DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 10/8/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 10/23/2024 and 6/10/2025 have been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato (EP 2405691 A1).
Consider claims 1, 6, and 11, Kato discloses a method (see figure 5, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises at least one processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, and the at least one memory stores programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform operations (see figure 12, wherein disclosed is communication between a mobile station and a base station, and Examiner submits it is inherent they each comprise said processor and memory), and a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by at least one processor of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform operations (see figure 12, wherein Examiner submits that is inherent that said devices comprise said computer readable medium), wherein the method is applied to a terminal (see paragraph 1: an intermittent reception method for a mobile station apparatus), and comprises:
configuring a discontinuous reception (DRX) function based on DRX configuration information (see figures 15 and 16; also, see paragraph 28: DRX mode); receiving first indication information from a network device (see paragraphs 30, 39, and 42: the mobile station receives parameters from the base station); and deactivating the DRX function based on the first indication information (see paragraph 47: the base station sends a message that may be a message of a higher layer (RRC) or may be a flag that starts/terminates the intermittent reception operation).
Consider claims 3, 8, and 13, Kato discloses that the first indication information comprises duration indication information, and the duration indication information indicates duration of deactivating the DRX function; and the deactivating the DRX function based on the first indication information comprises: deactivating the DRX function within the duration indicated by the duration indication information, and activating the DRX function beyond the duration indicated by the duration indication information (see paragraph 47: the message that indicates when to start/terminate the DRX function (i.e., deactivate/active the DRX function) must comprise said duration information in order to indicate when to start and when to terminate the DRX function).
Consider claims 4, 9, and 14, Kato discloses receiving second indication information from the network device; and activating the DRX function based on the second indication information (see paragraph 47: a message that starts/terminates the intermittent reception operation; thus, for example, receiving the message a first time would result in deactivating the DRX function and receiving the message a second time would result in activating the DRX function).
Consider claims 17 and 19, Kato discloses that the first indication information comprises frequency band indication information, and the frequency band indication information indicates one or more communication frequency bands (see paragraphs 30-31, wherein the CC is equivalent to frequency band information); and the deactivating the DRX function based on the first indication information comprises: deactivating the DRX function on a communication frequency band indicated by the frequency band indication information (see paragraphs 30 and 47, wherein disclosed is deactivating the DRX function based on parameters including the frequency band).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 15-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (EP 2405691 A1) in view of He (USPAN 2019/0254110).
Consider claims 2, 7, and 12, although Kato discloses deactivating the DRX function based on the first indication information (see above), Kato does not specifically disclose that the first indication information comprises cell indication information and bandwidth part (BWP) indication information; the cell indication information indicates one or more serving cells or one or more serving cell sets; the BWP indication information indicates one or more BWP indexes.
He discloses that the first indication information comprises cell indication information and bandwidth part (BWP) indication information; the cell indication information indicates one or more serving cells or one or more serving cell sets; the BWP indication information indicates one or more BWP indexes (see paragraph 271: a BWP control bitmap or a BWP group index for each serving cell can be included in the DCI format providing the WUS to indicate the BWPs and the corresponding serving cells where the UE wakes up (or remains inactive) in the following DRX cycle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kato and combine it with the noted teachings of He. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for reducing power consumption at a user equipment and to enable power savings for a user equipment in new radio systems (see paragraph 7 of He).
Consider claims 5, 10, and 15, Kato discloses receiving second indication information from the network device; and activating the DRX function based on the second indication information (see paragraph 47: a message that starts/terminates the intermittent reception operation; thus, for example, receiving the message a first time would result in deactivating the DRX function and receiving the message a second time would result in activating the DRX function). Although Kato discloses activating the DRX function based on the second indication information (see above), Kato does not specifically disclose that the second indication information comprises cell indication information and bandwidth part (BWP) indication information; the cell indication information indicates one or more serving cells or one or more serving cell sets; the BWP indication information indicates one or more BWP indexes.
He discloses that the second indication information comprises cell indication information and bandwidth part (BWP) indication information; the cell indication information indicates one or more serving cells or one or more serving cell sets; the BWP indication information indicates one or more BWP indexes (see paragraph 271: a BWP control bitmap or a BWP group index for each serving cell can be included in the DCI format providing the WUS to indicate the BWPs and the corresponding serving cells where the UE wakes up (or remains inactive) in the following DRX cycle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kato and combine it with the noted teachings of He. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for reducing power consumption at a user equipment and to enable power savings for a user equipment in new radio systems (see paragraph 7 of He).
Consider claims 16, 18, and 20, Kato does not specifically disclose that the first indication information is carried in a media access control control element (MAC CE) or L1 signaling
He discloses that the first indication information is carried in a media access control control element (MAC CE) or L1 signaling (see paragraphs 45 and 223: MAC CE provides the activation/deactivation command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kato and combine it with the noted teachings of He. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for reducing power consumption at a user equipment and to enable power savings for a user equipment in new radio systems (see paragraph 7 of He).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412
JAMAL JAVAID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412