DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US20260032663A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: receive configuration information associated with at least one of a prediction set of beams or a measurement set of beams (Paragraph [0006]: An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a signal indicating measurement reporting parameters for the UE, the measurement reporting parameters identifying a set of beam prediction resources for a set of beams and a beam measurement reporting scheme and transmit a beam measurement report indicating resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams from the set of beams, each beam in the subset of beams satisfying a performance threshold for corresponding beam prediction resources in the set of beam prediction resources associated with the measurement reporting parameters, where the resource identifiers of beams in the subset of beams are based on the beam measurement reporting scheme. Paragraph [0167]: The communications manager 820 may support wireless communication at a UE in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The reporting parameter manager 825 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a signal indicating measurement reporting parameters for the UE, the measurement reporting parameters identifying a set of beam prediction resources for a set of beams and a beam measurement reporting scheme. The beam reporting manager 830 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a beam measurement report indicating resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams from the set of beams, each beam in the subset of beams satisfying a performance threshold for corresponding beam prediction resources in the set of beam prediction resources associated with the measurement reporting parameters, where the resource identifiers of beams in the subset of beams are based on the beam measurement reporting scheme. Also see paragraph [0045].)
select, based on the configuration information, a beam subset from the at least one of the prediction set or the measurement set (Paragraph [0046]: The UE may transmit or otherwise provide the beam measurement report to the network indicating the resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams. The subset of beams may include beams from the set of beams that have satisfied the performance threshold (e.g., the top K predicted beams that are the strongest among the set). The resource identifiers indicated in the beam measurement report may be configured (e.g., ordered or otherwise indicated, what information is reported, and the like) according to the beam measurement reporting scheme. Paragraph [0140]: The subset of beams may generally correspond to the beams (e.g., resource identifiers associated with beams) having the highest predicted RSRP/SINR from among the other beams (e.g., resource identifiers) in the prediction resource set. The beams in the subset of beams may be considered beams that satisfy a performance threshold (e.g., the highest or top K performing beams). The performance threshold may be based on the predicted RSRP and/or SINR of each beam in the subset of beams being higher than the RSRP and/or SINR of the remaining beams in the set of beams. Accordingly, the UE may transmit the beam measurement report 510 indicating the resource identifiers 515 associated with the subset of beams (with each beam in the subset satisfying the performance threshold for the corresponding beam prediction resource). Also see paragraph [0146], [0171]).
select, from a plurality of reporting methods, a reporting method for reporting the beam subset based on: (i) a reporting configuration associated with a base station (Paragraph [0119]: For example, beam measurement report 320-a illustrates an example where the resource identifiers (e.g., each resource identifier) are indicated according to the ordering scheme in a nonordered manner, such as a sequential manner (e.g., without ordering from highest or best beam to lowest). Paragraph [0120]: Beam measurement report 320-b illustrates an example where the resource identifiers are indicated according to the order scheme in an ordered manner (e.g., with the reported resource identifiers being indicated in order of strongest beam first, followed by next strongest beam, and so forth, for the beams in the subset of beams). Paragraph [0123]: For example, a UE may receive a signal (e.g., RRC signal, MAC-CE signal, DCI signal, or other signaling means) that carries or otherwise conveys an indication of measurement reporting parameters (e.g., a first CSI report setting 405) for the UE. The measurement reporting parameters may indicate or otherwise identify a set of beam prediction resources for a set of beams. Paragraph [0124]: The measurement reporting parameters may indicate a reporting quantity (e.g., a reportQuantity information element or parameter) that identifies, at least to some degree, the number of resource identifiers 415 to be indicated in a first beam measurement report 410. The UE may predict the measurement results (e.g., L1-RSRP/SINR) for some or all of the resources (e.g., associated with beams) of the resource identifiers in the beam prediction set, but only report the top K (e.g., as indicated by the reporting quantity) resource identifiers 415 (e.g., a subset of beams) in the first beam measurement report 410. Also see paragraphs [0021], [0096], [0152], [0167].)
and send, using the selected reporting method, one or more reports associated with the selected beam subset (Paragraph [0172]: In some examples, the multi-report manager 945 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for setting a first field in the beam measurement report to indicate transmission of a second beam measurement report according to second measurement reporting parameters identifying a second beam measurement reporting scheme. In some examples, the multi-report manager 945 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, according to the second beam measurement reporting scheme, the second beam measurement report indicating resource identifiers associated with a second subset of beams from a second set of beams and a predicted measurement result for each beam in the second subset of beams, the second beam measurement report further including a second field associating the second beam measurement report with the beam measurement report. Paragraph [0215]: At 1510, the method may include transmitting a beam measurement report indicating resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams from the set of beams, each beam in the subset of beams satisfying a performance threshold for corresponding beam prediction resources in the set of beam prediction resources associated with the measurement reporting parameters, where the resource identifiers of beams in the subset of beams are based on the beam measurement reporting scheme.)
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to (see rejection for claim 1);
select the reporting method based on one or more thresholds (Paragraph [0116]: The measurement reporting parameters may indicate a reporting quantity (reportQuantity) that identifies, at least to some degree, the number of resource identifiers to be indicated in a beam measurement report 320. That is,….the reporting configuration may indicate to the UE to report its top K (reportQuantity) beams (e.g., resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams in the beam set) in the beam measurement report 320. That is, the UE may predict the measurement results (e.g., L1-RSRP/SINR) for some or all of the resources (e.g., associated with beams) of resource identifiers, but only report the top K (e.g., as indicated by the reporting quantity) resource identifiers (e.g., a subset of beams) in the beam measurement report 320. The subset of beams may generally correspond to the beams (e.g., resource identifiers associated with beams) having the highest predicted RSRP/SINR from among the other beams (e.g., resource identifiers) in the prediction resource set 310. The beams in the subset of beams may be considered beams that satisfy a performance threshold (e.g., the highest or top K performing beams). The performance threshold may be based on the predicted RSRP and/or SINR of each beam in the subset of beams being higher than the RSRP and/or SINR of the remaining beams in the set of beams. In the non-liming example illustrated in FIG. 3 , the top K beams (e.g., the subset of beam) correspond to the beams associated with resource identifiers #0, #3, #16, and #18 (e.g., K=4 where four resource identifiers are indicated by the reporting quantity). Accordingly, the UE may transmit the beam measurement report 320 indicating the resource identifiers associated with the subset of beams (with each beam in the subset satisfying the performance threshold for the corresponding beam prediction resource). Also see paragraphs [0119], [0120], [0123].)
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein the received configuration information indicates one or more reference signal (RS) resource configurations for the at least one of the prediction set or the measurement set (Paragraph [0045]: This may include reference signal resources (e.g., measurement resources) being configured for a user equipment (UE), with the UE measuring signal(s) transmitted via the resources (e.g., actual measurement results) to determine aspects of the channel performance. This may also include the UE modeling the predicted channel performance (e.g., predicted measurement results) using various proxy information, such as previous measurements on the channel, measurements on adjacent channels, and so forth. The UE may report the measurement results (e.g., actual or predicted) to the network by signaling an identifier of the reference signal resource as well as the measurement results (e.g., reference signal receive power (RSRP) level, signal-to-interference-plus-noise (SINR) level, and the like). Paragraph [0046]: For example, a UE may be configured with (e.g., receive, obtain, or otherwise access or store) measurement reporting parameters (e.g., a channel state information (CSI) report setting) that identify or otherwise indicate a set of beam prediction resources (e.g., reference signal resources) for a set of beams (e.g., a beam prediction resource set) that are associated with the measurement reporting parameters, such as a measurement reporting quantity (e.g., reportQuantity).)
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein the received configuration information indicates one or more of: a threshold for beam selection (Paragraph [0046]: The UE may transmit or otherwise provide the beam measurement report to the network indicating the resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams. The subset of beams may include beams from the set of beams that have satisfied the performance threshold (e.g., the top K predicted beams that are the strongest among the set). The resource identifiers indicated in the beam measurement report may be configured (e.g., ordered or otherwise indicated, what information is reported, and the like) according to the beam measurement reporting scheme.)
a threshold for reporting method selection (Paragraph [0106]: An example of such reportQuantity configurations may include the strongest RSRP resources (StrongestResources-RSRP) indicating the top K resource identifiers, whose predicted L1-RSRPs are stronger than the predicted L1-RSRPs of the other resources in the prediction resource set associated with the CSI report setting. Paragraph [0116]: The measurement reporting parameters may indicate a reporting quantity (reportQuantity) that identifies, at least to some degree, the number of resource identifiers to be indicated in a beam measurement report 320. That is,….the reporting configuration may indicate to the UE to report its top K (reportQuantity) beams (e.g., resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams in the beam set) in the beam measurement report 320. That is, the UE may predict the measurement results (e.g., L1-RSRP/SINR) for some or all of the resources (e.g., associated with beams) of resource identifiers, but only report the top K (e.g., as indicated by the reporting quantity) resource identifiers (e.g., a subset of beams) in the beam measurement report 320.)
or a maximum number of beams to be selected from the at least one of the prediction set or the measurement set as the beam subset (Paragraph [0105]: For example, the measurement reporting parameters may indicate the set of beam prediction resources (e.g., 24 resource identifiers, in one non-limiting example) as well as include the reporting quantity (reportQuantity) that identifies how many (e.g., four resource identifiers, in one non-limiting example) resource identifiers are to be included in the beam measurement report. This may enable the measurement reporting parameters to indicate to the UE 205 that the beam measurement report is to identify the top K (e.g., four, in this example) beams (via the associated resource identifiers) in the set of beams. Also see paragraphs [0106], [0107].)
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
collect or predict reference signal (RS) measurements for the prediction set of beams or the measurement set of beams, wherein the one or more reports indicate at least one of the collected or predicted RS measurements (Paragraph [0045]: This may include reference signal resources (e.g., measurement resources) being configured for a user equipment (UE), with the UE measuring signal(s) transmitted via the resources (e.g., actual measurement results) to determine aspects of the channel performance. This may also include the UE modeling the predicted channel performance (e.g., predicted measurement results) using various proxy information, such as previous measurements on the channel, measurements on adjacent channels, and so forth. The UE may report the measurement results (e.g., actual or predicted) to the network by signaling an identifier of the reference signal resource as well as the measurement results (e.g., reference signal receive power (RSRP) level, signal-to-interference-plus-noise (SINR) level, and the like). Paragraph [0046]: The described techniques provide for enabling reporting of predicted measurement resource identifiers in a measurement report, such as a beam measurement report. For example, a UE may be configured with (e.g., receive, obtain, or otherwise access or store) measurement reporting parameters (e.g., a channel state information (CSI) report setting) that identify or otherwise indicate a set of beam prediction resources (e.g., reference signal resources) for a set of beams (e.g., a beam prediction resource set) that are associated with the measurement reporting parameters, such as a measurement reporting quantity (e.g., reportQuantity). The measurement reporting quantity may generally indicate that the UE is to report the top K resource identifiers (K being a positive integer) associated with beams in the set of beams having the strongest predicted measurement result (e.g., the beams that satisfy a performance threshold). The measurement reporting parameters may also indicate or otherwise identify a beam measurement reporting scheme, which may define the format of the beam measurement report (e.g., such as what information to include in the beam measurement report, how the information is presented or arranged, and the like). The UE may transmit or otherwise provide the beam measurement report to the network indicating the resource identifiers associated with a subset of beams. The subset of beams may include beams from the set of beams that have satisfied the performance threshold (e.g., the top K predicted beams that are the strongest among the set). The resource identifiers indicated in the beam measurement report may be configured (e.g., ordered or otherwise indicated, what information is reported, and the like) according to the beam measurement reporting scheme. Also see paragraphs [0102], [0171].)
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
receive the reporting configuration of the base station, wherein the reporting configuration indicates to the WTRU to use the selected reporting method for sending reports to the base station (Paragraph [0119]: For example, beam measurement report 320-a illustrates an example where the resource identifiers (e.g., each resource identifier) are indicated according to the ordering scheme in a nonordered manner, such as a sequential manner (e.g., without ordering from highest or best beam to lowest). Paragraph [0120]: Beam measurement report 320-b illustrates an example where the resource identifiers are indicated according to the order scheme in an ordered manner (e.g., with the reported resource identifiers being indicated in order of strongest beam first, followed by next strongest beam, and so forth, for the beams in the subset of beams). Paragraph [0123]: For example, a UE may receive a signal (e.g., RRC signal, MAC-CE signal, DCI signal, or other signaling means) that carries or otherwise conveys an indication of measurement reporting parameters (e.g., a first CSI report setting 405) for the UE. The measurement reporting parameters may indicate or otherwise identify a set of beam prediction resources for a set of beams. Paragraph [0124]: The measurement reporting parameters may indicate a reporting quantity (e.g., a reportQuantity information element or parameter) that identifies, at least to some degree, the number of resource identifiers 415 to be indicated in a first beam measurement report 410. The UE may predict the measurement results (e.g., L1-RSRP/SINR) for some or all of the resources (e.g., associated with beams) of the resource identifiers in the beam prediction set, but only report the top K (e.g., as indicated by the reporting quantity) resource identifiers 415 (e.g., a subset of beams) in the first beam measurement report 410. Also see paragraphs [0021], [0096], [0152], [0167].)
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a method performed by a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving configuration information associated with at least one of a prediction set of beams or a measurement set of beams; selecting, based on the configuration information, a beam subset from the at least one of the prediction set or the measurement set; selecting, from a plurality of reporting methods, a reporting method for reporting the beam subset based on at least one of: (i) a reporting configuration associated with a base station, (ii) payload sizes associated with the plurality of reporting methods, (iii) network coverage at the WTRU, (iv) a size of the beam subset, or (v) content of the beam subset; and sending, using the selected reporting method, one or more reports associated with the selected beam subset (see rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
further comprising selecting the reporting method further based on one or more thresholds (see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
wherein the received configuration information indicates one or more reference signal (RS) resource configurations for the at least one of the prediction set or the measurement set (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
wherein the received configuration information indicates one or more of: a threshold for beam selection, a threshold for reporting method selection, or a maximum number of beams to be selected from the at least one of the prediction set or the measurement set as the beam subset (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 11);
collecting or predicting reference signal (RS) measurements for the prediction set of beams or the measurement set of beams, wherein the one or more reports indicate at least one of the collected or predicted RS measurements (see rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 11);
receiving the reporting configuration of the base station, wherein the reporting configuration indicates to the WTRU to use the selected reporting method for sending reports to the base station (see rejection for claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20260032663A1) in view of Venugopal et al. (US20240349103A1).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Li does not explicitly teach to select the reporting method based on a first payload associated with sending the one or more reports using the selected reporting method being less than a second payload associated with sending the one or more reports using a different reporting method of the plurality of reporting methods.
However, Venugopal teaches to select the reporting method based on a first payload associated with sending the one or more reports using the selected reporting method being less than a second payload associated with sending the one or more reports using a different reporting method of the plurality of reporting methods (Paragraph [0089]: In a beam management procedure, a UE 115 may receive, from a base station 105, a configuration message indicating a first reporting quantity type (e.g., RSRP, SINR) and a second reporting quantity type (e.g., RSRP, SINR) for generating a measurement report. The first reporting quantity type and the second reporting quantity type may be different. The UE 115 may determine a measurement payload size to use for generating a measurement payload for the first reporting quantity type and the second reporting quantity type. The UE 115 may measure a first set of resources in accordance with the first reporting quantity type and a second set of resources in accordance with the second reporting quantity type. The first set of resources and the second set of resources may be the same or different. In some cases, the UE 115 may generate a first measurement payload having the measurement payload size based on measuring the first set of resources, and the UE may generate a second measurement payload having the measurement payload size based on measuring the second set of resources. The UE 115 may transmit, to the base station 105, the measurement report including the first measurement payload having the measurement payload size for the first reporting quantity type and the second measurement payload having the measurement payload size for the second reporting quantity type. Paragraph [0105]: For example, UE 115-b may determine that the first reporting quantity (e.g., RSRP) is associated with the largest payload size, such as 10 bits, to transmit the first reporting quantity as compared to the payload associated with transmitting the second reporting quantity, such as 7 bits. Also see paragraph [0005].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the reporting method based on a first payload associated with sending the one or more reports using the selected reporting method being less than a second payload associated with sending the one or more reports using a different reporting method of the plurality of reporting methods, so that reporting of multiple quantity types can be supported (Venugopal: Paragraphs [0005], [0089], [0105]).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 11);
Li does not explicitly teach selecting the reporting method based on a first payload associated with sending the one or more reports using the selected reporting method being less than a second payload associated with sending the one or more reports using a different reporting method of the plurality of reporting methods.
However, Venugopal teaches selecting the reporting method based on a first payload associated with sending the one or more reports using the selected reporting method being less than a second payload associated with sending the one or more reports using a different reporting method of the plurality of reporting methods (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting the reporting method based on a first payload associated with sending the one or more reports using the selected reporting method being less than a second payload associated with sending the one or more reports using a different reporting method of the plurality of reporting methods, so that reporting of multiple quantity types can be supported (Venugopal: Paragraphs [0005], [0089], [0105]).
Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20260032663A1) in view of He et al. (WO2025076842A1).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Li does not explicitly teach to select a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold; and select a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than the second threshold, wherein the size of the beam subset corresponds to a number of beams in the beam subset.
However, He teaches to select a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold (Paragraph [4]: In a first aspect, there is provided a first device comprising: a processor configured to cause the first device to: determine, based on measurement results of a plurality of beams, a first set of beams from the plurality of beams according to a reporting condition; and transmit a measurement report to a second device based on a determination of whether a number of beams in the first set of beams satisfies at least one reporting number requirement. Paragraph [55]: In the example of FIG. 1A, in some embodiments, the first device 110 may include a terminal device and the second device 120 may include a network device serving the terminal device. Paragraph [95]: In some embodiments, the measurement report may indicate at least one of the following: ….whether the number of beams in the first set of beams is larger than or equal to the first threshold number, ….whether the number of beams in the first set of beams is smaller than or equal to the second threshold number. Paragraph [103]: In the following, how to transmit the measurement report to a second device 120 based on a determination of whether a number of beams in the first set of beams satisfies at least one reporting number requirement will be discussed in detail. Also see paragraph [104].)
and select a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than the second threshold (Paragraph [109]: In some embodiments, in case that that the number of beams in the first set of beams is larger than the second threshold number, the measurement report may indicate at least one of the following: a third state of one of the following: ….or the number of beams in the first set of beams is larger than the second threshold number.)
wherein the size of the beam subset corresponds to a number of beams in the beam subset (Paragraph [4]: In a first aspect, there is provided a first device comprising: a processor configured to cause the first device to: determine, based on measurement results of a plurality of beams, a first set of beams from the plurality of beams according to a reporting condition; and transmit a measurement report to a second device based on a determination of whether a number of beams in the first set of beams satisfies at least one reporting number requirement.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold; and select a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than the second threshold, wherein the size of the beam subset corresponds to a number of beams in the beam subset, as taught by He in the system of Li, in order to improve the communication performance to assist communication-related functionalities, such as, beam management (BM), mobility management (He: Paragraphs [2], [4], [55], [95], [103], [109].
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 11);
Li does not explicitly teach selecting a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold; and selecting a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than the second threshold, wherein the size of the beam subset corresponds to a number of beams in the beam subset.
However, He teaches selecting a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold; and selecting a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than the second threshold, wherein the size of the beam subset corresponds to a number of beams in the beam subset (see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold; and selecting a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the size of the beam subset being greater than the second threshold, wherein the size of the beam subset corresponds to a number of beams in the beam subset, as taught by He in the system of Li, in order to improve the communication performance to assist communication-related functionalities, such as, beam management (BM), mobility management (He: Paragraphs [2], [4], [55], [95], [103], [109].
Claims 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20260032663A1) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US20210367876A1).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Li does not explicitly teach to select the reporting method based on a signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) at the WTRU being less than a threshold SNR, wherein the SNR is indicative of the network coverage at the WTRU.
However, Ramachandra teaches to select the reporting method based on a signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) at the WTRU being less than a threshold SNR, wherein the SNR is indicative of the network coverage at the WTRU (Paragraph [0060]: Action 303. The UE 10 may measure signal strength or signal quality e.g. RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or signal to noise ratio (SNR) of respective signal. Paragraph [0061]: Action 304. The UE 10 determines whether one or more conditions are fulfilled or met. When the one or more conditions are fulfilled this indicates that the radio condition for the UE 10 is below a threshold or a level. A condition may be related to the measured signal strength or quality e.g. whether being below a set threshold. Paragraph [0062]: Action 305. In response to that the one or more conditions are fulfilled the UE 10 transmit the report of restricted content e.g. reduced size. Paragraph [0099]: Action 502. The UE 10 initiates a measurement report process. E.g. an event to send a measurement report is triggered for the UE 10. The UE 10 may then check whether the configured condition(s) for excluding some information in the measurement report are fulfilled. I.e. the UE 10 may check whether the radio condition is below a set level. Paragraph [0100]: Action 503. In case the one or more conditions are not fulfilled, i.e. the radio condition is above or equal a certain level, the UE 10 may then include all the content in the measurement report according to the measurement configuration. Paragraph [0101]: Action 504. In case the one or more conditions are fulfilled, i.e. the radio condition is below the certain level, the UE 10 sends measurement report with some information excluded. The size of the measurement report is thus reduced.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the reporting method based on a signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) at the WTRU being less than a threshold SNR, wherein the SNR is indicative of the network coverage at the WTRU, as taught by Ramachandra in the system of Li, so that performance in the wireless communication network can be improved when radio conditions are poor, by transmitting successfully, a limited size measurement report (Ramachandra: Paragraphs [0026] – [0029], [0060] – [0062], [0099] – [0101]).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 11);
Li does not explicitly teach selecting the reporting method based on a signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) at the WTRU being less than a threshold SNR, wherein the SNR is indicative of the network coverage at the WTRU.
However, Ramachandra teaches selecting the reporting method based on a signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) at the WTRU being less than a threshold SNR, wherein the SNR is indicative of the network coverage at the WTRU (see rejection for claim 19);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting the reporting method based on a signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) at the WTRU being less than a threshold SNR, wherein the SNR is indicative of the network coverage at the WTRU, as taught by Ramachandra in the system of Li, so that performance in the wireless communication network can be improved when radio conditions are poor, by transmitting successfully, a limited size measurement report (Ramachandra: Paragraphs [0026] – [0029], [0060] – [0062], [0099] – [0101]).
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20260032663A1) in view of Lee et al. (US20180288645A1).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Li does not explicitly teach to select a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on a beam quality associated with one or more beams in the beam subset being greater than a threshold; and select a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the beam quality being less than the threshold, wherein the content of the beam subset corresponds to the one or more beams in the beam subset.
However, Lee teaches to select a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on a beam quality associated with one or more beams in the beam subset being greater than a threshold; and select a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the beam quality being less than the threshold, wherein the content of the beam subset corresponds to the one or more beams in the beam subset (Paragraph [0043]: Based on the channel measurement result of each candidate beam, the UE 230 selects the candidate beam having a desirable communication quality as the selected beam. The selected beam may be determined based on at least one of channel state information (CSI), reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of the measured candidate beam which associated with the quality of the selected beam. In addition, the CSI may include at least one of channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI) and rank indicator (RI). Taking the RSRP as an example, a dotted line frame 231 in FIG. 2A represents a RSRP intensity measured by the UE 230 and a threshold T1. In the K candidate beams received by the UE 230, RSRP values of beams 2, 5, 6, and 1 exceed the threshold T1. Therefore, the UE 230 may select the beams 2, 5, 6, and 1 as the selected beams. Paragraph [0045]: Specifically, the UE 230 orders the K candidate beams based on the channel measurement results (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, and/or CSI). According to the dotted line frame 231, it can be known that the beam ordering of the K candidate beams is as follows: the beam 2, the beam 5, the beam 6, the beam 1, the beam 4, the beam 3, the beam 8, and the beam 7. Therefore, when selecting the selected beam, the UE 230 may prioritize the beam 2 as the selected beam, followed by the beam 5, and then the beam 6, and so on so forth. Paragraph [0048]: Taking the RSRP as an example, the dotted line frame 231 in FIG. 2A represents the RSRP intensity measured by the UE 230 and the threshold T1. Assuming that the UE 230 already selects the beams 2, 5, 6, 1, and 4 as the selected beams. However, based on the channel measurement results, the RSRP value of the beam 4 is lower than the threshold T1. Therefore, the UE 230 may determine the beam 4 as a failure beam. Paragraph [0051]: At Step S250, the UE 230 selects N1′ selected beams from the K candidate beams via the first uplink channel based on the first configured number N1 instructed in the beam configuration, and reports the beam information of the selected beams to the BS 210. Paragraph [0084]: Taking the RSRP as an example, a dotted line frame 431 in FIG. 4A represents the RSRP intensity and the threshold T2 measured by the UE 430. As shown in the dotted line frame 431, in the K candidate beams received by the UE 430, the RSRP values of the beams 2, 5, and 6 exceed the threshold T2. Therefore, the UE 430 may select the beams 2, 5, and 6 as the selected beams. Paragraph [0085]: At Step S450, the UE 430 may report the beam information of the O1′ selected beams to the BS 410.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on a beam quality associated with one or more beams in the beam subset being greater than a threshold; and select a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the beam quality being less than the threshold, wherein the content of the beam subset corresponds to the one or more beams in the beam subset, as taught by Lee in the system of Li, so that the UE selects the candidate beam/beams which have a desirable communication quality, as the selected beam (Lee: Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0048], [0051], [0084], [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 11);
Li does not explicitly teach selecting a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on a beam quality associated with one or more beams in the beam subset being greater than a threshold; and selecting a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the beam quality being less than the threshold, wherein the content of the beam subset corresponds to the one or more beams in the beam subset.
However, Lee teaches selecting a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on a beam quality associated with one or more beams in the beam subset being greater than a threshold; and selecting a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the beam quality being less than the threshold, wherein the content of the beam subset corresponds to the one or more beams in the beam subset (see rejection for claim 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting a first reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on a beam quality associated with one or more beams in the beam subset being greater than a threshold; and selecting a second reporting method for sending the one or more reports based on the beam quality being less than the threshold, wherein the content of the beam subset corresponds to the one or more beams in the beam subset, as taught by Lee in the system of Li, so that the UE selects the candidate beam/beams which have a desirable communication quality, as the selected beam (Lee: Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0048], [0051], [0084], [0085]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461