DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments received August 19, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claim 2 is cancelled; and claims 8-15 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1 and 3-7 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhmani, et al. Self-promoted Nickel-chalcogenide Nanostructures: A Novel Electrochemical Supercapacitor Device-design Strategy. Materials Research Bulletin, Vol. 156 (Dec. 2022), pp. 1-9, in view of Zaulkiflee, et al. Recent advances on the utilization of nanosheets as electrode material for supercapacitor application. Journal of Energy Storage, Vol. 55, Part D (Nov. 30, 2022), pp. 1-17, and further in view of Xie, et al. Synthesis of cobalt-doped nickel sulfide nanomaterials with rich edge sites as high-performance supercapacitor electrode materials. Inorganic Chemistry Frontiers, Issue 5 (2018) pp. 1218-1225.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Sukhmani teaches an electrochemical supercapacitor with NiS, NiSe, and NiSSe nanostructured electrode materials on NiF (Pg. 2, Col. 2, Ln. 9-11). Sukhmani teaches that the NiSSe nanostructured electrode over a NiF host results in a nanobud morphology (¶ Pg. 4, Col. 2, Ln. 18-28). Sukhmani doesn’t expressly teach that the sulfoselenide NiSSe has a 2D Van der Waals layered structure of nanosheets with d-spacing in the range of 3-7 Angstrom, or that the NiSSe gives XRD peaks at the positions recited in claim 7.
Zaulkiflee teaches that nanomaterials are good candidates for electrode materials for supercapacitors for enhanced ion adsorption and faster surface redox reactions (Pg. 5, Col. 2, Ln. 6-7). Zaulkiflee teaches that 2D nanomaterials are the best nanostructure because of their high mechanical integrity, due to their overlapping area when they are stacked layer-by-layer, and good electrochemical performance (Pg. 6, Col. 1, Ln. 1-4). Specifically, Zaulkiflee teaches that 2D nanosheets have gained a lot of attention for their use as supercapacitor electrodes, due to their ultra-high specific surface area and superior conductivity (Pg. 6, Col. 1, Ln. 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode material of Sukhmani to include NiSSe having a layered nanosheet structure based on the teachings of Zaulkiflee. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a layered nanosheet structure based on the teachings of Zaulkiflee that the nanostructure has high mechanical integrity, good electrochemical performance and ultra-high specific surface area.
Transition metal dichalcogenides have an interlayer distance of approximately 3-3.5 Angstrom. In including NiSSe having a layered nanosheet structure, the material would have a d-spacing of approximately 3-3.5 Angstrom, within the claimed range of 3-7 Angstrom. Further, in including NiSSe having a layered nanosheet structure, the NiSSe would inherently include XRD peaks at the claimed positions, as the XRD positions primarily depend on the structure of the material and the d-spacing.
The combination of references does not expressly teach that the pore radius of the sulfoselenide varies from 50-120 Angstrom.
Xie teaches the use of cobalt-doped nickel sulfide nanomaterials for the use of supercapacitor electrode materials (Pg. 1218, Col. 2, Ln. 20-29). Xie teaches that a pore size distribution of 5-12 nm (50-120 Angstrom) is necessary to accommodate the diffusion of electrolyte ion during the charging/discharging process (Pg. 1221, Col. 1, Ln. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pore size of the NiSSe to be within 5-12 nm (50-120 Angstrom) based on the teachings of Xie. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that both teachings involve using transition metal chalcogenides in electrodes of supercapacitors, and would be motivated to include NiSSe with a pore size of 5-12 nm (50-120 Angstrom) in order to accommodate the diffusion of electrolyte ion during the charging/discharging process.
Regarding claims 3-6, Sukhmani in view of Zaulkiflee and Xie teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Claims 3-6 do not further limit the NiSSe compound applied by the prior art, therefore, the claim limitations are met.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Sukhmani, et al. (Self-promoted Nickel-chalcogenide Nanostructures: A Novel Electrochemical Supercapacitor Device-design Strategy. Materials Research Bulletin, Vol. 156 (Dec. 2022), pp. 1-9) does not teach the 2D Van der Waals layered structure with a d-spacing of 3-7 Angstrom; that the interlayer spacing is not a characteristic of the transition metal dichalcogenide; that the XRD peak position would not be inherent to the material; that Xie, et al. (Synthesis of cobalt-doped nickel sulfide nanomaterials with rich edge sites as high-performance supercapacitor electrode materials. Inorganic Chemistry Frontiers, Issue 5 (2018) pp. 1218-1225) does not teach 2D layered sulfoselenide structure; that Zaulkiflee, et al. (Recent advances on the utilization of nanosheets as electrode material for supercapacitor application. Journal of Energy Storage, Vol. 55, Part D (Nov. 30, 2022), pp. 1-17) does not explicitly mention or suggest a reasonable expectation of success for converting Sukhmani’s nanobuds into layered nanosheets and that Zaulkiflee teaches a general review on 2D nanosheets; and that the pore size distribution of Xie is not transferrable to Sukhmani.
With respect to the argument, see page 7 of the remarks, that Zaulkiflee does not explicitly mention or suggest a reasonable expectation of success for converting Sukhmani’s nanobuds into layered nanosheets and that Zaulkiflee teaches a general review on 2D nanosheets, this argument is not persuasive. Zaulkiflee teaches that 2D nanomaterials are the best nanostructure because of their high mechanical integrity, due to their overlapping area when they are stacked layer-by-layer, and good electrochemical performance (Pg. 6, Col. 1, Ln. 1-4), and specifically that 2D nanosheets have gained a lot of attention for their use as supercapacitor electrodes, due to their ultra-high specific surface area and superior conductivity (Pg. 6, Col. 1, Ln. 33-35). Zaulkiflee further teaches two synthesis methods for producing nanosheets: top-down and bottom-up. One involves separating 3D bulk materials into 2D materials and the other includes creating 2D materials on a molecular level (Pg. 6, Col. 2, Ln. 2-8). Additionally, Zaulkiflee teaches the use of several materials including metal sulfides. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of modifying the electrode material of Sukhmani to include NiSSe having a layered nanosheet structure based on the teachings of Zaulkiflee.
With respect to the arguments, see pages 5-6 and 9 of the remarks, that Sukhmani does not teach the 2D Van der Waals layered structure with a d-spacing of 3-7 Angstrom, that the interlayer spacing is not a characteristic of the transition metal dichalcogenide, and that the XRD peak position would not be inherent to the material, this argument is not persuasive. While it is acknowledged that Sukhmani does not expressly teach the 2D Van der Waals layered structure with a d-spacing of 3-7 Angstrom and claimed XRD peak position, the properties would be inherent to the NiSSe nanosheet structure of Sukhmani in view of Zaulkiflee. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). A nanosheet structure of NiSSe, as taught by Sukhmani in view of Zaulkiflee would inherently have a d-spacing within the claimed range of 3-7 Angstrom. This is a property of transition metal dichalogenides, which includes NiSSe. Further, as XRD positions primarily depend on the structure of the material and the d-spacing, the nanosheet structure of NiSSe as taught by Sukhmani in view of Zaulkiflee would include XRD peaks at the claimed positions.
With respect to the argument, see pages 6-7 of the remarks, that Xie does not teach 2D layered sulfoselenide structure, this argument is not persuasive. Xie is relied upon as a teaching reference to modify the pore radius in the NiSSe. As Xie teaches a cobalt-doped nickel sulfide nanomaterial for the use of supercapacitor electrode materials, the teachings are relevant to the material of Sukhmani. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the argument, see pages 7-8 of the remarks, that the pore size distribution of Xie is not transferrable to Sukhmani, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that because the material of Xie includes cobalt, the pore radius is not transferrable to the NiSSe of Sukhmani in view of Zaulkiflee, citing an increase in cobalt content resulting in the break-up of hollow spheres as evidence of pore radius. The Applicant further argues that the incorporation of cobalt into the NiSSe of Sukhmani is unaddressed. However, while it is acknowledged that Xie teaches the relationship between cobalt content and nanoparticle size, the reference does not directly link pore radius to the content of cobalt or teach that pore size is reliant on the presence of cobalt in the nanomaterial. It is noted that the teachings of Xie are relied upon to modify the pore radius in the NiSSe, as Xie teaches that a pore size distribution of 5-12 nm (50-120 Angstrom) is necessary to accommodate the diffusion of electrolyte ion during the charging/discharging process (Pg. 1221, Col. 1, Ln. 1-7). This teaching is relevant to the NiSSe of Sukhmani as the material is used in a supercapacitor. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a pore volume which is advantageous to the diffusion of electrolyte is applicable to the NiSSe of Sukhmani and would be motivated to target the pore volume for NiSSe used in a supercapacitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang, et al. (CN 114496581 A) teaches a selenium-doped nickel-cobalt sulfide with a cross-linked nanosheet structure belonging to the field of supercapacitor energy storage technology (¶ [0001], Ln. 1-3).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785