DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Jakubiak et al., (Understanding Molecular Drivers of Melanin Binding to Support Rational Design of Small Molecule Ophthalmic Drugs, J. Med. Chem. 2018, 61, pp. 10106−10115, hereinafter as “Jakubiak”)
Regarding claim 1, Jakubiak teaches a method of assessing and obtaining biding of small molecule drugs to melanin using a high-throughput in-vitro melanin-binding assay (Abstract; Table S1, Supporting information, p. 3, row 14, Compound generic name: fentanyl chloride). Jakubiak discloses fentanyl hydrochloride with a fraction unbound of 0.10, thus directly teaching substantial fentanyl-melanin binding under the disclosed assay conditions; Jakubiak discloses a method of binding fentanyl, the method comprising:
contacting fentanyl hydrochloride present in the aqueous assay/buffer mixture (i.e., phosphate buffered saline (PBS) at pH 6.5; an amount of 98 μL of PBS buffer solution containing 0.1% bovine serum albumin (BSA) was mixed with the same amount of the respective test compound) with melanin during the melanin-binding assay (p. 8, Experimental section, High-Throughput Melanin Binding Assay section, first paragraph, line 1 thru second paragraph, line 9) (contacting an aqueous sample containing fentanyl with melanin under conditions allowing the fentanyl to bind to the melanin); and
incubating fentanyl hydrochloride with melanin under the disclosed melanin-binding assay conditions such that only 10% remains unbound, i.e., approximately 90% is associated with/bound to melanin (Table S1, Supporting Information, p. 3, row 14, Compound generic name: fentanyl chloride) (allowing the fentanyl to bind to the melanin to produce fentanyl-bound melanin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatented over Jakubiak, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lindroos et al. (Continuous removal of the model pharmaceutical chloroquine from water using melanin-covered Escherichia coli in a membrane bioreactor, Journal of Hazardous Materials, 2019, 365, pp. 74-80, hereinafter as “Lindroos”).
Regarding claim 2, Jakubiak discloses a method of binding fentanyl but does not introduce the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin.
However, Lindroos teaches removal of a pharmaceutical from water by contacting an aqueous pharmaceutical-containing feed with melanin covered cells. Lindroos discloses contacting aqueous sample containing pharmaceutical with melanin-covered cells in the reactor and facilitates release of the bound pharmaceutical at low pH (Abstract; Introduction section, p. 75, right column, first paragraph, lines 1-8): lowering the pH of pharmaceutical-loaded melanized cells to pH 3 with citric acid (p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19) (introducing the pharmaceutical-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the pharmaceutical from the pharmaceutical-bound melanin).
Jakubiak and Lindroos are analogous arts because Jakubiak directly concerns pharmaceutical-melanin binding, including fentanyl, while Lindroos concerns binding/removal of a pharmaceutical from aqueous media using melanin and demonstrates release of pharmaceutical at low pH.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use apply Lindroos’s low-pH regeneration treatment to Jakubiak’s fentanyl-bound melanin to provide the feature “introducing the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin” because the acidic treatment releases pharmaceutical bound to melanin and regenerates the adsorbent, thereby predictably providing release/recovery of the bound fentanyl and reuse of the melanin (Lindroos: Abstract; p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatented over Jakubiak, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Wang et al., (Melanin Produced by the Fast-Growing Marine Bacterium Vibrio natriegens through Heterologous Biosynthesis: Characterization and Application, Appl. Environ. Microbiol., 2020, 86, 5, pp. 1-18, hereinafter as ‘Wang”).
Regarding claim 3, Jakubiak, teaches binding fentanyl to melanin from an aqueous sample.
But Jakubiak does not disclose wherein the melanin is a tyrosine-based melanin obtained from Vibrio natriegens.
However, Wang teaches and discloses melanin produced by engineered tyrosinase-expressing Vibrio natriegens supplied with 0.4 mg/ml tyrosine (Abstract: p. 14, Materials and methods, first paragraph, line 1 thru third paragraph, line 20).
Jakubiak and Wang are analogous arts because Jakubiak concerns drug-melanin biding and Wang concerns the specifically claimed biosynthetic melanin source and demonstrates its aqueous chemical-binding function.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Wang’s tyrosine-based Vibrio natriegens melanin in the Jakubiak method because the biosynthetically produced melanin functions as an aqueous adsorbent would predictably provide biologically produced adsorbent having demonstrated aqueous-binding capability (Wang: Abstract; p. 14, third paragraph, lines 1-8).
In regard to claim 7, Wang discloses examined melanin samples that are highly similar to eumelanin (p. 9, first paragraph, lines 1-3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatented over Jakubiak, in view of
Wang, as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Lindroos.
Regarding claim 4, Jakubiak, in view of Wang, discloses a method of binding fentanyl wherein the melanin is a tyrosine-based melanin obtained from Vibrio natriegens but does not introduce the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin.
However, Lindroos teaches removal of a pharmaceutical from water by contacting an aqueous pharmaceutical-containing feed with melanin covered cells. Lindroos discloses contacting aqueous sample containing pharmaceutical with melanin-covered cells in the reactor and facilitates release of the bound pharmaceutical at low pH (Abstract; Introduction section, p. 75, right column, first paragraph, lines 1-8): lowering the pH of pharmaceutical-loaded melanized cells to pH 3 with citric acid (p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19) (introducing the pharmaceutical-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the pharmaceutical from the pharmaceutical-bound melanin).
Jakubiak, Wang and Lindroos are analogous arts because Jakubiak directly concerns pharmaceutical-melanin binding, including fentanyl, Wang concerns production and use of the biosynthetic melanin material and its adsorption characteristics, while Lindroos concerns binding/removal of a pharmaceutical from aqueous media using melanin and demonstrates release of pharmaceutical at low pH.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use apply Lindroos’s low-pH regeneration treatment to Jakubiak/Wang’s fentanyl-bound melanin to provide the feature “introducing the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin” because the acidic treatment releases pharmaceutical bound to melanin and regenerates the adsorbent, thereby predictably providing release/recovery of the bound fentanyl and reuse of the melanin (Lindroos: Abstract; p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatented over Jakubiak in view of and Wang, as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Liu et al., (The Effect of Preparation Procedures on the Morphology of Melanin from the Ink Sac of Sepia officinalis, Pigment Cell Res, 2003, 16, pp. 72–80, hereinafter as ‘Liu”).
Regarding claim 5, Jakubiak, and Wang, teaches the fentanyl-binding method using tyrosinase-based melanin obtained from Vibrio natriegens.
But Jakubiak, in view of Wang, does not disclose wherein the melanin is in a state of having been spray-dried
However, Liu teaches Sepia eumelanin prepared by spray drying (Abstract; p. 72, Introduction, left column, first paragraph, lines 1-11). Liu discloses comparing spray drying with freeze drying and supercritical drying methods affect aggregation and morphology of the melanin material (Abstract; p. 76, right column, first paragraph, lines 1-14; p. 77, Table 1 showing surface area analysis and Barrett-Joyner-Halenda pore volume analysis for Sepia eumelanin using different preparation procedures).
Jakubiak, Wang, and Liu are analogous arts because the first three concerns melanin as a drug/chemical-binding material, while Liu directly concerns preparation and physical form of melanin itself, including the exact spray-drying treatment required in claim 5.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use provide Jakubiak/ Wang’s biosynthetic melanin in the spray-dried state taught by Liu because using the spray-dried technique predictably affects surface area aggregation per mass of material affecting reactivity of melanin for subsequent use (Liu: Abstract; p. 80, Implication of Preparation Procedure on Quantifying the Reactivity of Sepia Eumelanin, first paragraph, lines 1-19).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatented over Jakubiak, in view of
Wang, and Liu as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Lindroos.
Regarding claim 6, Jakubiak, in view of Wang and Lindroos, discloses a method of binding fentanyl wherein the melanin is in a state of having been spray-dried but does not introduce the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin.
However, Lindroos teaches removal of a pharmaceutical from water by contacting an aqueous pharmaceutical-containing feed with melanin covered cells. Lindroos discloses contacting aqueous sample containing pharmaceutical with melanin-covered cells in the reactor and facilitates release of the bound pharmaceutical at low pH (Abstract; Introduction section, p. 75, right column, first paragraph, lines 1-8): lowering the pH of pharmaceutical-loaded melanized cells to pH 3 with citric acid (p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19) (introducing the pharmaceutical-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the pharmaceutical from the pharmaceutical-bound melanin).
Jakubiak, Wang, Liu and Lindroos are analogous arts because Jakubiak directly concerns pharmaceutical-melanin binding, including fentanyl, Wang concerns production and use of the biosynthetic melanin material and its adsorption characteristics, Liu directly concerns preparation and physical form of melanin itself, including the exact spray-drying treatment, while Lindroos concerns binding/removal of a pharmaceutical from aqueous media using melanin and demonstrates release of pharmaceutical at low pH.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use apply Lindroos’s low-pH regeneration treatment to Jakubiak/Wang/Liu’s combined fentanyl-bound melanin in a state of having been spray-dried to provide the feature “introducing the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin” because the acidic treatment releases pharmaceutical bound to melanin and regenerates the adsorbent, thereby predictably providing release/recovery of the bound fentanyl and reuse of the melanin (Lindroos: Abstract; p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatented over Jakubiak, in view of
Wang, as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Lindroos.
Regarding claim 8, Jakubiak, in view of Wang, discloses a method of binding fentanyl wherein the melanin is eulemanin but does not introduce the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin.
However, Lindroos teaches removal of a pharmaceutical from water by contacting an aqueous pharmaceutical-containing feed with melanin covered cells. Lindroos discloses contacting aqueous sample containing pharmaceutical with melanin-covered cells in the reactor and facilitates release of the bound pharmaceutical at low pH (Abstract; Introduction section, p. 75, right column, first paragraph, lines 1-8): lowering the pH of pharmaceutical-loaded melanized cells to pH 3 with citric acid (p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19) (introducing the pharmaceutical-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the pharmaceutical from the pharmaceutical-bound melanin).
Jakubiak, Wang and Lindroos are analogous arts because Jakubiak directly concerns pharmaceutical-melanin binding, including fentanyl, Wang concerns production and use of the biosynthetic melanin material and its adsorption characteristics, while Lindroos concerns binding/removal of a pharmaceutical from aqueous media using melanin and demonstrates release of pharmaceutical at low pH.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use apply Lindroos’s low-pH regeneration treatment to Jakubiak/Wang’s fentanyl-bound melanin wherein the melanin is eulemanin to provide the feature “introducing the fentanyl-bound melanin to an acidic environment, thereby releasing the fentanyl from the fentanyl-bound melanin” because the acidic treatment releases pharmaceutical bound to melanin and regenerates the adsorbent, thereby predictably providing release/recovery of the bound fentanyl and reuse of the melanin (Lindroos: Abstract; p. 76, left column, 2.3. Adsorption, regeneration and analysis, lines 16-19).
Conclusion
/WILSON GALLARDO MENDOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772