DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses a heat pump system for a vehicle (see abstract and fig. 1), comprising: a compressor (compressor 19), a condenser (condenser 12a), a heat-exchanger (at least one of heat exchangers 13, 14), an expansion valve (expansion valve 15), and an evaporator (evaporator 16) that are connected through a refrigerant line (at least refrigerant lines 11, 25, 32 and 51, see figs. 1-8); a gas-liquid separator (at least one of separator 17, 31, see figs. 1-8) configured to separate a refrigerant into a gaseous refrigerant and a liquid refrigerant (see paragraphs 100-102, where separator 31 separates refrigerant into liquid and gaseous components) and selectively supply the gaseous refrigerant to the compressor (gaseous refrigerant supplied to compressor 19 via line 32, see figs. 1-8 and paragraph 101, 104);
a first valve module (gas injection valve module 30 and/or valve 24, see figs. 1-8) disposed on the refrigerant line between the condenser and the heat-exchanger (gas injection valve module 30 placed between condenser 12a and heat exchangers 13, 14, see figs. 1-8) and connected to the condenser and the heat-exchanger, respectively (see figs. 1-8, where refrigerant lines 11, 25, 51 connect valve module 30 with condenser 12a and heat exchangers 13, 14), wherein the first valve module is connected to the refrigerant line at a downstream end of the heat-exchanger (via line 29 and valve 28, downstream side of heat exchanger 14 is connected to the valve module 30, see fig. 4) and the gas-liquid separator, respectively (via valve 34 or via line 25 to separators 31 or 17 respectively, see figs. 1-8); and
a second valve module (3-way connections and/or valves 23, 28, see below annotated fig. 3) disposed on the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger and the expansion valve (second valve module between heat exchanger 14 and expansion valve 15 on line 11, see below annotated fig. 3) and connected to the heat-exchanger and the expansion valve, respectively (see below annotated fig. 3 and figs. 1-8), wherein the second valve module is connected to the refrigerant line at an upstream end of the heat-exchanger (valve 23 connected to upstream side of heat exchanger 14 via lines 5 and 25, see figs. 1-8) and the gas-liquid separator, respectively (via line 51, liquid side of the separator 31 connected to one of the 3-way connections of the second valve module, see figs. 1-8), and connected to the refrigerant line at a downstream end of the evaporator (line 21 from valve 23 connected to refrigerant line 11 downstream of the evaporator 16, see fig. 3),
wherein at least one of the first valve module or the second valve module is configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while adjusting a flow of the refrigerant (by opening or closing one of the expansion valves 23, 34 and 35, see paragraphs 86-89, 107, 110-112; and figs. 1-8) based on a plurality of operation modes (opening/closing of expansion valves 34, 35 based on battery cooling mode or heating mode, see paragraphs 110-113).
In regards to claim 11, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses an accumulator (accumulator 17, paragraph 73) is disposed between the evaporator (16) and the compressor (see accumulator 17 between evaporator 16 and compressor 19, figs. 1-8).
In regards to claim 12, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in a first operation mode among the plurality of operation modes (see various operation modes, figs. 3-8, where refrigerant is directed through different branches of refrigerant lines):
the first valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the condenser to the heat-exchanger without expansion (see fig. 3, where first valve module is capable of supplying refrigerant to the heat exchanger 14 from the condenser 12a via valves 24 and/or 28 without expansion at expansion valve 15 and/or other expansion valves);
the second valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the heat-exchanger to the expansion valve without expansion (see fig. 3, where second valve 28 is capable of supplying refrigerant from the heat exchanger 14 to the expansion valve 15 without expansion at valve 28); and
the expansion valve (expansion valve 15) is configured to expand the supplied refrigerant and supply the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (refrigerant supplied from expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 13, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in a first operation mode among the plurality of operation modes (see various operation modes, figs. 3-8, where refrigerant is directed through different branches of refrigerant lines):
the first valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the condenser to the heat-exchanger without expansion (see fig. 3, where first valve module is capable of supplying refrigerant to the heat exchanger 14 from the condenser 12a via valves 24 and/or 28 without expansion at expansion valve 15 and/or other expansion valves);
the second valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the heat-exchanger (see valve 28 configured to expand refrigerant, introduced from heat exchanger 14, at valve 34, fig. 4) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the expansion valve (see expanded refrigerant supplied via line 51 to expansion valve 15, fig. 4); and
the expansion valve (expansion valve 15) is configured to supply the supplied refrigerant to the evaporator without expansion (refrigerant supplied from expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16 without expansion at valve 23, see figs. 3-4).
In regards to claim 14, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in a second operation mode among the plurality of operation modes (see various operation modes, figs. 3-8, where refrigerant is directed through different branches of refrigerant lines):
the first valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the condenser and supply the expanded refrigerant to the heat exchanger (see fig. 3, where refrigerant is expanded at valves 34 or 35 of the first valve module to supply the refrigerant to the heat exchanger 14 from the condenser 12a);
the second valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the heat-exchanger (see valve 28 configured to supply the refrigerant, introduced from heat exchanger 14, figs. 3-4) to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator without expansion (see refrigerant supplied via valve 28 and line 21 to joint B, without expansion at valve 15, while bypassing evaporator 16, see below annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 15, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in a third operation mode among the plurality of operation modes (see various operation modes, figs. 3-8, where refrigerant is directed through different branches of refrigerant lines):
the first valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the condenser to the heat-exchanger without expansion (see fig. 3, where first valve module is capable of supplying refrigerant to the heat exchanger 14 from the condenser 12a via valves 24 and/or 28 without expansion at expansion valve 15 and/or other expansion valves);
the first valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the heat exchanger (from HX 14) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 3, where refrigerant is expanded at valves 34 or 35 of the first valve module to supply the refrigerant from heat exchanger 14 to the separator 31 via line 29);
the gas-liquid separator is configured to supply the gaseous refrigerant to the compressor (gaseous refrigerant supplied from separator 31 to compressor 19 via line 32, see fig. 4), and to supply the liquid refrigerant to the second valve module (see liquid refrigerant supplied from separator 31 to 3-way joint A and valve 28 of second valve module, fig. 4);
the second valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the gas-liquid separator to the expansion valve without expansion (see fig. 4, 3, where refrigerant supplied via joint A to the expansion valve 15 without expansion at valve 23); and
the expansion valve is configured to expand the supplied refrigerant and supply the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (refrigerant supplied from expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 16, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in a third operation mode among the plurality of operation modes (see various operation modes, figs. 3-8, where refrigerant is directed through different branches of refrigerant lines):
the first valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the condenser to the heat-exchanger without expansion (see fig. 3, where first valve module is capable of supplying refrigerant to the heat exchanger 14 from the condenser 12a via valves 24 and/or 28 without expansion at expansion valve 15 and/or other expansion valves);
the first valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the heat exchanger (from HX 14) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 3, where refrigerant is expanded at valves 34 or 35 of the first valve module to supply the refrigerant from heat exchanger 14 to the separator 31 via line 29);
the gas-liquid separator is configured to supply the gaseous refrigerant to the compressor (gaseous refrigerant supplied from separator 31 to compressor 19 via line 32, see fig. 4), and to supply the liquid refrigerant to the second valve module (see liquid refrigerant supplied from separator 31 to 3-way joint A and valve 28 of second valve module, fig. 4);
the second valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the gas-liquid separator to the expansion valve (see fig. 3, where refrigerant from separator 31 is expanded at valve 35 and supplied to expansion valve 15); and
the expansion valve is configured to supply the supplied refrigerant to the evaporator without expansion (refrigerant supplied from expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16 without expansion at valve 23, see figs. 3-4).
In regards to claim 17, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in a fourth operation mode among the plurality of operation modes (see various operation modes, figs. 3-8, where refrigerant is directed through different branches of refrigerant lines):
the first valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the condenser and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 3, where first valve module is capable of supplying refrigerant from condense 12a to separator 31 via expansion valve 34);
the gas-liquid separator is configured to supply the gaseous refrigerant to the compressor (gaseous refrigerant supplied from separator 31 to compressor 19 via line 32, see fig. 4), and to supply the liquid refrigerant to the second valve module (see liquid refrigerant supplied from separator 31 to 3-way joint A and valve 28 of second valve module, fig. 4);
the second valve module is configured to expand the refrigerant introduced from the gas-liquid separator and supply the expanded refrigerant to the heat exchanger (see fig. 3, where refrigerant from separator 31 is expanded at valve 35 and supplied to the heat exchanger 13, 14); and
the second valve module is configured to supply the refrigerant introduced from the heat exchanger to the refrigerant line (line 21 at valve 23) at the downstream end of the evaporator without expansion (see fig. 3, where refrigerant from heat exchanger 14 is supplied to line 21 via valves 28 and 23 to bypass the expansion valve 15, evaporator 16 and expansion at valve 15).
the expansion valve is configured to supply the supplied refrigerant to the evaporator without expansion (refrigerant supplied from expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16 without expansion at valve 23, see figs. 3-4).
In regards to claim 18, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the refrigerant line comprises: a first line connecting the compressor and the condenser (refrigerant line 11 between compressor 19 and condenser 12a, fig. 3); a second line connecting the condenser and the first valve module (refrigerant line 11 between condenser 12a and at least valve module 30, fig. 3); a third line connecting the heat-exchanger and the first valve module (refrigerant line 11 between valve module 30 and heat exchangers 13, 14, fig. 3); a fourth line connecting the heat-exchanger and the second valve module (refrigerant line 11 between heat exchanger 14 and at least valve 28 and second valve module with valve 23, fig. 3); a fifth line connecting the evaporator and the second valve module (refrigerant line 11 between joint A and evaporator 16, see below annotated fig. 3); and a sixth line connecting the compressor and the evaporator (refrigerant line 11 between evaporator 16 and compressor 19, see figs. 1-8).
In regards to claim 19, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a first connection line having a first end connected to the first valve module (at least valve 34 and 3-way joint upstream of valve 34) and a second end connected to the gas-liquid separator (at least refrigerant line 11 between valve 34 and separator 31, fig. 3); a second connection line having a first end connected to the first valve module and a second end connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the heat-exchanger (refrigerant line 29 connected between first valve via 3-way joint connection at valve 34 and downstream end of heat exchanger 14 via valve 28, see figs. 3-8); a third connection line having a first end connected to the gas-liquid separator and a second end connected to the compressor (refrigerant line 32 connected between separator 31 and compressor 19, figs. 3-8); a fourth connection line having a first end connected to the gas-liquid separator and a second end connected to the second valve module (refrigerant line 51 connected between separator 31 and second valve module with joints A, B and valve 23, see figs. 3-8); a fifth connection line having a first end connected to the second valve module and a second end connected to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat-exchanger (refrigerant lines 5 and/or 25 connected between second valve module connection at 40 and refrigerant line at the upstream end of heat exchanger 14, see figs. 3-8); and a sixth connection line having a first end connected to the second valve module and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the compressor and the evaporator (refrigerant line 21 connected to valve 23 and 3-way joint B, where joint B is on the refrigerant lint between the compressor and the evaporator 16, see below annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 20, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 19 and further discloses that the gas-liquid separator is operated (separator 31 operated during cooling or heating modes, see figs. 4-6 and paragraphs 49-51) when the expanded refrigerant is supplied from the first valve module, in a state of cooling or heating a vehicle interior (see refrigerant expanded by valves 34, 35 supplied in a cooling or heating state, figs. 3-8 and paragraph 49), and configured to supply the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor through the third connection line (refrigerant supplied to compressor 19 from separator 31 via line 32, figs. 4, 6) to increase a flow amount of the refrigerant flowing through the refrigerant line (increasing flow of refrigerant, see abstract and paragraphs 16, 17, 43, 96).
In regards to claim 21, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 19 and further discloses that the plurality of operation modes comprises: a first operation mode for cooling a vehicle interior without operating the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 3, cooling mode without operating separator 31); a second operation mode for heating the vehicle interior without operating the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 5, heating mode without operating separator 31); a third operation mode for cooling the vehicle interior by operating the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 4, cooling mode with operation of separator 31); and a fourth operation mode for heating the vehicle interior by operating the gas-liquid separator (see fig. 6, heating mode with operation of separator 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim (US 2025/0153545 A1) hereinafter referred to as Kim'545.
In regards to claim 2, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first valve module (see figs. 1-8) has two inlet ports and two outlet ports (see below annotated fig. 3 and fig. 4) and comprises at least one 3-way valve (valve 24, see figs. 1-8).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach interconnected 3-way valves.
Kim’545 teaches a first valve module (300, see figs. 1-2) has two inlet ports and two outlet ports (see plurality of inlet and outlet ports for lines L1, L2, see figs. 1-2) and comprising two 3-way valves (3-way valves 340, 370) whose first ports are interconnected (see first ports 342 and 372 or ports 341 and 371 of 3-way valves 340 and 370, respectively, interconnected to each other via path CH2 fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by providing two 3-way valves whose first ports are interconnected based on the teachings of Kim’545 for the advantage of connecting plurality of heat exchange devices such as condenser, interior heat exchanger and exterior heat exchanger with plurality of other heat exchange devices such as evaporator, interior heat exchanger and chiller (see figs. 1-2, Kim’545).
In regards to claim 3, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 except connections of second and third ports of the two 3-way valves.
However, Kim’545 further discloses that a second port of a first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the condenser (port 341 of 3-way valve 340 connected to condenser 200, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 90); a remaining third port of the first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the heat-exchanger (port 343 of 3-way valve 340 connected to heat exchanger 600, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 112-113); a second port of a second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the heat-exchanger (port 371 of 3-way valve 370 connected to refrigerant line L2, which connects downstream end of heat exchanger 600 at branch part 900, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 122; Also see port 373 connected to joining part 1000, which downstream from the heat exchanger 600, figs. 1-2); and a remaining third port of the second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the gas-liquid separator (port 373 of 3-way valve 370 connected to the separator 500, see figs. 1-2; Also see port 371 of 3-way valve 370 connected to the separator 310, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by allowing a second port of a first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the condenser; a remaining third port of the first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the heat-exchanger; a second port of a second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the heat-exchanger; and a remaining third port of the second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the gas-liquid separator within the heat pump system of Kim based on the teachings of Kim’545 in order to control the flow of refrigerant from and to the plurality of interior and exterior heat exchangers based on the different modes of operation and conditions of refrigerant within the refrigerant circuit.
In regards to claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the second valve module (see figs. 1-8) has two inlet ports and three outlet ports (see at least two inlets and three outlet ports of the second valve module, below annotated fig. 3) and comprises two 3-way joints whose first ports are interconnected (see interconnected ports of multiple 3-way joints, positioned between lines 11 and 21, fig. 3); and a first one port among the three outlet ports (see below annotated fig. 3) is branched between the interconnected first ports and connected to the expansion valve (line 11 branches off from three-way joints and connects expansion valve 15, see fig. 3).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach interconnected 3-way valves.
Kim’545 teaches a second valve module (300, see figs. 1-2) has two inlet ports and three outlet ports (see plurality of inlet and outlet ports for lines L1, L2, see figs. 1-2) and comprising two 3-way valves (3-way valves 340, 370) whose first ports are interconnected (see first ports 342 and 372 or ports 341 and 371 of 3-way valves 340 and 370, respectively, interconnected to each other via path CH2 fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by providing two 3-way valves whose first ports are interconnected based on the teachings of Kim’545 for the advantage of connecting plurality of heat exchange devices such as condenser, interior heat exchanger and exterior heat exchanger with plurality of other heat exchange devices such as evaporator, interior heat exchanger and chiller (see figs. 1-2, Kim’545).
In regards to claim 7, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that a second port of a first 3-way joint valve among the at least two 3-way joints (see below annotated fig. 3) is connected to the gas-liquid separator (3-way joint connected to separator 31 via line 51, see fig. 3); a remaining third port of the first 3-way joint among the at least two 3-way joints is connected to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat-exchanger (3-way joint connected to the upstream side of the heat exchanger 14 via lines 25 and/or 29, see fig. 3); a second port of a second 3-way joint among the at least two 3-way joints is connected to the heat-exchanger (3-way joint connected to the downstream side of heat exchanger 14 via lines 11 and valve 28, see fig. 3); and a remaining third port of the second 3-way joint among the at least two 3-way joints is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator (3-way joint connected to the refrigerant line 11 downstream of evaporator 16, see fig. 3).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach connections of second and third ports of the two 3-way valves.
Kim’545 further discloses that a second port of a first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves of the second valve module is connected to the gas liquid separator (port 342 of 3-way valve 340 connected to separator 310 via branch 330, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 79); a remaining third port of the first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat-exchanger (port 343 of 3-way valve 340 connected to the upstream end of heat exchanger 600, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 112-113); a second port of a second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the heat-exchanger (port 371 of 3-way valve 370 connected to the heat exchanger 600 via refrigerant line L2 and through branch part 900, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 122; Also see port 373 connected to joining part 1000, which downstream from the heat exchanger 600, figs. 1-2); and a remaining third port of the second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator (port 373 of 3-way valve 370 connected to the separator 500 via part 1000, see figs. 1-3 and 7-9; Also see port 371 of 3-way valve 370 connected to the separator 310, fig. 2-3 and 7-9).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by allowing a second port of a first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the gas-liquid separator; a remaining third port of the first 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat-exchanger; a second port of a second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the heat-exchanger; and a remaining third port of the second 3-way valve among the two 3-way valves to connect to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator within the heat pump system of Kim based on the teachings of Kim’545 in order to control the flow of refrigerant from and to the plurality of interior and exterior heat exchangers based on the different modes of operation and conditions of refrigerant within the refrigerant circuit.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Suwa (US 2022/0034561 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first valve module (see figs. 1-8) has two inlet ports and two outlet ports (see below annotated fig. 3 and fig. 4) and comprises at least one 3-way valve (valve 24, see figs. 1-8).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach a 4-way valve.
Suwa discloses a 4-way valve (4-way valve 24, see fig. 11) as part of the first valve module (valve 22, junctions 13b, 13c, and valve 16a as part of 4-way integrated valve 24, see paragraphs 302-306, 464-466 and figs. 10-11).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by providing a 4-way valve whose ports are interconnected with the ports of the first valve module based on the teachings of Suwa for the advantage of connecting plurality of heat exchange devices such as condenser, interior heat exchanger and exterior heat exchanger with plurality of other heat exchange devices such as evaporator, interior heat exchanger and chiller.
In regards to claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses that the first valve module (see figs. 1-8) has two inlet ports and two outlet ports (see below annotated fig. 3 and fig. 4) and comprises at least one 3-way valve (valve 24, see figs. 1-8); wherein: a first port of a valve (34) of the first valve module (30) is connected to the condenser (34 connected to condenser 12a via line 11, see fig. 3); first port of a second valve (valve 35) of the first valve module is connected to the heat-exchanger (see port of valve 35 connected to heat exchangers 13, 14, fig. 3; Also see port of valve 24 connected to heat exchangers 13, 14, fig. 3); second port of the second valve (valve 35) is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the heat-exchanger (via refrigerant lines 25, 29 and/or 51, valves 34, 35 of device 30 are connected to valve 28, which is downstream of heat exchanger 14, see figs. 1-8); and another port of the valve (valve 34) is connected to the gas-liquid separator (second end of valve 34 connected to separator 31, see fig. 3).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach connections of 4-way valve with condenser, heat exchanger or separator.
Suwa discloses a 4-way valve (4-way valve 24, see fig. 11) wherein: a first port of the one 4-way valve is connected to the condenser (port 24a connected to joint 13b, which connects with condenser 12, see figs. 10-11 and paragraph 304); a second port of the one 4-way valve is connected to the heat-exchanger (port 24b connected to heat exchanger 18, see paragraph 304 and figs. 10-11); a third port of the one 4-way valve is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the heat-exchanger (port 24c connected to downstream side of heat exchanger 18, see figs. 10-11 and paragraph 307); and a remaining fourth port of the one 4-way valve is connected to the gas-liquid separator (port 24d connected to joint 13d, which connects with separator 15 via joints 13f and 13c, see figs. 10-11).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by allowing a first port of the one 4-way valve to connect to the condenser; a second port of the one 4-way valve to connect to the heat-exchanger; a third port of the one 4-way valve to connect to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the heat-exchanger; and a remaining fourth port of the one 4-way valve to connect to the gas-liquid separator within the heat pump system of Kim based on the teachings of Suwa in order to control the flow of refrigerant from and to the plurality of interior and exterior heat exchangers based on the different modes of operation and conditions of refrigerant within the refrigerant circuit.
In regards to claim 8, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the second valve module (see figs. 1-8) has two inlet ports and three outlet ports (see at least two inlets and three outlet ports of the second valve module, below annotated fig. 3) and comprises at least one 3-way valve (valve 28, see fig. 3); three 3-way joints and 3-way valve (28) whose first ports are interconnected (see interconnected ports of multiple 3-way joints, positioned between lines 11 and 21, fig. 3).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach interconnected 4-way valve.
Suwa discloses a 4-way valve (4-way valve 24, see fig. 11) as part of the second valve module (valve 22b, junctions 13b, 13c, and valve 16a as part of 4-way integrated valve 24, see paragraphs 302-306, 464-466 and figs. 10-11) and a 3-way junction (13a) with two 2-way valves (valves 14a, 14b) on each of the separating branch of 3-way junction (13a); wherein the 3-way junction (13a) and the first port of the 4-way valve are interconnected (13a and 13b are interconnected via 21c, see fig. 10).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have consolidated the 3-way connections and joints with multiple 2-way valves into 3-way valves within the refrigerant circuit of Kim to effectively and efficiently manage the flow of refrigerant from one direction into second or third directions, simultaneously or alternatively with just one controlled valve. It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by providing a 4-way valve whose ports are interconnected with the ports of the 3-way valve of the second valve module based on the teachings of Suwa for the advantage of reducing pressure loss through number of joints and connections by consolidating the joints and pipe connections within a combination of 4-way and 3-way valve system.
In regards to claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that a second port of the 3-way valve (28) of the second valve module (see below annotated fig. 3) is connected to the heat exchanger (one of the ports of 3-way valve 28 connected to the heat exchanger 14, see fig. 3); a remaining third port of the 3-way valve is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator (line 11 from valve 28 connected to line 21, which is connected to the downstream end of evaporator 16 via joint B, see below annotated fig. 3);
one of the ports of a 3-way joint of the second valve module is connected to the gas-liquid separator (see line 51 connected between a 3-way joint A and gas-liquid separator 31, below annotated fig. 3);
another port of a 3-way joint/connection of the second valve module is connected to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat-exchanger (second valve module connected to upstream end of heat exchangers 13 and/or 14 via refrigerant lines 29, 5 and 25, which are connected to 3-way valve 28, second valve module connection at 40 and another port of 3-way joint B, respectively, see below fig. 3 and figs. 1-8); and
a remaining another port of the 3-way joint of the second valve module is connected to the expansion valve (see line 11 from another port of 3-way joint A connected to the expansion valve 15, below annotated fig. 3).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach connections of 4-way valve with separator, heat exchanger or expansion valve.
Suwa discloses a 4-way valve (4-way valve 24, see fig. 11) wherein: a second port of the 4-way valve is connected to the gas-liquid separator (port 24a connected to joint 13b, which connects with gas-liquid separator 15 via line 21b and joint 13f, see figs. 10-11); a third port of the 4-way valve is connected to the upstream end of the heat-exchanger (port 24b connected to upstream end of heat exchanger 18, see paragraph 304 and figs. 10-11); and a remaining fourth port of the 4-way valve is connected to the expansion valve (ports 24c and/or 24d connected to the expansion valves 16a, 16b and/or 16c via joints 13b, 13c, 13d, 13e, 13f and/or 13g, see figs. 10-11 and paragraphs 302, 311-312, and 324-327).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by allowing a second port of the 4-way valve to connect to the gas-liquid separator; a third port of the 4-way valve to connect to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat-exchanger; and a remaining fourth port of the 4-way valve to connect to the expansion valve within the heat pump system of Kim based on the teachings of Suwa in order to control the flow of refrigerant from and to the plurality of interior and exterior heat exchangers based on the different modes of operation and conditions of refrigerant within the refrigerant circuit.
In regards to claim 10, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that a second port of the 3-way valve (28) of the second valve module (see below annotated fig. 3) is connected to the gas-liquid separator (see line 51 connected between a 3-way joint A and gas-liquid separator 31, below annotated fig. 3, wherein, line 11 connects second port of valve 28 with joint A, see fig. 3);
a remaining third port of the 3-way valve is connected to the refrigerant line at the upstream end of the heat exchanger (see line 29 from third port of the 3-way valve 28 connected upstream of heat exchangers 13, 14, fig. 3);
one of the ports of a 3-way joint of the second valve module is connected to the heat exchanger (see line 11 connected between a 3-way joint A and the heat exchanger 14 via valve 28, fig. 3; Also see line connected between connection point at 40 and the heat exchanger 13, fig. 3);
another port of a 3-way joint/connection of the second valve module is connected to the expansion valve (see line 11 from another port of 3-way joint A connected to the expansion valve 15, below annotated fig. 3); and
a remaining another port of the 3-way joint of the second valve module is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator (see line 21 from another of the ports of 3-way joint A connected to a refrigerant line 11 at joint B, which is at the downstream end of the evaporator 16, see below annotated fig. 3).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach connections of 4-way valve with heat exchanger, expansion valve or evaporator.
Suwa discloses a 4-way valve (4-way valve 24, see fig. 11) wherein: a second port of the 4-way valve is connected to the heat exchanger (port 24b connected to upstream end of heat exchanger 18, see paragraph 304 and figs. 10-11); a third port of the 4-way valve is connected to the expansion valve (ports 24c and/or 24d connected to the expansion valves 16a, 16b and/or 16c via joints 13b, 13c, 13d, 13e, 13f and/or 13g, see figs. 10-11 and paragraphs 302, 311-312, and 324-327); and a remaining fourth port of the 4-way valve is connected to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator (port 24d connected to downstream end 13d of evaporator 19, see figs. 10-11).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second valve module of the heat pump system of Kim by allowing a second port of the 4-way valve to connect to the heat-exchanger; a third port of the 4-way valve to connect to the expansion valve; and a remaining fourth port of the 4-way valve to connect to the refrigerant line at the downstream end of the evaporator within the heat pump system of Kim based on the teachings of Suwa in order to control the flow of refrigerant from and to the plurality of interior and exterior heat exchangers based on the different modes of operation and conditions of refrigerant within the refrigerant circuit.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763