DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication dated 9/30/24
Original claims 1-15 are pending
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of the cop-ending No.18/902-186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a comparison made between claims 1-15 of the instant application and claims 1-15 of the co-pending application reveal the claims at issue define essentially the same invention in different language. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in claims -15 at issue is an obvious variation of the invention defined in the claims of the copending application. Thus, examiner asserts the difference describe a subset of all possible conditions being monitored in the copending claims These differences are not sufficient to render the claims patentably distinct and therefore a terminal disclaimer is required.
.
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15of U.S. Patent No.19/181-249 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because comparison made between claims 1-15 of the instant application and claims 1-15 of the co-pending application reveal the claims at issue define essentially the same invention in different language. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in claims -15 at issue is an obvious variation of the invention defined in the claims of the copending application. Thus, examiner asserts the difference describe a subset of all possible conditions being monitored in the copending claims These differences are not sufficient to render the claims patentably distinct and therefore a terminal disclaimer is required.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 9-15 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication NO 2025/0219703[hereinafter Lee].
As per claim 1 and 15 Lee discloses a user equipment (UE)(UE 115) comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions for selecting a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) for a visibility region (VR) of the UE(see par. 0126); and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to (see fig. 6 and 7 for an example UE structure and components)(the steps may be performed by UE115(see par. 0053)
receive, from a base station (BS), an identification of the VR assigned to the UE, wherein: the BS comprises an antenna array comprising a plurality of antenna ports(see par. 0080-0084 where network entity 105 (e.g., a base station 140, may be equipped with multiple antennas and ports) and 0092 and
the assigned VR comprises a subset of the plurality of antenna ports of the BS(see par. 0103, 0126, 0135);
determine a PMI for the assigned VR(see par. 0101 0106, 0126,where UE reports PMI) ; and
transmit the PMI for the assigned VR to the BS(see par. 0092-0095).
As per claim 9, Lee d9iscloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the PMI is to be used by the BS to perform beamforming for the plurality of antenna ports of the BS antenna that corresponds to the assigned VR(see par. 0082-0083)
As per claim 10,Leediscloses The UE of claim 1, wherein transmitting the PMI to the BS for the assigned VR comprises transmitting the PMI to the BS in one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)(see par. 0058).
As per claim 11, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to:
receive a plurality of reference signals from the BS(see par. 0089-0090);
perform channel state information (CSI) measurements on the plurality of reference signals(see par. 0102); estimate a channel precoding matrix based on the CSI measurements(see par. 0115) ; and select a precoding matrix from a plurality of predefined channel precoding matrixes based on the estimated channel matrix(see par. 0025, 0187-0189).
as per claim 12, Lee discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the PMI comprises an index to the selected precoding matrix.(see par. 0025).
As per claim 13, Lee discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein transmitting the PMI to the BS comprises a periodically transmitting the PMI to the BS based on one or more changes in CSI measurements(see par. 0039)
As per claim 14, Lee discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein transmitting the PMI to the BS comprises periodically transmitting the PMI to the BS(see par. 0090)
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466