DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on August 24, 2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending in this action. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (US 2025/0111850) in view of McGann et al. (US 2021/0160373).
As per claim 1, Baker discloses, a method comprising:
executing, by a virtual assistant server (Paragraph 0037, "DAMS's application execution server"), a first subset of nodes of a dialog flow during a conversation with a user device (Paragraphs 0040 and 0081-0083, "dialog flow" and "nodes"), wherein one or more identifiers of one or more sub-intents to be associated with the first subset of nodes are obtained from an enterprise device, wherein the one or more sub-intents are different from an intent of the dialog flow (Paragraphs 0039-0041; "intent").
Baker does not explicitly disclose, but McGann discloses, wherein based on the obtained one or more identifiers, one or more language models of the one or more sub-intents are associated with the first subset of nodes (Paragraphs 0106-0122, here “label” as claimed “identifier”; Paragraphs 0191-0192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Baker by including identifiers as taught by McGann for the advantage of detect from said messages of said dialog a trigger event matching a rule; in response to detection of said trigger event: provide said agent station with a copy of messages of said dialog; and provide control of said automated dialog engine to said agent station (Paragraph 0051).
receiving, by the virtual assistant server, from the user device, an utterance during the execution of the first subset of nodes (Paragraphs 0039-0041, Fig. 2); and
interpreting the utterance, by the virtual assistant server, using one or more language models associated with the one or more sub-intents associated with the first subset of nodes (Paragraph 0079, "language model"; "associating scores with end user utterances indicating the extent to which the utterances match expected word strings for various stages of the dialogs used for setting intent parameters").
As per claim 2, Baker discloses, further comprising: executing, by the virtual assistant server, a second dialog flow of one of the one or more sub-intents associated with the first subset of nodes based on the interpretation of the utterance (Paragraphs 0081-0083).
As per claim 3, Baker discloses, wherein the dialog flow comprises the first subset of nodes and an additional one or more nodes (Paragraphs 0081-0083). As per claim 4, Baker discloses, wherein the one or more identifiers are names of the one or more sub-intents (Paragraphs 0045-0048).
As per claim 5, Baker discloses, virtual assistant server comprising: one or more processors (Paragraph 0085, "GPU"); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors which are configured to execute programmed instructions stored in the memory (Paragraph 0089) to:
execute a first subset of nodes of a dialog flow during a conversation with a user device, wherein one or more identifiers of one or more sub-intents to be associated with the first subset of nodes are obtained from an enterprise device (Paragraphs 0040 and 0081-0083, "dialog flow" and "nodes"), wherein the one or more sub-intents are different from an intent of the dialog flow (Paragraphs 0039-0041; "intent");
receive from the user device, an utterance during the execution of the first subset of nodes (Paragraphs 0039-0041, Fig. 2); and
interpret the utterance using one or more language models associated with the one or more sub-intents associated with the first subset of nodes (Paragraph 0079, "language model"; "associating scores with end user utterances indicating the extent to which the utterances match expected word strings for various stages of the dialogs used for setting intent parameters").
As per claims 6-12, they are analyzed and thus rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 1-5. Because the corresponding claims have similar limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA-22314 (Customer Service Window).
October 2, 2026
/ABUL K AZAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656