DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Verghese (US 7,038,709; hereinafter Verghese).
Regarding claim 1, Verghese (see figs 2 and 3A) discloses a device mount comprising: a base (80 and 90); an arm (82) coupled to the base (80 and 90); a connector (72) coupled to the arm (82) with a rotation joint (142); a first motor (22) disposed within the base (80 and 90) and configured to tilt the connector (72), facilitated by the rotation joint; and a second motor (18) disposed within the base (80 and 90) and configured to rotate the base (80)(see col 7, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 2, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1, further comprising a band (95, 99) disposed within the arm (82) that is operatively coupled to the first motor (22) and the rotation joint (142) such that actuation of the first motor tilts the connector (72).
Regarding claim 7, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1, comprising one or more lights (71 and 71a-71b) configured to convey status information (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1, wherein the first motor (22) and the second motor (18) are configured to be actuated by a tracking software running on a device mounted to the connector (see Fig. 1 and col 6 lines 37-67).
Regarding claim 12, Verghese (see figs 2 and 3A) discloses a device mount comprising: a base (80 and 90) comprising a first portion (90) and a second portion (80); an arm (82) coupled to the base (80 and 90); a connector (72) coupled to the arm (82) with a rotation joint (142); a first motor (22) disposed within the base (80 and 90) and configured to tilt the connector (72), facilitated by the rotation joint; and a second motor (18) disposed within the base (80 and 90)and configured to rotate the second portion (80) of the base (see col 7, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 13, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 12, further comprising a band (95, 99) disposed within the arm (82) that is operatively coupled to the first motor (22) and the rotation joint (142) such that actuation of the first motor tilts the connector (72).
Regarding claim 15, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 12, comprising one or more lights (71 and 71a-71b) configured to convey status information (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 12, wherein the first motor (22) and the second motor (18) are configured to be actuated by a tracking software running on a device mounted to the connector (see Fig. 1 and col 6 lines 37-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verghese and Biggadike (US 2011/0100679).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 2.
The modified Verghese fails to specifically disclose the band is made of self-lubricating nylon.
Biggadike teaches a band made of self-lubricating nylon (see par. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Verghese’s device mount with the band being made of self-lubricating nylon as taught by Biggadike, in order to use a material that has low density and coefficient of friction therefore facilitating movement (see par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 13.
The modified Verghese fails to specifically disclose the band is made of self-lubricating nylon.
Biggadike teaches a band made of self-lubricating nylon (see par. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Verghese’s device mount with the band being made of self-lubricating nylon as taught by Biggadike, in order to use a material that has low density and coefficient of friction therefore facilitating movement (see par. [0033]).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verghese and Ryan et al. (US 2014/0226963; hereinafter Ryan).
Regarding claim 4, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose a stabilizing member.
Ryan teaches a device mount comprising a stabilizing member (209)(see fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with a stabilizing member as taught by Ryan, in order to attach a tripod (see par. [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Verghese (see Ryan fig. 14) discloses the device mount of claim 4, wherein the stabilizing member is a threaded hole (209) configured to receive a threaded fastener on a tripod (see par. [0094]).
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verghese and Tulsi et al. (US 2023/0199316; hereinafter Tulsi).
Regarding claim 6, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose the base comprises an operator configured to turn power to the device mount on and off.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose the base comprises the operator.
Tulsi teaches a device mount wherein a base comprises an operator (604, fig. 6) configured to turn power to the device mount on and off.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with the base comprising the operator as taught by Tulsi, in order to control the power in the device mount (see pa. [0092]).
Regarding claim 11, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1, further comprising a port (118) configured to receive a power cord from an external power source (Fig. 3A).
Verghese fails to specifically disclose an internal battery.
Tulsi teaches a device mount comprising an internal battery (910)(Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with an internal battery as taught by Tulsi, in order to power up the device mount without a power cord.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verghese and Imasaka et al. (US 2013/0174660; hereinafter Imasaka).
Regarding claim 8, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose the connector includes a sensor configured to detect when a device is mounted to the connector.
Imasaka teaches a connector (16) including a sensor (16a) configured to detect when a device (2) is mounted to the connector (16)(Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with the connector including a sensor configured to detect when a device is mounted to the connector as taught by Imasaka, in order to detect when the device is being mounted (see par. [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 12.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose the connector includes a sensor configured to detect when a device is mounted to the connector.
Imasaka teaches a connector (16) including a sensor (16a) configured to detect when a device (2) is mounted to the connector (16)(Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with the connector including a sensor configured to detect when a device is mounted to the connector as taught by Imasaka, in order to detect when the device is being mounted (see par. [0040]).
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verghese and Gandhi (US 12,316,972; hereinafter Gandhi).
Regarding claim 9, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 1.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose the connector is configured to wirelessly charge a device.
Gandhi teaches a device mount comprising a connector (stand 10 in fig. 2) configured to wirelessly charge a device (see col. 16, lines 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with the connector configured to wirelessly charge a device as taught by Gandhi, in order to perform inductive charging without the need for a cable (see col. 16, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Verghese discloses the device mount of claim 12.
Verghese fails to specifically disclose the connector is configured to wirelessly charge a device.
Gandhi teaches a device mount comprising a connector (stand 10 in fig. 2) configured to wirelessly charge a device (see col. 16, lines 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Verghese’s device mount with the connector configured to wirelessly charge a device as taught by Gandhi, in order to perform inductive charging without the need for a cable (see col. 16, lines 5-6).
Conclusion
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845