DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshelev et al. (US 2021/0364808) in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0049739), each of record.
Regarding claim 1, Koshelev discloses a waveguide structure (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a first waveguide layer (412, Fig. 5B); and
a second waveguide layer (402, Fig. 5B) provided on the first waveguide layer,
wherein a refractive index of the first waveguide layer (412) is greater than a refractive index of the second waveguide layer (402) (para. [0049]), and
wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) is set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer (412) and the second waveguide layer is provided to exit the waveguide structure (Fig. 5B; para. [0052]).
Koshelev fails to explicitly disclose an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating.
However, Choi discloses a waveguide structure (Figs. 1, 3-7) comprising:
an output grating (150) provided on the second waveguide layer (123) (Fig. 1),
wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating, as in Choi, into the waveguide structure of Koshelev to output parallel light as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Koshelev discloses wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) increases in one direction (Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 18, Koshelev discloses a backlight unit (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a light source (590, Fig. 5C); and
a waveguide structure (400, Figs. 5) comprising:
a first waveguide layer (412, Fig. 5B); and
a second waveguide layer (402, Fig. 5B) provided on the first waveguide layer,
wherein a refractive index of the first waveguide layer (412) is greater than a refractive index of the second waveguide layer (402) (para. [0049]), and
wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) is set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer (412) and the second waveguide layer is provided to exit the waveguide structure (Fig. 5B; para. [0052]).
Koshelev fails to explicitly disclose an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating.
However, Choi discloses a backlight unit (Figs. 1, 3-7) comprising:
an output grating (150) provided on the second waveguide layer (123) (Fig. 1),
wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating, as in Choi, into the backlight unit of Koshelev to output parallel light as desired.
Regarding claim 19, Koshelev discloses a display apparatus (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a light source (590, Fig. 5C);
a waveguide structure (400, Figs. 5) comprising:
a first waveguide layer (412, Fig. 5B); and
a second waveguide layer (402, Fig. 5B) provided on the first waveguide layer,
wherein a refractive index of the first waveguide layer (412) is greater than a refractive index of the second waveguide layer (402) (para. [0049]), and
wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) is set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer (412) and the second waveguide layer is provided to exit the waveguide structure (Fig. 5B; para. [0052]); and
a spatial light modulator (550B, Fig. 5B) configured to diffract light provided from the waveguide structure (400) to provide a holographic image (paras. [0014, 0052]).
Koshelev fails to explicitly disclose an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating.
However, Choi discloses a display apparatus (Figs. 1, 3-9) comprising:
an output grating (150) provided on the second waveguide layer (123) (Fig. 1),
wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to and passes through the output grating, as in Choi, into the display apparatus of Koshelev to output parallel light as desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that in Koshelev, light 410/510 is evanescently out-coupled from layer 406 to light extractor 412, propagates through polarizer 436, and is out-coupled as output beam 516 in an upward direction. Whereas, Applicant argues, in Choi, output grating 150 is disposed on the bottom surface of the waveguide. However, as shown in Figs. 5 of Koshelev, output light passes through and exits the waveguide structure in both upward and downward directions. Therefore, Koshelev and view of Choi discloses the amended limitation of “light… is provided to and passes through the output grating to exit the waveguide structure,” as recited in claims 1, 18 and 19.
Applicant has further argued that Koshelev fails to disclose evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer and the second waveguide layer. However, Koshelev discloses light within the waveguide structure 400 (412+402) is trapped by total internal reflection (TIR) before being evanescently out-coupled from the waveguide 402 (para. [0052]).
Therefore, the previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Koshelev in view of Choi has been maintained and modified as necessary due to the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871