DETAILED ACTION
This Action is a response to the filing received 30 September 2024. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 30 September 2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 21, 26-27, 30 and 33 of U.S. Patent No. 12,135,630. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the present claims is anticipated or rendered obvious by the subject matter recited in the reference claims.
For example, current claim 1 recites analyzing a specification of an API in response to a request to generate a model relating resource entities to operations of the specification; reference claim 1 recites generating a domain-specific abstraction model corresponding to an API specification by using a parse and a modeling language, the model defining entities each corresponding to an endpoint and each comprising a path and a set of operations. A domain-specific abstraction model generated by parsing an API specification is broadly consistent with analyzing an API specification to generate a model, and defining entities corresponding to an endpoint which comprises a set of operations is broadly consistent with relating resource entities to operations of the specification. This is also broadly consistent with the model being formed as a black box model without access to source code, as recited in currently pending claim 7.
Reference claim 1 further recites identifying based on the domain-specific abstraction model use cases for each endpoint and each operation at each endpoint, the use cases comprising an operation, which is broadly consistent with identifying a function of the API that uses a set of the operations and corresponding resource entities identified via the model as set forth in current claim 1.
Reference claim 1 further recites in response to a build in a development pipeline including an API update made by a developer, generating the functional test; this is consistent with current claim 1 which recites performing the method from the analyzing step in response to a request. It is further consistent with currently pending claims 5 and 6, which recite that the request is generated in response to an event in a development pipeline which comprises an update to the specification.
Reference claim 1 further recites generating a functional test that transmits the operation to the endpoint via the path in the request format and verifies that a received response matches an expected response is broadly consistent with generating source code for a functional test of the identified function and performing the functional test as recited in current claim 1. This is also consistent with performing the functional test comprising executing the operations using the corresponding resource entities via a path, in a request format, with a required parameter, as identified via the model, and verifying that a received response code from the API matches an expected response value identified via the model, as recited in current claim 2.
Reference claims 6 and 27 recite the same subject matter as currently pending claims 3 and 4. Currently pending claims 8-14 correspond to currently pending claims 1-7; currently pending claims 15-17 correspond to currently pending claims 1-3; and currently pending claims 18-20 correspond to currently pending claims 5-7. Reference claims 8, 13 and 30 correspond to reference claims 1, 6 and 27; and reference claims 21, 26 and 33 correspond to reference claims 1, 6 and 27.
A table is provided below for ease of comparing the current claims and reference claims.
Current Application
U.S. 12,135,630
1. A method, comprising:
1. A method, comprising:
analyzing, by one or more processors, a specification of an application programming interface (“API”) in response to a request;
generating, by one or more computing devices, using a parser and a modeling language, a domain-specific abstraction model corresponding to a specification of an application programming interface (API), the domain-specific abstraction model defining one or more entities each corresponding to an endpoint of the API and each comprising a path and a set of operations available at the endpoint;
generating a model based on the analyzing of the specification, wherein the model relates resource entities to operations of the specification;
identifying a function of the API, wherein the function uses a set of the operations and corresponding resource entities identified via the model;
identifying, by the one or more computing devices, based on the domain-specific abstraction model, use cases for each endpoint and each operation in the set of operations at each endpoint, each use case comprising an operation in the set of operations available at the endpoint, a request format, a required parameter, an operational parameter, one or more expected response headers, and an expected response value, and
generating source code for a functional test of the identified function; and
in response to a build in a development pipeline, the build including an update made to the API by a developer in the development pipeline, generating, by one or more computing devices, a functional test that for each of the use cases, transmits the operation to the endpoint via the path in the request format with the required parameter and verifies that a received response code matches the expected response value and that one or more headers in a response payload from the API match the one or more expected headers.
performing the functional test using the source code.
2. The method of claim 1, the performing the functional test further comprising:
executing the set of one or more operations using the corresponding resource entities via a path, in a request format, with a required parameter, as identified via the model; and
transmits the operation to the endpoint via the path in the request format with the required parameter and verifies that a received response code matches the expected response value [see claim 1]
verifying that a received response code from the API matches an expected response value identified via the model.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the specification is defined in a RESTful API Modeling Language (RAML), an Open API Specification (OAS), a GraphQL, or a gRPC Remote Procedure Call format.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the specification is defined in a RESTful API Modeling Language (RAML), an Open API Specification (OAS), a GraphQL, or a gRPC Remote Procedure Call format.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise a fetch, a create, a list, a delete, or an update.
27. The method of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise a fetch, a create, a list, a delete, or an update.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the request is generated in response to an event in a development pipeline.
in response to a build in a development pipeline, the build including an update made to the API by a developer in the development pipeline [see claim 1]
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the event comprises an update to the specification.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the model is formed as a black box model without access to source code.
generating, by one or more computing devices, using a parser and a modeling language, a domain-specific abstraction model corresponding to a specification of an application programming interface (API) [see claim 1]
8. A system, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: [[[perform the method of claim 1]]]
8. A system, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: [[[perform the method of claim 1]]]
Claims 9-14 ~ Claims 2-7
Claims 13 and 30 ~ Claims 6 and 27
15. A non-transitory computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: [[[the method of claim 1]]]
21. A non-transitory computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: [[[the method of claim 1]]]
Claims 16-17 ~ Claims 2-3
Claims 26 and 33 ~ Claims 6 and 27
Claims 18-20 ~ Claims 5-7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Battaglia, Martin, U.S. 2020/0233790 A1 (“Battaglia”)1.
Regarding claim 1, Battaglia teaches: A method (Battaglia, e.g., ¶48, process flow 400), comprising:
analyzing, by one or more processors, a specification of an application programming interface (“API”) (Battaglia, e.g., ¶41, “logic for parsing the API specification 335 may be specific to an API modeling language (RAML) … logic for parsing the API behavior file may consist of domain specific language (DSL) for parsing encoded API behaviors …”) in response to a request (Battaglia, e.g., ¶46, “behaviors in the API behavior file 340 may be modified, the API behavior file may be reparsed by the file parsing component 320 to generate the behavior logic 360 … mock implementation 365 may be re-executed by the mock implementation running component 330 with different behaviors …”);
generating a model based on the analyzing of the specification, wherein the model relates resource entities to operations of the specification (Battaglia, e.g., ¶42, “parsing component 320 may generate a parsed model …”);
identifying a function of the API, wherein the function uses a set of the operations and corresponding resource entities identified via the model (Battaglia, e.g., ¶36, “An API request may be formatted as a link to a particular … (URL) and may include an endpoint, a method, one or more headers, and a set of data … user may select ‘Endpoint1’ as the endpoint for the mock request 245 … and may test a ‘GET’ method … may include all or a subset of the parameters of a regular API request …”);
generating source code for a functional test of the identified function (Battaglia, e.g., ¶43, “mock request 345 may comprise … (HTTP) requests. The request may indicate a method and a resource defined by the API specification … as well as other information or parameters …” See also, e.g., ¶52, “server 405 generates behavior logic based on the parsed API behavior file … may include generating machine-readable code … for execution when requests are received and directed to the associated mock implementation”); and
performing the functional test using the source code (Battaglia, e.g., ¶44, “server 305 may further include a response generating component, which generates mock responses 355 based on execution of the mock implementation … Responses may include status codes, error codes, requested resources … behavior handler 370 may modify and/or verify generated responses based on the behaviors encoded in the API behavior file …”).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 1 above. Examiner notes that with respect to claim 8, Battaglia further teaches: A system (Battaglia, e.g., ¶69, system 700 including device 705 which may be an example of a server), comprising: a memory (Battaglia, e.g., ¶69, memory 725; see also, e.g., ¶73, “memory 725 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein …”); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Battaglia, e.g., ¶¶69 and 73-74, processor 730 which executes instructions stored on memory 725 to perform the disclosed operations and methods) and configured to: [[[perform the method of claim 1]]]; and with respect to claim 15, Battaglia further teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations (Battaglia, e.g., ¶69, memory 725; see also, e.g., ¶73, “memory 725 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein …” See also, e.g., ¶135, discussing non-transitory computer-readable media) comprising: [[[the method of claim 1]]].
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Battaglia further teaches: the performing the functional test further comprising: executing the set of one or more operations using the corresponding resource entities via a path, in a request format, with a required parameter, as identified via the model (Battaglia, e.g., ¶36, “An API request may be formatted as a link to a particular … (URL) and may include an endpoint, a method, one or more headers, and a set of data …” See also, e.g., ¶43, “mock request 345 may comprise … (HTTP) requests. The request may indicate a method and a resource defined by the API specification … as well as other information or parameters …” Examiner’s note: parameters may or may not be required2); and
verifying that a received response code from the API matches an expected response value identified via the model (Battaglia, e.g., ¶44, “server 305 may further include a response generating component, which generates mock responses 355 based on execution of the mock implementation … Responses may include status codes, error codes, requested resources … behavior handler 370 may modify and/or verify generated responses based on the behaviors encoded in the API behavior file …”).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Battaglia further teaches: wherein the specification is defined in a RESTful API Modeling Language (RAML), an Open API Specification (OAS), a GraphQL, or a gRPC Remote Procedure Call format (Battaglia, e.g., ¶41, “logic for parsing the API specification 335 may be specific to an API modeling language (RAML) …”).
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejections of claims 2-3 above.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Battaglia further teaches: wherein the operations comprise a fetch, a create, a list, a delete, or an update (Battaglia, e.g., ¶36, “user may select ‘Endpoint1’ as the endpoint for the mock request 245 … and may test a ‘GET’ method. Other methods supported by the mocking service 200 may include ‘PUT,’ ‘POST,’ ‘PATCH,’ ‘DELETE,’ or some combination of these or other API methods …”).
Claim 11 is rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Battaglia further teaches: wherein the request is generated in response to an event in a development pipeline (Battaglia, e.g., ¶46, “behaviors in the API behavior file 340 may be modified, the API behavior file may be reparsed by the file parsing component 320 to generate the behavior logic 360 … mock implementation 365 may be re-executed by the mock implementation running component 330 with different behaviors …” See also, e.g., ¶32, “mocking service 200 may be an extension of an API designer application … may support a user creating new API specifications 230 and/or editing existing API specifications … parser … may parse the user-defined API specification 230 to generate a mock model … To test the API specification …” Examiner’s note: a development platform supporting a design, test and deploy process comprises a development pipeline).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, and Battaglia further teaches: wherein the event comprises an update to the specification (Battaglia, e.g., ¶46, “behaviors in the API behavior file 340 may be modified, the API behavior file may be reparsed by the file parsing component 320 to generate the behavior logic 360 … mock implementation 365 may be re-executed by the mock implementation running component 330 with different behaviors …”).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Battaglia further teaches: wherein the model is formed as a black box model without access to source code (Battaglia, e.g., ¶41, “logic for parsing the API specification 335 may be specific to an API modeling language (RAML) … logic for parsing the API behavior file may consist of domain specific language (DSL) for parsing encoded API behaviors …” See also, e.g., Battaglia, e.g., ¶42, “parsing component 320 may generate a parsed model …” See also, e.g., ¶32, “parser … may parse the user-defined specification 230 to generate a mock model 240 for the API … parse may also be configured to parse an API behavior file … may consist of a mocking service language (MSL) and may define global behaviors as well as resource specific behaviors. The server 205 may store the parsed behavior file as behavior logic … server 205 may receive the mock request 245 and simulate the request using the pre-parsed mock model 240 and the behavior logic in memory …” Examiner’s note: the model is based on the API specification and/or API behavior file, neither of which are source code. The model is black box in nature as it defines inputs (requests) and outputs (responses) without concern for the source code necessary to perform those tests. See, e.g., ¶27, “behavior logic allows a service to be configured for interacting with a simulation of a full implementation of the API corresponding to the API specification and for interacting with different response scenarios of the API …”).
Claims 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejections of claims 5-7 above.
Conclusion
Examiner has identified particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of Applicant. Although the citations made are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the enumerated claims, the teaching of the cited art as a whole is not limited to the cited passages. Other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/or disclosed by Examiner.
Examiner respectfully requests that, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communication from Examiner should be directed to Andrew M. Lyons, whose telephone number is (571) 270-3529, and whose fax number is (571) 270-4529. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM ET. If attempts to reach Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, Examiner’s supervisor, Wei Mui, can be reached at (571) 272-3708. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Center system. For more information about the Patent Center system, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or (571) 272-1000.
/Andrew M. Lyons/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191
1 As this reference is cited on an IDS filed 30 September 2024, it is not included on an attached PTO-892
2 In the event that an interpretation of Battaglia’s parameters may not specifically include required parameters, see, e.g., Tyler et al., U.S. 10,437,712 B2 (“Tyler”) at, e.g., 23:51-54, “model of the API indicates that at least some parameters are required for at least some endpoints; the model of the API indicates that at least some parameters are optional for at least some endpoints …” As this reference is cited on an IDS filed 30 September 2024, it is not included on an attached PTO-892