DETAILED ACTION
This Final Action is in response to the Applicant’s claim amendment received on 08/28/2026, in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 8/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas et al. (US 2014/0074274 A1) in view of Cooper (US 2021/0122087 A1) in view of Sostek (US 2017/0106600 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Douglas et al. teach a method of manufacturing an additively manufacturing object ([0003], [0011]-[0026]),
the method comprising the steps of: placing raw material at a processing machine ([0012]-[0016] uses plastic as raw material); implementing, at the processing machine, object and sub-object processing instructions for creating a plurality of object sub-object/segments from the raw material ([0019]-[0045] uses processor, controller, for creating a plurality of sub-object sections to form the object, [0050]-[0055] discloses creating a number of sub-objects that can be fit into the build volume, which later assembled to form the object), wherein each of the plurality of object segments corresponds to the shaped object such that the plurality of object segments are configured to be assembled to form at least part of the object ([0050]-[0065] disclose that plurality of sub-object assembled to form the part of the object or the object itself); creating, at the processing machine, the plurality of object (sub-object) segments from the raw material according to the object processing instructions ([0050]-[0059]); and placing the plurality of sub-object (in a package) which can then be assembled to form the object ([0061]-[0068] disclose instructions for assembly, identifiers, so that these subj-objects can be assembled appropriately; it is obvious that a package or a container to store the sub-object would be used for final assembly).
However, Douglas et al. fail to teach forming plurality of segment of insulation elbow which then forms the insulation elbow.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to additively manufacturing part from plurality of separable elements, Cooper teaches forming plurality of segment of insulation elbow which then forms the insulation elbow (see Fig. 1 – 3, item 110- additively manufacturing a hollow mandrel/pipe that includes plurality of separable elements 132 that are connected together via plurality of links to form the entirely of the object; Fig 2. shows the mandrel 210 includes various portions separable elements 216,216,214,220, 222, including central elbow 214, that are separately additively manufactured and then assembled to form the entirely of the mandrel; [0021]-[0029], [0031]-[0045]; the Examiner notes that term “insulation” is merely used without reciting any material for the elbow, thus any materials used as discussed for forming the mandrel is considered to be insulation as it includes specific thickness and length can be together be used in a system).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have modified the additively manufacturing parts as taught by Douglas et al. with specifically manufacturing plurality of segments of insulation elbow, as taught by Cooper, for the benefit of reducing cost, and are adaptable to a range of geometries and use (see [0001]).
Claim 1 as written further recites “manufacturing a plurality of insulation elbow segments defining respective portions of the insulation elbow and configured to be assembled together to form the insulation elbow around the conveyance elbow. This limitation is merely intended use, as applicant’s claim does not positively recite forming a conveyance elbow. The process or the combination of steps taught by Douglas et al. in view of Cooper, is capable of producing segments of insulation elbow that becomes an assembled part, which can be used for using around a conveyance elbow (see Cooper, specifically [0021]-[0023] discloses that plurality of segments forms a main body of the mandrel that maybe hollow, and forms a cylindrical and/or tubular main body, which includes an interior cavity, thus is capable of surrounding a conveyance elbow as claimed; [0035] –[0043] discloses other embodiments where the main body 212 can be appropriate geometry, an any pattern to form a linear, non-linear, or curvilinear mandrel).
Claim 1 further recites “placing the insulation elbow segments into one or more packages for delivery to a site remote from the processing machine containing the conveyance elbow” and such would have been within the level or one ordinary skilled in the art for efficiently delivering the pieces on site, where it can be used. For example, pertaining to 3D printing, Sostek teaches products are manufactured in remote sites and shipped to the user site or sales site from an inventory in pieces to be assembled or in complete format ([0003]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to have 3D printing process as taught by Douglas et al. in view of Cooper, with having to ship the product made in pieces sale sites, to be assembled, as suggested by Sostek, for the benefit of efficiently assembling the final product at sale site or user site (thereby reduced shipping cost).
As for claim 3, Douglas et al. in view of Cooper provides suggestion for having taking into consideration of the plurality of sub-segments/elements for a larger object/product/mandrel to be produced as applied above, thus, claim limitation pertaining to taking length, diameter, radius of curvature are all known variables (see Cooper [0057],[0034], [0035], [0037], Figs. 1-3; also see Douglas et al. claim 15), that are within the scope of Douglas et al. and Cooper, for producing a final product (mandrel, tube) that is assembled from plurality of sub-objects/element (see Cooper Figs. 1-3; [0057], [0034]).
As for claim 5, Douglas et al. in view of Cooper provides suggestion for creating the insulation elbow processing instructions from a digital model of the insulation elbow (see Douglas [0041], [0049] discloses processing instruction from a digital model of the object; see Cooper [ 0075]-[0085]). Furthermore, claim limitation pertaining to creating the insulation elbow processing instruction comprises segmenting the digital model of the insulation elbow both longitudinally along the longitudinal axis and radially from the longitudinal axis to form plurality of insulation elbow processing instructions corresponding to the plurality of insulation elbow segments would have been obvious Douglas et al. in view of Cooper (see Douglas et al. [0049]-[0058] pertains to processing instructions for producing an object from plurality of sub-objects, creating plurality of sub-object models, including different sets of instructions for each, and having plurality of files; also see Cooper which pertains to specifically producing mandrel/elbow that includes plurality of insulation elbow segments as shown on Figs. 1-3 which inherently includes longitudinal axis and radial axis; also see [0026]-[0062]) .
As for claim 6, limitation pertaining to wherein the plurality of insulation elbow processing instruction includes defining for each insulation elbow segment the respective insulation elbow segment length, insulation elbow segment inner diameter, insulation elbow segment outer diameter, and insulation elbow segment radius of curvature, would have been obvious over Douglas et al. in view of Cooper (Douglas et al. [0049]-[0058] pertains to processing instructions for producing an object from plurality of sub-objects, creating plurality of sub-object models, including different sets of instructions for each, and Cooper Figs. 1-3 shows producing an insulation elbow/mandrel that would includes taking into consideration of the claimed parameters including inner diameter, radius of curvature, outer diameter, also see [0035], [0037]).
As for claims 10-11, Douglas in view of Cooper provides suggestion for placing a first insulation elbow segment identifier on a first insulation elbow segment of the plurality of insulation elbow segments, the first insulation elbow segment identifier indicating a location of the first insulation elbow segment relative to the assembled insulation elbow (see [0061] of Douglas; Figs. 1-3 of Cooper); placing a second insulation elbow segment identifier on a second insulation elbow segment of the plurality of insulation elbow segments, the second insulation elbow segment identifier differing from the first insulation elbow segment identifier such that the second insulation elbow segment identifier indicates a location of the second insulation elbow segment relative to the assembled insulation elbow differing from the location of the first insulation elbow segment relative to the assembled insulation elbow (see Douglas [0061], and Figs. 1-3 of Cooper).
Claim 13, pertaining having the plurality of insulation elbow segments are placed stacked in the single box container for shipment would have been obvious based on assembly at the user’s size when a large object is formed, over the combination provided by Douglas et al. in view Cooper, in view of Sostek.
As for claim 14, Douglas et al. in view of Cooper, and Sostek provide suggestion for wherein each of the plurality of insulation elbow segments includes an insulation elbow segment identifier that indicates a location of the respective insulation elbow segment relative to the assembled insulation elbow (see [0061]), and it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to place the plurality of insulation elbow segments in the package comprises stacking the plurality of insulation elbow segments on top of one another in an order relative to the insulation elbow segment identifier of each, for the benefit of shipping and assembling the object at desired location or time (see [0061]-[0066] of Douglas; additionally see Sostek). Furthermore, identifier within the structure would have been obvious for the purpose of aesthetic.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas et al. (US 2014/0074274 A1) in view of Cooper (US 2021/0122087 A1) in view of Sostek (US 2017/0106600 A1) in further view of either one of Simpleware Limited (GB 2478067 A) or Hascher et al. (US 2018/0001561 A1).
Claim 7, Douglas et al. in view of Cooper teaches forming a tubular object (mandrel/tube of Cooper), and also suggest processing instructions for producing an object from plurality of sub-objects, creating plurality of sub-object models, including different sets of instructions for each (Douglas, [0049]-[0058], also [0041], [0049] discloses processing instruction from a digital model of the object, Cooper Figs. 1-3 shows producing an insulation elbow/mandrel that would include taking into consideration of the claimed parameters including inner diameter, radius of curvature, outer diameter, also see [0035], [0037]). It is noted that in creating the mandrel/tube shaped object, Douglas in view of Cooper provides suggestion for creating digital model of the object, taking into consideration of the objects length, the outer diameter, radius of curvature, elbow length, outer diameter, and assembling the plurality of sub-object/segments/elements to form the object (tube/mandrel/insulation elbow).
Douglas et al. and Cooper teach al the limitations to the claim invention as discussed above, including forming the digital model of the object, including plurality of insulation elbow segments, having various processing instructions for each of the segments, for forming the insulation elbow (see Figs. 1-3, [0023] of Cooper which states that mandrel is hollow, see Douglas et al. [0050] regarding slicing, additionally see [0041]-[0058]), however, both Douglas et al. and Cooper fail to specifically teach slicing the hollowed out digital solid piece as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to 3D printing objects, Simpleware Limited states the conventional approach to hollowing out a solid CAD object starts with a CAD representation of the object, which is a collection of vector-based representations of graphical entities corresponding to the different outer surfaces of the object. To achieve hollowing out, the conventional approach moves the outer surfaces inwards by a fixed amount (typically specified by the user). The set of surfaces spawned by this movement are designated as internal surfaces, whereby the original (external) and spawned (internal) surfaces are used to define the exterior and interior of the hollowed-out model (see page 1 lines 30 to page 2 lines 30). Also, in the same field of endeavor, pertaining to 3D printing, Hascher et al. teach a single solid 3D model may be divided into a plurality of solid 3D models. Each of the plurality of solid 3D models may be processed individually on the CAD device (110) so that hollow 3D models (120) may be created for each of the plurality of solid 3D models. Each of the plurality of hollow 3D models may then be sent to the 3D printing device (130) ([0039]). By doing so, Hascher et al. produces a desired shaped 3D printed object that includes hollow interior (see [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art further combine hollowing out solid CAD object, as suggested by Simpleware Limited or Hascher et al. in the 3D printing process, as taught by Douglas et al. and Cooper, for the benefit of efficiently producing an actual 3D printed object with desired internal surface feature.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 -25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. he closest prior art Douglas et al. (US 2014/0074274 A1) in view of Cooper (US 2021/0122087 A1) in view of Sostek (US 2017/0106600 A1), fails to teach wherein the insulation elbow, to be assembled from the plurality of insulation elbow segments, includes a first insulation layer and a second insulation layer around the first insulation layer, and wherein the plurality of insulation elbow segments includes a first plurality of insulation elbow segments that, when assembled together, define the first insulation layer and a second plurality of insulation elbow segments that, when assembled together, define the second insulation layer.
Claims 26-27 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art Douglas et al. (US 2014/0074274 A1) in view of Cooper (US 2021/0122087 A1) in view of Sostek (US 2017/0106600 A1), fails to teach
a method of manufacturing an insulation elbow configured to surround a conveyance elbow and reduce thermal loss from the conveyance elbow, the insulation elbow having a first insulation layer and a second insulation layer around the first insulation layer, the method comprising the steps of: manufacturing a first plurality of insulation elbow segments in at least one processing machine from at least one raw material, the first plurality of insulation elbow segments defining respective portions of the first insulation layer of the insulation elbow and configured to be assembled together to form the first insulation layer of the insulation elbow around the conveyance elbow; manufacturing a second plurality of insulation elbow segments in the at least one processing machine from the at least one raw material, the second plurality of insulation elbow segments defining respective portions of the second insulation layer of the insulation elbow and configured to be assembled together to form the second insulation layer of the insulation elbow around the first insulation layer; and placing the first plurality of insulation elbow segments and the second plurality of insulation elbow segments into one or more packages for delivery to a site remote from the at least one processing machine containing the conveyance elbow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive: Applicant argued that [0028] of Cooper teaches from the claimed invention. However, the Examiner disagrees, and notes that in fact, [0028] suggests the benefit of having separable plurality of segments and being able to remove from the cured duct as necessary. [0029] also discloses that the mandrel or product formed for example, the plurality of separable segments may be disconnected from one another by breaking think connecting tabs and once removed from the cured duct, either recycled or discarded. Additionally, Cooper provides suggestions for re-assembling the reengaging the magnetic connect and reusing the mandrel for manufacture of additional composite ducts. Therefore, applicant’s argument towards teaching away is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743