Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Specification does not describe for the phrases "final first" and "final second" In claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. since the specification does not describe for the phrases "final first" and "final second" In claim 16.
Further, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112
(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly
point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a
joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the
applicant), regards as the invention.
claim 16 defines a display panel (or an apparatus or device) with no "means for" or "element" or "module" in claim language.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12131495. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims features of instant application is recited by claims features of the patent.
Instant application claims.
1. An initial display substrate, comprising: a product region and a to-be-processed region at a periphery of the product region, the to-be-processed region comprising a plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions which are respectively at a plurality of corners of the initial display substrate, each of the plurality of corners comprising two major corner sides whose extending directions intersect with each other, at least one processing rounded corner region of the plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions comprising a first positioning sub-region and two second positioning sub-regions, the two major corner sides respectively defining outer edges of the two second positioning sub-regions, and the first positioning sub-region being between the two second positioning sub-regions; a plurality of first shielding blocks in the first positioning sub-region, each first shielding block having an arc shape protruding towards a direction facing away from the product region, and the plurality of first shielding blocks being arranged in parallel at intervals; and a plurality of second shielding blocks in each of the two second positioning sub-regions, wherein a shape of at least one of the second shielding blocks is not exactly the same as that of the first shielding block.
2. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second shielding blocks are arranged in a periodic pattern different from a pattern of shielding blocks in a region of the to-be-processed region other than the plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions.
3. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein in the two second positioning sub-regions, the plurality of second shielding blocks comprise a plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks and a plurality of second rectangular shielding blocks, the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks are arranged along a corresponding major corner side and spaced apart from each other, at least one second rectangular shielding block are between adjacent two first rectangular shielding blocks of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks, a spacing between adjacent two first rectangular shielding blocks is smaller than a width of each of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks, and a width direction of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks is consistent with a direction of a major corner side corresponding to a second positioning sub-region where the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks are located.
4. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second rectangular shielding blocks are between adjacent ones of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks, and the plurality of second rectangular shielding blocks are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the corresponding major corner side and spaced apart from each other.
5. The initial display substrate of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks has a width between 40 μm and 60 μm and each of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks has a length between 100 μm and 200 μm.
6. The initial display substrate of claim 5, wherein a spacing between adjacent ones of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks is between 10 μm and 15 μm.
7. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first shielding blocks are arranged at equal intervals in a same first positioning sub-region.
8. The initial display substrate of claim 7, wherein a spacing between adjacent ones of the plurality of first shielding blocks is between 10 μm and 15 μm.
9. The initial display substrate of claim 7, wherein a pitch of the plurality of first shielding blocks is between 45 μm and 55 μm in a same first positioning sub-region.
10. The initial display substrate according to claim 1, wherein 5 to 10 first shielding blocks are provided in the same first positioning sub-region.
11. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the at least one to-be-processed rounded corner region further comprises an auxiliary shielding block arrangement sub-region between the first positioning sub-region and a vertex of the corresponding corner, and the auxiliary shielding block arrangement sub-region is provided with non-rectangular first auxiliary blocks.
12. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the corner of the initial display substrate further comprises two auxiliary corner edges with intersecting extension directions to form a positioning notch corner with a vertex protruding towards the product region at the corner of the initial display substrate, and the vertex of the positioning notch corner is an intersection of the two auxiliary corner edges.
13. The initial display substrate of claim 12, wherein the vertex of the positioning notch corner is within the first positioning sub-region, and the first shielding block outside the vertex of the positioning notch corner is divided into a first arc-shaped shielding block and a second arc-shaped shielding block by the positioning notch corner.
14. An initial display panel comprising an initial display substrate and an initial counter substrate aligned with and opposite to the initial display substrate, wherein the initial display substrate is the initial display substrate of claim 1.
15. A method of inspecting a display panel, wherein the display panel is a display panel obtained by removing a portion of the at least one to-be-processed rounded corner region of the to-be-processed region from the initial display substrate of claim 13 and removing a corresponding portion of the initial counter substrate, the method comprising: acquiring an image of the rounded corner region of the display panel; determining positions of remaining second shielding blocks in the image obtained by removing a portion of material of the plurality of second shielding blocks; determining a radius of an edge circular arc of the rounded corner region according to a position of one of the remaining second shielding blocks closest to the edge circular arc of the rounded corner region; and determining whether the rounded corner region is qualified or not according to the radius of the edge circular arc of the rounded corner region.
16. A display panel, comprising a display substrate and a counter substrate aligned with and opposite to the display substrate, the display substrate comprising: a display region and a peripheral region around the display region, the peripheral region comprising a plurality of rounded corner regions respectively at a plurality of corners of the display substrate, each of the plurality of corners comprising two major corner sides whose extending directions intersect, at least one of the plurality of rounded corner regions comprising a final first positioning sub-region and two final second positioning sub-regions, the two major corner sides respectively defining outer edges of the two final second positioning sub-regions, the final first positioning sub-region being between the two final second positioning sub-regions; at least one first shielding block in the final first positioning sub-region, wherein the at least one first shielding block having an arc shape protruding towards a direction facing away from the display region, and a radian of the at least one first shielding block being consistent with a radian of an edge circular arc of a corresponding one of the rounded corner regions; and a plurality of remaining second shielding blocks in the two final second positioning sub-regions, wherein a shape of at least one of the remaining second shielding blocks is not exactly the same as that of the first shielding block.
17. The display panel of claim 16, wherein the plurality of remaining second shielding blocks are arranged in a periodic pattern different from a pattern of shielding blocks in a region of the peripheral region other than the plurality of rounded corner regions.
Reference Patent claims.
1. An initial display substrate, comprising: a product region and a to-be-processed region at a periphery of the product region, a portion of the to-be-processed region being to be removed during a cutting of the initial display panel, the to-be-processed region comprising a plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions which are respectively at a plurality of corners of the initial display substrate, each of the plurality of corners comprising two major corner sides whose extending directions intersect with each other, at least one processing rounded corner region of the plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions comprising a first positioning sub-region and two second positioning sub-regions, the two major corner sides respectively defining outer edges of the two second positioning sub-regions, and the first positioning sub-region being between the two second positioning sub-regions; a plurality of first shielding blocks in the first positioning sub-region, each first shielding block having an arc shape protruding towards a direction facing away from the product region, and the plurality of first shielding blocks being arranged in parallel at intervals, the plurality of first shielding blocks being configured to determine whether the cutting of the initial display panel meets precision requirement after the initial display panel is cut; and a plurality of second shielding blocks in each of the two second positioning sub-regions, the plurality of second shielding blocks being arranged in a periodic pattern different from a pattern of shielding blocks in a region of the to-be-processed region other than the plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions, the plurality of second shielding blocks being configured to determine a radius of an edge circular arc of a rounded corner obtained by the cutting of the initial display panel.
2. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein in the two second positioning sub-regions, the plurality of second shielding blocks comprise a plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks and a plurality of second rectangular shielding blocks, the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks are arranged along a corresponding major corner side and spaced apart from each other, at least one second rectangular shielding block are between adjacent two first rectangular shielding blocks of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks, a spacing between adjacent two first rectangular shielding blocks is smaller than a width of each of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks, and a width direction of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks is consistent with a direction of a major corner side corresponding to a second positioning sub-region where the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks are located.
3. The initial display substrate of claim 2, wherein the plurality of second rectangular shielding blocks are between adjacent ones of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks, and the plurality of second rectangular shielding blocks are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the corresponding major corner side and spaced apart from each other.
4. The initial display substrate of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks has a width between 40 μm and 60 μm and each of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks has a length between 100 μm and 200 μm.
5. The initial display substrate of claim 4, wherein a spacing between adjacent ones of the plurality of first rectangular shielding blocks is between 10 μm and 15 μm.
6. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first shielding blocks are arranged at equal intervals in a same first positioning sub-region.
7. The initial display substrate of claim 6, wherein a spacing between adjacent ones of the plurality of first shielding blocks is between 10 μm and 15 μm.
8. The initial display substrate of claim 6, wherein a pitch of the plurality of first shielding blocks is between 45 μm and 55 μm in a same first positioning sub-region.
9. The initial display substrate according to claim 1, wherein 5 to 10 first shielding blocks are provided in the same first positioning sub-region.
10. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the at least one to-be-processed rounded corner region further comprises an auxiliary shielding block arrangement sub-region between the first positioning sub-region and a vertex of the corresponding corner, and the auxiliary shielding block arrangement sub-region is provided with non-rectangular first auxiliary blocks.
11. The initial display substrate of claim 1, wherein the corner of the initial display substrate further comprises two auxiliary corner edges with intersecting extension directions to form a positioning notch corner with a vertex protruding towards the product region at the corner of the initial display substrate, and the vertex of the positioning notch corner is an intersection of the two auxiliary corner edges.
12. The initial display substrate of claim 11, wherein the vertex of the positioning notch corner is within the first positioning sub-region, and the first shielding block outside the vertex of the positioning notch corner is divided into a first arc-shaped shielding block and a second arc-shaped shielding block by the positioning notch corner.
13. An initial display panel comprising an initial display substrate and an initial counter substrate aligned with and opposite to the initial display substrate, wherein the initial display substrate is the initial display substrate of claim 1.
14. A method of inspecting a display panel, wherein the display panel is a display panel obtained by removing a portion of the at least one to-be-processed rounded corner region of the to-be-processed region from the initial display substrate of claim 13 and removing a corresponding portion of the initial counter substrate, the method comprising: acquiring an image of the rounded corner region of the display panel; determining positions of remaining second shielding blocks in the image obtained by removing a portion of material of the plurality of second shielding blocks; determining a radius of an edge circular arc of the rounded corner region according to a position of one of the remaining second shielding blocks closest to the edge circular arc of the rounded corner region; and determining whether the rounded corner region is qualified or not according to the radius of the edge circular arc of the rounded corner region.
15. A display panel, comprising a display substrate and a counter substrate aligned with and opposite to the display substrate, the display substrate comprising: a display region and a peripheral region around the display region, the peripheral region comprising a plurality of rounded corner regions respectively at a plurality of corners of the display substrate, each of the plurality of corners comprising two major corner sides whose extending directions intersect, at least one of the plurality of rounded corner regions comprising a final first positioning sub-region and two final second positioning sub-regions, the two major corner sides respectively defining outer edges of the two final second positioning sub-regions, the final first positioning sub-region being between the two final second positioning sub-regions; at least one first shielding block in the final first positioning sub-region, wherein the at least one first shielding block having an arc shape protruding towards a direction facing away from the display region, and a radian of the at least one first shielding block being consistent with a radian of an edge circular arc of a corresponding one of the rounded corner regions; and a plurality of remaining second shielding blocks in the two final second positioning sub-regions, the plurality of remaining second shielding blocks being arranged in a periodic pattern different from a pattern of shielding blocks in a region of the peripheral region other than the plurality of rounded corner regions, the plurality of remaining second shielding blocks being configured to determine a radius of the edge circular arc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10,14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 20100033191 A1.
Claim 1, recites “An initial display substrate, comprising: a product region and a to-be-processed region at a periphery of the product region, the to-be-processed region comprising a plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions which are respectively at a plurality of corners of the initial display substrate, each of the plurality of corners comprising two major corner sides whose extending directions intersect with each other, at least one processing rounded corner region of the plurality of to-be-processed rounded corner regions comprising a first positioning sub-region and two second positioning sub-regions, the two major corner sides respectively defining outer edges of the two second positioning sub-regions, and the first positioning sub-region being between the two second positioning sub-regions; a plurality of first shielding blocks in the first positioning sub-region, each first shielding block having an arc shape protruding towards a direction facing away from the product region, and the plurality of first shielding blocks being arranged in parallel at intervals; and a plurality of second shielding blocks in each of the two second positioning sub-regions, wherein a shape of at least one of the second shielding blocks is not exactly the same as that of the first shielding block”. , is non-functional descriptive data.
Non-functional descriptive data has no weight and does not distinguish over the prior art because the difference is in the structure of the data.
Lee et al. discloses (see "[0121] The ground plate 330 receives the display panel 30 to be inspected, and exposes only a surface of the inspected display panel 30 through which images are displayed. The ground plate 330 has a substantially tray shape, but alternatively the ground plate 330 may have various kinds of shapes, such as corresponding to the shape of the display panel 30. The position of the ground plate 330 is fixed by the fixing element 311 disposed on the plate 310, so that the size of the ground plate 330 is smaller than that of the plate 310”, also see “[0135].
Claim 1 is anticipated by Lee et al. by Lee et al. because non-functional descriptive data does not distinguish over the prior art as the difference is in the structure of the data. Regarding claims 2-4-10,14 and 16-17 see the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 3,11-13 and 15 would be in allowable condition, if applicant overcome the above rejections.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of Lee et al. US 20100033191, failed to teach or suggest for features/limitations of claims ,11-13 and 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asai et al. US11526062, is cited because the reference teaches “ As a result, the inspection pad 80 can be formed on the display substrate 1 while maintaining the width of the FPC 2 in the X1 direction and the X2 direction. The inspection pad 80 can be used to inspect the display substrate 1” col.7 Lines 34-38.
Gu et al. US 20180299724, is cited because the reference teaches “[0004] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a display panel and a display device, and the embodiments of the present disclosure can effectively prevent the static electricity to enter into the inside of the display panel and thus reduce the defects caused by static electricity”.
Shin et al. US 20130088672, is cited because the reference teaches “[0003] The present disclosure relates to a liquid crystal display device and a method for manufacturing the same, and more particularly, to a liquid crystal display device of a structure for improving black uniformity”.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALI BAYAT whose telephone number is (571)272-7444. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Bee can be reached at 571-2705183. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALI BAYAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677