DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are presented for examination
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano (US Patent Application 20170021905).
As per claim 1, Nakano teaches a low energy system [system shown in figure 3] for providing authentication for operating a marine vessel [1, fig. 1] having a power source [24, fig. 3], the low energy system comprising:
an authentication device [31, fig .3] configured to receive a key [34, fig. 3] input and to output a signal when the key input matches a predetermined criteria [matches the ID information stored in the ECM 21: 0051] to thereby provide the authentication for operating at least one function [engine start: 0039] of the marine vessel [0034, as shown in figure 3 and explained from the listed paragraphs, unit 34 is viewed as key fob or wireless key where it is authenticate which enable the start of the engine by transmitting a signal which match the identification of the key with the system].
wherein the authentication device has a sleep state and a wake state, wherein the authentication device consumes less power in the sleep state than in the wake state and is inoperable to output the signal when in the sleep state [0047, as pointed out the controller stays on sleep mode and when activated based on the authentication and transition from sleep mode to active mode which enables power saving].
a switch [4, fig. 3] operably coupled to the authentication device and operable to wake the authentication device from the sleep state to the wake state thereof [0047, as shown in figure 3, switch 4 is connected to authentication device 31, where it transmits a signal to the controller 31 for activation from off state to on state].
wherein the switch is operably coupled such that at least one device [keyless controller power input unit 313, 0043] of the marine vessel is configured to receive the power from the power source without the power passing through the switch [0047, as shown on figure 3, line 312 from the battery is connected to keyless controller power input which provide power without passing through switch device 4].
wherein the authentication device being in the sleep state before being woken by the switch conserves the power from the power source [0047, as pointed out controller 31 is in sleep mode and tuns on when receiving a signal, which conserves power while in sleep mode].
As per claim 19, Nakano teaches a method [method implemented by system shown in figure 3] of providing authentication for operating a marine vessel [1, fig. 1] having a power source [24, fig .3], the method comprising:
receiving a request via a switch to wake an authentication device from a sleep state to a wake state thereof [0051, keyless controller transmits a request where the switch is activated and turn on based on the request signal].
wherein the switch is operably coupled such that at least one device [keyless controller power input unit 313, 0043] of the marine vessel is configured to receive power from the power source without the power passing through the switch [0047, as shown on figure 3, line 312 from the battery is connected to keyless controller power input which provide power without passing through switch device 4].
waking the authentication device [31, fig. 3] from a sleep state to a wake state when the request is received [0047, the controller receive the signals and transition from sleep to active state for authentication].
wherein the authentication device is configured to receive a key input and to output a second signal when the key input matches a predetermined criteria to thereby provide the authentication for operating at least one function [engine start :0039] of the marine vessel [0034, as shown in figure 3 and explained from the listed paragraphs, unit 34 is viewed as key fob or wireless key where it is authenticate which enable the start of the engine by transmitting a signal which match the identification of the key with the system].
wherein the authentication device consumes less of the power in the sleep state than in the wake state and is inoperable to output the second signal when in the sleep state [0047, 0051, as pointed out the controller stays on sleep mode and when activated based on the authentication and transition from sleep mode to active mode which enables power saving. As pointed out if only a signal is detected, then it returns from sleep state].
wherein the authentication device being in the sleep state before being-the request to wake is received conserves the power from the power source [0051, the request is transmitted when the controller is in the wake state. In this case, the sleep state comes first before the request is activated, since the device was at sleep].
As per claim 4, Nakano teaches the switch is operable to wake 4. the authentication device by selectively providing 12 VDC thereto [0045, battery 24 can be a 12-volt battery].
As per claim 5, Nakano teaches the authentication device consumes less than 0.25 Watts of power when in the sleep state [0047, device consumes less power in sleep mode].
As per claim 6, Nakano teaches the switch and the 6. authentication device are coupled to the marine vessel via a shared housing [0049, as shown in figure 3 switch 4 is connected to relay 23 then to motor 22].
As per claim 7, Nakano teaches a marine drive, and wherein the switch is further operably coupled to control at least one of powering and cranking the marine drive when the authentication device has provided the authentication for operating the marine vessel [0049, where the switch connected to crankshaft engine 25].
As per claim 11, Nakano teaches the authentication device is configured to receive the key input wirelessly [0051, wireless key, for example: the keyless controller 31 transmits a request signal through the radio communication unit 32 in a wireless manner].
As per claim 12, Nakano teaches, wherein the marine vessel comprises a powered device configured to receive the power from the power source, and wherein the powered device is prevented from receiving the power from the power source until the authentication device has provided the authentication for operating the marine vessel [0051, 0100-0101, as shown in figure 3, the switch gets power from the battery to enable the start and if there is not authentication, there is no power to the enable the start].
As per claim 13, Nakano teaches the powered device is other than a marine drive operable to generate propulsion for the marine vessel [propellers shown in figure 1 below each motor or at the end of the motors which are parts of the motor to propel the boat].
As per claim 17, Takano teaches the marine vessel comprises a powered device [31, fig. 3] configured to be powered by the power source [24, fig. 3], wherein the switch is inoperable to stop the powered device from operating after operation of the marine vessel has been authenticated [0043, 0047, 0051, as shown in figure 3, controller 31 is operating with power from battery 3 via the switch 4 and enable the authentication when receiving start request].
As per claim 18, Takano teaches the marine vessel comprises a powered device configured to be powered by the power source and operable only after the authentication device has outputted the signal indicating authentication, wherein the powered device has a sleep state and a wake state and uses less power in the sleep state than in the wake state, and wherein the authentication device outputting the signal causes the powered device to wake from the sleep state to the wake state [0047, 0051, the authentication enable the wake up of the controller in order to start the engine where the controller consumes less power as a result].
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano (US Patent Application 20200216018).
As per claim 21, Takano teaches a method [method shown in figure 8] of controlling a plurality of marine drives [111, 111, fig. 1] of a marine vessel [marine shown on figure 1], the method comprising:
receiving via an authentication device a key input [1, fig. 2] and outputting an authentication signal when the key input matches a predetermined criteria [0071, as pointed out key output signal send authentication signal to the controller where the signal is received and determine if there is a match with the code stored].
operating a first marine drive [111-1, fig. 1] within the plurality of marine drives and a second marine device [111-2, fig. 1] within the plurality of marine drives simultaneously when receiving a request from a first switch and the authentication signal [0066, 0073, the motors are started as a result, for example first motor, second motor and so forth].
operating the first marine device without operating the second marine device when receiving a request from a second switch and the authentication signal [0073, as a result of the authentication at least one of the motors can be started].
and operating the second marine device without operating the first marine device when receiving a request from a third switch and the authentication signal [0073, as a result of the authentication at least one of the motors can be started. As shown in figure 2, each ECU is connected to a motor which can active at least one motor or all of them, where each portion of the switch is connected to a respective EECU and motor].
As per claim 22, Takano teaches operating the first marine drive comprises providing power to the first marine drive for generating propulsion therewith [0074, as shown in figure 2, ECU 5-1 connected to motor 4-1 can send a signal to that motor to start it].
As per claim 23, Takano teaches the second switch and the third switch are among a plurality of switches corresponding to the plurality of marine drives such that each of the plurality of marine drives is independently controllable therewith [as shown in figure 2, switch 27 include multiple switch elements such as 27-C which is correspond to ECU5-2 to start motor 4-2 in order to send power to the propeller].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (US Patent Application 20170021905) in the view of Ishida (US Patent Appliction 20150097652).
As per claim 2, Nakano does not teach a controller operatively coupled with the switch and configured such that the switch ceases waking the authentication device after a predetermined time since being woken.
However, Ishida teaches a controller operatively coupled with the switch and configured such that the switch ceases waking the authentication device after a predetermined time since being woken [0058, 0060, as pointed out the if there is no detection then the controller remains on sleep for a predetermined time indicated by the timer].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify of Nakano to include the method of Ishida to add a timer for the controller to remain at sleep or not issue any signal if there is no detection.
As per claim 3, Nakano does not teach after being woken from the 3. sleep state to the wake state the authentication device returns to the sleep state unless the key input is received and determined to match the predetermined criteria within a predetermined time after being woken.
However, Ishida teaches after being woken from the 3. sleep state to the wake state the authentication device returns to the sleep state unless the key input is received and determined to match the predetermined criteria within a predetermined time after being woken [0058, 0060, as pointed out, If the NFC information of the mobile terminal 28 has not been detected before lapse of the predetermined time, the authentication control section 110 of FIG. 3 stops outputting the activation signal, so that the power supply section 130 stops supplying electric power to the NFC reader 72 of the cradle 32].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify of Nakano to include the method of Ishida to add a timer for the controller to remain at sleep or not issue any signal if there is no detection.
As per claim 16, Nakano dos not teach the power from the power source to the first powered device is subsequently stopped unless the key input is received and determined to match the predetermined criteria within a predetermined time after the authentication device is woken.
However, Ishida teaches the power from the power source to the first powered device is subsequently stopped unless the key input is received and determined to match the predetermined criteria within a predetermined time after the authentication device is woken [0058, 0060, as pointed out, If the NFC information of the mobile terminal 28 has not been detected before lapse of the predetermined time, the authentication control section 110 of FIG. 3 stops outputting the activation signal, so that the power supply section 130 stops supplying electric power to the NFC reader 72 of the cradle 32].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify of Nakano to include the method of Ishida to add a timer for the controller to remain at sleep or not issue any signal if there is no detection.
As per claim 20, Takano does not teach the request is provided for a predetermined time after actuating the switch and subsequently ended, and wherein the authentication device is caused to return to the sleep state after the predetermined time unless the key input is received and determined to match the predetermined criteria before the predetermined time has lapsed.
However, Ishida teaches the request is provided for a predetermined time after actuating the switch and subsequently ended, and wherein the authentication device is caused to return to the sleep state after the predetermined time unless the key input is received and determined to match the predetermined criteria before the predetermined time has lapsed [0058, 0060, as pointed out, If the NFC information of the mobile terminal 28 has not been detected before lapse of the predetermined time, the authentication control section 110 of FIG. 3 stops outputting the activation signal, so that the power supply section 130 stops supplying electric power to the NFC reader 72 of the cradle 32].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify of Nakano to include the method of Ishida to add a timer for the controller to remain at sleep or not issue any signal if there is no detection.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (US Patent Application 20170021905) in the view of Takano II (US Patent Application 20200216018).
As per claim 14, Takano does not teach the marine vessel comprises a first powered device and a second powered device each configured to receive the power from the power source, and wherein the first powered device is prevented from receiving the power from the power source until the authentication device has been woken and the second powered device is prevented from receiving the power from the power source until the authentication device has provided the authentication for operating the marine vessel.
However, Takano II teaches the marine vessel comprises a first powered device [5-1, fig. 2] and a second powered device [5-2, fig. 2] each configured to receive the power from the power source [114, fig. 2], and wherein the first powered device is prevented from receiving the power from the power source until the authentication device has been woken and the second powered device is prevented from receiving the power from the power source until the authentication device has provided the authentication for operating the marine vessel [0046-0048, as shown in figure 2, both devices 5-1 and 5-2 connected to the switch 27 as well as the batter and receiving device 4 which enables the authentication of the signal and preventing powering the devices until there is authentication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify of Nakano to modify the design of Nakano II to include multiple ECU’s to that can remotely start specific motors.
As per claim 15, Nakano does not teach the second powered device is a marine drive, and wherein the first powered device is a user device, and wherein providing the power to the first powered device before the second powered device allows the first powered device to begin starting up earlier.
However, Nakano II teaches the second powered device is a marine drive, and wherein the first powered device is a user device, and wherein providing the power to the first powered device before the second powered device allows the first powered device to begin starting up earlier [0046, as shown in figure 2, one of the devices connected to the motor drive where it can start the motor based on authentication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify of Nakano to modify the design of Nakano II to include multiple ECUs to that can remotely start specific motors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeda (US 20110136398) teaches outboard motor antitheft apparatus.
Jantzi (US 20240289728) teaches the ocean-travel configuration of asset tracking devices.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176