DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant claims continuation priority to provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 17/562,803 (now Patent No. 12,136,121 B2), filed 12/27/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs submitted on 11/07/2024 was previously considered.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amended claims, filed 7/7/2026, have been entered. Claim 1 has been canceled. Claims 2, 7-9, 11-13, 16, 20, and 21 have been amended. Claims 2-21 are currently pending in this application and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14-16, 18, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14-16, 18, 19 of the present application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of the patent.
Application 18902063 claims
Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 claims
2, 9, and 16
1, 8, 14
4, 5, 11, 18, 19
2, 15
8, 21
7, 10
12
12
14
3, 16
15
4, 17
Claims 3, 6, 7, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in view of Kirovski et al. (US 2008/0091546 A1 [previously presented]).
Claim 3 of the current application recites wherein the system further comprises a plug-in associated with the web browser. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 does not explicitly recite the limitation. However, Kirovski does teach a plug-in associated with the web browser (Fig. 1; ¶0002, ¶0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to expand the system of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 to include a browser plug-in as taught by Kirovski. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the web browser of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in order to allow different browser components to run on top of the browser component (Kirovski ¶0032).
Claims 6, 7, and 20 of the current application recites wherein extracting the data comprises parsing and analyzing source code associated with the webpage, identify the plurality of user interface elements on the webpage based on analyzing source code associated with the webpage, . Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 does not explicitly recite the limitation. However, Kirovski does teach extracting the data comprises parsing and analyzing source code associated with the webpage (¶0008, ¶0032, ¶¶0041-0045, ¶0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to expand the system of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 to include extracting data by parsing and analyzing source code as taught by Kirovski. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the web browser of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in order to identify information on the web page (Kirovski ¶0032).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in view of Croak et al. (US 11,210,731 B1 [previously presented]).
Claims 10 and 13 of the current application recites determining a geographical location associated with the user device, wherein the modifying is further based on the geographical location associated with the user device. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 does not explicitly recite the limitation. However, Croak does teach determining a geographical location associated with the user device, wherein the modifying is further based on the geographical location associated with the user device (Fig. 2-4, 9; col. 3, line 34 to col. 5, line 62 and col. 12, line 65 to col. 13, line 44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to expand the system of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 to include a geographical location as taught by Croak. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the location of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in order to receive information such as prices offered by various products and the location of the various sellers (Croak Figs. 2 and 9; col. 12, line 65 to col. 13, line 44 and col. 3, line 34 to col. 5, line 31)
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in view of Henderson et al. (US 2020/0334701 A1 [previously presented]).
Claim 17 of the current application recites wherein the article of manufacture further comprises an extension associated with the web browser. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 does not explicitly recite the limitation. However, Henderson does teach an extension associated with the web browser (¶¶0025-0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to expand the article of manufacture of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 to include a browser extension as taught by Henderson. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the web browser of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,121 B2 in order to have the browser including a plugin or extension to execute the application (Henderson ¶¶0025-0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirovski et al. (US 2008/0091546 A1 [previously recited]) in view of Pritchard et al. (US 10,529,008 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Kirovski et al., hereinafter Kirovski, discloses a method comprising:
determining, by a computer system, a webpage being displayed on a user device via a user interface, wherein the webpage comprises a presentation of a particular product of a merchant (Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 10-11; Examiner notes Fig. 2 depicts a webpage comprising a presentation of a particular product of a merchant; ¶¶0030-0040 [the comparison component 106 can be configured to identify and/or detect whether the web document 104 offers to sell an item (not shown), wherein the item can be substantially any product or service. For instance, the comparison component can identify whether the web document 104 is a purchase page. In particular, the comparison component 106 can, e.g., parse the source code of the web document 104 in order to facilitate this determination.] in view of ¶0028 [a purchase page can be a web document/web page that has been identified as one that intends to sell a particular item, wherein the item is substantially any product or service. Oftentimes, the purchase page will have a purchase indicator such as a “buy” or “add to cart” button], ¶¶0071-0089 [personal computers and servers communicating]);
determining, by the computer system, that the particular product is associated with two or more product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage (Figs. 1-4; ¶¶0045-0046 [Upon receipt of the item data 304, the comparative shopping server 302 can compare these values with stored data. For example, the comparative shopping server 302 can compare the price 204 with items that fit the description 202 (e.g., items that are the same or substantially similar) available at other shopping websites, brick-and-mortar stores that sell and/or advertise online, and the like. The comparative shopping server 302 can also create new records or update stored data relating to the present transaction including, but not limited to, any or all of the following: the price, the description, availability, the Internet address, etc.], ¶¶0050-0056, ¶0058 [The comparative shopping server 302 can maintain a data store of information relating to these items (e.g., description/identifier, price, Internet address…).], ¶0066);
causing, by the computer system, a computing device different from the user device to (i) display the webpage using a browser application of the computing device (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046 [the comparative shopping server 302 can, e.g., follow the links provided by the purchase indicator 206 (e.g., from a purchase page to a transaction page) to verify that the listed price 204 matches what a purchaser would in fact be charged.]), (ii) interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements on the webpage (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046 [comparative shopping server 302 can also take additional actions to enhance integrity and/or efficiency. For example, in some cases the advertised price 204 may not be the actual price the user is charged. For instance, the advertised price 204 may require an additional purchase, filing out a survey, or even be outright fraud, etc. Accordingly, the comparative shopping server 302 can, e.g., follow the links provided by the purchase indicator 206 (e.g., from a purchase page to a transaction page) to verify that the listed price 204 matches what a purchaser would in fact be charged. The comparative shopping server 302 can be configured to automatically set up an account (e.g., if required to access the bottom line), configured to watch for usually large surcharges and/or shipping and handling fees, as well as a variety of other useful detection means to verify that the price 204 is legitimate.]), and (iii) obtain additional data (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046),
determining, by the computer system, that the webpage is associated with a first product record from the two or more product records based on the additional data (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046);
modifying, by the computer system, the webpage based on the firs product record (Figs. 1-2, 4-9, 10-11; ¶¶0068-0069 [at 902, a non-invasive notification can be provided for indicating that a list of comparable items is available for display… the non-invasive display can occur immediately upon a determination that a purchase page (or transaction page) has been detected, such as described in connection with act 702 from FIG. 7… The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.]); and
causing, by the computer system, the user device to display the modified webpage via the user interface of the user device (Figs. 1-2, 4-9, 10-11; ¶¶0068-0069 [at 902, a non-invasive notification can be provided for indicating that a list of comparable items is available for display… the non-invasive display can occur immediately upon a determination that a purchase page (or transaction page) has been detected, such as described in connection with act 702 from FIG. 7… The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.]).
While Kirovski discloses determining, by the computer system, that the particular product is associated with product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage (Figs. 1-3; ¶¶0045-0046, ¶0058, ¶0066), interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements on the webpage (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046), and obtain additional data (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046), Kirovski does not explicitly disclose the particular product is associated with two or more product options corresponding to two or more product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage, interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements that correspond to the two or more product options on the webpage, wherein interacting with the one or more user interface elements causes the webpage to change the presentation of the particular product, and obtain additional data associated with one or more changes to the presentation of the particular product based on the interacting. However, in the field of generating and presenting user interface that provide a consolidated representation for same or similar products available for acquisition with variations of product attributes (abstract), Pritchard et al., hereinafter Pritchard teaches the particular product is associated with two or more product options corresponding to two or more product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage, interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements that correspond to the two or more product options on the webpage, wherein interacting with the one or more user interface elements causes the webpage to change the presentation of the particular product, and obtain additional data associated with one or more changes to the presentation of the particular product based on the interacting, modifying the webpage based on the product record, and causing the modified webpage to display to the user (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23). The step of Pritchard is applicable to the method of Kirovski as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to offering products on webpages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the webpage and webpage interaction as taught by Kirovski with the webpage offering a plurality of different variations for the same or similar products that are available for acquisition and user interaction on the consolidated webpage as taught by Pritchard. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Kirovski in order to enable customers to browse different variations of products and the different combinations of product attributes without leaving a primary experience (i.e., the product page) and help customers navigate the increased complexity of browsing inventory available in online marketplaces (col. 2, lines 30-63 and col. 4, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 11, Kirovski in view of Pritchard teaches the method of claim 9, Kirovski further discloses wherein the modifying the webpage comprises superimposing a second user interface on the webpage, and wherein first content associated with the first product record is presented on the second user interface (Figs. 4 and 9; ¶¶0051-0053 [the displays 410, 412 can be embedded in the web document 104 or be configured as a pop-up window, an overlay, a tab, a frame, or other appropriate displaying style. In addition, the displays 410, 412 can be resized, moved, and/or reoriented conveniently. As indicated, the display 412 can include 1 to N comparable items, usually at more advantageous prices and/or with additional features. For example, comparable items 1-5 all have a lower price than the price 404 indicated by the web document 104. Comparable item N appears at the same price, but has or is likely to have additional features given it is in reference to the MFT 800 XL model rather than the base MFT 800 model… each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. ], ¶0068 [The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.] in view of ¶¶0008-0009 [other web locations (e.g., other purchase pages) is comparable to other merchants] and ¶¶0054-0056 [a plurality of vendors]; claims 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 12, Kirovski in view of Pritchard teaches the method of claim 9. Kirovski further discloses further modifying the webpage based on second content (Figs. 1-2, 4-9, 10-11; ¶¶0044-0046, ¶¶0068-0069) and Pritchard further teaches:
detecting, via the user interface of the user device, a user selection of a first one of the one or more user interface elements on the webpage (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23);
determining that the first one of the one or more user interface elements is associated with a second product record in the two or more product records (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23); and
further modifying the webpage based on second content associated with the second product record (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23).
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Kirovski are the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Kirovski in view of Pritchard teaches the method of claim 9, Kirovski further discloses wherein the modifying comprises inserting a link into the webpage (Figs. 4 and 9; ¶¶0051-0053 [the displays 410, 412 can be embedded in the web document 104 or be configured as a pop-up window, an overlay, a tab, a frame, or other appropriate displaying style. In addition, the displays 410, 412 can be resized, moved, and/or reoriented conveniently. As indicated, the display 412 can include 1 to N comparable items, usually at more advantageous prices and/or with additional features. For example, comparable items 1-5 all have a lower price than the price 404 indicated by the web document 104. Comparable item N appears at the same price, but has or is likely to have additional features given it is in reference to the MFT 800 XL model rather than the base MFT 800 model… each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. ], ¶0068 [The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.] in view of ¶¶0008-0009 [other web locations (e.g., other purchase pages) is comparable to other merchants]; claims 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 15, Kirovski in view of Pritchard teaches the method of claim 14, Kirovski further discloses
receiving a selection of the link via the user interface of the user device (Fig. 4; ¶0052 [each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. Accordingly, when presented with the display 412, e.g., a user can more easily navigate to any of the N comparable items with a single click.], ¶0054 [an input signaling a click (e.g., by way of cursor 502) on one of the comparative items can alter the contents of the web document 506. For example, clicking on item “1. MFT 800 $249.99” can redirect the browser component 102 to the Internet address associated with that item, and populate the main body frame (e.g., web document 506) with content from that address. Likewise, a click on item “2.” can replace the content of document 506 with that particular vendor's web page, and in each instance, the side panel frame can be maintained for easy navigation]); and
redirecting the user device to a second webpage associated with the link ((Fig. 4; ¶0052 [each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. Accordingly, when presented with the display 412, e.g., a user can more easily navigate to any of the N comparable items with a single click.], ¶0054 [an input signaling a click (e.g., by way of cursor 502) on one of the comparative items can alter the contents of the web document 506. For example, clicking on item “1. MFT 800 $249.99” can redirect the browser component 102 to the Internet address associated with that item, and populate the main body frame (e.g., web document 506) with content from that address. Likewise, a click on item “2.” can replace the content of document 506 with that particular vendor's web page, and in each instance, the side panel frame can be maintained for easy navigation])).
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirovski in view of Pritchard and Croak et al. (US 11,210,731 B1 [previously recited]).
Regarding claim 10, Kirovski in view of Pritchard teaches the method of claim 9. Kirovski in view of Pritchard does not explicitly teach determining a geographical location associated with the user device, wherein the modifying is further based on the geographical location associated with the user device. However, in the field of providing product price comparison to a user (abstract), Croak et al., hereinafter Croak, teaches determining a location associated with the user device (Fig. 3, element 308; col. 5, lines 56-62), and modifying recommendations based the location (Fig. 2-4, 9; col. 3, line 34 to col. 5, line 31 and col. 12, line 65 to col. 13, line 44). The step of Croak is applicable to the method of Kirovski in view of Pritchard as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to price comparison. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify modified webpage as taught by Kirovski in view of Pritchard with the location information as taught by Croak. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Kirovski in view of Pritchard in order to receive information such as prices offered by various products and the location of the various sellers (Figs. 2 and 9; col. 12, line 65 to col. 13, line 44 and col. 3, line 34 to col. 5, line 31).
Regarding claim 13, Kirovski in view of Pritchard teaches the method of claim 9. Kirovski in view of Pritchard does not explicitly teach determining a geographical location associated with the user device; and selecting, from a plurality of computing devices, the computing device for analyzing the webpage based on the geographical location associated with the user device, wherein the computing device is located within the geographical location. However, in the field of providing product price comparison to a user (abstract), Croak teaches determining a location associated with the user device (Fig. 3, element 308; col. 5, lines 56-62) and selecting a remote server based on the location (Fig. 2-4, 9; col. 3, line 34 to col. 5, line 31 and col. 12, line 65 to col. 13, line 44). The step of Croak is applicable to the method of Kirovski in view of Pritchard as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to price comparison. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify server as taught by Kirovski in view of Pritchard with the selection of server based on geographic location as taught by Croak. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Kirovski in view of Pritchard in order to receive information such as prices offered by various products and the location of the various sellers (Figs. 2 and 9; col. 12, line 65 to col. 13, line 44 and col. 3, line 34 to col. 5, line 31).
Claim(s) 2-8 and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirovski et al. (US 2008/0091546 A1 [previously recited]) in view of Henderson et al. (US 2020/0334701 A1 [previously recited]) and Pritchard.
Regarding claim 2, Kirovski discloses a system comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions (Figs. 10-11; ¶¶0070-0089); and
one or more hardware processors coupled with the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the instructions from the non-transitory memory to cause the system to (Fig. 10-11; ¶¶0070-0089):
determine, based on data from a webpage, that a particular product presented on the webpage is associated with two or more product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage, wherein the webpage comprises a presentation of the particular product, and wherein the two or more product records correspond to the particular product (Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 10-11; Examiner notes Fig. 2 depicts a webpage comprising a presentation of a particular product of a merchant; ¶¶0030-0040 [the comparison component 106 can be configured to identify and/or detect whether the web document 104 offers to sell an item (not shown), wherein the item can be substantially any product or service. For instance, the comparison component can identify whether the web document 104 is a purchase page. In particular, the comparison component 106 can, e.g., parse the source code of the web document 104 in order to facilitate this determination.] in view of ¶0028 [a purchase page can be a web document/web page that has been identified as one that intends to sell a particular item, wherein the item is substantially any product or service. Oftentimes, the purchase page will have a purchase indicator such as a “buy” or “add to cart” button], ¶¶0050-0056, ¶¶0071-0089 [personal computers and servers communicating]; ¶¶0009-0010 [comparison shopping server can be data store for page data for all purchase pages (e.g., the purchase page and all other purchase pages). Accordingly, the comparison shopping server can return to the comparison component a list of comparative items, each of which is equivalent or substantially similar to the item on the purchase page], ¶0059 [The comparative shopping server 302 can respond to the comparison component 106 with a list of web documents 604 that offer the same or substantially similar items for sale.] in view of ¶0054);
cause a computing device to: (i) display the webpage using a browser application of the computing device (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046 [the comparative shopping server 302 can, e.g., follow the links provided by the purchase indicator 206 (e.g., from a purchase page to a transaction page) to verify that the listed price 204 matches what a purchaser would in fact be charged.]), (ii) interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements on the webpage (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046 [comparative shopping server 302 can also take additional actions to enhance integrity and/or efficiency. For example, in some cases the advertised price 204 may not be the actual price the user is charged. For instance, the advertised price 204 may require an additional purchase, filing out a survey, or even be outright fraud, etc. Accordingly, the comparative shopping server 302 can, e.g., follow the links provided by the purchase indicator 206 (e.g., from a purchase page to a transaction page) to verify that the listed price 204 matches what a purchaser would in fact be charged. The comparative shopping server 302 can be configured to automatically set up an account (e.g., if required to access the bottom line), configured to watch for usually large surcharges and/or shipping and handling fees, as well as a variety of other useful detection means to verify that the price 204 is legitimate.]), and (iii) obtain additional data (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046);
determine that the webpage is associated with a particular product record from the two or more product records based on the additional data (Figs. 1-2, 4-8, 10-11; ¶¶0058-0059 [The comparative shopping server 302 can maintain a data store of information relating to these items (e.g., description/identifier, price, Internet address…). When the browser component 102 receives information (e.g., source code) relating to one of the web documents 604, then the comparison component 106 can determine whether the web document 604 is a purchase page. If the resulting determination is “yes” or TRUE, then the comparison component 106 can identify, extract, and/or transmit various data (e.g., item identifier/description, price…) to the comparative shopping server 302… The comparative shopping server 302 can respond to the comparison component 106 with a list of web documents 604 that offer the same or substantially similar items for sale] and ¶0066 [at 802, data (e.g., page data such as an identifier, a price, a URL, etc.) can be transmitted to a server, such as a comparison shopping server described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 3 and 6. Typically, the data is transmitted by way of a WAN such as the Internet, WWW, a cellular phone network, or the like. At 804, the data can be compared to stored data for establishing comparative items. For example, results from other purchase pages (e.g., those coupled to or accessible by the WAN) can be stored with associated comparative item descriptions and comparative prices. All or a subset of the purchase pages can be ranked and/or ordered for the associated comparative item by virtue of best price, quality, features, or a variety of other factors]);
modify the webpage based on information associated with the particular product record while maintaining the webpage being displayed on the user device (Figs. 1-2, 4-9, 10-11; ¶¶0068-0069 [at 902, a non-invasive notification can be provided for indicating that a list of comparable items is available for display… the non-invasive display can occur immediately upon a determination that a purchase page (or transaction page) has been detected, such as described in connection with act 702 from FIG. 7… The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.]); and
display the modified webpage on the user device (Figs. 1-2, 4-9, 10-11; ¶¶0068-0069 [at 902, a non-invasive notification can be provided for indicating that a list of comparable items is available for display… the non-invasive display can occur immediately upon a determination that a purchase page (or transaction page) has been detected, such as described in connection with act 702 from FIG. 7… The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.]).
While Kirovski discloses modifying and displaying the modified webpage (Figs. 1-2, 4-9, 10-11; ¶¶0068-0069) , Kirovski does not explicitly disclose modifying the webpage in response to detecting that the webpage is displayed by a user device different from the computing device. However, in the field of testing, detecting, and monitoring shopping interfaces (abstract), Henderson et al., hereinafter Henderson teaches automating a site navigation program on a separate device without any need for human interaction (¶0028), form a cloned shadow session of the user’s current session and interact with one or more user interface elements that causes the webpage to change presentation and obtain additional data associated with the changes to the presentation based on the interacting (Figs. 1-6; ¶¶0044-0047, ¶¶0083-0084). The system of Henderson is applicable to the system of Kirovski as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to products on webpages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interaction as taught by Kirovski with the cloning of the webpage and interaction as taught by Henderson. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the system of Kirovski in order to determine the configuration of the product and availability (¶0055, ¶0083).
While Kirovski discloses determining, by the computer system, that the particular product is associated with product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage (Figs. 1-3; ¶¶0045-0046, ¶0058, ¶0066), interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements on the webpage (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046), and obtain additional data (Figs. 2-3; ¶¶0044-0046), Kirovski in view of Henderson does not explicitly teach the particular product is associated with two or more product options corresponding to two or more product records, interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements that correspond to the two or more product options on the webpage, wherein interacting with the one or more user interface elements causes the webpage to change the presentation of the particular product, and obtain additional data associated with one or more changes to the presentation of the particular product based on the interacting. However, in the field of generating and presenting user interface that provide a consolidated representation for same or similar products available for acquisition with variations of product attributes (abstract), Pritchard et al., hereinafter Pritchard teaches the particular product is associated with two or more product options corresponding to two or more product records from a plurality of product records stored in a data storage, interact, via the browser application, with one or more user interface elements that correspond to the two or more product options on the webpage, wherein interacting with the one or more user interface elements causes the webpage to change the presentation of the particular product, and obtain additional data associated with one or more changes to the presentation of the particular product based on the interacting, modifying the webpage based on the product record, and causing the modified webpage to display to the user (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23). The step of Pritchard is applicable to the system of Kirovski in view of Henderson as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to offering products on webpages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the webpage and webpage interaction as taught by Kirovski in view of Henderson with the webpage offering a plurality of different variations for the same or similar products that are available for acquisition and user interaction on the consolidated webpage as taught by Pritchard. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the system of Kirovski in view of Henderson in order to enable customers to browse different variations of products and the different combinations of product attributes without leaving a primary experience (i.e., the product page) and help customers navigate the increased complexity of browsing inventory available in online marketplaces (col. 2, lines 30-63 and col. 4, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 3, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the system of claim 2, Kirovski further discloses wherein the webpage is displayed on the user device via a web browser of the user device, and wherein the system further comprises a plug-in associated with the web browser (Fig. 1; ¶0002, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 4, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the system of claim 2, Kirovski further discloses wherein the information comprises product data associated with the particular product obtained from a second webpage (Figs. 4 and 9; ¶¶0051-0053 [the displays 410, 412 can be embedded in the web document 104 or be configured as a pop-up window, an overlay, a tab, a frame, or other appropriate displaying style. In addition, the displays 410, 412 can be resized, moved, and/or reoriented conveniently. As indicated, the display 412 can include 1 to N comparable items, usually at more advantageous prices and/or with additional features. For example, comparable items 1-5 all have a lower price than the price 404 indicated by the web document 104. Comparable item N appears at the same price, but has or is likely to have additional features given it is in reference to the MFT 800 XL model rather than the base MFT 800 model… each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. ], ¶0068 [The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.] in view of ¶¶0008-0009 [other web locations (e.g., other purchase pages) is comparable to other merchants]; claims 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 5, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the system of claim 2, Kirovski further discloses wherein modifying the webpage comprises overlaying a user interface on the webpage, and wherein the information associated with the particular product record is displayed on the user interface (Figs. 4 and 9; ¶¶0051-0053 [the displays 410, 412 can be embedded in the web document 104 or be configured as a pop-up window, an overlay, a tab, a frame, or other appropriate displaying style. In addition, the displays 410, 412 can be resized, moved, and/or reoriented conveniently. As indicated, the display 412 can include 1 to N comparable items, usually at more advantageous prices and/or with additional features. For example, comparable items 1-5 all have a lower price than the price 404 indicated by the web document 104. Comparable item N appears at the same price, but has or is likely to have additional features given it is in reference to the MFT 800 XL model rather than the base MFT 800 model… each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. ], ¶0068 [The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.] in view of ¶¶0008-0009 [other web locations (e.g., other purchase pages) is comparable to other merchants] and ¶¶0054-0056 [a plurality of vendors]; claims 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 6, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the system of claim 2, Kirovski further discloses wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: extract the data from the webpage (Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 10-11; ¶0045 [once the comparison component 106 has determined (with or without the aid of the comparative shopping server 302) the description 202 and the price 204, these values as well as other data such as the Internet address associated with the web document 104, etc. can be transmitted to the comparative shopping server 302, as indicated by the transfer of item data 304] and ¶¶0041-0045 [the comparison component 106 can, e.g., parse source code for the web document 104 and employ various algorithms and the like to make inferences about whether the web document 104 is a purchase page, the comparison component 106 can also parse the source code to make inferences relating to the description 202 and the price 204.] in view of ¶0008 [the comparison component can identify page data relating to the purchase page such as the name (e.g., identifier, description) of the item and its price as well as the URL relating to the purchase page. This page data can be sent to a comparative shopping server for analysis]), wherein extracting the data comprises parsing and analyzing source code associated with the webpage (¶0032, ¶0041, ¶0063).
Regarding claim 7, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the system of claim 2, Kirovski further discloses wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: identify a plurality of user interface elements on the webpage based on analyzing source code associated with the webpage (Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 10-11; ¶0045 [once the comparison component 106 has determined (with or without the aid of the comparative shopping server 302) the description 202 and the price 204, these values as well as other data such as the Internet address associated with the web document 104, etc. can be transmitted to the comparative shopping server 302, as indicated by the transfer of item data 304] and ¶¶0041-0045 [the comparison component 106 can, e.g., parse source code for the web document 104 and employ various algorithms and the like to make inferences about whether the web document 104 is a purchase page, the comparison component 106 can also parse the source code to make inferences relating to the description 202 and the price 204.] in view of ¶0008 [the comparison component can identify page data relating to the purchase page such as the name (e.g., identifier, description) of the item and its price as well as the URL relating to the purchase page. This page data can be sent to a comparative shopping server for analysis]).
Regarding claim 8, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the system of claim 7. While Kirovski further discloses determining webpage information based on analyzing the source code (¶¶0029-0034, ¶0041, ¶0058, ¶0063), Kirovski in view of Henderson does not explicitly teach wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: determine, from the plurality of user interface elements, that the one or more user interface elements correspond to the two or more product options based on analyzing the source code. However, Pritchard further teaches determine, from the plurality of user interface elements, that the one or more user interface elements correspond to the two or more product options (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23). The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Kirovski in view of Henderson are the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 2, except claim 2 is directed to machine while claim 16 is directed to an article of manufacture. The added element of “a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon machine-readable instructions executable to cause a machine perform operations” is also taught by Kirovski (Fig. 10-11; ¶¶0070-0089). Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, Kirovski further discloses wherein the webpage is displayed on the user device via a web browser of the user device (Fig. 1; ¶0002, ¶0032). Henderson further teaches wherein the modifying the webpage is performed by an extension associated with the web browser (¶¶0025-0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the browser as taught by Kirovski in view of Pritchard with the extension as taught by Henderson. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the article of manufacture of Kirovski in view of Pritchard in order to have the browser including a plugin or extension to execute the application (¶¶0025-0028).
Regarding claim 18, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, Kirovski further discloses wherein the content comprises product data associated with the particular product obtained from a second webpage (Figs. 4 and 9; ¶¶0051-0053 [the displays 410, 412 can be embedded in the web document 104 or be configured as a pop-up window, an overlay, a tab, a frame, or other appropriate displaying style. In addition, the displays 410, 412 can be resized, moved, and/or reoriented conveniently. As indicated, the display 412 can include 1 to N comparable items, usually at more advantageous prices and/or with additional features. For example, comparable items 1-5 all have a lower price than the price 404 indicated by the web document 104. Comparable item N appears at the same price, but has or is likely to have additional features given it is in reference to the MFT 800 XL model rather than the base MFT 800 model… each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. ], ¶0068 [The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.] in view of ¶¶0008-0009 [other web locations (e.g., other purchase pages) is comparable to other merchants]; claims 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 19, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, Kirovski further discloses wherein the modifying the webpage comprises overlaying a user interface on the webpage, and wherein the content associated with the particular product record is displayed on the user interface (Figs. 4 and 9; ¶¶0051-0053 [the displays 410, 412 can be embedded in the web document 104 or be configured as a pop-up window, an overlay, a tab, a frame, or other appropriate displaying style. In addition, the displays 410, 412 can be resized, moved, and/or reoriented conveniently. As indicated, the display 412 can include 1 to N comparable items, usually at more advantageous prices and/or with additional features. For example, comparable items 1-5 all have a lower price than the price 404 indicated by the web document 104. Comparable item N appears at the same price, but has or is likely to have additional features given it is in reference to the MFT 800 XL model rather than the base MFT 800 model… each comparable item 1-N can be anchor text for a hyperlink (as indicated by the underlined text) to a corresponding Internet address where the respective comparable item can be found for sale at the listed comparable price. ], ¶0068 [The list and/or display can be a pop-up overlay configurable to be always on top, populate a frame, a tab, or some other mechanism. It is to be appreciated that the list can provide hyperlinks to other purchase pages such as those other purchase pages that offer an item substantially similar to the described item, but at a better price, with more features, etc.] in view of ¶¶0008-0009 [other web locations (e.g., other purchase pages) is comparable to other merchants] and ¶¶0054-0056 [a plurality of vendors]; claims 17 and 18)).
Regarding claim 20, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, Kirovski further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: extracting the data from the webpage (Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 10-11; ¶0045 [once the comparison component 106 has determined (with or without the aid of the comparative shopping server 302) the description 202 and the price 204, these values as well as other data such as the Internet address associated with the web document 104, etc. can be transmitted to the comparative shopping server 302, as indicated by the transfer of item data 304] and ¶¶0041-0045 [the comparison component 106 can, e.g., parse source code for the web document 104 and employ various algorithms and the like to make inferences about whether the web document 104 is a purchase page, the comparison component 106 can also parse the source code to make inferences relating to the description 202 and the price 204.] in view of ¶0008 [the comparison component can identify page data relating to the purchase page such as the name (e.g., identifier, description) of the item and its price as well as the URL relating to the purchase page. This page data can be sent to a comparative shopping server for analysis]), wherein the extracting the data comprises parsing and analyzing source code associated with the webpage (¶0032, ¶0041, ¶0063).
Regarding claim 21, Kirovski in view of Henderson and Pritchard teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16. Pritchard further teaches wherein the two or more product records are associated with different configurations of the particular product (Figs. 1-4; col. 2, line 30 to col. 3, line 53, col. 5, line 45 to col. 7, line 37, col. 9, line 8 to col. 11, line 23). The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Kirovski in view of Henderson are the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 8-9 of the Remarks filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the previous double patenting rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Accordingly the previous double patenting rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 9-10 of the Remarks filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the 35 USC §103 rejections have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new 35 USC §103 rejections applied to applicant’s amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LINDSEY B. SMITH
Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/LINDSEY B SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689