DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on March 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. The remaining claims are in original or previously presented form. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1 and 12 are the independent claims.
Applicant's arguments, see applicant’s Remarks for U.S.C. § 102 and U.S.C. § 103, filed on 03/17/2026 regarding U.S.C. § 102 and U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160205521 A1) in view of Na Yeon (KR 101861802 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a signal conversion device, comprising:
a communication circuit (Kim, paragraph 10, communication network); and
a processor (Kim, paragraph 90, a processor) configured to:
convert a first signal into a second signal using at least one of a first protocol, a second protocol different from the first protocol, or any combination thereof (Kim discloses converting a normalized data(similar to the first signal) to a vehicle signal using a specific protocol that indicates its signal conversion capability. Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network), by receiving the first signal using the first protocol from a vehicle through the communication circuit(Kim, paragraph 22, convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network), and
transmit the second signal to an electronic device connected to the vehicle(Kim teaches the transmission of a control signal, similar to the second signal that controls component of a vehicle, to a portable terminal. Kim, paragraph 75, by pressing the hard key or the touch screen device, the user may transmit a control signal to the connected portable terminal 200),
wherein the first signal includes:
a vehicle control signal generated by the vehicle (Kim, paragraph 88, the control unit 180 generates a control signal for controlling each component of the vehicle 10 as well as the AVN system 100), and
the vehicle control signal corresponds to a specified function executed by the electronic device (Kim, paragraph 28, receiving signals from the portable terminals according to types of the terminals; generating normalized data based on the signals received from the portable terminals; and generating a control signal for controlling a corresponding component in the vehicle based on the normalized data), and
wherein the second signal includes a message for allowing the
electronic device to execute the specified function, and (Kim discloses the controlling of vehicle functions based on a signal(message) received from portable device through its mirroring service. Kim, paragraph 88, the control unit 180 generates a control signal for controlling each component of the vehicle 10 as well as the AVN system. Kim, paragraph 63, the mirroring service is a technique for outputting information to the display unit 110 or controlling the vehicle 10 based on a signal received from the portable terminal 200 ).
While Kim teaches about conversion of signals and control of operation of a vehicle components through portable terminal, it fails to disclose a system wherein an external electronic device includes a special equipment vehicle controller including a controller configured to execute additional functions that are different from default functions of the vehicle.
However, Na Yeon, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a control system for a refrigerator truck using a user terminal, discloses a system wherein an external electronic device includes a special equipment vehicle controller including a controller configured to execute additional functions that are different from default functions of the vehicle (The present specification discloses the external electronic device incorporates a controller for executing additional functions that are different from default functions of a vehicle such as function executed by a refrigerated vehicle. Similarly, Na Yeon discloses controlling the refrigeration apparatus of a vehicle using user terminal (external device), which is different from default functions of a vehicle. See Na Yeon, paragraph 36, for a user terminal 200 [that] is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus 100 of the refrigerator compartment and is controlled by the controller 110 through Bluetooth or NFC ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim with Na Yeon to control special equipment of a vehicle such as refrigerator using user terminal. By operating the refrigerator equipment using signals received from a user terminal, it is possible to receive the operation status of the refrigerating apparatus and a freezer’s condition in real-time on the same device. Additionally, the refrigerator can be controlled via the user terminal, without requiring the user to be inside the refrigerator compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kim with Na Yeon to control special equipment of a vehicle such as refrigerator using user terminal, and to receive the operation status of the refrigerator’s freezer in real-time on the same device. Additionally, the refrigerator can be controlled via the user terminal, without requiring the user to be inside the refrigerator compartment(See Na Yeon, paragraph 38).
This conclusion of obviousness corresponds to KSR rationale “A”: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2141, subsection III.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus), wherein the first protocol includes at least one of a controller area network (CAN), a local interconnect network (LIN), Ethernet, or any combination thereof (Kim, paragraph 86, the vehicle communication network may include various wired and wireless communication networks, for example, a controller area network (CAN)), and
wherein the second protocol includes an RS-232C protocol, an RS-422 protocol, an RS-485 protocol, an analog I/O (input/output) protocol, a near field communication (NFC) protocol (Kim, paragraph 60, the AVN system 100 may include a terminal connection unit… has wireless communication modules, such as…a near field communication (NFC) module. Kim, paragraph 10, The vehicle may further include a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network. ), an ultra-wideband (UWB) protocol, a dedicated short-range communication (DSRC) protocol, a wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE) protocol, a cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) protocol, a standardized mobile communication protocol, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1(Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus), wherein the processor is configured to: search for a first signal corresponding to the specified function in the vehicle by receiving a user input for executing the specified function from the electronic device (Kim discloses determining matching signal (similar to searching signal) with the normalized data(that corresponds to the first signal) that is converted based on signal from portable terminal. Kim, paragraph 132, vehicle signal conversion unit 160 determines a signal value matching with received normalized data, and transmits a vehicle signal including the matching signal value to the vehicle communication unit. Kim, paragraph 72, the input unit 120 enables the user to input various control commands for the AVN system 100 or the portable terminal 200, and has a plurality of screens to enable the user to input a control command. Kim, paragraph 76, a terminal communication unit 150 for converting a signal received from the portable terminal 200 into normalized data ); convert the searched first signal into a second signal that causes the electronic device to execute the specified function (Kim, paragraph 10, vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network); and transmit the second signal to the electronic device (Kim, paragraph 75, by pressing the hard key or the touch screen device, the user may transmit a control signal to the connected portable terminal 200).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a signal conversion method, comprising:
converting, by a processor (Kim, paragraph 90, a processor), a first signal into a second signal using at least one of a first protocol, a second protocol different from the first protocol, or any combination thereof (Kim discloses converting a normalized data(similar to the first signal) to a vehicle signal using a specific protocol that indicates its signal conversion capability. Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network), by receiving the first signal using the first protocol from a vehicle through a communication circuit (Kim, paragraph 22, convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network); and
transmitting, by the processor, the second signal to an electronic device connected to the vehicle (Kim teaches the transmission of a control signal, similar to the second signal that controls component of a vehicle, to a portable terminal. Kim, paragraph 75, by pressing the hard key or the touch screen device, the user may transmit a control signal to the connected portable terminal 200),
wherein the first signal includes a vehicle control signal generated by the vehicle(Kim, paragraph 88, The control unit 180 generates a control signal for controlling each component of the vehicle 10 as well as the AVN system 100), and the vehicle control signal corresponds to a specified function executed by the electronic device (Kim, paragraph 28, receiving signals from the portable terminals according to types of the terminals; generating normalized data based on the signals received from the portable terminals; and generating a control signal for controlling a corresponding component in the vehicle based on the normalized data), and
wherein the second signal includes a message for allowing the electronic device to execute the specified function, and (Kim discloses the controlling of vehicle functions based on a signal(message) received from portable device through its mirroring service. Kim, paragraph 88, the control unit 180 generates a control signal for controlling each component of the vehicle 10 as well as the AVN system. Kim, paragraph 63, the mirroring service is a technique for outputting information to the display unit 110 or controlling the vehicle 10 based on a signal received from the portable terminal 200).
While Kim teaches about conversion of signals and control of operation of a vehicle components through portable terminal, it fails to disclose a method wherein an external electronic device includes a special equipment vehicle controller including a controller configured to execute additional functions that are different from default functions of the vehicle.
However, Na Yeon, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a control system for a refrigerator truck using a user terminal, discloses a method wherein an external electronic device includes a special equipment vehicle controller including a controller configured to execute additional functions that are different from default functions of the vehicle (The present specification discloses the external electronic device incorporates a controller for executing additional functions that are different from default functions of a vehicle such as function executed by a refrigerated vehicle. Similarly, Na Yeon discloses controlling the refrigeration apparatus of a vehicle using user terminal (external device), which is different from default functions of a vehicle. See Na Yeon, paragraph 36, for a user terminal 200 [that] is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus 100 of the refrigerator compartment and is controlled by the controller 110 through Bluetooth or NFC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kim with Na Yeon to control special equipment of a vehicle such as refrigerator using user terminal, and to receive the operation status of the refrigerator’s freezer in real-time on the same device. Additionally, the refrigerator can be controlled via the user terminal, without requiring the user to be inside the refrigerator compartment(See Na Yeon, paragraph 38).
This conclusion of obviousness corresponds to KSR rationale “A”: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2141, subsection III.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim Na and Yeon teaches the signal conversion method of claim 12 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus), wherein the first protocol includes at least one of a controller area network (CAN), a local interconnect network (LIN), Ethernet, or any combination thereof (Kim, Paragraph 86, the vehicle communication network may include various wired and wireless communication networks, for example, a controller area network (CAN)), and wherein the second protocol includes an RS-232C protocol, an RS-422 protocol, an RS-485 protocol, an analog I/O (input/output) protocol, a near field communication (NFC) protocol (Kim, paragraph 60, the AVN system 100 may include a terminal connection unit… has wireless communication modules, such as…a near field communication (NFC) module. Kim, paragraph 10, the vehicle may further include a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network.), an ultra-wideband (UWB) protocol, a dedicated short-range communication (DSRC) protocol, a wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE) protocol, a cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) protocol, a standardized mobile communication protocol, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion method of claim 12 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus), further comprising: searching for a first signal corresponding to the specified function in the vehicle by receiving a user input for executing the specified function from the electronic device (Kim discloses determining matching signal (similar to searching signal) with the normalized data(that corresponds to the first signal) that is converted based on signal from portable terminal. Kim, paragraph 132, vehicle signal conversion unit 160 determines a signal value matching with received normalized data, and transmits a vehicle signal including the matching signal value to the vehicle communication unit. Kim, paragraph 72, The input unit 120 enables the user to input various control commands for the AVN system 100 or the portable terminal 200, and has a plurality of screens to enable the user to input a control command. Kim, paragraph 76, a terminal communication unit 150 for converting a signal received from the portable terminal 200 into normalized data ); converting the searched first signal into a second signal that causes the electronic device to execute the specified function (Kim, paragraph 10, vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network); and transmitting the second signal to the electronic device(Kim, paragraph 75, by pressing the hard key or the touch screen device, the user may transmit a control signal to the connected portable terminal 200).
Claims 2, 3, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160205521 A1) in view of Na Yeon (KR 101861802 B1) ) in further view of Jeong (US 20190132424 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus),
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about conversion of signals and control of operation of a vehicle’s special equipment through portable terminal, it fails to disclose a system wherein the processor is configured to: identify a protocol through which transmission and reception are possible via a port to which the electronic device is connected among the first protocol, the second protocol, or any combination thereof, by identifying the port to which the electronic device is connected; and convert the first signal into the second signal using the protocol through which transmission and reception are possible.
However, Jeong, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a method for converting a protocol by a type of data, discloses a system wherein the processor is configured to: identify a protocol through which transmission and reception are possible via a port to which the electronic device is connected among the first protocol, the second protocol, or any combination thereof, by identifying the port to which the electronic device is connected (Jeong discusses different ports and protocols via which transmission of data packets can be performed. Jeong further discloses a communication with an external server corresponding to electronic device offering processing capabilities and network access. Jeong, paragraph 13, The protocol conversion device assigns a new protocol identifier to an Ethernet type field of an MAC header area and assigns channel information, a CAN ID. Jeong, paragraph 17,The protocol conversion device assigns the CAN ID and the channel information to a sequence number field of a header area of a TCP packet that is sent and received during establishment of a virtual communication port between a vehicle system and an external server. Jeong, paragraph 19 The protocol conversion device changes a port number of a source, which is assigned to a source port field of the header area of the TCP packet and a source port field of a header area of a UDP packet, to assign the CAN ID and changes a port number of a destination, which is assigned to a destination port field of the header area of the TCP packet and a destination port field of the header area of the UDP packet, to assign the CAN ID); and convert the first signal into the second signal using the protocol through which transmission and reception are possible (Jeong, paragraph 18, the protocol conversion device determines the UDP/TCP layer conversion method as the protocol conversion method based on the static conversion table and converts the communication protocol of the CAN data to a UDP/TCP protocol based on the UDP/TCP layer conversion method.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Jeong to transmit and receive signal using specific ports and protocols to external server such as CAN protocol. By transmission of signals through specific identified protocols and different ports, it is possible to separate communication channels and implement critical operation such as braking and steering signals with specific ports. Using multiple dedicated ports and protocols allows the integration of multiple electronic devices to a vehicle system without conflict reducing compatibility issues.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus), wherein the processor is configured to convert the first signal into the second signal based on a conversion table stored in a memory (Jeong, paragraph 56, the protocol conversion device 130 may call a conversion table registered in the storage 190 and determine a protocol conversion method of corresponding data based on the called conversion table.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion method of claim 12(Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus),
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about conversion of signals and control of operation of a vehicle’s special equipment through portable terminal, it fails to disclose a method further comprising: identifying a protocol through which transmission and reception are possible via a port to which the electronic device is connected among the first protocol, the second protocol, or any combination thereof, by identifying the port to which the electronic device is connected; and converting the first signal into the second signal using the protocol through which transmission and reception are possible.
However, Jeong, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a method for converting a protocol by a type of data, discloses a method further comprising: identifying a protocol through which transmission and reception are possible via a port to which the electronic device is connected among the first protocol, the second protocol, or any combination thereof, by identifying the port to which the electronic device is connected (Jeong discusses different ports and protocols via which transmission of data packets can be performed. Jeong further discloses a communication with an external server corresponding to electronic device offering processing capabilities and network access. Jeong, paragraph 13, The protocol conversion device assigns a new protocol identifier to an Ethernet type field of an MAC header area and assigns channel information, a CAN ID. Jeong, paragraph 17,The protocol conversion device assigns the CAN ID and the channel information to a sequence number field of a header area of a TCP packet that is sent and received during establishment of a virtual communication port between a vehicle system and an external server. Jeong, paragraph 19 The protocol conversion device changes a port number of a source, which is assigned to a source port field of the header area of the TCP packet and a source port field of a header area of a UDP packet, to assign the CAN ID and changes a port number of a destination, which is assigned to a destination port field of the header area of the TCP packet and a destination port field of the header area of the UDP packet, to assign the CAN ID); and converting the first signal into the second signal using the protocol through which transmission and reception are possible (Jeong, paragraph 18, the protocol conversion device determines the UDP/TCP layer conversion method as the protocol conversion method based on the static conversion table and converts the communication protocol of the CAN data to a UDP/TCP protocol based on the UDP/TCP layer conversion method).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Jeong to transmit and receive signal using specific ports and protocols to external server such as CAN protocol. By transmission of signals through specific identified protocols and different ports, it is possible to separate communication channels and implement critical operation such as braking and steering signals with specific ports. Using multiple dedicated ports and protocols allows the integration of multiple electronic devices to a vehicle system without conflict reducing compatibility issues.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion method of claim 12 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus), further comprising: converting the first signal into the second signal based on a conversion table stored in a memory (Jeong, paragraph 56, the protocol conversion device 130 may call a conversion table registered in the storage 190 and determine a protocol conversion method of corresponding data based on the called conversion table.).
Claims 5, 6, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160205521 A1) in view of Na Yeon (KR 101861802 B1) in further view of Zeng (CN 114364062 A).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus).
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about converting first signal into a second signal using different protocol, it fails to disclose a conversion of signal wherein the processor is configured to convert an encrypted first signal into the second signal by encrypting the first signal.
However, Zeng, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a method for safety gateway to vehicle network discloses a signal conversion wherein the processor is configured to convert an encrypted first signal into the second signal by encrypting the first signal(Zeng, paragraph 41, converting the data signal into the encrypted data signal).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Zeng to convert a signal to an encrypted signal. By encrypting signals, it is possible to protect signals/data from being accessed by unauthorized electrical device, preventing vehicle occupant’s data from being exposed to unknown electronic device.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim, Na Yeon, and Zeng teaches the signal conversion device of claim 5 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus; Zeng, paragraph 41, converting the data signal into the encrypted data signal),
wherein the processor is configured to: encrypt the first signal based on a symmetric key algorithm, a public key algorithm, or any combination thereof (Zeng, paragraph 44, before the communication parties performing data transmission, firstly performing key negotiation by asymmetric encryption, to safety the sharing of the session key, then the node performs encrypted transmission of communication data through the negotiated session key and the symmetric encryption algorithm ); and convert the encrypted first signal into the second signal by encrypting the first signal (Zeng, paragraph 41, converting the data signal into the encrypted data signal).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion method of claim 12(Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus),
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about converting first signal into a second signal using different protocol, it fails to disclose a conversion further comprising: converting an encrypted first signal into the second signal by encrypting the first signal.
However, Zeng, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a method for safety gateway to Vehicle network discloses a signal conversion further comprising: converting an encrypted first signal into the second signal by encrypting the first signal (Zeng, paragraph 41, converting the data signal into the encrypted data signal).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Zeng to convert a signal to an encrypted signal. By encrypting signals, it is possible to protect signals/data from being accessed by unauthorized electrical device, preventing vehicle occupant’s data from being exposed to unknown electronic device.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kim, Na Yeon, and Zeng teaches the signal conversion method of claim 16 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus; Zeng, paragraph 41, converting the data signal into the encrypted data signal), further comprising: encrypting the first signal based on a symmetric key algorithm, a public key algorithm, or any combination thereof (Zeng, paragraph 44, before the communication parties performing data transmission, firstly performing key negotiation by asymmetric encryption, to safety the sharing of the session key, then the node performs encrypted transmission of communication data through the negotiated session key and the symmetric encryption algorithm); and converting the encrypted first signal into the second signal by encrypting the first signal (Zeng, paragraph 41, converting the data signal into the encrypted data signal).
Claims 7, 8, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160205521 A1) in view of Na Yeon (KR 101861802 B1) in further view of Ravi (US 20200311716 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus),
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about conversion of signals and control of operation of a vehicle components through portable terminal, it fails to disclose a system wherein the processor is configured to: identify an identifier assigned to the electronic device; and
perform, on the second signal, at least one of transmission to the electronic device, reception from the electronic device, or any combination thereof, by identifying that the electronic device is accessible to the vehicle through the identifier.
However, Ravi, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about managing a payment wallet for in-vehicle payment system discloses a system wherein the processor is configured to: identify an identifier assigned to the electronic device (Ravi, paragraph 33, the portable device list 120 may include a device identification (device ID) that may include a numeric/alpha-numeric identification that may be utilized to specifically identify each portable device); and
perform, on the second signal, at least one of transmission to the electronic device, reception from the electronic device, or any combination thereof (Ravi, paragraph 45, the communication unit 132 of the portable device 104 may be configured to transmit one or more respective communication signals to the communication unit 124 of the vehicle 102), by identifying that the electronic device is accessible to the vehicle through the identifier (Ravi disclose initiating paring operation to establish a communication between a portable device and a vehicle indicating the portable device is accessible or connectable. Ravi, paragraph 41, the communication unit 124 may be utilized to pair the portable device 104 to the vehicle 102 such that the vehicle 102 may be able to identify and authorize the portable device 104 to initiate an active communication connection between the portable device 104 and the vehicle 102).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Ravi to identify identifier of an electronic device and to transmit and receive signal to identified electronic device. By identifying and verifying electronic device, it is possible to authenticate and authorize the correct electronic device to receive or transmit vehicle signal. Identifying the correct electronic device prevents unauthorized device with an unknown identification number from accessing vehicle information.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim, Na Yeon, and Ravi teaches the signal conversion device of claim 7 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Ravi, paragraph 33, the portable device list 120 may include a device identification (device ID) that may include a numeric/alpha-numeric identification that may be utilized to specifically identify each portable device ), wherein the identifier assigned to the electronic device includes at least one of a unique device identifier assigned to the electronic device, a manufacturer identifier associated with a manufacturer that has manufactured the electronic device, or any combination thereof (Ravi, paragraph 34, the portable device list 120 may include a media access control address (MAC address) that includes a unique identifier that is associated to a communication unit 132 of each portable device).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion method of claim 12 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus),
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about conversion of signals and control of operation of a vehicle components through portable terminal, it fails to disclose a method further comprising: identifying an identifier assigned to the electronic device; and performing, on the second signal, at least one of transmission to the electronic device, reception from the electronic device, or any combination thereof, by identifying that the electronic device is accessible to the vehicle through the identifier.
However, Ravi, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about managing a payment wallet for in-vehicle payment system discloses a method further comprising: identifying an identifier assigned to the electronic device (Ravi, paragraph 33, the portable device list 120 may include a device identification (device ID) that may include a numeric/alpha-numeric identification that may be utilized to specifically identify each portable device; Ravi, paragraph 33, the portable device list 120 may include a device identification (device ID) that may include a numeric/alpha-numeric identification that may be utilized to specifically identify each portable device ); and performing, on the second signal, at least one of transmission to the electronic device, reception from the electronic device, or any combination thereof(Ravi, paragraph 45, the communication unit 132 of the portable device 104 may be configured to transmit one or more respective communication signals to the communication unit 124 of the vehicle 102), by identifying that the electronic device is accessible to the vehicle through the identifier (Ravi disclose initiating paring operation to establish a communication between a portable device and a vehicle indicating the portable device is accessible or connectable. Ravi, paragraph 41, the communication unit 124 may be utilized to pair the portable device 104 to the vehicle 102 such that the vehicle 102 may be able to identify and authorize the portable device 104 to initiate an active communication connection between the portable device 104 and the vehicle 102).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Ravi to identify identifier of an electronic device and to transmit and receive signal to identified electronic device. By identifying and verifying electronic device, it is possible to authenticate and authorize the correct electronic device to receive or transmit vehicle signal. Identifying the correct electronic device prevents unauthorized device with an unknown identification number from accessing vehicle information.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kim, Na Yeon, and Ravi teaches the signal conversion method of claim 18 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus; Ravi, paragraph 33, the portable device list 120 may include a device identification (device ID) that may include a numeric/alpha-numeric identification that may be utilized to specifically identify each portable device ), wherein the identifier assigned to the electronic device includes at least one of a unique device identifier assigned to the electronic device, a manufacturer identifier associated with a manufacturer that has manufactured the electronic device, or any combination thereof (Ravi, paragraph 34, the portable device list 120 may include a media access control address (MAC address) that includes a unique identifier that is associated to a communication unit 132 of each portable device).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160205521 A1) in view of Na Yeon (KR 101861802 B1) in further view of Yeo Jong (KR 20220077190 A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1 (Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus)
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches about converting first signal into a second signal using different protocol, it fails to disclose a conversion of signal wherein the processor is configured to express the second signal in a binary format and transmit the second signal in the binary format to the electronic device in bit units.
However, Yeo Jong, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about transmitting vehicle driving record data to the outside of the vehicle through a communication interface discloses a system wherein the processor is configured to express the second signal in a binary format and transmit the second signal in the binary format to the electronic device in bit units(Yeo Jong, paragraph 18, transmission method from the digital driving record device to the smart device using the existing text method, so that the digital driving record device 10 directly transmits and downloads it as a binary to the smart device 20).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Yeo Jong to pack data/signal into binary data format that is transmitted to an electronic device. Signal with binary format provide a precise data that can be easily parsed by an electronic device for an accurate reading of signals. Additionally, binary format signals enable fast data/signal transmission in vehicle communication system through their simple data formatting that doesn’t contain multiple complex characters.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160205521 A1) in view of Na Yeon (KR 101861802 B1) in further view of Woo Seoung (KR 102122376 B1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim and Na Yeon teaches the signal conversion device of claim 1(Kim, paragraph 22, a vehicle signal conversion unit configured to convert the normalized data into a vehicle signal conforming to a protocol supported by a vehicle communication network; Na Yeon, paragraph 36, the user terminal 200 is provided with a driving application APP for controlling the refrigeration apparatus),
While the combination of Kim and Na Yeon discloses ports for transmission of signals to an external server, it fails to disclose a system further comprising: a plurality of ports, wherein protocols are set for signals to be respectively transmitted via the plurality of ports by a second electronic device that is different from the electronic device included in a first electronic device.
However, Woo Seoung, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a vehicle wireless communication with an external device, discloses a system further comprising: a plurality of ports, wherein protocols are set for signals to be respectively transmitted via the plurality of ports( Woo Seoung, paragraph 45, the device communication module 111 includes a plurality of ports having different communication standards, including a CAN port. Woo Seoung, paragraph 67, the state information conversion module 163, when a start-on (ON) signal is applied from any vehicle device 200 through the port, transmits a first response signal to the vehicle device 200 coupled to the port ) by a second electronic device that is different from the electronic device included in a first electronic device(Woo Seoung, paragraph 37, The vehicle gateway 100 transmits status information collected from different vehicle devices 200 provided in the vehicle to the server 300, and based on the remote control information or update information received from the server 300 ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim and Na Yeon with Woo Seoung to transmit data through plurality of ports and protocols by different devices. By transmitting signals through different ports and protocols by varying devices, it is possible to connect and operate different devices simultaneously without causing conflicts between them.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DANIEL M. ROBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665