DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ferguson et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0319160 A1) listed in IDS dated 04/16/2025 hereinafter Ferguson.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 19, Ferguson discloses a method/node/medium comprising: a processor (para 0283, a computer system including one or more processors); and
a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a cluster deployment unit (para 0283, a computer system including one or more processors and computer readable media such as computer memory. In particular, the computer memory may store computer executable instructions that when executed by one or more processors cause various functions to be performed, such as the acts recited in the embodiments):
retrieving, from a blueprint, resource information required to deploy a cluster comprising a first host computing system/plurality of cluster nodes and a virtual cluster manager node to manage the first host computing system/plurality of cluster nodes, wherein the resource information comprises host information and disk information required to deploy the virtual cluster manager node, and encryption information associated with a key provider (para 0049, the VMs 208, 209 and 210 are deployed onto one of the hosts 230 in the fabric. In the embodiments illustrated herein, a “host” is a virtualization platform. The host, in some examples illustrated, includes the hypervisor 215 deployed on hardware (illustrated as server 251) plus a host VM 231 which is deployed on the hypervisor 215, para 0052, a virtual storage device may include or be associated with metadata that is meant for use by a hypervisor 215, , para 0094, the tenant creating shield VMs based on Templates, para 0095, offers a gallery of templates … Such a template is a complete or partial definition of a VM, para 0097, the template may contain secrets such as software, data or credentials for connecting to external services, and it is useful to protect the template through encryption, whereby the hypervisor is a virtualization manager i.e. a virtual cluster manager node, to manage a cluster of hosts, i.e. cluster manager nodes, as defined in para 0013 of the description of the present application as filed, and shielded VMs are generated based on templates);
based on the host information and the disk information, creating a clustered datastore on the first host computing system (para 0049, the deployment action may be undertaken by the tenant using a self-service management portal presented by a VMM 253, para 0096, create shielded VMs from such a template);
deploying the virtual cluster manager node on the clustered datastore (para 0101, The tenant may want to deploy and retrieve the shielded VM for execution in a private cloud or at another service provider. If the tenant has a datacenter with a similar hosting fabric for protecting VMs with secure hosting services, an inter-datacenter transfer as described above can be used);
based on the encryption information associated with the key provider, encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks (para 0053, an entire virtual storage device including the metadata meant for use by the hypervisor may be encrypted, para 0097, since this encryption is done with a key that belongs to the author of the template, the virtual storage device is re-keyed (e.g., decrypted and re-encrypted with a different key) with a key that is specific to the VM and , consequently to the tenant, para 0098, in the process of …. creating a shielded VM…. re-encrypting the template VHD to create a VM VHD); and
upon encrypting the virtual cluster manager node, creating the cluster and adding the host computing system to the cluster (para 0101, the tenant’s public key can be included within the VM metadata that is encrypted and protected by the vTPM, and hence accessible to the KDS or an approved host, para 0103, provisioning, configuration, and attestation of the hosts, para 0105, When the host 230 receives a shielded VM 208 and makes a request 256 to the KDS 235 to retrieve the vTPM key, it includes an attestation certificate 257 to demonstrate that it complies with certain polices. For example, the attestation certificate may indicate that the host 230 that it is a known member of the fabric, i.e. allowing respectively attested hosts to access the shielded VMs, created from the templates, thus ‘adding’ said hosts to the cluster).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein creating the cluster comprises: creating a data center; and creating the cluster in the data center (para 0046-0047 and 0089-0093).
Regarding claim 3, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the key provider is deployed on the host computing system or deployed external to the host computing system and accessible via a network (para 0095-0097 and 0137).
Regarding claim 7, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving, from the blueprint, the resource information required to deploy the cluster comprises: retrieving the disk information including Universally Unique Identifiers (UUIDs), canonical names, or both associated with disks to check hardware compatibility of the first host computing system to deploy the virtual cluster manager node (para 0049 and 0120).
Regarding claim 8, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving, from the blueprint, the resource information required to deploy the cluster comprises: retrieving the host information including a network identifier associated with the host computing system on which the virtual cluster manager node is to be deployed (para 0101 and 0138-0139).
Regarding claim 9, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual cluster manager node comprises a virtual machine executing a management application to manage the first host computing system (para 0049, 0070-0074, and 0093-0094).
Regarding claim 10, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: enabling a user to modify parameters of the blueprint used to deploy the cluster to include the encryption information associated with the key provider (para 0047-0048 and 0095-0097).
Regarding claim 11, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks, validating the encryption information associated with the key provider retrieved from the blueprint (para 0098-0100).
Regarding claim 12, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the resource information comprises: retrieving, from the blueprint, resource information required to deploy a second host computing system (para 0049-0050 and 0095-0099).
Regarding claim 13, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: adding the second host computing system to the cluster based on the resource information associated with the second host computing system (para 0049-0050 and 0095-0099).
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407685 A1) listed in IDS dated 04/16/2025 hereinafter Xie.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 19, Xie discloses a method/node/medium comprising: a processor (claim 19, a system comprising one or more processors); and
a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a cluster deployment unit (claim 19, a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform a method for encryption in a distributed datastore):
retrieving, from a blueprint, resource information required to deploy a cluster comprising a first host computing system/plurality of cluster nodes and a virtual cluster manager node to manage the first host computing system/plurality of cluster nodes, wherein the resource information comprises host information and disk information required to deploy the virtual cluster manager node, and encryption information associated with a key provider (para 0027, A virtual disk object may itself be a hierarchical, “composite” object that is further composed of “component” objects (again separately backed by object store 116) that reflect the storage requirements (e.g., capacity, availability, IOPs, etc.) of a corresponding storage profile or policy generated by the administrator when initially creating the virtual disk, para 0030, A composite object may store metadata describing a storage organization or configuration for the virtual disk (sometimes referred to herein as a virtual disk “blueprint”), wherein the composite object is a blueprint as defined, para 0025, each host 111 includes a virtualization layer or hypervisor 113, a VSAN module 114, and hardware 119 (which includes the SSDs and MDs of a host 111). Through hypervisor 113, a host 111 is able to launch and run multiple VMs 112. Hypervisor 113, in part, manages hardware 119 to properly allocate computing resources (e.g., processing power, random access memory (RAM), etc.) for each VM 112. Furthermore, as described below, each hypervisor 113, through its corresponding VSAN module 114, may provide access to storage resources located in hardware 119 (e.g., SSDs and magnetic disks) for use as storage for storage objects, such as virtual disks (or portions thereof) and other related files that may be accessed by any VM 112 residing in any of hosts 111 in host cluster 110, i.e. deploying the virtualization layer or hypervisor – the virtual cluster manager node, to manage a cluster of hosts, i.e. cluster nodes);
based on the host information and the disk information, creating a clustered datastore on the first host computing system (para 0025, A virtualization management platform 105 is associated with host cluster 110 of hosts 111. Virtualization management platform 105 enables an administrator to manage the configuration and spawning of VMs 112 on hosts 111. As depicted in the embodiment of FIG. 1, each host 111 includes a virtualization layer or hypervisor 113, a VSAN module 114, and hardware 119 (which includes the SSDs and MDs of a host 111, i.e. creating the clustered datastore on a respective host);
deploying the virtual cluster manager node on the clustered datastore (para 0025, spawning of VMs 112 on hosts 111…. each host 111 includes a virtualization layer or hypervisor 113, a VSAN module 114, and hardware 119 (which includes the SSDs and MDs of a host 111). Through hypervisor 113, a host 111 is able to launch and run multiple VMs 112. Hypervisor 113, in part, manages hardware 119 to properly allocate computing resources (e.g., processing power, random access memory (RAM), etc.) for each VM 112. Furthermore, as described below, each hypervisor 113, through its corresponding VSAN module 114, may provide access to storage resources located in hardware 119 (e.g., SSDs and magnetic disks) for use as storage for storage objects, such as virtual disks (or portions thereof) and other related files that may be accessed by any VM 112 residing in any of hosts 111 in host cluster 110, i.e. deploying the virtualization layer or hypervisor – the virtual cluster manager node);
based on the encryption information associated with the key provider, encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks (para 0033, encryption is enabled in VSAN 115 thereby providing native hyper-converged infrastructure encryption. More specifically, encryption capability may be built into hypervisors 113 and enabled at the host cluster level such that all objects residing in object store 116 of VSAN 115 are encrypted, para 0034, for VSAN encryption, virtualization management platform 105 requests KMS 135 to generate a KEK, and para 0035, the VSAN encryption is a two-level encryption using the KEK generated by KMS 135 to encrypt a KEK. The DEK is randomly generated key used to encrypt data on each disk); and
upon encrypting the virtual cluster manager node, creating the cluster and adding the host computing system to the cluster (para 0028, VSAN module 114 may also include a cluster module 140, such as a cluster monitoring, membership, and directory services (CMMDS) module, that maintains the previously discussed in-memory metadata database to provide information on the state of host cluster 110 to other modules of VSAN module 114 and also tracks the general “health” of cluster host 110 by monitoring the status, accessibility, and visibility of each host 111 in host cluster 110, i.e. managing the hosts in the cluster, including adding and removing hosts).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, wherein creating the cluster comprises: creating a data center; and creating the cluster in the data center (para 0019 and 0021).
Regarding claim 3, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the key provider is deployed on the host computing system or deployed external to the host computing system and accessible via a network (para 0034-0035).
Regarding claims 4, 16, and 20, Xie discloses the method of claim 1 wherein encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks comprises: encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks using a data encryption key (DEK) generated at the host computing system; and based on the encryption information provided in the blueprint, encrypting the DEK using a key encryption key (KEK) provided by the key provider (para 0006 and 0017).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Xie discloses the method of claim 1 wherein encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks comprises: encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks using a data encryption key (DEK) generated at the host computing system; based on the encryption information provided in the blueprint, configuring or utilizing the key provider on the host computing system; and based on the key provider, encrypting the DEK using a key encryption key (KEK) provided by the key provider (para 0006, 0017, 0019-0020 and 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 7, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving, from the blueprint, the resource information required to deploy the cluster comprises: retrieving the disk information including Universally Unique Identifiers (UUIDs), canonical names, or both associated with disks to check hardware compatibility of the first host computing system to deploy the virtual cluster manager node (para 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving, from the blueprint, the resource information required to deploy the cluster comprises: retrieving the host information including a network identifier associated with the host computing system on which the virtual cluster manager node is to be deployed (para 0039).
Regarding claim 9, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual cluster manager node comprises a virtual machine executing a management application to manage the first host computing system (para 0021).
Regarding claim 10, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: enabling a user to modify parameters of the blueprint used to deploy the cluster to include the encryption information associated with the key provider (para 0066).
Regarding claim 11, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks, validating the encryption information associated with the key provider retrieved from the blueprint (para 0030).
Regarding claim 12, Xie discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the resource information comprises: retrieving, from the blueprint, resource information required to deploy a second host computing system (para 0030, 0037 and 0066).
Regarding claim 13, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: adding the second host computing system to the cluster based on the resource information associated with the second host computing system (para 0030, 0037 and 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ferguson as applied to claims 1, 14, and 19 above, and further in view of Xie et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407685 A1) listed in IDS dated 04/16/2025 hereinafter Xie.
Regarding claims 4, 16, and 20, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose, however, Xie discloses wherein encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks comprises: encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks using a data encryption key (DEK) generated at the host computing system; and based on the encryption information provided in the blueprint, encrypting the DEK using a key encryption key (KEK) provided by the key provider (para 0006 and 0017). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify teachings of Ferguson to include encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks using a data encryption key (DEK) generated at the host computing system; and based on the encryption information provided in the blueprint, encrypting the DEK using a key encryption key (KEK) provided by the key provider as taught by Xie in order to meet compliance requirements for security (Xie, para 0006).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Ferguson discloses the method of claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose, however, Xie discloses wherein encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks comprises: encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks using a data encryption key (DEK) generated at the host computing system; based on the encryption information provided in the blueprint, configuring or utilizing the key provider on the host computing system; and based on the key provider, encrypting the DEK using a key encryption key (KEK) provided by the key provider (para 0006, 0017, 0019-0020 and 0039-0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify teachings of Ferguson to include encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks comprises: encrypting the virtual cluster manager node and associated disks using a data encryption key (DEK) generated at the host computing system; based on the encryption information provided in the blueprint, configuring or utilizing the key provider on the host computing system; and based on the key provider, encrypting the DEK using a key encryption key (KEK) provided by the key provider as taught by Xie in order to meet compliance requirements for security (Xie, para 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892).
/BAOTRAN N TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435