DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed April 9, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2016/0023227 to Scott et al. (Scott).
Regarding claim 1, Scott discloses a fragrance refill kit ([0001]-[0002]), comprising: a primary container (child container 101); a secondary container (parent container 201); a secondary pump (207) configured to mate with the secondary container (Fig. 3); and a refill connector (see Figs. 2-3; the refill connector is formed by the channel into which container 101 is positioned, the body holding the pump 207 and the complimentary refill devices 108 and 208) configured to removable attach to the primary container (see Fig. 1-2 which shows the primary container and connector removed from each other and Fig. 3 which shows the attachment).
Regarding claim 2, Scott further discloses the refill connector further comprises: a collar (a collar can be defined as “a rigid frame for maintaining the form of an opening” [definition from dictionary.com]; the body in which pump 207 is positioned can be considered a collar); a refill component (208) seated in the collar; and a spring (see [0043] and Figs. 2-3) positioned between the refill component and the collar (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Scott discloses the spring comprises a helical spring (it appears that the spring of Figs. 2-3 is a helical spring; further, the spring is better seen in Figs. 8a-8b; according to [0043], the spring is the same in both embodiments).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Scott discloses the secondary container (201) comprises a glass container ([0027]; in the embodiment where parent container 201 is made of glass) having a volume of between about 100mL or less (see [0027]; the embodiment where the parent container 201 has a volume of less than 100mL).
Regarding claim 8, Scott discloses the secondary container (201) is made of plastic ([0027]; in the embodiment where parent container 201 is made of plastic).
Regarding claim 10, Scott discloses a cap (214; see Fig. 9]) for the secondary connector.
Regarding claim 11, Scott discloses a fragrance (perfume) contained in the primary container.
Regarding claim 12, Scott discloses a cap (cap 115 shown in Figs. 1a-1b on container 101) attached to the primary container.
Regarding claim 13, Scott discloses a primary pump (107) removably attached to the primary container (the pump is capable of being removed from the container).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott.
Regarding claim 3, Scott discloses the kit of claim 2 (see above), but does not specify the spring comprises a plastic spring. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the spring from plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP § 2144.07. Plastic springs are lightweight, rust-proof, and chemically resistant, making plastic springs a good choice for use with liquid fragrance products.
Regarding claim 5, Scott discloses the kit of claim 2 (see above), but does not disclose the spring comprises a c-spring. However, Applicant is given official notice that c-springs are known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a c-spring in place of the spring of Scott, as such a change requires only the substitution of one known spring with another known spring for performing the same function. C-springs are known for providing consistent, predictable force, and for being durable and lightweight.
Regarding claims 16 and 20, Scott discloses the refill kit of claim 1 and further discloses the secondary container (201) has a collar (see the collar at the upper opening of the container in Fig. 8b) and a neck (neck of the container 201 as shown in Fig. 8b) and is made of glass (see [0027]; in the embodiment where container 201 is made of glass), but does not disclose the neck and collar having an SNI 13 finish. However, it is inherent that the neck and collar have a finish. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the finish must be formed such that cap portions 214 and 217 can be coupled to the neck in a liquid-tight manner to prevent leakage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a finish for the neck and collar which, when coupled with the pump device and cap, provides a liquid-tight seal which prevents leaking of the perfume.
Claims 9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of US Patent 10,399,103 to Lamboux et al. (Lamboux).
Regarding claim 9, Scott discloses the kit of claim 1 (see above), and further discloses the secondary container further comprises: a collar (a collar can be defined as “a rigid frame for maintaining the form of an opening” [definition from dictionary.com]; the body in which pump 207 is positioned can be considered a collar); an opening defined by the collar (upper opening of container 201), but does not disclose at least one thread on an exterior surface of the collar configured to connect to the secondary pump. Lamboux teaches a refill device (title/abstract) including a collar having at least one thread on an exterior surface thereof (threaded collar 110c) configured to connect to a pump (the collar connects to pump housing R20) for securing the pump in place. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an external thread on the collar for coupling to the pump housing as taught by Lamboux in the system of Scott for securing the pump to the secondary container. Using a threaded connection allows for easy replacement of the pump assembly, if needed.
Regarding claim 17, Scott discloses a fragrance refill kit ([0001]-[0002]), comprising: a glass primary container (container 101 in the embodiment where the container is formed of glass; see [0027]) containing a fragrance product (perfume); a primary pump (107) removably attached to the primary container (the pump is capable of being removed from the container); a secondary container (201); a secondary pump (207) configured to mate with the secondary container (Figs. 2-3); a cap (214) for the secondary pump (Fig. 9; the cap covers the upper opening of container 201 and thereby covers the pump 207); and a refill connector (see Figs. 2-3; the refill connector is formed by the channel into which container 101 is positioned, the body holding the pump 207 and the complimentary refill devices 108 and 208). Scott further discloses the secondary container further comprises: a collar (a collar can be defined as “a rigid frame for maintaining the form of an opening” [definition from dictionary.com]; the body in which pump 207 is positioned can be considered a collar); an opening defined by the collar (upper opening of container 201), but does not disclose at least one thread on an exterior surface of the collar configured to connect to the secondary pump. Lamboux teaches a refill device (title/abstract) including a collar having at least one thread on an exterior surface thereof (threaded collar 110c) configured to connect to a pump (the collar connects to pump housing R20) for securing the pump in place. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an external thread on the collar for coupling to the pump housing as taught by Lamboux in the system of Scott for securing the pump to the secondary container. Using a threaded connection allows for easy replacement of the pump assembly, if needed.
Regarding claim 18, Scott discloses the secondary pump is removably attached to the secondary container (the secondary pump is capable of being removed from the secondary container).
Claims 14, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2,822,082 to Breckwoldt et al. (Breckwoldt).
Regarding claim 14, Scott discloses the kit of claim 13 (see above), but does not disclose the primary pump is removably attached to the primary container by a threaded connection. Breckwoldt teaches a kit for perfume which includes a pump device (27) which connects to a container via a threaded connection (threaded collar 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a threaded connection to couple the pump to the primary container in the system of Scott as taught by Breckwoldt. Using a threaded connection allows for easy replacement of the pump assembly, if needed.
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Scott discloses the kits of claims 1 and 16 (see above), but does not disclose a box, wherein the primary container, the secondary container, the secondary pump, and the refill connector are all seated in the box. Breckwoldt teaches a kit for perfume including a box (formed by base 10 and lid 11) for holding all of the components of the kit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a box as taught by Breckwoldt for holding all of the kit components in the system of Scott. Providing a box helps to ensure all the components of the kit remain together during shipping and sale, and provide a storage space for the kit when not in use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that the refill connector is not removable from the primary container is not persuasive. As set forth above and as shown in the figures, the refill connector (formed by the channel into which container 101 is positioned, the body holding the pump 207 and the complimentary refill devices 108 and 208) is removable attached to the primary container (101). Applicant' s argument that Scott and Lamboux cannot be combined is not persuasive because preservation of the prior art system is not the goal in an obviousness analysis and is not required. The combined teachings of the prior art, coupled with the knowledge of one with ordinary skill, may well result in something different from the prior art system. In other words, a prior art reference must be considered for everything it teaches by way of technology and is not limited to the particular invention it is describing and attempting to protect. EWP Corp. v. Reliance Universal Inc., 755 F.2d 898, 907 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Lamboux teaches a collar having an external thread and one of ordinary skill in the art could apply the teaching thereof to the collar of Scott for securing the pump to the secondary container. Using a threaded connection allows for easy replacement of the pump assembly, if needed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 June 13, 2026