DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term ‘Wi-Fi’, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Any other instances of trade names appearing improperly in the Specification should also be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suszczynski et al (US 20260039586 A1), and further in view of Haustein et al (US 20240414558 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suszczynski teaches
A system, comprising ([Fig. 1]-[Fig. 2] system):
a transcoder device, the transcoder device comprising (([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router (transcoder device)):
a group of respective network interfaces comprising a satellite interface and a network interface subgroup comprising at least one terrestrial interface, the group of respective network interfaces coupled to a network stack comprising a multipath transmission control protocol (MPTCP) library, the MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data representative of one or more selected data paths from among respective available MPTCP subflows corresponding to the respective network interfaces of the group of network interfaces ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router can have a satellite link (satellite interface) as well as a terrestrial link (terrestrial interface) with multiple network devices (subgroup of network interfaces comprising at least one terrestrial interface), where the edge router is configured to direct the network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP (coupled to network stack comprising MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data) to determine communication paths and establish a plurality of subflows over a plurality of transport links and send data packets over the different communication paths), and
wherein the transcoder device obtains network data and outputs the network data to the network stack for transmission to a receiving device via the one or more selected data paths ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1], [Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router receives network traffic from a network device and directs the network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP to determine communication paths and establish a plurality of subflows over a plurality of transport links and transmit the network traffic over the plurality of transport links using the plurality of subflows).
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach a metasurface; and
a transcoder device coupled to the metasurface,
a metasurface controller coupled to the network stack, the metasurface controller obtaining the transport connection data from the network stack, and adjusting property data of the metasurface based on the transport connection data,
However, Haustein does teach a metasurface ([0057], [0099], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] reconfigurable intelligent surface RIS (metasurface)); and
a transcoder device coupled to the metasurface ([0057], [0099], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] reconfigurable intelligent surface RIS is connected to network node),
a metasurface controller coupled to the network stack, the metasurface controller obtaining the transport connection data from the network stack, and adjusting property data of the metasurface based on the transport connection data ([0057], [0099], [0325], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] reconfigurable intelligent surface RIS has a RIS controller which is a part of the network node (metasurface controller coupled with network stack), where the RIS controller gives commands and requests to control the RIS (obtaining transport connection data from network stack) and the RIS may change the property of deflection or reflection of signals according to a relay operation such as multipath (adjusting property data of the metasurface based on the transport connection data)),
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 2, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the one or more selected data paths is coupled to the receiving device via the metasurface.
However, Haustein does teach wherein at least one of the one or more selected data paths is coupled to the receiving device via the metasurface ([Fig. 31] multiple data paths between various devices such as UEs and base stations and RIS (coupled to receiving device via metasurface)).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 3, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach wherein a first data path of the one or more selected data paths, and a second data path of the one or more selected data paths, are coupled to the receiving device via the metasurface, and wherein the metasurface is subdivided into a first portion for transmission of first network data obtained via the first data path, and a second portion for transmission of second network data obtained via the second data path.
However, Haustein does teach wherein a first data path of the one or more selected data paths, and a second data path of the one or more selected data paths, are coupled to the receiving device via the metasurface, and wherein the metasurface is subdivided into a first portion for transmission of first network data obtained via the first data path, and a second portion for transmission of second network data obtained via the second data path ([0057], [0099], [Fig. 31] multiple data paths (first and second data path) between various devices such as UEs and base stations and RIS (coupled to receiving device via metasurface), where the RISs may deflect or reflect an incoming wireless signal to an outgoing deflected or reflected wireless signal based on a relay operation (first portion for transmission and second portion for transmission)).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 4, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network interface subgroup comprises at least one of: an ethernet interface, a wireless fidelity interface, or a new radio interface ([0034], [0037], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 2] plurality of transport links can utilize WiFi (subgroup comprises wireless fidelity interface)).
Regarding claim 5, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the metasurface controller configures the metasurface based on the transport connection data and current network conditions.
However, Haustein does teach wherein the metasurface controller configures the metasurface based on the transport connection data and current network conditions ([0057], [0099], [0127], [0325], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] reconfigurable intelligent surface RIS has a RIS controller which is a part of the network node (metasurface controller coupled with network stack), where the RIS controller gives commands and requests to control the RIS (obtaining transport connection data from network stack) and the RIS may change the property of deflection or reflection of signals according to a relay operation such as multipath (configures metasurface based on the transport connection data), where the RIS controller may be configured to affect the propagation channel to improve communication between two or more network entities and also to mitigate interference experienced by the network entities (configures metasurface based on current network conditions)).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS and a RIS controller is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 6, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the MPTCP library adjusts the transport connection data based on the signal quality feedback data for subsequent network data transmission ([0059], and [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3] the edge router polls the status of the satellite including throughput, latency, and the like (signal quality feedback data) to determine which transport links to use based on a weighting (adjusts the transport connection data based on the signal quality feedback data)).
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the metasurface returns signal quality feedback data to the MPTCP library via the metasurface controller,
However, Haustein does teach wherein the metasurface returns signal quality feedback data to the MPTCP library via the metasurface controller ([0057], [0099], [0325]-[0327], [Fig. 31] RIS and RIS controller (metasurface and metasurface controller) connected to multipath components (MPTCP library), where information about channels having a low or high rank (signal quality feedback) is used by the RIS and RIS controller to configure the RIS such that certain performance and requirement objectives are met),
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS and a RIS controller is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 7, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the satellite interface comprises a satellite interface transceiver, and wherein the network interface subgroup group comprises at least one terrestrial process interface transceiver ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a satellite link (satellite interface) as well as a terrestrial link (terrestrial interface) with multiple network devices (subgroup of network interfaces comprising at least one terrestrial interface), where the edge router transmits and receives to and from both the network devices and the satellite/aggregator (transceivers for each connection)).
Regarding claim 8, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the group of respective network interfaces comprises respective transceivers ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a terrestrial link with multiple network devices (subgroup of network interfaces comprising at least one terrestrial interface), where the edge router transmits and receives to and from the network devices (respective transceivers)).
Regarding claim 9, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the MPTCP library is integrated into the network stack ([Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3] edge router contains MPTCP module that is used to route the traffic (MPTCP library integrated into the network stack)).
Regarding claim 10, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network stack returns the transport connection data to a source device from which the network stack obtains the network data ([0038] and [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3] edge router including the MPTCP module is configured to direct network traffic from the network devices to the aggregator as well as from the aggregator to the network devices (return transport connection data to a source device)).
Regarding claim 11, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network data comprises terrestrial data obtained from a user equipment, wherein the receiving device comprises a satellite, wherein the one or more selected data paths comprise a user equipment-to-satellite data path, and wherein the transcoder device converts the terrestrial data to non-terrestrial data for transmission to the satellite ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a satellite link as well as a terrestrial link with multiple network devices/user devices, where the edge router receives network traffic from the network devices/user devices via the terrestrial link (terrestrial data obtained from user equipment) and sends the network traffic to a satellite via the satellite link (receiving device satellite; UE-to-satellite path) using the MPTCP module to choose the path to the satellite link (converting from terrestrial to non-terrestrial)).
Regarding claim 12, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The system of claim 1, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network data comprises non-terrestrial data obtained from a satellite, wherein the receiving device comprises a user equipment, wherein the one or more selected data paths comprise a satellite-to-user equipment data path, and wherein the transcoder device converts the non-terrestrial data to terrestrial data for transmission to the user equipment ([0035]-[0036], [0038], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a satellite link as well as a terrestrial link with multiple network devices/user devices, where edge router including the MPTCP module is also configured to direct network traffic from the aggregator/satellite via the satellite link (non-terrestrial data obtained from satellite) to the network devices/user devices (satellite-to-UE path; UE receiving device) using the MPTCP module to choose the path to the terrestrial link (converting from non-terrestrial to terrestrial)).
Regarding claim 13, Suszczynski teaches
A method, comprising ([0003] method):
obtaining, by a system comprising at least one processor, network data for transmission ([0006], [0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router comprises a processor and is configured receive and direct network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP (coupled to network stack comprising MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data) to determine communication paths and establish a plurality of subflows over a plurality of transport links and send data packets over the different communication paths (network data for transmission));
forwarding, by the system via a network interface group comprising a satellite interface and a network interface subgroup comprising at least one terrestrial interface, the network data to a network stack, the network stack comprising a multipath transmission control protocol (MPTCP) library ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router can have a satellite link (satellite interface) as well as a terrestrial link (terrestrial interface) with multiple network devices (subgroup of network interfaces comprising at least one terrestrial interface), where the edge router is configured to direct the network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP (network stack comprising MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data));
obtaining, by the system from the MPTCP library of the network stack, transport connection data representative of one or more MPTCP data paths for a data transmission of the network data ([0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router is configured to direct the network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP (network stack comprising MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data) to determine communication paths and establish a plurality of subflows over a plurality of transport links and send data packets over the different communication paths);
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach communicating information representative of the transport connection data to a metasurface controller to configure the metasurface based on the transport connection data; and
transmitting at least some of the network data, based on the transport connection data, via the metasurface.
However, Haustein does teach communicating information representative of the transport connection data to a metasurface controller to configure the metasurface based on the transport connection data ([0057], [0099], [0325]-[0327], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] the RIS controller gives commands and requests to control the RIS (communicating information representative of the transport connection data) and the RIS may change the property of deflection or reflection of signals according to a relay operation such as multipath (configures the metasurface based on the transport connection data), where the RIS controller obtains knowledge about the RIS behavior); and
transmitting at least some of the network data, based on the transport connection data, via the metasurface ([0057], [0099], [0325], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] RIS reflects or deflects wireless signals according to a relay operation).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 14, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The method of claim 13, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the transport connection data is first transport connection data, and further comprising, adjusting, by the MPTCP library of the system based on the signal quality feedback data, the first transport connection data to second transport connection data that is different from the first transport connection data ([0059], and [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3] tunnel endpoint for satellite link is connected to the MPTCP module which routes data through the links, where the edge router polls the status of the satellite including throughput, latency, and the like (signal quality feedback data) to determine which transport links to use based on a weighting (adjusts the transport connection data based on the signal quality feedback data)).
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the metasurface returns signal quality feedback data to the network stack,
However, Haustein does teach wherein the metasurface returns signal quality feedback data to the network stack controller ([0057], [0099], [0325]-[0327], [Fig. 31] RIS and RIS controller (metasurface and metasurface controller) connected to multipath components (MPTCP library), where information about channels having a low or high rank (signal quality feedback) is used by the RIS and RIS controller to configure the RIS such that certain performance and requirement objectives are met),
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS and a RIS controller is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 15, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The method of claim 13, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the transport connection data identifies a first MPTCP data path and a second MPTCP data path ([0034], [0037], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 2] plurality of transport links (first and second data paths) used for satellite communication between the edge router and the satellite/aggregator, where each link has its own tunnel endpoint (subdivided into a first and second portion for transmission of first and second network data)).
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach further comprising subdividing the metasurface into a first portion for transmitting data corresponding to the first MPTCP path, and a second portion for transmitting data corresponding to the second MPTCP path.
However, Haustein does teach further comprising subdividing the metasurface into a first portion for transmitting data corresponding to the first MPTCP path, and a second portion for transmitting data corresponding to the second MPTCP path ([0057], [0099], [Fig. 31] multiple data paths (first and second data path) between various devices such as UEs and base stations and RIS (coupled to receiving device via metasurface), where the RISs may deflect or reflect an incoming wireless signal to an outgoing deflected or reflected wireless signal based on a relay operation (first portion for transmission and second portion for transmission)).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 16, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The method of claim 13, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network data comprises terrestrial new radio data, wherein the transport connection data represents an MPTCP path to a satellite, and further comprising transcoding, by the system, the terrestrial new radio data to non-terrestrial satellite communications (Satcom) data for transmission to the satellite ([0034]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a satellite link as well as a terrestrial link with multiple network devices/user devices, where the edge router receives network traffic from the network devices/user devices via the terrestrial link (terrestrial data obtained from user equipment) and sends the network traffic to a satellite via the satellite link (receiving device satellite; UE-to-satellite path) using the MPTCP module to choose the path to the satellite link (converting from terrestrial to non-terrestrial), where the edge router is configured to use cellular communications (terrestrial new radio data) as well as SATCOM communications (non-terrestrial satellite communications data)).
Regarding claim 17, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The method of claim 13, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network data comprises non-terrestrial satellite communications (Satcom) data, wherein the transport connection data represents an MPTCP path from a satellite, and further comprising transcoding, by the system, the non-terrestrial Satcom data to terrestrial new radio data for transmission to terrestrial new radio user equipment ([0034]-[0036], [0038], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a satellite link as well as a terrestrial link with multiple network devices/user devices, where edge router including the MPTCP module is also configured to direct network traffic from the aggregator/satellite via the satellite link (non-terrestrial data obtained from satellite) to the network devices/user devices (satellite-to-UE path; UE receiving device) using the MPTCP module to choose the path to the terrestrial link (converting from non-terrestrial to terrestrial), where the edge router is configured to use cellular communications (terrestrial new radio data) as well as SATCOM communications (non-terrestrial satellite communications data)).
Regarding claim 18, Suszczynski teaches
A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising ([0006] edge router comprises data store that stores computer executable instructions that are executed by a processor to control the edge router to perform functions):
obtaining network data for transmission ([0006], [0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router comprises a processor and is configured receive and direct network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP (coupled to network stack comprising MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data) to determine communication paths and establish a plurality of subflows over a plurality of transport links and send data packets over the different communication paths (network data for transmission));
obtaining transport connection data representative of a group of parallel multipath transmission control protocol (MPTCP) data paths usable to output the network data ([0006], [0035]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router is configured to direct the network traffic to a module configured to implement MPTCP (network stack comprising MPTCP library configured to determine transport connection data) to determine communication paths and establish a plurality of subflows over a plurality of transport links and send data packets over the different communication paths, and the traffic is transmitted in parallel over the plurality of transport links);
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach adjusting a metasurface based on the transport connection data; and
transmitting, by a transmitter device, the network data to a receiver device using the group of parallel MPTCP data paths, comprising redirecting at least some of the network data to the receiver device via a metasurface.
However, Haustein does teach adjusting a metasurface based on the transport connection data ([0057], [0099], [0325], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] the RIS controller gives commands and requests to control the RIS (obtaining transport connection data from network stack) and the RIS may change the property of deflection or reflection of signals according to a relay operation such as multipath (adjusting property data of the metasurface based on the transport connection data)); and
transmitting, by a transmitter device, the network data to a receiver device using the group of parallel MPTCP data paths, comprising redirecting at least some of the network data to the receiver device via a metasurface ([0057], [0099], [0325], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] RIS reflects or deflects wireless signals according to a relay operation using paths including multipath components (MPTCP data paths)).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 19, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein the network data is first network data, wherein the transport connection data is first transport connection data of a first group of parallel MPTCP data paths, and wherein the operations further comprise returning signal quality feedback data to the transmitting device, obtaining second network data for transmission, obtaining second transport connection data representative of a second group of parallel MPTCP data paths ([0006], [0034]-[0037], [0059], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] plurality of transport links (first and second data paths) used for satellite communication between the edge router and the satellite/aggregator, where each link has its own tunnel endpoint (subdivided into a first and second portion for transmission of first and second network data), where tunnel endpoint for satellite link is connected to the MPTCP module which routes data through the links, and the edge router polls the status of the satellite including throughput, latency, and the like (signal quality feedback data) to determine which transport links to use based on a weighting (adjusts the transport connection data based on the signal quality feedback data), and the traffic is transmitted in parallel over the plurality of transport links),
Suszczynski does not appear to explicitly teach adjusting the metasurface based on the second transport connection data, and transmitting, by the transmitter device, the second network data to the receiver device using the second group of parallel MPTCP data paths, comprising redirecting at least some of the second network data to the receiver device via a metasurface.
However, Haustein does teach adjusting the metasurface based on the second transport connection data, and transmitting, by the transmitter device, the second network data to the receiver device using the second group of parallel MPTCP data paths, comprising redirecting at least some of the second network data to the receiver device via a metasurface ([0057], [0099], [0325], [Fig. 12b], [Fig. 31] the RIS controller gives commands and requests to control the RIS (obtaining transport connection data from network stack) and the RIS may change the property of deflection or reflection of signals according to a relay operation such as multipath (adjusting property data of the metasurface based on the transport connection data), where the RIS uses paths for data transmission including multipath components (MPTCP data paths)).
Suszczynski and Haustein are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suszczynski to include the teachings of Haustein where a RIS is used. The rationale behind this would be to improve the quality of the TN and/or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ([0264] Haustein).
Regarding claim 20, Suszczynski modified by Haustein teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, as is described above.
Suszczynski further teaches wherein one data path of the group of parallel MPTCP data paths comprises a satellite interface for data transmission to a satellite configured for satellite communication (Satcom) data, and wherein the operations further comprise, prior to the transmitting of the network data to the receiver device using the data path comprising the satellite interface, converting terrestrial packet data of the network data to non-terrestrial Satcom packet data ([0006], [0034]-[0036], [0061], [Fig. 1]-[Fig. 3], and [Fig. 6] edge router has a satellite link as well as a terrestrial link with multiple network devices/user devices, where the edge router receives network traffic from the network devices/user devices via the terrestrial link (terrestrial data obtained from user equipment) and sends the network traffic to a satellite via the satellite link (receiving device satellite; UE-to-satellite path) using the MPTCP module to choose the path to the satellite link (converting from terrestrial to non-terrestrial), where the edge router is configured to use cellular communications (terrestrial new radio data) as well as SATCOM communications (non-terrestrial satellite communications data), and the traffic is transmitted in parallel over the plurality of transport links).
Conclusion
The following is prior art made of record and not relied upon but is considered to be pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20160094467 A1 to Hong et al teaches MPTCP communication in a satellite network with a user terminal ([0042] Hong).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478