DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Currently, claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 are amended. Claims 3 and 9 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112 ¶ (f)
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: region detection module, region extractor module, region packing module in Claims 1& 2; unpacking module and frame reconstruction module in claims 6 & 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce et al. (US 20230067541, hereinafter Boyce) in view of Wang et al. (US 20190253719, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 1, Boyce discloses a video encoder for compression using region packing (FIG. 2) comprising:
a region detection module receiving a video frame for encoding, identifying at least one region of interest in the video frame based on target machine video task parameters, and generating a bounding box for each identified region of interest ([0031], FIG. 1, ROI detector and extractor 111 of patch-based encoder 100, receives video 102 and detects and extracts patches or regions of interest detected to include a face such that machine learning system 120; [0042] FIG. 3, detect and extract regions of interest 301, 302, 303, 304 inclusive of indicating a bounding box around each of regions of interest 301, 302, 303, 304);
a region packing module arranging the bounding boxes in a packed frame, the packed frame substantially omitting data in the frame outside the identified regions of interest ([0046], FIG. 5, For frame 501 (for time or time stamp t), a corresponding atlas 511 is formed including regions of interest 301, 302, 303 as patches therein. Metadata 521 is generated for atlas 511 to provide a mapping of regions of interest 301, 302, 303 in atlas 511; [0047] In a subsequent frame 502 (for time or time stamp t+x), region of interest 304 is detected for the first time. For frame 502, a corresponding atlas 512 is formed including regions of interest 301, 302, 303, 304 as patches therein such that formation of atlas 512 includes a resize operation 523 to change one or both of a height and width of the atlas
a video encoder receiving the packed frame and generating an encoded bitstream for a machine task therefrom ([0034] FIG. 2, Atlas constructor 212 outputs features for encoding using feature encoder 213 of patch-based encoder 200 and outputs metadata describing the features and the atlases, which is encoded by metadata encoder 214 of patch-based encoder 200. The outputs (e.g., bitstreams) of the video encoder and metadata encoder are multiplexed together via multiplexer 215 of patch-based encoder 200 into one or more bitstream(s) 205),the bitstream being configured to form an reconstructed frame when decoded, the bitstream including a header associated with the packed frame, the header including a number parameter indicating the number of regions of interest in the packed frame ([0037] metadata (header) encoded and decoded includes information about the number of patches (e.g., regions of interest), and
for each region of interest in the packed frame, a third parameter indicating a width of the region of interest in the reconstructed frame, and a fourth parameter indicating a height of the region of interest in the reconstructed frame ([0037], metadata provides correspondence, for a patch (e.g., region of interest), between the location (and size) of the patch in the input video and the location (and size) of the patch in one of any number of atlases. For each patch, the information may include the following: original image patch position and size (top, left, width, height) and atlas patch position and size (top, left, width, height)).
Boyce does not explicitly disclose a first parameter indicating a horizontal coordinate for the region of interest in the reconstructed frame, a second parameter indicating a vertical coordinate of the region of interest in the reconstructed frame.
Wang teaches a first parameter indicating a horizontal coordinate for the region of interest in the reconstructed frame, a second parameter indicating a vertical coordinate of the region of interest in the reconstructed frame ([0006] coordinates of the center, the number of layers N of the circumferences, and the radii of respective layers of the circumferences are written into the sequence header of the code stream. The center of the ROIs is the center C of the circumferences on the panoramic spherical surface, coordinates of which center may be expressed by longitude-latitude (C.x C.y); a size of an ROI is expressed by a radius size R of a corresponding circumference on the panoramic spherical surface)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of header of the encoded bitstream for parameters of the bounding box as taught by Wang ([0121]) into the encoding & decoding system of Boyce in order to provide writing the information comprising the center part, the number of layers, and the size of each layer of the region of interest into the sequence header of the bit stream after the sizes of the layers of the region of interest are obtained to greatly reduce a bit rate required for encoding and transmission while ensuring high image quality in a region of interest (Wang, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 2, Boyce in view of Wang discloses the encoder of claim 1, Boyce discloses wherein the bounding box is a rectangle ([0040] In the example syntax, the information is signaled for a rectangular bounding box around a patch. However, in some embodiments, patches may overlap in an atlas if a patch does not occupy all sample position of the rectangular bounding box. As shown in Table 1, in some embodiments, for each patch (e.g., region of interest), a top left position in the atlas (patch_source_pos_x, patch_source_pos_y), a size in the atlas (patch_source_pos_width, patch_source_pos_height), and a top left position in the frame (patch_cur_pic_pos_x, patch_cur_pic_pos_y) are provided. Furthermore scaling information to size the patch (e.g., region of interest) is provided first with a flag to indicate whether scaling is employed (patch_scale_flag).
Regarding Claim 4, Boyce in view of Wang discloses the encoder of claim 1, Boyce discloses wherein the region detector includes at least one object detector ([0031], FIG. 1, ROI detector and extractor 111 of patch-based encoder 100, receives video 102 and detects and extracts patches or regions of interest detected to include a face such that machine learning system 120; [0042] FIG. 3, detect and extract regions of interest 301, 302, 303, 304 inclusive of indicating a bounding box around each of regions of interest 301, 302, 303, 304);
Regarding Claims 6-8, video decoder claims 6-9 of using the corresponding video encoder claimed in claims 1-2 & 4, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce et al. (US 20230067541, hereinafter Boyce) in view of Eilat et al. (US 20110228846, hereinafter Eilat).
Regarding Claim 5, Boyce discloses the encoder of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the region can comprise a region of color.
Eilat teaches the region can comprise a region of color ([0015], the identifier calculates a color probability distribution that takes into account the probability of a pixel having the same color as a color found in the region of interest. The color probability distribution is a probability density function that represents the probability that a color appears in the region of interest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of region of color as taught by Eilat ([0015]) into the encoding & decoding of Boyce in order to provide systems for effectively tracking and compressing the region of interest throughout the video sequence in a simple and cost effective manner a higher quality (Eilat, [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487