DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected. This action is a non-final office action on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 111 are directed to method claims and computer readable media claims which are statutory classes of invention. Step 1 Yes
In regards to claims 1,11 the abstract elements are
performing iterative training of a language model (LM) and a graph neural network (GNN); generating, using the LM, a plurality of first node embeddings for a plurality of nodes in a graph; generating, using the GNN, a plurality of second node embeddings for the plurality of nodes based at least in part on the plurality of first node embeddings and the graph; and identifying a first node and a second node of the plurality of nodes that both represent a particular entity based at least in part on a similarity between one of the plurality of second node embeddings associated with the first node and one of the plurality of second node embeddings associated with the second node;
The computing elements include “one or more computing devices” which broadly could be just one.
The limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activities. If a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitations as a fundamental economic practice then it falls within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas.
The use of a generic computer for example is just applying generic computing components the recited abstract limitations. Step 2A prong 1 yes the claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements of a computer amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the computer.
Claims 1, 11 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. Step 2 A Prong 2, no the additional elements are not integrated into a practical application.
The claims do not add significantly more known as inventive concept. No the claims do not add specifically more. Step 2B no
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 do not add additional elements.
It is noted that claim 7 when rolled into claim 6 would make the claims more specific, ie potentially moving closer to practical application. Figure 6 of the drawings include further hardware elements that might be incorporated.
Claims 1-2,5,6, 8-10 and 11-12,15,16, 18-20 are rejected in view of US Patent Publication to Singh 20250200335
As per claim 1, Singh discloses; A method comprising:
performing iterative training of a language model (LM) and a graph neural network (GNN);
generating, using the LM,
Singh(0057, and 0049, 0120, iterative training, gnn 0119)
a plurality of first node embeddings for a plurality of nodes in a graph; generating, using the GNN, a plurality of second node embeddings
Singh(0122, 0126)
for the plurality of nodes based at least in part on the plurality of first node embeddings and the graph; and identifying a first node and a second node of the plurality of nodes that both represent a particular entity based at least in part on a similarity between one of the plurality of second node embeddings
Singh(0112, multiple node embeddings, “at least in part” could be just a little, similarity 0119)
associated with the first node and one of the plurality of second node embeddings associated with the second node; wherein the method is performed by one or more computing devices.
Singh(0112-119, devices, one or more could be one)
Claim 11 is similar to claim 1.
As per claim 2 Singh discloses; The method of claim 1, further comprising generating, using the LM, one or more edge embeddings, wherein the plurality of second node embeddings are generated further based on the one or more edge embeddings. Singh(0030, 0039)
Claim 12 is similar to claim 2
As per claim 5 Singh discloses; The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more the LM pseudo-labels are generated as a union of a ground truth match and a match predicted by the GNN, and the one or more GNN pseudo-labels are generated as a union of the ground truth match and a match predicted by the LM. Singh(0064)
Claim 15 is similar to claim 5.
As per claim 6, Singh discloses;
The method of claim 1, wherein performing iterative training of the LM and the GNN comprises: generating, using the LM, embeddings for textual attributes of the plurality of nodes and embeddings for textual attributes of a plurality of edges of the graph; performing unsupervised training of the GNN using the embeddings for the textual attributes of the plurality of nodes and the embeddings for the textual attributes of the plurality of edges; generating, using the GNN, one or more GNN pseudo-labels representing matches between one or more pairs of nodes predicted by the GNN; performing supervised training of the LM using textual representations of the plurality of nodes and the one or more GNN pseudo-labels; generating, using the LM, embeddings of the plurality of nodes and one or more LM pseudo-labels representing matches between one or more pairs of nodes predicted by the LM; and performing supervised training of the GNN using the embeddings of the plurality of nodes and the LM pseudo-labels.
Singh(0057-59)
Claim 16 is similar to claim 6
As per claim 8 Singh discloses;
The method of claim 1, wherein the LM is trained to, for textual representations of one or more ground truth matches between nodes, generate a plurality of node embeddings that maximize a vector scoring function. Singh(0070)
Claim 18 is similar to claim 8
As per claim 9 Singh discloses; The method of claim 1, wherein the GNN is trained to, for one or more ground truth matches between nodes, generate a plurality of node embeddings that maximize a vector scoring function, wherein individual node embeddings of the plurality of node embeddings capture information regarding one or more neighboring nodes of a corresponding node.
Singh(0128, 0070 scoring and vectors)
Claim 19 is similar to claim 9
As per claim 10 Singh discloses; The method of claim 1, wherein: individual node embeddings of the plurality of first node embeddings comprise a vector representation of text representing one or more attributes of a node of a plurality of nodes, and individual node embeddings of the plurality of second node embeddings comprise a vector representation one or more attributes of a node of a plurality of nodes and structural information of the graph. Singh(012, vector)
Claim 20 is similar to claim 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7 and 13-14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of US Patent to Upadhyay 12314825
As per claim 3, Singh does not explicitly disclose what Upadhyay teaches; The method of claim 1, wherein the similarity between the one of the plurality of second node embeddings associated with the first node and the one of the plurality of second node embeddings associated with the second node is based at least in part on a cosine similarity.
U(col. 28 lines 10-15)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention combine the modeling and capabilities of Singh with those of Upadhyay for the motivation of “different models have different capabilities”, thus diversity of concepts would be desired. (col. 1 lines 20-30)
Claim 13 is similar to claim 3
As per claim 4 Singh discloses; The method of claim 1, wherein performing iterative training of the LM and the GNN comprises: performing supervised training of the LM using textual representations of the plurality of nodes and one or more ground truth labels representing matches between one or more pairs of nodes; generating, using the LM, embeddings of the plurality of nodes and one or more LM pseudo-labels representing matches between one or more pairs of nodes predicted by the LM; performing supervised training of the GNN using the embeddings of the plurality of nodes and the LM pseudo-labels; generating, using the GNN, one or more GNN pseudo-labels representing matches between one or more pairs of nodes predicted by the GNN; and performing supervised training of the LM using the textual representations of the plurality of nodes and the one or more GNN pseudo-labels.
U(col. 19 lines 30-45 true positive labels)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention combine the modeling and capabilities of Singh with those of Upadhyay for the motivation of “different models have different capabilities”, thus diversity of concepts would be desired. (col. 1 lines 20-30)
Claim 14 is similar to claim 4
As per claim 7 Singh discloses;
The method of claim 6, wherein performing the unsupervised training of the GNN comprises: constructing a subgraph of the graph comprising one more root nodes from the plurality of nodes, one or more respective k-hop neighboring nodes of one or more root nodes, and one or more edges associated with the one or more root nodes that are randomly selected from the plurality of edges; obtaining, using the GNN with a skip connection, GNN embeddings for one or more nodes in the subgraph; generating projected embeddings by projecting, using a multi-layer perceptron, at least a portion of the GNN embeddings for textual attributes of the plurality of nodes corresponding to the subgraph; maximizing a similarity between representations of the one or more root nodes from the GNN embeddings and representations of the one or more root nodes from the projected embeddings using multiple negatives ranking (MNR) loss with in-batch negative sampling.
Singh (0095, root node,)
For ranking, see Upadhyay col./ 21.
The motivation for this combination would be similar to that provided for claim 4
Claim 17 is similar to claim 7
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. From IP.com;
Self-Supervised Aggregation Framework for Text-Attributed Heterogeneous Graphs Representation, IEEE 2026
A Topical Review of Graph Embedding in Graph Neural Networks, IEEE 2025
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693