Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amended claims filed 4/29/26 are acknowledged; claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 4836289) in view of Garza et al. (US 10604851).
CLAIM 1: Young discloses a wellhead corrosion resistant system. The system comprises a connection assembly disposed to concatenate a first riser pipe to a second riser pipe above ground in a wellhead toolstring (see col. 4, line 56 – col. 5, line 4 discussing sections of the lubricator acting as riser sections); the connection assembly including an o-ring housing such that the o-ring housing is disposed to be interposed between the first riser pipe and the second riser pipe when the connection assembly concatenates the first riser pipe to the second riser pipe (see Fig. 3 showing housing for o-ring 44). Wherein the first riser pipe has a first riser internal surface (see Fig. 3), the o-ring housing has a housing internal surface (see Fig. 3) and the second riser pipe has a second internal surface (see Fig. 3). Wherein the first riser internal surface, the housing internal surface and the second riser internal surface are contiguous when the connection assembly concatenates the first riser pipe to the second riser pipe (see Fig. 3). Wherein the first riser internal surface presents a metal having a pitting resistance equivalent number designated as PREN1 (this limitation defines itself); wherein the second riser internal surface presents a metal having a pitting resistance equivalent number designated as PREN2 (this limitation defines itself); wherein the housing internal surface presents a metal having a pitting resistance equivalent number designated as PRENH (this limitation defines itself).
Young fails to disclose wherein at least one of PREN1 and PREN2 is different from PRENH, wherein [PRENH – PREN1] is in a range between about -5 and +∞; and wherein [PRENH – PREN2] is in a range between about -5 and +∞ (the metals are all the same, so both equations would equal 0).
Applicant admits that 28 Chrome is well known in the art for use in riser pipes and the like (see Specification, paragraph 0007). Further, L80 and P110 riser pipes are known (paragraph 0026). These would be PREN 1 and PREN2. Applicant further admits that L80 is commonly used for housings in oil and gas drilling operations (see Specification, paragraph 0008). This would be PRENH.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of the Young to be made of 28 Chrome and L80 with a reasonable expectation of success as they are known material resistant to corrosion in common drilling situations. The resulting relationships between the physical properties of the materials would be inherent. As Applicant admits that the materials are well known, the claimed relationship between their properties is taught.
Young fails to disclose an anode assembly including at least one sacrificial anode, wherein the at least one sacrificial anode acts as a corrosion inhibitor for at least one wellhead tool in the wellhead toolstring when the anode assembly is also positioned above ground in the wellhead toolstring.
Garza discloses a system to protect steel structures.
Garza discloses a pipe (15) connected to another element with a sacrificial anode (20) that acts as a corrosion inhibitor for the element and is placed above ground (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Young to include the sacrificial anode of Garza with a reasonable expectation of success as Garza teaches that the anode acts as a corrosion inhibitor and protects the system from degradation.
CLAIM 11: See the discussion of claim 1 above; the “presented” metals are what the riser pipes and housing are made of.
CLAIMS 2, 3, 4, 12, 13 and 14: The combination does not disclose wherein which the first riser internal surface, second riser internal surface, or housing internal surface presents a metal selected from the group consisting of: (a) 28 Chrome; (b) Inconel 718; (c) L80; and (d) P110; instead Garza teaches generic steel.
Applicant admits that 28 Chrome is well known in the art for use in riser pipes and the like (see Specification, paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of the Combination to be made of 28 Chrome with a reasonable expectation of success as it is a known material resistant to corrosion in common drilling situations.
CLAIMS 5 and 15: Garza teaches at least one sacrificial anode are a zinc-aluminum alloy (see claim 11).
CLAIMS 6 and 16: The connection assembly further includes a male union and a female union, wherein connection of the male union to the female union enables the o-ring housing to be interposed between the first riser pipe and the second riser pipe when the connection assembly concatenates the first riser pipe to the second riser pipe (see Young, Fig. 3).
CLAIMS 7 and 17: Young-Garza fails to disclose the connection assembly further includes a nut, wherein threading of the nut over the female union enables connection of the male union to the female union.
Examiner takes official notice that nuts are well known in the art as a connection means.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection means to include a well known nut with a reasonable expectation of success as nuts are known in the art as a means to secure elements together which result in more solid connections between the parts.
CLAIMS 8 and 18: The anode assembly is a first anode assembly, and in which the wellhead corrosion resistant system further includes a second anode assembly, wherein the second anode assembly disposed to be positioned also above ground in the wellhead toolstring such that at least one wellhead tool in the wellhead toolstring is interposed between the first anode assembly and the second anode assembly (see Garza, Col. 2 “installation of anodes” teaching a plurality of anodes).
CLAIMS 9 and 19: Garza teaches the anode assembly further includes a removable internal anode housing (25) to which at least one of the sacrificial anodes is secured, wherein the anode housing also includes a plurality of slots, wherein the slots are configured to encourage fluid flow around the anode housing (the “cage” for the anode).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 4836289) in view of Garza et al. (US 10604851) in view of Eastland (US 4716960).
Young-Garza discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Young-Garza fails to disclose an isolator assembly disposed to be positioned also above ground in the wellhead toolstring such that the isolator assembly isolates electrically an uphole portion of the wellhead toolstring from a downhole portion of the wellhead toolstring; wherein the isolator assembly is configured to isolate at least one wellhead tool in the wellhead toolstring electrically from the downhole portion of the wellhead toolstring when the at least one wellhead tool in the wellhead toolstring is positioned in the uphole portion of the wellhead toolstring between the anode assembly and the isolator assembly.
Eastland discloses a system for introducing electric current into a wellbore.
Eastland discloses placing a non-conducting fiberglass section to isolate the electric flow.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an isolator with a reasonable expectation of success as Eastland teaches that the non-conducting elements can control the unwanted spread of electricity to undesired zones.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant claims a wellhead corrosion system. As part of this system, Applicant claims the relationship between a physical characteristic of three parts, specifically the pitting resistance equivalent number for the material that makes 1) a first riser, 2) a second riser, and 3) a housing surface. Applicant further identifies four materials that these parts can be made from in the dependent claims. Thus, those elements have physical characteristics that meet the claimed relationship. However, Applicant admits that those materials are all well known materials for making the claimed parts in standard oil and gas operations (see Specification, paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026). Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention (see MPEP 2145(II)). Applicant has attempted to claim a well known structure by identifying a property of the structure. This does not make the claim nonobvious.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676