DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cochrane et al. (hereinafter “Cochrane” US 2011 / 0083895).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) an enclosure (FSE) for an electronic device (i.e., an electronics enclosure), comprising:
a first section (FP) having a first contact surface in a first stairstep (i.e., “L-shaped”) configuration;
a second section (IP) having a second contact surface in a second stairstep (i.e., “L-shaped”) configuration that mates with the first contact surface of the first section (FL); and
a surface feature (see (FP)) extending from the first contact surface (FP), the surface feature (see (FP)) accounting for a manufacturing tolerance (i.e., EMI) associated with at least one of the first section (FP) and the second section (IP) and providing a contact point between the first contact surface (FP) and the second contact surface (IP; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) is provided on a horizontal portion (i.e., an arbitrary portion) of the first contact surface (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) is provided on a vertical portion (i.e., an arbitrary portion) of the first contact surface (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) extends partially across the first contact surface (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) extends entirely across the first contact surface (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that at least one of the first contact surface (FP) and the second contact surface (IP) includes one or more slits (see Fig. 5 and again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that at least one of the first contact surface (FP) and the second contact surface (IP) is tapered (see Fig. 5 and again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) is removably coupled (i.e., arbitrarily) to the first contact surface (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) is comprised of an electrically conductive material (i.e., metal; again, see Page 9, Para. [0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the second contact surface (IP) comprises a groove that receives at least a portion of the surface feature (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) an enclosure (FSE) for an electronic device (i.e., an electronics enclosure), comprising:
a first portion (FP);
a second portion (IP) adapted to mate with the first portion (FP); and
a plurality of surface features (see (FP)) extending from a perimeter of at least one of the first portion (FP) and the second portion (IP), the plurality of surface features (see (FP)) accounting for a manufacturing tolerance (i.e., EMI) associated with at least one of the first section (FP) and the second section (IP) and providing a contact point between the first portion (FP) and the second portion (IP; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that at least one of a size, a shape, a spacing and a number of the plurality of surface features (see (FP)) is based, at least in part, on a frequency range of an electromagnetic interference (i.e., EMI) wavelength to which the electronic device is subjected (see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118] and [0120]; and Page 9, Para. [0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that at least one of the plurality of surface features (see (FP)) extend from a vertical contact surface (i.e., an arbitrary surface) of the at least one of the first portion (FP) and the second portion (IP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that at least a portion of each of the plurality of surface features (see (FP)) are received into a groove (i.e., mated) associated with at least one of the first portion (FP) and the second portion (IP) when the first portion (FP) is mates with the second portion (IP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example, in combination with Fig. 4B) that the plurality of surface features (see (FP) in Fig. 5) are associated with a removable clip (i.e., see any of (PN, LTB, UTB) in Fig. 4B and note that the enclosure of Fig. 5 can be cast or assembled such as shown in Fig. 4B; see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0147] and [0150]).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example, in combination with Fig. 4B) that the removable clip (i.e., see any of (PN, LTB, UTB) in Fig. 4B) is comprised of electrically conductive material (i.e., metal; again, see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0147] and [0150]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) an enclosure (FSE) for an electronic device (i.e., an electronics enclosure), comprising:
a first section (FP) having a first contact surface;
a second section (IP) having a second contact surface that mates with the first contact surface of the first section (FL); and
a surface feature (see (FP)) associated with the first contact surface (FP), the surface feature (see (FP)):
accounting for a manufacturing tolerance (i.e., EMI) associated with at least one of the first section (FP) and the second section (IP); and
providing a contact point between the first contact surface (FP) and the second contact surface (IP; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) extends partially across the first contact surface (FP; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the surface feature (see (FP)) is a first surface feature (i.e., see any portion of (FP)) and wherein a second surface feature (i.e., see any other portion of (FP)) is proximate the first surface feature (again, see any portion of (FP); and again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Cochrane discloses (see Fig. 5, for example) that the second surface feature (i.e., see any other portion of (FP)) is positioned above (i.e., arbitrarily) the first surface feature (again, see any portion of (FP); and again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Cochrane, teach or fairly suggest the claimed “surface feature extending from the first contact surface, the surface feature accounting for a manufacturing tolerance associated with at least one of the first section and the second section and providing a contact point between the first contact surface and the second contact surface” (see Remarks at Page 5). In this regard, the applicant has asserted that the teachings of Cochrane are fundamentally different from the claimed invention in that Cochrane does not “address manufacturing tolerances” in the same manner as the claimed invention as “Cochrane’s three-dimensional shapes are designed to avoid physical contact…” (see Remarks at Pages 5 and 6). The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner respectfully points out that the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the originally filed disclosure without reading unclaimed features from the disclosure into the claims. With respect to the claimed invention, the independent Claims 1, 11, and 7 each require a “first section having a first contact surface” and a “second section having a second contact surface… that mates with the first contact surface….” There is nothing recited in the claims that defines the manner in which the first contact surface and the second contact surface “mate.” Cochrane (see Fig. 5) plainly provides for an enclosure (FSE) comprising a first section (FP) having a first contact surface in a first stairstep (i.e., “L-shaped”) configuration; a second section (IP) having a second contact surface in a second stairstep (i.e., “L-shaped”) configuration that mates with the first contact surface of the first section (FL). In fact, Cochrane explicitly states that “With the ‘shell’ or ‘scallop’ embodiment of the invention, as shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the three-dimensional patterns are formed… such that… the two parts FSE and FL come together and the ‘sinusoids’ meet” (see Page 7, Para. [0114]).
The independent Claims 1, 11, and 7 further each require a “surface feature” for “providing a contact point between the first contact surface and the second contact surface.” There is nothing recited in the claims that requires actual contact between the first contact surface and the second contact surface; rather, the claims merely require “a surface feature” for “providing a contact point between” the first contact surface and the second contact surface. Cochrane plainly provides for a surface feature, as associated with (FP), extending from the first contact surface (FP), the surface feature (see (FP)) accounting for a manufacturing tolerance, namely EMI, associated with at least one of the first section (FP) and the second section (IP) and providing a contact point between the first contact surface (FP) and the second contact surface (IP; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0114]-[0118]; Page 9, Para. [0129]; and Page 10, Para. [0138]). Regardless of the fact that there can be varying degrees of “gaps” between the first section (FP) and the second section (IP), Cochrane suggests that the “heights” of the first section (FP) and the second section (IP), and the subsequent “gaps” between the first section (FP) and the second section (IP), can be varied such that “intermittent contact” between the first section (FP) and the second section (IP) might “enhance the electro-conductivity” and/or allow for specific tradeoffs for different electronic enclosures (see Page 10, Para. [0136]; Page 13, Para. [0154]; and Page 15, Para. [0172]).
The examiner respectfully points out that the claimed invention does not define “a manufacturing tolerance” associated with the claimed “first section” and “second section.” As such, the claimed “manufacturing tolerance” is open to broad interpretation. The claimed invention further does not distinguish the claimed “surface feature” from any arbitrary feature associated with a “first contact surface.” In this regard, while not relied upon in the above rejections, the examiner respectfully directs attention to the teachings of Lynam (US 7,910,839), for example, at least at Figures 2, 3, and 4. Lynam provides for another example enclosure that reads on the claimed invention.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of Claims 1-20 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cochrane (US 2016 / 0174420) discloses an enclosure comprising surface features providing EMI shielding.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623