CTFR 18/902,068 CTFR 85945 DETAILED ACTION 05-01 AIA It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items: 1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.). 2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication). 3. Filing date. 4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action. 5. Title of invention. 6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503). 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1, 2, 11, 17 and 19 have been amended, new claims 29 – 31 have been added and claims 1 – 20 and 29 – 31 are now pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 8 – 11, 16, 17, 20 and 29 – 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 2023/0308631) in view of Levi et al. (US 2024/0112428) . As to claim 1 , Price discloses a method comprising: receiving a first sensor signal (signal from a head-tracking on the HMD [0035]) from a first sensor (a cameras on HMD, at 504 [0035]) coupled to an extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) within a moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 – 0029]); receiving a second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) from an image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) within the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]) and in communication (the one or more fixed cameras are in communication with the HMD [0035]) with the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]); and determining a motion (providing image data within defined space at 520 of fig. 5 wherein motion vectors of HMD are determined [0028] and the image data is provided based on a motion of the head-mounted display [0051]) of the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) with respect to the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), based on the first sensor signal (signal from a head-tracking on the HMD [0035]) and the second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]), but does not explicitly disclose determining an aggregate motion of the extended reality device and the moving frame of reference from the first sensor signal determining a component of motion attributable to the moving frame of reference, using the second sensor signal; and determining a motion of the extended reality device including subtracting the component of motion from the aggregate motion. In the same filed of endeavor, Levi discloses a method for displaying virtual content (TITLE), the method [0402] comprises: determining an aggregate motion of the extended reality device and the moving frame of reference from a first sensor signal (receiving, from within a moving vehicle, first acceleration data captured using a first sensor included in a wearable extended reality appliance mountable on a head of a wearer, wherein the first acceleration data includes a first component associated with movement of the head of the wearer with respect to the vehicle and a second component associated with movement of the vehicle (Step 2602) [0402]) determining a component of motion attributable to the moving frame of reference, using the second sensor signal ( receiving, from within the moving vehicle, second acceleration data captured using a second sensor [0402]); and determining a motion of the extended reality device including subtracting the component of motion from the aggregate motion (using the first acceleration data and the second acceleration data to segregate the second component from the first component, thereby isolating the head acceleration with respect to the vehicle from the vehicle acceleration (Step 2606) [0402]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Price and the teaching of Levi, such that the motion of an extended reality device in a moving vehicle was determined as disclosed by Levi, with motivation to improve comfort and increase productivity while using extended reality device (Levi [0004 – 0005]). As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), Price discloses the method, wherein the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) and the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) are located within a vehicle that defines the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]). As to claim 11 , Price discloses a computer program product, the computer program product being tangibly embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one computing device (computing device of fig. 2 and 6), are configured to cause the at least one computing device to: receive a first sensor signal (signal from a head-tracking on the HMD [0035]) from a first sensor (a cameras on HMD, at 504 [0035]) coupled to an extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) within a moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]); receive a second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) from an image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) within the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]) and in communication (the one or more fixed cameras are in communication with the HMD [0035]) with the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]); and determine a motion (providing image data within defined space at 520 of fig. 5 wherein motion vectors of HMD are determined [0028] and the image data is provided based on a motion of the head-mounted display [0051]) of the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) with respect to the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), based on the first sensor signal (signal from a head-tracking on the HMD [0035]) and the second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]), but does not explicitly disclose determining an aggregate motion of the extended reality device and the moving frame of reference from the first sensor signal determining a component of motion attributable to the moving frame of reference, using the second sensor signal; and determining a motion of the extended reality device including subtracting the component of motion from the aggregate motion. In the same filed of endeavor, Levi discloses a method for displaying virtual content (TITLE), the method [0402] comprises: determining an aggregate motion of the extended reality device and the moving frame of reference from a first sensor signal (receiving, from within a moving vehicle, first acceleration data captured using a first sensor included in a wearable extended reality appliance mountable on a head of a wearer, wherein the first acceleration data includes a first component associated with movement of the head of the wearer with respect to the vehicle and a second component associated with movement of the vehicle (Step 2602) [0402]) determining a component of motion attributable to the moving frame of reference, using the second sensor signal ( receiving, from within the moving vehicle, second acceleration data captured using a second sensor [0402]); and determining a motion of the extended reality device including subtracting the component of motion from the aggregate motion (using the first acceleration data and the second acceleration data to segregate the second component from the first component, thereby isolating the head acceleration with respect to the vehicle from the vehicle acceleration (Step 2606) [0402]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Price and the teaching of Levi, such that the motion of an extended reality device in a moving vehicle was determined as disclosed by Levi, with motivation to improve comfort and increase productivity while using extended reality device (Levi [0004 – 0005]). As to claim 17 , Price discloses a system comprising: at least one frame for positioning a extended reality device on a face of a user (HMD [0031 - 0034], inherently comprising a frame to position on a head of a user); at least one camera (a cameras on HMD, at 504 [0035]); at least one motion sensor (local inertial measurement unit [0028]); at least one processor (processor of computing system 202 of fig. 2 correspondent to 602 of fig. 6); and at least one memory (memory of computing system 202 of fig. 2 correspondent to 604 of fig. 6), the at least one memory storing a set of instructions, which, when executed, cause the at least one processor to: receive a first sensor signal (signal from a head-tracking on the HMD [0035]) from the at least one camera (a cameras on HMD, at 504 [0035]) and the at least one motion sensor (local inertial measurement unit [0028]) within a moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]); receive a second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) from an image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) within the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]) and in communication (the one or more fixed cameras are in communication with the HMD [0035]) with the extended reality device (HMD [0031 - 0034]); and determine a motion (providing image data within defined space at 520 of fig. 5 wherein motion vectors of HMD are determined [0028] and the image data is provided based on a motion of the head-mounted display [0051]) of the extended reality device (HMD [0031 - 0034]) with respect to the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), based on the first sensor signal (signal from a head-tracking on the HMD [0035]) and the second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]), but does not explicitly disclose determining an aggregate motion of the extended reality device and the moving frame of reference from the first sensor signal determining a component of motion attributable to the moving frame of reference, using the second sensor signal; and determining a motion of the extended reality device including subtracting the component of motion from the aggregate motion. In the same filed of endeavor, Levi discloses a method for displaying virtual content (TITLE), the method [0402] comprises: determining an aggregate motion of the extended reality device and the moving frame of reference from a first sensor signal (receiving, from within a moving vehicle, first acceleration data captured using a first sensor included in a wearable extended reality appliance mountable on a head of a wearer, wherein the first acceleration data includes a first component associated with movement of the head of the wearer with respect to the vehicle and a second component associated with movement of the vehicle (Step 2602) [0402]) determining a component of motion attributable to the moving frame of reference, using the second sensor signal ( receiving, from within the moving vehicle, second acceleration data captured using a second sensor [0402]); and determining a motion of the extended reality device including subtracting the component of motion from the aggregate motion (using the first acceleration data and the second acceleration data to segregate the second component from the first component, thereby isolating the head acceleration with respect to the vehicle from the vehicle acceleration (Step 2606) [0402]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Price and the teaching of Levi, such that the motion of an extended reality device in a moving vehicle was determined as disclosed by Levi, with motivation to improve comfort and increase productivity while using extended reality device (Levi [0004 – 0005]). As to claim 8 (dependent on 1), claim 16 (dependent on 11), and claim 20 (dependent on 17) Price discloses the method, the computer program product and the system, wherein the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) and the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) are located within a vehicle that defines the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), wherein a second extended reality device is provided with an image sensor ( HMDs 112 and 114, [0015]), and wherein an image sensor is coupled to a second extended reality device within the vehicle (HMD 114 comprises a camera [0014]), but Price in view of Levi fails to disclose determining motion of the extended reality device for image sensor on the second extended reality device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Price in view of Levi such that the camera on the second extended reality device was used to provide the image signal to determine motion of the extended reality device within the vehicle, with motivation to provide a design choice alternative for determining relative position of the extended reality device with respect to the vehicle using already provided components, wherein such modification would have reduced cost and would have only required a routine skill. As to claim 9 (dependent on 8), Price discloses the method, further comprising: generating a map of an interior of the vehicle [0015], using the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) and a camera of the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]). As to claim 10 (dependent on 1), Price discloses the method, comprising: receiving the second sensor signal (signal from a camera fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) from an image sensor one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) within the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), wherein a second extended reality device is provided with an image sensor ( HMDs 112 and 114, [0015]), and wherein an image sensor is coupled to a second extended reality device within the vehicle (HMD 114 comprises a camera [0014]), but Price in view of Levi fails to disclose determining motion of the extended reality device for image sensor on the second extended reality device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Price such that the camera on the second extended reality device was used to provide the image signal to determine motion of the extended reality device within the vehicle, with motivation to provide a design choice alternative for determining relative position of the extended reality device with respect to the vehicle using already provided components, wherein such modification would have reduced cost and would have only required a routine skill. As to claim 29 (dependent on 1), Price in view of Levi discloses the method, further comprising controlling a user interface of the extended reality device, based on the motion of the extended reality device with respect to the moving frame of reference (Levi, presenting virtual content 2502 of fig. 25B, [0402]). As to claim 30 (dependent on 11), Price in view of Levi discloses the computer program product, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one computing device, are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to: control a user interface of the extended reality device, based on the motion of the extended reality device with respect to the moving frame of reference (Levi, presenting virtual content 2502 of fig. 25B, [0402]). As to claim 31 (dependent on 17), Price in view of Levi discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions, when executed, cause the at least one processor to: control a user interface of the extended reality device, based on the motion of the extended reality device with respect to the moving frame of reference (Levi, presenting virtual content 2502 of fig. 25B [0402]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price in view of Levi and Brown et al. (US 2023/0215106) . As to claim 2 (dependent on 1), Price discloses the method, wherein the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) and the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) are located within a vehicle that defines the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), the first sensor includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU) and a camera (head mounted device includes a camera [0035] and an inertial measurement unit [0028]), and further wherein determining the motion of the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]), but fails to disclose that determining the motion of the extended reality device with respect to the moving frame of reference comprises performing visual inertial odometry on the first sensor signal to derive the aggregate motion. In the same field of endeavor, Brown discloses determining pose of the AR warble device using visual inertial odometry [0036]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Price in view of Levi and the teachings of Brown, such that the motion due to the moving frame of reference was removed using visual inertial odometry as disclosed by Brown, with motivation to improve pose and velocity determination by correcting for errors associated with rapid movement (Brown [0036]). As to claim 7 (dependent on 6) and claim 15 (dependent on 14), Price discloses the method and the computer program product, further comprising: capturing an image of the exterior environment using the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]); but does not disclose generating a user interface of the extended reality device that uses the image to provide an inertial frame of reference within a view of the extended reality device. In the same filed of endeavor, Brown discloses generating a user interface of the extended reality device (user interface of fig. 9 [0101 – 0103]) that uses the image (the frame of reference of the environment, fig. 9 [0101]) to provide an inertial frame of reference within a view of the extended reality device (virtual objects to be displayed as shown in fig. 9 [0101 - 0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Price in view of Levi and the teachings of Brown, such that a user interface of the extended reality device was generated using the image to provide an inertial frame of reference within a view of the extended reality device as disclosed by Brown, with motivation to enhance outdoor environment (Brown [0101]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 – 6, 12 – 14, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price in view of Levi and Kaminski et al. (US 2022/0396217) . As to claim 4 (dependent on 1), claim 5 (dependent on 4), claim 6 (dependent on 4), claim 12 (dependent on 11), claim 13 (dependent on 12), claim 14 (dependent on 12), claim 18 (dependent on 17) and claim 19 (dependent on 18) Price discloses the method, the computer program product and the system, wherein the extended reality device (HMD, [0028], [0035 - 0037]) and the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) are located within a vehicle that defines the moving frame of reference (reference frame of the space within a vehicle [0010], [0013 - 0014], [0028 - 0029]), and further wherein the image sensor (one or more cameras fixed in a reference frame of the defined space, at 506 [0035]) is coupled to a frame of the vehicle (camera is mounted to the vehicle [0051], inherently a camera is mounted to a retaining frame), but Price in view of Levi fails to disclose that the image sensor is coupled to a device that is mounted to a frame of the vehicle, the image sensor is included in a front-facing camera of the device that is directed to capture an interior of the vehicle and the image sensor is included in a camera of the device that is directed to capture an exterior environment of the vehicle. In the same filed of endeavor, Kaminski discloses a method wherein a vehicle (vehicle of fig. 1) is provided with an image sensor (CAMs1 231 and 232 of fig. 2), wherein the image sensor is coupled to a device (camera 230 of fig. 2) that is mounted to a frame of the vehicle (various mounting configuration including being mounted to the dashboard [0055]); wherein the image sensor is included in a front-facing camera of the device that is directed to capture an interior of the vehicle (camera 232 may be oriented to capture images of the cabin (interior) of the vehicle 100 [0056]) and the image sensor is included in a camera of the device that is directed to capture an exterior environment of the vehicle (camera 231 may be oriented to capture images out of a windshield (the front of vehicle 100) [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Price in view of Levi and the teachings of Kaminski, such that a camera device was provided where the image were mounted viewing interior and exterior of the vehicle as disclosed by Kaminski, with motivation to provide a camera with simplified activation using vehicle’s Controller Area Network bus (Kaminski, [0002 – 0003]). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DMITRIY BOLOTIN whose telephone number is (571)270-5873. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM - 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chanh Nguyen can be reached at (571)272-7772. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DMITRIY BOLOTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 2 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 3 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 4 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 5 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 6 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 7 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 8 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 9 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 10 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 11 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 12 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 13 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/902,068 Page 14 Art Unit: 2623