) configured to apply a rotation force having a rotation direction for winding the heat transfer sheet with respect to the journals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an elastic member of Lee to device of Park in order to provide a tension of the spring member applied to the rotation of the display panel (Lee and [0102])
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841