DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haswarey (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0126459).
As per claim 1:
Haswarey teaches a method (see abstract) comprising:
receiving, at a mobile virtual network operator, an indication for a mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], the UE device issues a Diameter Protocol connection signaling to a RAN of the secondary MNO) to perform a network switch by switching a home network of a client device of a client of the mobile virtual network operator from a source network infrastructure of a source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to a target network infrastructure of a target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], a mobility management entity (MME) of the secondary MNO core resolves a provided IMSO to the primary MNO and forwards the connection signaling message to the primary MNO in accordance with roaming data services agreement entered between the secondary MNO and the primary MNO);
and performing, by the mobile virtual network operator in response to receiving the indication, the network switch by switching the home network of the client device of the client of the mobile virtual network operator from the source network infrastructure of the source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to the target network infrastructure of the target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], the diameter protocol routing agent (DRA) of the primary MNO, in turn, applies the provided IMSI to an IMSI range mapping table to identify/retrieve an applicable destination realm corresponding to the MVNO. The DRA of the primary MNO writes the MVNO’s realm into the destination realm field of the Diameter Protocol connection signaling message from the UE. Thereafter, the DRA of the primary MNO issues the updated Diameter Protocol connection signaling message to an IPX associated with the MVNO for provision to a destination DRA of an MVNO);
wherein electronic communication between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device of the client configuring the client device for the network switch is performed entirely through cellular connectivity between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device over-the-air (see paragraph [0016], using the received destination host of the MME of the secondary MNO, the DRA of the primary MNO, inserts the secondary MNO realm in place of the primary MNO realm in the destination realm of the connection signaling message. See paragraph [0053], during 540, the IPX forwards the connection signaling message (originating from the UE 103) to the secondary MNO core 104 for processing and parring on to the UE 103 connected to the secondary MNO 100 in accordance with a roaming agreement between the primary MNO 110 and the secondary MNO 100. Note: Paragraph [0008], explicitly states: “…a schematic diagram of an exemplary mobile wireless network radio network environment including a secondary MNO having a RAN through which UE devices of an MVNO establish an air connection).
As per claim 11:
Haswarey teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium that has instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one physical computing processor, cause a computing device to perform operations (see Figure 1, primary MNO 110 comprising DRA 116, destination realm switch table 118, and destination realm-IPX Net table 119) comprising:
receiving, at a mobile virtual network operator, an indication for a mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], the UE device issues a Diameter Protocol connection signaling to a RAN of the secondary MNO) to perform a network switch by switching a home network of a client device of a client of the mobile virtual network operator from a source network infrastructure of a source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to a target network infrastructure of a target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], a mobility management entity (MME) of the secondary MNO core resolves a provided IMSO to the primary MNO and forwards the connection signaling message to the primary MNO in accordance with roaming data services agreement entered between the secondary MNO and the primary MNO);
and performing, by the mobile virtual network operator in response to receiving the indication, the network switch by switching the home network of the client device of the client of the mobile virtual network operator from the source network infrastructure of the source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to the target network infrastructure of the target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], the diameter protocol routing agent (DRA) of the primary MNO, in turn, applies the provided IMSI to an IMSI range mapping table to identify/retrieve an applicable destination realm corresponding to the MVNO. The DRA of the primary MNO writes the MVNO’s realm into the destination realm field of the Diameter Protocol connection signaling message from the UE. Thereafter, the DRA of the primary MNO issues the updated Diameter Protocol connection signaling message to an IPX associated with the MVNO for provision to a destination DRA of an MVNO);
wherein electronic communication between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device of the client configuring the client device for the network switch is performed entirely through cellular connectivity between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device over-the-air (see paragraph [0016], using the received destination host of the MME of the secondary MNO, the DRA of the primary MNO, inserts the secondary MNO realm in place of the primary MNO realm in the destination realm of the connection signaling message. See paragraph [0053], during 540, the IPX forwards the connection signaling message (originating from the UE 103) to the secondary MNO core 104 for processing and parring on to the UE 103 connected to the secondary MNO 100 in accordance with a roaming agreement between the primary MNO 110 and the secondary MNO 100. Note: Paragraph [0008], explicitly states: “…a schematic diagram of an exemplary mobile wireless network radio network environment including a secondary MNO having a RAN through which UE devices of an MVNO establish an air connection).
As per claim 19:
Haswarey teaches a system (see Figure 1, paragraph [0008], disclose a mobile wireless network radio network environment including a secondary MNO having a RAN through which UE devices of an MVNO establish an air connection and a primary MNO providing an intermediate connection between the secondary MNO and the MVNO in accordance with the disclosure) comprising:
at least one physical computing processor of a computing device (see Figure 1, DRA 116);
and a non-transitory computer-readable medium that has instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one physical computing processor, cause the computing device to perform operations (see Figure 1, primary MNO 110 comprising DRA 116, destination realm switch table 118, destination realm-IPX Net Table 119) comprising:
receiving, at a mobile virtual network operator, an indication for a mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], the UE device issues a Diameter Protocol connection signaling to a RAN of the secondary MNO) to perform a network switch by switching a home network of a client device of a client of the mobile virtual network operator from a source network infrastructure of a source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to a target network infrastructure of a target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], a mobility management entity (MME) of the secondary MNO core resolves a provided IMSO to the primary MNO and forwards the connection signaling message to the primary MNO in accordance with roaming data services agreement entered between the secondary MNO and the primary MNO);
and performing, by the mobile virtual network operator in response to receiving the indication, the network switch by switching the home network of the client device of the client of the mobile virtual network operator from the source network infrastructure of the source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to the target network infrastructure of the target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0015], the diameter protocol routing agent (DRA) of the primary MNO, in turn, applies the provided IMSI to an IMSI range mapping table to identify/retrieve an applicable destination realm corresponding to the MVNO. The DRA of the primary MNO writes the MVNO’s realm into the destination realm field of the Diameter Protocol connection signaling message from the UE. Thereafter, the DRA of the primary MNO issues the updated Diameter Protocol connection signaling message to an IPX associated with the MVNO for provision to a destination DRA of an MVNO);
wherein electronic communication between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device of the client configuring the client device for the network switch is performed entirely through cellular connectivity between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device over-the-air (see paragraph [0016], using the received destination host of the MME of the secondary MNO, the DRA of the primary MNO, inserts the secondary MNO realm in place of the primary MNO realm in the destination realm of the connection signaling message. See paragraph [0053], during 540, the IPX forwards the connection signaling message (originating from the UE 103) to the secondary MNO core 104 for processing and parring on to the UE 103 connected to the secondary MNO 100 in accordance with a roaming agreement between the primary MNO 110 and the secondary MNO 100. Note: Paragraph [0008], explicitly states: “…a schematic diagram of an exemplary mobile wireless network radio network environment including a secondary MNO having a RAN through which UE devices of an MVNO establish an air connection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haswarey in view of Ramprasad (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0141641).
As per claim 2:
Haswarey teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the source mobile network operator comprises the mobile virtual network operator functioning as a mobile network operator and the target mobile network operator comprises a third-party mobile network operator.
Ramprasad teaches wherein the source mobile network operator comprises the mobile virtual network operator functioning as a mobile network operator and the target mobile network operator comprises a third-party mobile network operator (see paragraph [0033], MVNO and/or MNO may partner with a third party entity to ensure SIM OTA commands are sent to the wireless device and configure the wireless devices to roam to the best carrier network, as the configuration sees fit).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the third party entity (as disclosed in Ramprasad) into Haswarey assisting with mobile functions such as assisting with wireless devices to roam to the best available carrier (please see paragraph [0033] of Ramprasad).
As per claim 5:
Haswarey teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the source mobile network operator comprises a third-party mobile network operator and the target mobile network operator comprises the mobile
virtual network operator functioning as a mobile network operator.
Ramprasad teaches wherein the source mobile network operator comprises a third-party mobile network operator and the target mobile network operator comprises the mobile virtual network operator functioning as a mobile network operator (see paragraph [0033], MVNO and/or MNO may partner with a third party entity to ensure SIM OTA commands are sent to the wireless device and configure the wireless devices to roam to the best carrier network, as the configuration sees fit).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the third party entity (as disclosed in Ramprasad) into Haswarey assisting with mobile functions such as assisting with wireless devices to roam to the best available carrier (please see paragraph [0033] of Ramprasad).
As per claim 8:
Haswarey teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the source mobile network operator and the target mobile network operator comprise different third-party mobile network operators that are both
distinct from the mobile virtual network operator.
Ramprasad teaches wherein the source mobile network operator and the target mobile network operator comprise different third-party mobile network operators that are both distinct from the mobile virtual network operator (see paragraph [0033], the MVNO and MNO may partner with a third party entity to ensure SIM OTA commands are sent to the wireless device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the third party entity (as disclosed in Ramprasad) into Haswarey assisting with mobile functions such as assisting with wireless devices to roam to the best available carrier (please see paragraph [0033] of Ramprasad).
Claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
5. Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haswarey in view of Ramprasad and further in view of Sabouri-Sichani (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0042849), hereinafter referred to as Sabouri.
As per claim 3:
Haswarey in view of Ramprasad teaches the method of claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator downloading and activating an electronic subscriber identity module profile for the target mobile network operator on the client device while maintaining active connectivity between the client device and the source network infrastructure.
Sabouri teaches wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator downloading and activating an electronic subscriber identity module profile for the target mobile network operator on the client device while maintaining active connectivity between the client device and the source network infrastructure (see paragraph [0034], disclose multi-USIM device has two (dual) or more (multiple) simultaneous network subscriptions with multiple corresponding IMSIs, each associated with a particular USIM belonging to the same or different MNO/MVNO).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the multiple or dual subscriptions of a device (as disclosed in Sabouri) into both Haswarey and Ramprasad as a way of enabling a UE to connect to multiple serving or neighboring cells of different networks (please see paragraph [0034] of Sabouri).
As per claim 4:
Haswarey in view of Ramprasad teaches the method of claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator switching an active subscriber identity module profile from a first profile
specific to the source network infrastructure to a second profile specific to the target network infrastructure.
Sabouri teaches wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator switching an active subscriber identity module profile from a first profile
specific to the source network infrastructure to a second profile specific to the target network infrastructure (see paragraph [0034], disclose device comprising multi-USIM for connecting to multiple IMSIs associated with the same or different MNO/MVNO).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the multiple or dual subscriptions of a device (as disclosed in Sabouri) into both Haswarey and Ramprasad as a way of enabling a UE to connect to multiple serving or neighboring cells of different networks (please see paragraph [0034] of Sabouri).
Claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
6. Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haswarey in view of Ramprasad and further in view of Sevindik (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0178089).
As per claim 6:
Haswarey in view of Ramprasad teaches the method of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein the mobile virtual network operator performs the network switch entirely through cellular connectivity between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device over-the-air such that a Wi-Fi connection to the client device is bypassed.
Sevindik teaches wherein the mobile virtual network operator performs the network switch entirely through cellular connectivity between the mobile virtual network operator and the client device over-the-air such that a Wi-Fi connection to the client device is bypassed (see paragraph [0044], CBRS network operator will desire to use the MVNO network over the air resources as little as possible and to use the CBRS over the air resources whenever possible to avoid having to incur costs and/or expenses with the usage of the MVNO network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the use of one network over the other (as disclosed in Sevindik) into both Haswarey and Ramprasad as a way of avoiding cost and/or expenses with the usage of the MVNO network (please see paragraph [0044] of Sevindik).
As per claim 7:
Haswarey in view of Ramprasad teaches the method of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator provisioning services for the client device on the target network infrastructure before initiating a port out process from the source network infrastructure.
Sevindik teaches wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator provisioning services for the client device on the target network infrastructure before initiating a port out process from the source network infrastructure (see paragraphs [0045]-[0047], MVNO network core 104 includes a registrar 120 and network services with data 118 for UE1. The UE is a dual sim device for connecting to multiple eNBs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the use of one network over the other (as disclosed in Sevindik) into both Haswarey and Ramprasad as a way of avoiding cost and/or expenses with the usage of the MVNO network (please see paragraph [0044] of Sevindik).
Claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
7. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haswarey in view of Sevindik.
As per claim 10:
Haswarey teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator maintaining cellular connectivity with the client device on both the source network infrastructure and the target network infrastructure simultaneously during a portion of the network switch.
Sevindik teaches wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator maintaining cellular connectivity with the client device on both the source network infrastructure and the target network infrastructure simultaneously during a portion of the network switch (see paragraph [0044], subscribers of the user devices register in both the CBRS network and the service operator network (MVNO) network so that they can receive service from either network during the same period).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the use of one network over the other (as disclosed in Sevindik) into Haswarey as a way of avoiding cost and/or expenses with the usage of the MVNO network (please see paragraph [0044] of Sevindik).
Claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 10.
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haswarey in view of Rajput (US PG Pub. No. 2026/0075409).
As per claim 9:
Haswarey teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator coordinating timing of a port in process and activation of services on the
target network infrastructure at least in part by delaying a port in process until only after confirming successful activation of services on the target network infrastructure.
Rajput teaches wherein performing the network switch comprises the mobile virtual network operator coordinating timing of a port in process and activation of services on the
target network infrastructure at least in part by delaying a port in process until only after confirming successful activation of services on the target network infrastructure (see paragraph [0067], based on the monitored ongoing communication, a new port is selected by the port selector. Thereafter, a notification is sent to the SM-DP to notify about the enabled profile. In case of delay in response from the SM-DP, step 712 is performed again, e.g., ongoing communication of the MNO profiles is monitored by the monitor and subsequently, a new port is selected).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the teachings of Rajput. The motivation for doing so would be to allow for a UE to efficiently switch a port for profile selection when profiles are switch during restart, switched off, network configuration, selection of network services (please see paragraph [0005] of Rajput).
Conclusion
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474