DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-19, and 21-23 are the currently pending claims hereby under examination. Claims 7, 12, and 19 have been canceled.
Claim Interpretations
The Examiner interprets "open chamber" (as recited in claims 1 and 3 with respect to aspects of the elongated member) under the broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with the instant disclosure, as an open space, cavity, channel, or slot in the elongated member that is configured to receive the ratcheting rod and permit longitudinal movement of the ratcheting rod while constraining unwanted lateral movement. The specification describes ratcheting rod 113 as being received in open chamber 146 of body 109 (Instant Application, ¶[0040]). Accordingly, "open chamber" does not require a fully enclosed bore and does not require that the ratcheting rod be externally visible along the full length of the chamber. However, the Examiner does not interpret "open chamber", by itself, as requiring that the ratcheting-teeth side of the ratcheting rod be exposed through the open chamber because that additional exposure feature is separately recited in claim 3.
The Examiner interprets "twisting" (as recited in claims 8 and 11 with respect to the plunger attachment) under the broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with the instant disclosure, as rotation or pivoting of the plunger attachment about an offset axis from an open position to a closed/locked position that captures the flange of the plunger. The specification describes plunger attachment 116 as "rotatable about an axis" and connected to the device body by "a screw, bolt, rivet, or other fastener" at an attachment region 156 that is "offset from an edge of the ratcheting rod 113" (Instant Application, ¶[0033]-[0034]). The specification further describes that plunger attachment 116 is initially in a first position permitting the syringe to be loaded and, after loading, "can be rotated" to a second position in which it is "secured to" the plunger, and that the plunger attachment "can be twisted such that the flange is fitted securely within the attachment" (Instant Application, ¶[0034], [0037]). Accordingly, "twisting" does not require rotation of the plunger attachment about a central or longitudinal axis of the plunger or rod; it encompasses rotation/pivoting of the plunger attachment about an offset axis to move the plunger attachment between an open position and a closed/locked position that captures the plunger flange. (The Examiner notes that "twisting the syringe" in claim 13 refers to a separate motion, rotation of the syringe so that a barrel flange seats in a receiving slot, and is not governed by this interpretation.)
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to because the phrase "a ratcheting lever hingedly connected to at a distance from a distal end of the lever handle" contains a grammatical informality and should be "a ratcheting lever hingedly connected to the lever handle at a distance from a distal end of the lever handle".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, and further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus.
Regarding claim 1, Radwin teaches a device, comprising: a device body suitable to hold a syringe, the device body having an elongated member with a distal support and a proximal support (Radwin, Fig. 11; ¶[0080], [0083], [0102]: housing 102, syringe holder 108, fixed portion 124, adjustable portion 126, and syringe support 128, wherein housing 102 and syringe holder 108 form the elongated member of the device body, fixed portion 124 and syringe support 128 correspond to the distal support, and adjustable portion 126 corresponds to the proximal support);
a ratcheting rod having a proximal end configured to connect to a plunger of the syringe (Radwin, Figs. 10-11; ¶[0099], [0102]: rack 162 secured relative to adjustable portion 126, which receives plunger flange 208 within plunger flange slot 142, wherein the end of rack 162 associated with adjustable portion 126 corresponds to the proximal end configured to connect to plunger 204 through adjustable portion 126).
Also, regarding claim 1, Radwin does not fully teach a ratcheting rod configured to fit movably within an open chamber in the elongated member; a ratcheting lever hingedly connected to at a distance from a distal end of the lever handle and positioned to interact with the ratcheting rod; and wherein compression of the lever handle forces the ratcheting lever to extend the ratcheting rod in a proximal direction and to extract the plunger of the syringe. The ratcheting-lever connection is interpreted as discussed above. Rather, Radwin teaches rack 162 guided by linear guide 151 along linear guide track 146, with actuator 106 operating gear system 152 to withdraw plunger 204 for aspiration (Radwin, Fig. 10; ¶[0089], [0098]-[0099]).
However, Radwin does not teach the rack received within an open chamber permitting direct engagement by a separately hinged driving pawl during handle compression.
Reilly teaches syringe loader 910 having housing 914 through which plunger extension 940 moves longitudinally. Plunger extension 940 includes ratchet teeth 942a and 942b accessible to operating pawls within housing 914 (Reilly, Fig. 6A; ¶[0098]-[0099], wherein the internal rod-receiving space and openings for rod movement and pawl engagement correspond to an open chamber).
Reilly further teaches rotating grip handle 950 pivoting at point C within housing 914, wherein "pawl 954a is rotatably attached to handle 950 at a point E" (Reilly, Fig. 6A; ¶[0098], wherein pawl 954a is separately hinged to the operating handle). Reilly also teaches that lower pawls 954a and 954b cooperate with ratchet teeth 942b "to impart rearward motion to plunger extension 940" (Reilly, ¶[0098], wherein pawl 954a provides proximal driving movement and pawl 954b resists movement in the opposing direction). Carriage 960 selects the operative pawls, allowing "the same pumping, gripping motion" to advance or retract the plunger extension (Reilly, Fig. 6B; ¶[0099]-[0100]). Reilly expressly illustrates retraction of the plunger for loading fluid into the syringe (Reilly, Fig. 6B, wherein repeated handle compression withdraws the plunger to perform the claimed aspiration function).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Radwin's syringe aspiration device in view of Reilly by replacing Radwin's gear-based actuator-to-rack transmission with Reilly's squeeze-operated handle and direct pawl-and-rack mechanism and providing an open chamber within the elongated member for rack travel and pawl engagement. Radwin expressly contemplates actuation systems having "no gears" (Radwin, ¶[0089]). Reilly teaches incremental syringe-plunger withdrawal by successive handle strokes, with a holding pawl resisting reverse movement between strokes (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Reilly's directly acting pawl-and-rack drive to reduce reliance on intervening transmission gears while retaining controlled, stroke-by-stroke aspiration. Reilly's holding pawl 954b would preserve resistance to reverse rod movement, a function already contemplated by Radwin's unidirectional ratchet system 158 (Radwin, ¶[0096]).
The modification would retain Radwin's syringe supports, translating rack 162, and plunger connection, with rack 162 received within a longitudinal chamber in the housing 102 portion of the elongated member. The rack teeth would be configured for engagement by Reilly's proximal-driving pawl 954a rather than driven pinion 160, with an opening in the chamber permitting pawl access. Holding pawl 954b would resist reverse movement between strokes. Because Radwin already provides longitudinal guidance for rack 162 and Reilly demonstrates direct pawl engagement with a translating toothed rod, the substitution would preserve guided rack movement while allowing repeated handle compression to withdraw plunger 204 for aspiration.
Also, regarding claim 1, the modified Radwin does not teach a lever handle hingedly connected to a distal end of the device body. Rather, the modified Radwin incorporates Reilly's squeeze-operated pawl-and-rack mechanism, including a driving pawl separately hinged to the operating handle. However, Reilly's handle 950 pivots at point C within housing 914 rather than at the distal end of the elongated syringe-supporting device body (Reilly, Fig. 6A; ¶[0098]).
Bruchhaus teaches an ampule syringe having housing 1 with projection 17 supporting bearing 18 adjacent the distal needle end. Operating tong arm 19 is hinged at bearing 18 and extends proximally along the housing, with pawl 20 separately hinged to the handle and engaging teeth 13 of plunger rod 11. Bruchhaus teaches that the operating handle is compressed toward "the ampule housing 1 forming the other tong arm" (Bruchhaus, Fig. 1; col. 3, l. 44-col. 4, l. 20, wherein bearing 18 provides the distal handle hinge and pawl 20 demonstrates a separate hinged connection to the operating handle at a location spaced from the distal pivot).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Bruchhaus by replacing Reilly's operating-handle configuration with Bruchhaus's distally hinged, proximally extending operating handle while retaining Reilly's proximal-driving pawl-and-rack mechanism. Radwin teaches compression of actuator 106 toward gripping portion 104 and/or syringe holder 108 (Radwin, ¶[0104]) and teaches that a longer actuator arm reduces manual actuation force and repetitive strain (Radwin, Fig. 16; ¶[0128]: elongated arm 307 of actuator 306 in adapter 300). Bruchhaus demonstrates a syringe housing that serves as the opposing grip for a proximally extending handle hinged at the distal end (Bruchhaus, Fig. 1; col. 3, l. 44-col. 4, l. 20). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use that handle geometry to provide a longer lever and a housing-aligned squeezing grip, reducing hand effort during repeated one-handed aspiration.
The modification would position the handle pivot at the distal end of Radwin's device body, with Reilly's driving pawl hinged to the proximally extending, gripped portion of the handle at a location spaced from the distal pivot. Reilly teaches that the rearward-driving pawl 954a is attached at point E on the gripped side of handle pivot C, while forward-driving pawl 952b is attached at point D on the opposite side, thereby demonstrating that the positioning and engagement of the pawls provide different directions of rod movement using the same squeezing motion (Reilly, Fig. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to position and orient Reilly's driving pawl to maintain its known proximal-driving engagement when employing Bruchhaus's alternative handle configuration. Such a modification would have been a predictable adaptation of a known mechanical arrangement, allowing repeated handle compression to move rack 162 proximally and withdraw plunger 204 for aspiration.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Radwin teaches wherein the ratcheting rod comprises a plurality of ratcheting teeth along a first side of the ratcheting rod, and wherein the first side of the ratcheting rod is exposed through the open chamber in the elongated member (Radwin, Fig. 10; ¶[0091]: rack 162 having teeth engaged by driven pinion 160; Reilly, Fig. 6A; ¶[0098]: plunger extension 940 having ratchet teeth 942b along its lower side engaged by pawls 954a and 954b to produce rearward movement, wherein the lower toothed side corresponds to the first side of the ratcheting rod, and the modified Radwin positions the ratchet teeth of rack 162 exposed through the opening of the open chamber in housing 102 to permit engagement by Reilly's proximal-driving pawl 954a).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Radwin teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not expressly teach wherein the lever handle has grooves configured to fit fingers of a hand. Rather, the modified Radwin incorporates Bruchhaus's distally hinged operating tong arm 19 as the lever handle, which is compressed toward the syringe housing during actuation (Bruchhaus, Fig. 1; col. 3, l. 44-col. 4, l. 20).
Radwin teaches first grip portion 114 and second grip portion 116 configured to receive respective digits of a user's hand, wherein the grip portions may include indents and contours to facilitate receiving the digits (Radwin, ¶[0054]-[0055]). Radwin further teaches actuator grip portion 118 configured to accommodate one or more digits during actuation (Radwin, ¶[0057], [0088]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin by providing the distally hinged lever handle with finger-receiving grooves of the type suggested by Radwin's indents and contours. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide such grooves to facilitate finger placement, improve gripping stability, and facilitate repeated one-handed compression of the lever handle during aspiration.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Radwin teaches wherein the lever handle can be pumped repeatedly to modulate a volume aspirated into the syringe (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098], [0100]: rotating grip handle 950 is repeatedly compressed and released to retract plunger extension 940 through engagement of pawls 954a and 954b with ratchet teeth 942b; Radwin, ¶[0104]: withdrawal of plunger 204 from barrel 202 causes aspiration of fluid into syringe 200, wherein repeated compression of the distally hinged lever handle in the modified Radwin incrementally moves rack 162 proximally to withdraw plunger 204, and the number of pumping strokes controls the cumulative plunger withdrawal and corresponding volume aspirated into the syringe).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Radwin teaches wherein the syringe can be removed by disconnecting the proximal end of the ratcheting rod from the plunger of the syringe and removing the syringe from the device body (Radwin, Figs. 5, 8, and 11; ¶[0064]-[0065], [0083], [0099], [0102]: rack 162 is secured relative to adjustable portion 126, which includes plunger flange slot 142 configured to receive and engage plunger flange 208 of syringe 200, with syringe holder 108 configured to releasably secure the syringe, wherein disengaging plunger flange 208 from plunger flange slot 142 disconnects the proximal end of rack 162, through adjustable portion 126, from plunger 204 and permits removal of syringe 200 from the device body).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Radwin teaches further comprising a plunger attachment on the ratcheting rod configured to connect a proximal end of the ratcheting rod to the plunger of the syringe (Radwin, Figs. 10-11; ¶[0083], [0099], [0102]: rack 162 is secured relative to adjustable portion 126, which includes plunger flange slot 142 configured to receive and engage plunger flange 208 of plunger 204, wherein the plunger-flange-engaging portion of adjustable portion 126, including plunger flange slot 142, corresponds to the plunger attachment carried at the proximal end of rack 162 and configured to connect rack 162 to plunger 204).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Radwin teaches wherein the ratcheting rod is parallel to the device body (Radwin, Figs. 8, 10-11; ¶[0084], [0099]: rack 162 is secured to linear guide 151 and translates longitudinally along linear guide track 146, which extends along housing 102 and syringe holder 108, wherein rack 162 corresponds to the ratcheting rod and extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongated device body formed by housing 102 and syringe holder 108).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, and further in view of Pfahnl et al. (US 2015/0209821 A1), hereinafter Pfahnl.
The modified Radwin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Radwin teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not expressly teach wherein the syringe is a 60 CC syringe. Rather, Radwin teaches that barrel flange slot 140 and plunger flange slot 142 of syringe holder 108 may receive inserts or sub-adapters to accommodate syringes of different sizes, including syringes having flanges too small or too large to fit directly within the slots (Radwin, ¶[0083]).
Pfahnl teaches that 60 mL syringes are commonly used and well-suited for many procedures but are more difficult to operate manually with one hand (Pfahnl, ¶[0011]). Pfahnl further teaches that, when aspirating using a 60 mL syringe, fully extending the plunger with one hand becomes difficult because of the increased reach between the fingers on the plunger flange and the thumb on the barrel flange (Pfahnl, Fig. 4; ¶[0085]), and that mechanically assisted syringe operation facilitates one-handed aspiration and dispensing of large syringes (Pfahnl, ¶[0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Pfahnl by configuring Radwin's syringe holder to accommodate a 60 CC syringe. Pfahnl identifies 60 mL syringes as commonly used syringes for which mechanically assisted one-handed aspiration provides a benefit, while Radwin expressly teaches accommodating different syringe sizes using inserts or sub-adapters. Selecting a 60 CC syringe for use with the modified Radwin would therefore have been a predictable application of the known one-handed aspiration mechanism to a known syringe size, requiring only appropriate dimensional configuration of the syringe holder and associated components.
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, and further in view of Nerney (US 2005/0215956 A1), hereinafter Nerney.
Regarding claim 8, Radwin teaches a method for aspiration, comprising: placing a syringe in a device body suitable to hold a syringe, the device body having an elongated member with a distal support and a proximal support (Radwin, Fig. 11; ¶[0080], [0083], [0101]-[0102]: syringe 200 received in housing 102 and syringe holder 108, including fixed portion 124, adjustable portion 126, and syringe support 128, wherein housing 102 and syringe holder 108 form the elongated member of the device body, fixed portion 124 and syringe support 128 correspond to the distal support, and adjustable portion 126 corresponds to the proximal support).
Also, regarding claim 8, Radwin does not fully teach inserting a ratcheting rod in a chamber of the elongated member of the device body; and applying pressure on a lever handle hingedly connected to a distal end of the device body, the lever handle being coupled to the ratcheting rod, wherein compression of the lever handle transmits force through the ratcheting rod to extract the plunger of the syringe. Rather, Radwin teaches rack 162 guided by linear guide 151 along linear guide track 146, with actuator 106 operating gear system 152 to withdraw plunger 204 for aspiration (Radwin, Fig. 10; ¶[0089], [0098]-[0099], [0104]). However, Radwin does not expressly teach inserting the rack into a chamber or the claimed distally hinged lever-handle arrangement.
Reilly teaches syringe loader 910 having housing 914 receiving longitudinally movable plunger extension 940, with ratchet teeth 942b engaged by pawls 954a and 954b to produce rearward movement. Reilly further teaches rotating grip handle 950 having driving pawl 954a hinged at point E, wherein repeated compression of handle 950 retracts plunger extension 940 to withdraw the syringe plunger (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100], wherein plunger extension 940 corresponds to a ratcheting rod received in a longitudinal chamber of the housing and driven by a handle-operated pawl).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Radwin in view of Reilly by using Reilly's directly acting pawl-and-rack mechanism, with rack 162 inserted into a longitudinal receiving chamber of housing 102 for guided movement and pawl engagement. Radwin contemplates alternative actuator systems having no gears (Radwin, ¶[0089]), while Reilly teaches successive handle strokes that incrementally withdraw the syringe plunger and a holding pawl that resists reverse movement between strokes (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ Reilly's direct pawl-to-rack drive to simplify the actuator-to-rack transmission by avoiding intervening gear components while retaining controlled, stroke-by-stroke aspiration. Reilly's holding pawl 954b would preserve resistance to reverse rod movement already contemplated by Radwin's unidirectional ratchet system 158 (Radwin, ¶[0096]). Inserting rack 162 into the receiving chamber during device preparation would have positioned the toothed rod for guided longitudinal movement and access by Reilly's driving pawl.
Also, regarding claim 8, the modified Radwin does not teach the lever handle hinged to the distal end of the device body. Bruchhaus teaches operating tong arm 19 hinged at bearing 18 adjacent the distal needle end of syringe housing 1 and extending proximally along the housing, with the handle compressed toward the housing during actuation (Bruchhaus, Fig. 1; col. 3, l. 44-col. 4, l. 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Bruchhaus by employing a distally hinged, proximally extending operating handle while retaining Reilly's proximal-driving pawl-and-rack mechanism. Radwin teaches compression of actuator 106 toward the syringe-supporting body (Radwin, ¶[0104]) and recognizes that an elongated arm reduces actuation force and repetitive strain (Radwin, Fig. 16; ¶[0128]: elongated arm 307 of actuator 306 in adapter 300). Bruchhaus teaches a syringe housing serving as the opposing tong arm to a proximally extending handle hinged at the distal needle end (Bruchhaus, Fig. 1; col. 3, l. 44-col. 4, l. 20). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use that handle geometry to provide mechanical leverage and a stable, body-aligned squeezing grip for repeated one-handed aspiration. The modified handle would pivot at the distal end of housing 102, with Reilly's driving pawl hinged to the proximally extending handle and positioned to engage rack 162. Reilly's rearward-driving pawl 954a, mounted at point E relative to handle pivot C, demonstrates the positioning and engagement needed for proximal rod movement during compression (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]). Thus, the handle would move rack 162 proximally to withdraw plunger 204 for aspiration without using Bruchhaus's dispensing-direction pawl as the aspiration drive.
Also, regarding claim 8, the modified Radwin does not expressly teach twisting a plunger attachment on the ratcheting rod into a locked position causing the plunger attachment to attach to a plunger of the syringe. Rather, Radwin teaches rack 162 secured relative to adjustable portion 126, which includes plunger flange slot 142 configured to receive and engage plunger flange 208 of syringe 200, but does not teach rotating the plunger attachment into a locked position (Radwin, Fig. 10; ¶[0083], [0099], [0102]).
Nerney teaches a plunger-flange attachment at the end of a syringe-control connector. In a first embodiment, flange housing 40 releasably engages plunger flange 28 within cavity 50 (Nerney, Fig. 7; ¶[0046]). Nerney further teaches an alternative embodiment having flange-engaging housing 41 with upper half 41a and lower half 41b connected by hinge 43, wherein upper half 41a pivots from an open position permitting receipt of plunger flange 28 to a closed position capturing the flange between the upper and lower halves (Nerney, Figs. 8A-8B; ¶[0053]-[0054], wherein the hinged flange-capturing member provides a rotatable attachment component movable into a locked position to engage the syringe plunger).
Radwin further teaches a rotatable and releasable locking mechanism for securing a received syringe, including locking arm 372 configured to rotate about pivot pin 374 and engage housing 302 through protrusion 376, with the locking arm being releasable to permit syringe removal (Radwin, Fig. 14; ¶[0122], wherein the locking arm demonstrates a pivoting, releasable locking arrangement in the adapter 300 embodiment).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Nerney by providing a pivoting, releasable plunger-flange attachment at adjustable portion 126. Radwin's flange slot 142 may rely on a friction or other engaging fit (Radwin, ¶[0083]), while Nerney's hinged flange-capturing member provides positive retention of a received plunger flange (Nerney, Figs. 8A-8B; ¶[0053]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a positive flange-capturing member to maintain the rod-to-plunger connection under proximal withdrawal force. Because Radwin separately contemplates releasable syringe retention and removal (Radwin, ¶[0065], [0122]), that person would also have had reason to provide the hinged member with a releasable closure, rather than Nerney's substantially permanent closure, to permit the syringe to be exchanged after aspiration. The resulting attachment would be rotated into a locked position to capture plunger flange 208 and would be releasable for later disengagement.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Radwin teaches wherein applying pressure on the lever handle comprises repeatedly pumping the lever handle to modulate a volume aspirated into the syringe (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098], [0100]: rotating grip handle 950 is repeatedly compressed and released to retract plunger extension 940 through engagement of pawls 954a and 954b with ratchet teeth 942b; Radwin, ¶[0104]: withdrawal of plunger 204 from barrel 202 causes aspiration of fluid into syringe 200, wherein repeatedly pumping the distally hinged lever handle of the modified Radwin incrementally moves rack 162 proximally to withdraw plunger 204, thereby controlling the cumulative volume aspirated into the syringe through the number of pumping strokes).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Radwin teaches further comprising: twisting the plunger attachment of the ratcheting rod into an unlocked position causing the plunger attachment to detach from the plunger of the syringe; and removing the syringe from the device body (Radwin, ¶[0065], [0083]: syringe holder 108 may include a releasable locking mechanism for securing and releasing a received syringe; Radwin, ¶[0122]: locking arm 372 of the adapter 300 embodiment can be released to permit syringe removal; Nerney, Fig. 7; ¶[0046]: flange housing 40 releasably engages plunger flange 28; Nerney, Figs. 8A-8B; ¶[0053]-[0054]: hinged flange-engaging member 41a pivots between open and closed positions, wherein the pivoting, releasable plunger-flange attachment incorporated into the modified Radwin as discussed for claim 8 is rotated from its locked position to its unlocked position to disengage plunger flange 208, permitting syringe 200 to be removed from syringe holder 108 after release of the syringe-holding mechanism).
Claims 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, and further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus.
Regarding claim 14, Radwin teaches a system for aspiration, comprising: a syringe; and a one-handed aspirator device comprising: a device body suitable to hold the syringe (Radwin, Fig. 11; ¶[0005], [0080], [0101]-[0102]: syringe adapter 100 including housing 102, syringe holder 108, and syringe 200, wherein syringe 200 corresponds to the claimed syringe, and housing 102 and syringe holder 108 form the device body suitable to hold the syringe).
Also, regarding claim 14, Radwin does not fully teach a ratcheting mechanism including a ratcheting rod disposed within the device body and a ratcheting lever. Rather, Radwin teaches actuation system 150 including rack 162, linear guide 151, and linear guide track 146, wherein rack 162 is longitudinally movable within the housing and is secured relative to adjustable portion 126 of syringe holder 108. Radwin further teaches ratchet system 158, including pawl 166 and ratchet gear 164, but uses driven pinion 160 and gear system 152 to engage and move rack 162 rather than a ratcheting lever directly engaging the rack (Radwin, Fig. 10; ¶[0089], [0091], [0094], [0098]-[0099], wherein rack 162 corresponds to the claimed ratcheting rod disposed within the device body, but Radwin does not teach the claimed directly acting ratcheting lever).
Reilly teaches syringe loader 910 having housing 914 through which plunger extension 940 moves longitudinally, wherein plunger extension 940 includes ratchet teeth 942a and 942b. Reilly further teaches rotating grip handle 950 pivoting at point C, with pawl 954a rotatably attached to handle 950 at point E, and lower pawls 954a and 954b engaging ratchet teeth 942b to produce rearward movement of plunger extension 940. Reilly teaches that carriage 960 selects the operative pawls so that repeated compression of handle 950 can retract plunger extension 940 and withdraw syringe plunger 40 (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100], wherein plunger extension 940 corresponds to a ratcheting rod, pawl 954a corresponds to a ratcheting lever directly engaging the rod, and pawl 954b resists movement in the opposing direction between strokes).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Radwin in view of Reilly by replacing Radwin's gear-based actuator-to-rack transmission with Reilly's squeeze-operated, directly acting pawl-and-rack mechanism. Radwin expressly contemplates actuation systems having no gears (Radwin, ¶[0089]), and Reilly teaches incremental syringe-plunger withdrawal under repeated manual compression, with a holding pawl resisting reverse movement between strokes (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Reilly's direct pawl-and-rack drive as a mechanically simpler alternative to Radwin's illustrated gear train, reducing intervening transmission components while retaining controlled, stepwise aspiration. Reilly's holding pawl 954b would preserve the resistance to reverse movement already contemplated by Radwin's unidirectional ratchet system 158 (Radwin, ¶[0096]).
The modification would retain Radwin's syringe supports, rack 162, linear guide 151, and linear guide track 146, with rack 162 longitudinally guided within housing 102 and its teeth accessible for direct engagement by Reilly's driving pawl 954a rather than driven pinion 160. Holding pawl 954b would resist reverse movement between strokes. Because Radwin already provides longitudinal guidance for its translating rack and Reilly demonstrates direct pawl engagement with a translating toothed rod, the substitution would preserve guided rack movement while permitting repeated handle compression to withdraw plunger 204 from barrel 202 for aspiration.
Also, regarding claim 14, the modified Radwin does not teach a lever handle on a distal end of the device body coupled to the ratcheting lever. Rather, the modified Radwin incorporates Reilly's squeeze-operated pawl-and-rack mechanism, including operating handle 950 coupled to driving pawl 954a. However, Reilly's operating handle 950 pivots at point C within housing 914 rather than being positioned at the distal end of the elongated syringe-supporting device body (Reilly, Fig. 6A; ¶[0098]).
Bruchhaus teaches an ampule syringe having housing 1 with projection 17 supporting bearing 18 adjacent the distal needle end of the housing. Operating tong arm 19 is hinged at bearing 18 and extends proximally along housing 1, with pawl 20 separately hinged to tong arm 19 and biased by spring 21 into engagement with teeth 13 of longitudinally movable plunger rod 11. Bruchhaus teaches that operating handle 19 is compressed toward the ampule housing, which forms the opposing tong arm (Bruchhaus, Figs. 1-3; col. 3, ll. 44-75; col. 4, ll. 1-20, wherein tong arm 19 corresponds to a lever handle positioned at the distal end of the device body and coupled to a ratcheting lever through the separate hinged connection of pawl 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Bruchhaus by employing its distally hinged, proximally extending operating-handle arrangement while retaining Reilly's proximal-driving pawl-and-rack transmission. Radwin teaches squeezing actuator 106 toward the syringe-supporting body (Radwin, ¶[0104]) and recognizes the reduced manual force and repetitive strain associated with an elongated actuator arm (Radwin, Fig. 16; ¶[0128]: elongated arm 307 of actuator 306 in adapter 300). Bruchhaus teaches a proximally extending handle hinged adjacent the distal needle end, with the syringe housing serving as the opposing grip (Bruchhaus, Fig. 1; col. 3, l. 44-col. 4, l. 20). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ that arrangement to obtain a longer effective lever and a housing-aligned squeezing grip, reducing hand effort during repeated one-handed aspiration.
The modification would position the operating-handle pivot at the distal end of Radwin's device body, with Reilly's driving pawl 954a hinged to the proximally extending portion of the handle and configured for proximal engagement with rack 162. Reilly teaches the rearward-driving pawl 954a attached at point E and forward-driving pawl 952b attached at point D on opposite sides of handle pivot C, demonstrating the use of pawl position and engagement to obtain different rod-movement directions from a squeezing motion (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have positioned and oriented Reilly's rearward-driving pawl to maintain proximal-driving engagement with the toothed rack when using Bruchhaus's alternate handle geometry, while retaining Radwin's longitudinal guidance and plunger connection. Repeated compression would accordingly move rack 162 proximally to withdraw plunger 204 for aspiration, rather than use Bruchhaus's dispensing-direction pawl to drive the rack.
Also, regarding claim 14, Radwin teaches a plunger attachment on the ratcheting rod configured to connect a proximal end of the ratcheting rod to a plunger of the syringe (Radwin, Figs. 10-11; ¶[0083], [0099], [0102]: rack 162 secured relative to adjustable portion 126, which includes plunger flange slot 142 configured to receive and engage plunger flange 208 of plunger 204, wherein adjustable portion 126 corresponds to the plunger attachment at the proximal end of rack 162, connecting the rack to plunger 204).
Finally, regarding claim 14, the modified Radwin teaches wherein compression of the lever handle forces the ratcheting lever to extend the ratcheting rod and to extract the plunger of the syringe (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]: compression of rotating grip handle 950 causes driving pawl 954a to engage ratchet teeth 942b and retract plunger extension 940; Radwin, Fig. 13; ¶[0104]: withdrawal of plunger 204 from barrel 202 causes aspiration into syringe 200, wherein compression of the distally hinged lever handle in the modified Radwin causes driving pawl 954a to engage rack 162 and move the rack proximally, thereby withdrawing plunger 204 from barrel 202 through the connection provided by adjustable portion 126 and plunger flange slot 142 to aspirate fluid).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Radwin teaches wherein the ratcheting mechanism is linear (Radwin, Fig. 10; ¶[0084], [0098]-[0099]: rack 162 is secured to linear guide 151, which moves along linear guide track 146 to provide linear longitudinal adjustment of rack 162 and adjustable portion 126; Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]: driving pawl 954a engages ratchet teeth 942b of plunger extension 940 to produce longitudinal retraction, wherein the modified Radwin employs Reilly's directly acting pawl-and-rack mechanism to move rack 162 linearly along Radwin's linear guide track 146).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Radwin teaches the system of claim 14, but does not expressly teach wherein the lever handle has grooves configured to fit fingers of a hand. Rather, Radwin teaches that gripping portions 114 and 116 may include indents, contours, bumps, lines, or other gripping features to facilitate receiving one or more digits of a user's hand (Radwin, ¶[0054]-[0055]). Radwin further teaches a finger-receiving contour 132 configured to accommodate the anatomical positioning of a user's digit during gripping (Radwin, Fig. 7; ¶[0076]). Radwin also teaches that actuator grip portion 118 is configured to receive one or more digits of the user's hand during actuation (Radwin, ¶[0057], [0088]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin by providing finger-receiving grooves or contours on the lever handle, as taught by Radwin for its hand-engaged gripping surfaces. Radwin expressly recognizes that such features facilitate receiving and positioning the user's digits during gripping (Radwin, ¶[0054]-[0055], [0076]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply these known ergonomic features to the hand-compressed lever handle to improve finger placement and grip stability during repeated one-handed actuation. Such a modification would have predictably provided a more secure gripping surface without altering the lever handle's established ratcheting operation.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Radwin teaches wherein the lever handle can be pumped repeatedly to modulate a volume aspirated into the syringe (Reilly, Figs. 6A-6B; ¶[0098]-[0100]: rotating grip handle 950 is repeatedly compressed and released to retract plunger extension 940 through engagement of driving pawl 954a with ratchet teeth 942b, with pawl 954b resisting reverse movement; Radwin, Fig. 13; ¶[0104]: withdrawal of plunger 204 from barrel 202 causes aspiration of fluid into syringe 200, wherein repeated compression of the distally hinged lever handle in the modified Radwin incrementally moves rack 162 proximally to withdraw plunger 204, thereby controlling the cumulative volume aspirated into the syringe through the number of pumping strokes).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, and further in view of Nerney (US 2005/0215956 A1), hereinafter Nerney.
The modified Radwin teaches the limitations of claim 14 as described above.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Radwin teaches the system of claim 14, but does not expressly teach wherein the syringe can be removed by unlocking the plunger attachment of the ratcheting rod and pulling the syringe out of the device body. Rather, Radwin teaches plunger flange slot 142 receiving plunger flange 208, a syringe holder 108 that can releasably secure the syringe, and removal of syringe 200 following aspiration, but does not expressly describe an unlockable plunger attachment on rack 162 (Radwin, ¶[0065], [0083], [0099], [0104]).
Nerney teaches a flange housing 40 that releasably engages plunger flange 28 (Nerney, Fig. 7; ¶[0046]) and, in an alternative embodiment, a hinged flange-engaging housing 41 having upper half 41a pivotable relative to lower half 41b to capture the plunger flange (Nerney, Figs. 8A-8B; ¶[0053]-[0054]). Radwin also teaches a rotatable, releasable locking arm 372 for securing a syringe in adapter 300 (Radwin, Fig. 14; ¶[0122]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Nerney by providing a pivoting, releasable plunger-flange attachment at adjustable portion 126. Nerney's hinged housing teaches positive capture of a plunger flange, and Radwin's device must maintain a secure connection while the plunger is pulled proximally during aspiration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the positive retaining structure to resist disengagement under withdrawal force and, because Radwin contemplates syringe removal and replacement, to provide a releasable closure rather than Nerney's substantially permanent closure. The resulting attachment could be unlocked to disengage plunger flange 208 from rack-connected adjustable portion 126, enabling syringe 200 to be pulled from the device body after releasing syringe holder 108.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, further in view of Nerney (US 2005/0215956 A1), hereinafter Nerney, and further in view of Pfahnl et al. (US 2015/0209821 A1), hereinafter Pfahnl.
The modified Radwin teaches the limitations of claim 8 as described above.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Radwin teaches the method of claim 8, as discussed above, but does not expressly teach wherein the syringe comprises a 60 CC syringe. Rather, Radwin teaches that syringe holder 108 may accommodate different syringe sizes through the use of inserts or sub-adapters received within barrel flange slot 140 and plunger flange slot 142 (Radwin, ¶[0083]).
Pfahnl teaches that 60 mL syringes are commonly used and well-suited for many procedures but are more difficult to operate manually with one hand (Pfahnl, ¶[0011]). Pfahnl further teaches that, when aspirating using a 60 mL syringe, fully extending the plunger with one hand becomes difficult because of the increased reach between the fingers on the plunger flange and the thumb on the barrel flange (Pfahnl, Fig. 4; ¶[0085]), and that mechanically assisted syringe operation facilitates one-handed aspiration and dispensing of large syringes (Pfahnl, ¶[0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Pfahnl by configuring Radwin's syringe holder to accommodate a 60 CC syringe. Pfahnl identifies 60 mL syringes as commonly used syringes for which mechanically assisted one-handed aspiration provides a benefit, while Radwin expressly teaches accommodating different syringe sizes using inserts or sub-adapters. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have been motivated to select a 60 CC syringe for use with the modified Radwin to facilitate one-handed aspiration using this known larger syringe size. Such a modification would have required only appropriate dimensional configuration of the syringe holder and associated components to accommodate the selected syringe.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, and further in view of Pfahnl et al. (US 2015/0209821 A1), hereinafter Pfahnl.
The modified Radwin teaches the limitations of claim 14 as described above.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Radwin teaches the system of claim 14, but does not expressly teach wherein the syringe is a 60 CC syringe. Rather, Radwin teaches that syringe holder 108 may accommodate different syringe sizes through the use of inserts or sub-adapters received within barrel flange slot 140 and plunger flange slot 142 (Radwin, ¶[0083]).
Pfahnl teaches that 60 mL syringes are commonly used and well-suited for many procedures but are more difficult to operate manually with one hand (Pfahnl, ¶[0011]). Pfahnl further teaches that, when aspirating using a 60 mL syringe, fully extending the plunger with one hand becomes difficult because of the increased reach between the fingers on the plunger flange and the thumb on the barrel flange (Pfahnl, Fig. 4; ¶[0085]), and that mechanically assisted syringe operation facilitates one-handed aspiration and dispensing of large syringes (Pfahnl, ¶[0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Pfahnl by configuring Radwin's syringe holder to accommodate a 60 CC syringe. Pfahnl identifies 60 mL syringes as commonly used syringes for which mechanically assisted one-handed aspiration provides a benefit, while Radwin expressly teaches accommodating different syringe sizes using inserts or sub-adapters. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have been motivated to select a 60 CC syringe for use with the modified Radwin to facilitate one-handed aspiration using this known larger syringe size. Such a modification would have required only appropriate dimensional configuration of the syringe holder and associated components to accommodate the selected syringe.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, further in view of Nerney (US 2005/0215956 A1), hereinafter Nerney, and further in view of Fago et al. (US 6,569,127 B1), hereinafter Fago.
The modified Radwin teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Radwin teaches the method of claim 11, but does not expressly teach wherein placing the syringe in the device body further comprises twisting the syringe such that a flange of the syringe locks into a receiving slot on the device body. Rather, Radwin teaches that fixed portion 124 includes barrel flange slot 140 configured to receive barrel flange 206 of syringe 200, wherein the slot may provide a friction fit or other engaging fit to secure the received flange (Radwin, Figs. 8 and 11; ¶[0083], [0102]). However, Radwin does not expressly teach twisting the syringe to lock the barrel flange into the receiving slot.
Fago teaches a syringe-mounting arrangement in which locking flanges 16a and 16b on syringe 12 engage receiving grooves 26a and 26b formed by tabs 24a and 24b on injector face plate 10. Syringe 12 is inserted axially and rotated approximately ninety degrees to guide tabs 28a and 28b into the receiving grooves, thereby locking the syringe to the injector (Fago, Figs. 1-2; col. 4, ll. 42-67, wherein the syringe locking flanges correspond to the claimed syringe flange and grooves 26a and 26b correspond to receiving slots on the device body). Fago further teaches stops 32a and 32b that limit rotation and indicate that the syringe is fully installed (Fago, col. 4, ll. 58-67).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Fago by configuring the barrel-flange receiving interface of fixed portion 124 with cooperating rotational locking features of the type taught by Fago. Radwin teaches securing the syringe barrel flange in a receiving slot during aspiration, while Fago teaches a twist-lock arrangement that positively retains the syringe upon rotation and provides a defined fully installed position. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ Fago's arrangement to provide positive retention of the syringe barrel against longitudinal forces generated during repeated plunger withdrawal, while providing a clear indication that the syringe is securely seated before aspiration. The modification would involve configuring the barrel flange and corresponding receiving slot for rotational engagement, without altering the previously established ratcheting drive or releasable plunger attachment. The syringe could subsequently be released by reversing the twisting operation, permitting removal as recited in claim 11.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radwin et al. (US 2018/0369487 A1), hereinafter Radwin, in view of Reilly et al. (US 2002/0107481 A1), hereinafter Reilly, further in view of Bruchhaus (US 3,051,172), hereinafter Bruchhaus, and further in view of Epstein et al. (US 6,007,515), hereinafter Epstein'515.
The modified Radwin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Radwin teaches the device of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the device body is about 6 inches in length. Rather, Radwin teaches an elongated device body formed by housing 102 and syringe holder 108, including fixed portion 124 and adjustable portion 126 configured to support a syringe and accommodate longitudinal plunger movement (Radwin, Figs. 8 and 11; ¶[0080], [0083], [0102]). Radwin further teaches accommodating syringes of different lengths by adjusting the spacing of syringe-supporting components, including relatively small syringes such as 3 mL syringes, and limiting the longitudinal travel of adjustable portion 126 according to the desired plunger movement (Radwin, ¶[0066], [0081], [0085]).
Epstein'515 teaches a handheld medical fluid applicator having an elongated body housing 16 containing a manually operated drive mechanism including trigger 22, pawl 48, and toothed rack 50 for longitudinal movement of a syringe-type fluid delivery arrangement (Epstein'515, Figs. 2–3; col. 6, l. 58–col. 7, l. 20). Epstein'515 further teaches an embodiment having a body housing 16 approximately 6 inches in length, excluding tip housing 18, accommodating fluid reservoirs 30 and corresponding rack travel. Epstein'515 expressly identifies this dimensional configuration as providing a comfortable, lightweight, and precisely manipulable device suitable for one-handed operation (Epstein'515, col. 11, ll. 13–31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Radwin in view of Epstein'515 by configuring the elongated device body, including housing 102 and syringe holder 108, to have an overall length of about 6 inches. Epstein'515 demonstrates an approximately six-inch handheld medical fluid applicator incorporating a pawl-and-rack mechanism and expressly identifies comfortable handling and precise one-handed manipulation as benefits of this dimensional configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select this known compact body length for the modified Radwin to obtain similar ergonomic benefits during one-handed syringe aspiration. Radwin's teachings concerning accommodation of different syringe sizes and longitudinal plunger travel would have provided guidance for dimensioning the syringe supports and ratcheting mechanism within the selected overall body length. Such modification would have predictably provided a compact, hand-manipulable syringe aspirator while retaining the previously established proximal-driving ratcheting operation.
Response to Arguments
Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2026, pages 7-8, regarding the previous Objections of claims 1, 8, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendment from "moveably" to "movably" in claim 1 resolves the spelling informality. Applicant's argument regarding "extract" is persuasive because the specification describes withdrawing the plunger to create aspiration and the term adequately expresses the claimed movement. Accordingly, the previous objections to these terms are withdrawn. Applicant amended claim 8 to replace "raise" with "extract," resolving the corresponding objection. Claim 20 has been canceled, rendering its previous objection moot. A separate grammatical informality remains in claim 1 concerning "hingedly connected to at a distance from," as identified in the Claim Objection above.
Claim Interpretations
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2026, pages 6-7, regarding the previous claim interpretations of claims 1, 3, 8, 11, and 12 have been fully considered. Applicant's traversal of the previous interpretation of "open chamber" has been considered. The previous Office Action incorrectly stated that the chamber was configured to prevent longitudinal movement of the ratcheting rod. The interpretation has been corrected to describe a space that receives and guides the rod while permitting longitudinal movement. The current interpretation is set forth above.
Applicant also generally traverses the previous interpretation of "twisting" without identifying a particular contrary construction. The Examiner maintains that "twisting" in claims 8 and 11 encompasses rotation or pivoting of the plunger attachment about an offset axis between an open position and a position capturing the plunger flange. The specification describes plunger attachment 116 as rotatable about an axis at offset attachment region 156 and movable into a position securing the flange (Instant Application, ¶[0033]-[0034], [0037]). The interpretation does not require rotation about the longitudinal axis of the rod. Claim 12 has been canceled. The separate twisting of the syringe in claim 13 concerns rotation of the syringe to engage a barrel flange with the device body.
35 U.S.C. §112(a)
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2026, page 8, regarding the previous 112(a) Rejections of claims 7, 12, and 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 7, 12, and 20 have been canceled, rendering the previous rejections of those claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) moot. Applicant correctly notes that claim 19 was included in the heading of the previous rejection without an accompanying explanation identifying a written-description deficiency for that claim. The previous rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been reconsidered and is withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §112(b)
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2026, pages 8-9, regarding the previous 112(b) Rejections of claims 1-7, 12, and 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant amended claim 1 to specify the ratcheting-lever connection at a distance from the distal end of the lever handle, resolving the previously identified ambiguity concerning the hinge location. The previous rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and the corresponding rejections of claims 2-6 based on their dependence from claim 1, are withdrawn. The remaining grammatical informality in claim 1 is addressed separately as an objection.
Applicant amended claim 5 to recite repeated pumping of the lever handle to modulate the volume aspirated into the syringe. This resolves the previous ambiguity concerning the component being pumped and the parameter being modulated. The separate previous rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant amended claim 19 to recite unlocking the plunger attachment of the ratcheting rod instead of unlocking the rod itself. This identifies the structure being unlocked for syringe removal and resolves the previously identified ambiguity. The previous rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn. Claims 7, 12, and 20 have been canceled, rendering the previous rejections of those claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) moot.
35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2026, pages 9-14, regarding the previous 103 Rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, there are new grounds of rejection.
Claim 1: Applicant's arguments concerning the previous rejection of claim 1 over Radwin, Sturtz, and Epstein have been fully considered. That rejection is withdrawn and replaced with the rejection over Radwin in view of Reilly and Bruchhaus, as set forth above.
Claims 8 and 14: The previous rejections based on Radwin, Sturtz, Epstein, and Nerney are withdrawn and replaced with the present rejections. Bruchhaus, not Nerney, is relied upon for the distal handle arrangement.
Dependent Claims: Applicant argues that dependent claims 2-6, 9-11, 13, and 15-19 are patentable through their dependence from allegedly patentable independent claims 1, 8, and 14, citing In re Fine. Because independent claims 1, 8, and 14 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 on the currently stated grounds, and the added limitations of the dependent claims are separately addressed above, this dependency-based argument does not overcome the present rejections.
New Claims 21-23: Applicant asserts that newly added claims 21-23 have written-description support and are patentable. These claims were not subject to the previous rejections and are examined under the present claim set. Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth above. The general assertion of patentability does not identify a separate deficiency in the currently applied teachings or rationale.
Conclusion
The Applicant's amendment did not necessitate the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 am - 4:00 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791