DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/902,026 filed on September 30th, 2024.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 08/26/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 2 and 5 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 are rejected.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Objection: Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 were objected to because of informalities. The appropriate corrections have been made in claims 1 and 4, and claims 2 and 5 have been canceled. The claim objection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 4 – 7 of the Remarks, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1 and 4, and dependent claims 3 and 6, with the exception of newly canceled claims 2 and 5, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 07/16/2026, particularly as regards the amended limitations, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Omer et al. [US 20240372749 A1] and Liu et al. [US 20200178835 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Omer et al. [US 20240372749 A1] hereinafter Omer.
Regarding claim 4, Omer teaches a wireless signal processing method (Omer: Fig. 9, ¶ 21-25, ¶ 30-34, ¶ 104-105; in view of process 900 for filtering channel responses for motion detection) executed by a processing circuit (Omer: Fig. 10, ¶ 21-25, ¶ 30-34, ¶ 116; in view of processor 1010), wherein the wireless signal processing method comprises:
converting a wireless signal which is received by a receiver unit into a frequency-domain signal (Omer: Fig. 5, ¶ 60-61, ¶ 75-77; in view of an observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) is received (e.g., at a wireless communication device) over a set of frequencies. The observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) may be obtained based on frequency-domain signals included in one or more Legacy PHY fields (e.g., L-LTF, L-STF) of the received wireless signal, or based on frequency-domain signals included in one or more MIMO training fields (e.g., HE-LTF, VHT-LTF, HT-LTF) of the received wireless signal… the received signal R at a wireless communication device can be transformed to the frequency domain, for example, using a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) or another type of algorithm. Therefore, in order for the wireless communication device to receive wireless signals, it must have a receiver unit configured to receive wireless signals, and as shown in Figure 5, the wireless communication device comprises at least a conversion module that is connected to a receiver unit (i.e., since it receives wireless signals) and can convert wireless signals to frequency-domain signals);
estimating the frequency-domain signal to obtain first channel state information (Omer: ¶ 70-71, ¶ 75-77; wherein the frequency representation H(f) may be referred to as a frequency-domain channel response or the channel state information…each of the wireless signals in the set of wireless signals that is transmitted in the environment may be an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal, which can include, for example, a PHY frame… The fields in the PHY frames of the wireless signals in the set of wireless signals can be used to obtain a set of observed frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)}. Each frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) in the set of frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} may correspond to a respective wireless signal in the set of wireless signals. Therefore, observed frequency-domain channel responses are the channel state information that are obtained from wireless signals. As such, if the wireless device is able to estimate CSI from the wireless signals, it may have employed the use of an estimation module that is connected to a conversion module where the wireless signals are received), wherein the first channel state information comprises a plurality of channel state information sub portions (Omer: ¶ 70-71; wherein the frequency representation H(f) may be referred to as a frequency-domain channel response or the channel state information… Each frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) in the set of frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} may correspond to a respective wireless signal in the set of wireless signals. Therefore, the set of frequency-domain channel responses (i.e., CSI) is the first CSI, and it comprises a plurality of CSI sub portions that each correspond to a respective wireless signal in the set of wireless signals); and
filtering the first channel state information to obtain second channel state information (Omer: Fig. 6A – 6B, ¶ 75-79, ¶ 83-84; wherein the system 500 can be used to process each frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) from the set of observed frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} to filter out noise or distortions… the system 500 accepts the set of observed frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} as an input and generates a set of reconstructed frequency-domain channel responses {Ĥ.sub.1(f), Ĥ.sub.2(f), . . . , Ĥ.sub.n(f)} and a set of quality metrics {μ.sub.1, μ.sub.2, . . . , μ.sub.n}… the adaptive constrained solver 504 may impose a constraint 612 on a time duration (e.g., maximum time duration) of the time-domain channel response h.sub.i(t) (as seen in the example of FIG. 6A). Therefore, wireless device comprises a processing unit that is configured to filter the first CSI (i.e., set of frequency-domain channel responses) to obtain a second CSI as shown in Figures 6A and 6B);
wherein the step of obtaining the second channel state information comprises filtering out the channel state information sub portions which are outside a time interval from the first channel state information to obtain the second channel state information (Omer: Fig. 6A – 6B, ¶ 70-72, ¶ 77-85; wherein the adaptive constrained solver 504 executes an iterative constrained least squares optimization process that minimizes an error between the observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) and the reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The adaptive constrained solver 504 generates a filtered time-domain channel response ĥ.sub.i(t) as an output. The adaptive constrained solver 504 may impose one or more constraints in the time-domain…(a constraint 612 on a time duration (e.g., maximum time duration))… pulses that are within the respective constraints 612, 614 are retained, while pulses that are outside of the respective constraints 612, 614 are ignored or discarded… The system 500 includes a time-to-frequency converter block 506 that transforms the filtered time-domain channel response h.sub.i(t) to its corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f) may represent a filtered version of its corresponding observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f). Therefore, the processing unit receives the frequency-domain channel responses, converts them to time-domain representation, applies a time-domain boundary/constraint to filter the pulses, then filters the pulses that are within the boundary, transforms the filtered time-domain channel responses to their corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel responses to obtain the second CSI as shown in Fig. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claim 6, Omer teaches the wireless signal processing method according to claim 4, wherein the step of obtaining the second channel state information comprises obtaining equivalent frequency-domain information based on time-domain information of the time interval (Omer: ¶ 70-72, ¶ 77-85, ¶ 85-99; wherein the adaptive constrained solver 504 executes an iterative constrained least squares optimization process that minimizes an error between the observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) and the reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The adaptive constrained solver 504 generates a filtered time-domain channel response ĥ.sub.i(t) as an output. The adaptive constrained solver 504 may impose one or more constraints in the time-domain…(a constraint 612 on a time duration (e.g., maximum time duration)) and then filtering out the channel state information sub portions which are outside the time interval from the first channel state information according to the equivalent frequency-domain information (Omer: Fig. 6A – 6B, ¶ 70-72, ¶ 77-85, ¶ 85-99; wherein pulses that are within the respective constraints 612, 614 are retained, while pulses that are outside of the respective constraints 612, 614 are ignored or discarded… The system 500 includes a time-to-frequency converter block 506 that transforms the filtered time-domain channel response h.sub.i(t) to its corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f) may represent a filtered version of its corresponding observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f). Therefore, the processing unit receives the frequency-domain channel responses, converts them to time-domain representation, applies a time-domain boundary/constraint to filter the pulses, then filters the pulses that are within the boundary, transforms the filtered time-domain channel responses to their corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel responses to obtain the second CSI as shown in Fig. 6A and 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omer et al. [US 20240372749 A1] hereinafter Omer, and further in view of Liu et al. [US 20200178835 A1] hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Omer teaches a wireless signal transceiver device (Omer: Fig. 10, ¶ 21-25, ¶ 30-34, ¶ 116; in view of wireless communication devices used for wireless sensing and processing wireless signals) comprising:
a receiver unit configured to receive a wireless signal (Omer: Fig. 5, ¶ 75-77; in view of an observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) is received (e.g., at a wireless communication device) over a set of frequencies. The observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) may be obtained based on frequency-domain signals included in one or more Legacy PHY fields (e.g., L-LTF, L-STF) of the received wireless signal, or based on frequency-domain signals included in one or more MIMO training fields (e.g., HE-LTF, VHT-LTF, HT-LTF) of the received wireless signal. Therefore, in order for the wireless communication device to receive wireless signals, it must have a receiver unit configured to receive wireless signals);
a conversion module electrically connected to the receiver unit and configured to convert the wireless signal into a frequency-domain signal (Omer: Fig. 5, ¶ 60-61, ¶ 75-77; wherein the received signal R at a wireless communication device can be transformed to the frequency domain, for example, using a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) or another type of algorithm. Therefore, as shown in Figure 5, the wireless communication device comprises at least a conversion module that is connected to a receiver unit (i.e., since it receives wireless signals) and can convert wireless signals to frequency-domain signals);
an estimation module electrically connected to the conversion module and configured to estimate the frequency-domain signal to obtain first channel state information (Omer: ¶ 70-71, ¶ 75-77; wherein the frequency representation H(f) may be referred to as a frequency-domain channel response or the channel state information…each of the wireless signals in the set of wireless signals that is transmitted in the environment may be an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal, which can include, for example, a PHY frame… The fields in the PHY frames of the wireless signals in the set of wireless signals can be used to obtain a set of observed frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)}. Each frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) in the set of frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} may correspond to a respective wireless signal in the set of wireless signals. Therefore, observed frequency-domain channel responses are the channel state information that are obtained from wireless signals. As such, if the wireless device is able to estimate CSI from the wireless signals, it may have employed the use of an estimation module that is connected to a conversion module where the wireless signals are received), wherein the first channel state information comprises a plurality of channel state information sub portions (Omer: ¶ 70-71; wherein the frequency representation H(f) may be referred to as a frequency-domain channel response or the channel state information… Each frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) in the set of frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} may correspond to a respective wireless signal in the set of wireless signals. Therefore, the set of frequency-domain channel responses (i.e., CSI) is the first CSI, and it comprises a plurality of CSI sub portions that each correspond to a respective wireless signal in the set of wireless signals);
a processing unit electrically connected to the estimation module and configured to filter the first channel state information to obtain second channel state information (Omer: Fig. 6A – 6B, ¶ 75-79, ¶ 83-84; wherein the system 500 can be used to process each frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) from the set of observed frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} to filter out noise or distortions… the system 500 accepts the set of observed frequency-domain channel responses {H.sub.1(f), H.sub.2(f), . . . , H.sub.n(f)} as an input and generates a set of reconstructed frequency-domain channel responses {Ĥ.sub.1(f), Ĥ.sub.2(f), . . . , Ĥ.sub.n(f)} and a set of quality metrics {μ.sub.1, μ.sub.2, . . . , μ.sub.n}… the adaptive constrained solver 504 may impose a constraint 612 on a time duration (e.g., maximum time duration) of the time-domain channel response h.sub.i(t) (as seen in the example of FIG. 6A). Therefore, wireless device comprises a processing unit that is configured to filter the first CSI (i.e., set of frequency-domain channel responses) to obtain a second CSI as shown in Figures 6A and 6B); and
wherein the processing unit filters out the channel state information sub portions which are outside a time interval from the first channel state information to obtain the second channel state information (Omer: Fig. 6A – 6B, ¶ 70-72, ¶ 77-85; wherein the adaptive constrained solver 504 executes an iterative constrained least squares optimization process that minimizes an error between the observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) and the reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The adaptive constrained solver 504 generates a filtered time-domain channel response ĥ.sub.i(t) as an output. The adaptive constrained solver 504 may impose one or more constraints in the time-domain…(a constraint 612 on a time duration (e.g., maximum time duration))… pulses that are within the respective constraints 612, 614 are retained, while pulses that are outside of the respective constraints 612, 614 are ignored or discarded… The system 500 includes a time-to-frequency converter block 506 that transforms the filtered time-domain channel response h.sub.i(t) to its corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f) may represent a filtered version of its corresponding observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f). Therefore, the processing unit receives the frequency-domain channel responses, converts them to time-domain representation, applies a time-domain boundary/constraint to filter the pulses, then filters the pulses that are within the boundary, transforms the filtered time-domain channel responses to their corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel responses to obtain the second CSI as shown in Fig. 6A and 6B).
Although Omer discloses having a processor 1010 and a memory 1020 in the wireless communication device, Omer does not explicitly disclose a storage unit electrically connected to the processing unit and configured to store the second channel state information.
Referring to the invention of Liu, Liu teaches a storage unit electrically connected to the processing unit and configured to store the channel state information (Liu: Fig. 8, ¶ 13, ¶ 52; wherein a device for measuring physiological state information based on channel state information is provided. The device comprises one or more processors and one or more computer storage media for storing one or more computer-readable instructions. The processor is configured to drive the computer storage media to execute the following tasks: receiving channel state information (CSI)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filtering channel responses for motion detection teachings of Omer with the storing of CSI in the CSI based measurement of physiological state information teachings of Liu in order to improve throughput, reliability, latency, and efficiency in wireless systems.
In view of Liu teaching the processing and storage of CSI, when combined with the teachings of Omer, a person having ordinary skills in the art will find that the limitation “a storage unit electrically connected to the processing unit and configured to store the second channel state information” will obviously be met.
Regarding claim 3, Omer in view of Liu teaches the wireless signal transceiver device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit obtains equivalent frequency-domain information based on time-domain information of the time interval (Omer: ¶ 70-72, ¶ 77-85, ¶ 85-99; wherein the adaptive constrained solver 504 executes an iterative constrained least squares optimization process that minimizes an error between the observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f) and the reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The adaptive constrained solver 504 generates a filtered time-domain channel response ĥ.sub.i(t) as an output. The adaptive constrained solver 504 may impose one or more constraints in the time-domain…(a constraint 612 on a time duration (e.g., maximum time duration)) and then filters out the channel state information sub portions which are outside the time interval from the first channel state information according to the equivalent frequency-domain information (Omer: Fig. 6A – 6B, ¶ 70-72, ¶ 77-85, ¶ 85-99; wherein pulses that are within the respective constraints 612, 614 are retained, while pulses that are outside of the respective constraints 612, 614 are ignored or discarded… The system 500 includes a time-to-frequency converter block 506 that transforms the filtered time-domain channel response h.sub.i(t) to its corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f). The reconstructed frequency-domain channel response Ĥ.sub.i(f) may represent a filtered version of its corresponding observed frequency-domain channel response H.sub.i(f). Therefore, the processing unit receives the frequency-domain channel responses, converts them to time-domain representation, applies a time-domain boundary/constraint to filter the pulses, then filters the pulses that are within the boundary, transforms the filtered time-domain channel responses to their corresponding reconstructed frequency-domain channel responses to obtain the second CSI as shown in Fig. 6A and 6B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LE-NGOC et al. [US 20170264347 A1]: System and Method for Reducing Self Interference in a Wireless Resource.
Ding et al. [US 20120224551 A1]: Information Feedback Method and User Equipment.
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414