DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species “I” in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Based on the indication by Applicant that independent claims 1, 18 and 19 are readable on the elected species, it is best presumed that the elected species is Species “f”, drawn to the waveguide structure, including a thickness of the second waveguide layer set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer and the second waveguide layer is provided to the output grating, as shown in Figs. 14-17. Accordingly, dependent claim 4 includes features, such as a polarization conversion element and a polarization separation element, as shown in the embodiments of Figs. 1-13, hence non-elected subject matter. Therefore, claims 4-17 have been withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1, 2, 18 and 19 have been examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshelev et al. (US 2021/0364808) in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0049739).
Regarding claim 1, Koshelev discloses a waveguide structure (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a first waveguide layer (412, Fig. 5B); and
a second waveguide layer (402, Fig. 5B) provided on the first waveguide layer,
wherein a refractive index of the first waveguide layer (412) is greater than a refractive index of the second waveguide layer (402) (para. [0049]), and
wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) is set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer (412) and the second waveguide layer is provided (Fig. 5B; para. [0052]).
Koshelev fails to explicitly disclose an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to the output grating.
However, Choi discloses a waveguide structure (Figs. 1, 3-7) comprising:
an output grating (150) provided on the second waveguide layer (123) (Fig. 1),
wherein the waves are provided to the output grating (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to the output grating, as in Choi, into the waveguide structure of Koshelev to output parallel light as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Koshelev discloses wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) increases in one direction (Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 18, Koshelev discloses a backlight unit (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a light source (590, Fig. 5C); and
a waveguide structure (400, Figs. 5) comprising:
a first waveguide layer (412, Fig. 5B); and
a second waveguide layer (402, Fig. 5B) provided on the first waveguide layer,
wherein a refractive index of the first waveguide layer (412) is greater than a refractive index of the second waveguide layer (402) (para. [0049]), and
wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) is set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer (412) and the second waveguide layer is provided (Fig. 5B; para. [0052]).
Koshelev fails to explicitly disclose an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to the output grating.
However, Choi discloses a backlight unit (Figs. 1, 3-7) comprising:
an output grating (150) provided on the second waveguide layer (123) (Fig. 1),
wherein the waves are provided to the output grating (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to the output grating, as in Choi, into the backlight unit of Koshelev to output parallel light as desired.
Regarding claim 19, Koshelev discloses a display apparatus (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a light source (590, Fig. 5C);
a waveguide structure (400, Figs. 5) comprising:
a first waveguide layer (412, Fig. 5B); and
a second waveguide layer (402, Fig. 5B) provided on the first waveguide layer,
wherein a refractive index of the first waveguide layer (412) is greater than a refractive index of the second waveguide layer (402) (para. [0049]), and
wherein a thickness of the second waveguide layer (402) is set such that evanescent waves formed in the second waveguide layer by light totally reflected at an interface between the first waveguide layer (412) and the second waveguide layer is provided (Fig. 5B; para. [0052]); and
a spatial light modulator (550B, Fig. 5B) configured to diffract light provided from the waveguide structure (400) to provide a holographic image (paras. [0014, 0052]).
Koshelev fails to explicitly disclose an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to the output grating.
However, Choi discloses a display apparatus (Figs. 1, 3-9) comprising:
an output grating (150) provided on the second waveguide layer (123) (Fig. 1),
wherein the waves are provided to the output grating (para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an output grating provided on the second waveguide layer, wherein the waves are provided to the output grating, as in Choi, into the display apparatus of Koshelev to output parallel light as desired.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871