DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benedetto (US 2023/0213546).
Claim 1: Benedetto discloses An impact detection system, comprising: processing circuitry comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions (fig 1, para 0009), that when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to:
process positioning data to determine a position of a portable device within an interactive environment (para 0013-0017)
compare the position of the portable device to a location of a component within the interactive environment (para 0013-0017)
identify an occurrence of an impact event based on the position of the portable device and the location of the boundary (para 0013-0017) and
update an impact profile for the portable device based on the occurrence of the impact event (para 0013-0017).
Claim 3: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to update the impact profile for the component by adding the impact event to a tracked quantity of occurrences of impact events associated with the component (para 0013-0020)
Claim 4: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to: compare the number of impact events associated with the component to a threshold for the component; and provide an alert in response to the number of impact events associated with the component meeting or exceeding a threshold for the component (para 0013-0020)
Claim 5: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to instruct the component to provide the alert as an audible alarm, a visual alarm, or both (para 0013-0020)
Claim 6: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to: input the number of impact events associated with the component into a machine learning algorithm to determine whether maintenance should be performed for the component; and provide an alert in response to determining that the maintenance should be performed for the component (para 0013-0020)
Claim 7: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to: process sensor data to identify a possible impact event at the component; and in response to identifying the possible impact event at the component: process the positioning data to determine the position of the portable device within the interactive environment; compare the position of the portable device to the location of the component within the interactive environment; identify the occurrence of the impact event based on the position of the portable device and the location of the component; and update the impact profile for the component based on the occurrence of the impact event (para 0013-0020)
Claim 8: Benedetto discloses the sensor data comprises motion data indicative of unexpected motion of the component (para 0013-0020)
Claim 9: Benedetto discloses the component comprises a display, a speaker, a light source, a camera, a ride vehicle, a physical interactive element, or any combination thereof (para 0013-0020)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10-13, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benedetto (US 2023/0213546) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yeh (US 2022/0317782).
Claim 2: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to: determine a region of the portable device that contacts the boundary based on the position and the orientation of the portable device within the interactive environment during the occurrence of the impact event (para 0014-0018); and update the impact profile for the portable device to record the region of the portable device that contacts the boundary (para 0014-0018)
Benedetto does not specifically disclose the instructions to process the positioning data to determine an orientation of the portable device within the interactive environment.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yeh discloses a system for monitoring the position of user devices within a preset region wherein the system processes the positioning data to determine an orientation of the portable device within the interactive environment (para 0037-0039).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Yeh in order to detect and track the position of the mobile user device (Yeh para 0005, 0006, 0037)
Claim 10: Benedetto discloses the use of motion and elevation sensors to determine location of the device (para 0013-0017). Benedetto does not specifically disclose the component comprises an ultra-wideband anchor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yeh discloses a system for monitoring the position of user devices within a preset region wherein the component comprises an ultra-wideband anchor. (para 0037, 0039-0041)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Yeh in order to detect and track the position of the mobile user device (Yeh para 0005, 0006, 0037)
Claim 11: Yeh discloses the portable device is configured to facilitate interactions with interactive elements in the interactive environment, and the portable device comprises a handheld targeting device, a wand, a toy, a figurine, an article of clothing, a wearable accessory, augmented reality (AR) glasses, virtual reality (VR) glasses, or any combination thereof (fig 1, para 0005, 0006, 0022, 0037, 0039-0041)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Yeh in order to detect and track the position of the mobile user device (Yeh para 0005, 0006, 0037)
Claim 12: Benedetto discloses the use of motion and elevation sensors to determine location of the device (para 0013-0017). Benedetto does not specifically disclose the positioning data comprises a signal generated by ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yeh discloses a system for monitoring the position of user devices within a preset region wherein the positioning data comprises a signal generated by ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry. (para 0037, 0039-0041)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Yeh in order to detect and track the position of the mobile user device (Yeh para 0005, 0006, 0037)
Claim 13: Benedetto discloses the use of motion and elevation sensors to determine location of the device (para 0013-0017). Benedetto does not specifically disclose UWB readers in the interactive environment that are configured to read UWB tags in the portable device to generate the positioning data.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yeh discloses a system for monitoring the position of user devices within a preset region wherein the positioning data comprises a signal generated by ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry and UWB readers in the interactive environment that are configured to read UWB tags in the portable device to generate the positioning data (fig 1, para 0022, 0037, 0039-0041)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Yeh in order to detect and track the position of the mobile user device (Yeh para 0005, 0006, 0037)
Claim 19: Bendetto discloses A method of operating an impact detection system, the method comprising: processing positioning data generated by circuitry to identify an occurrence of an impact event for a component; updating an impact profile for the component based on the occurrence of the impact event; and assessing the updated impact profile for the component to identify maintenance operations due for the component (para 0013-0020)
Bendetto does not specifically disclose the circuitry being ultra-wideband
In a similar field of endeavor, Yeh discloses a system for monitoring the position of user devices within a preset region wherein the circuitry comprises ultra-wideband circuitry (para 0037, 0039-0041)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Yeh in order to detect and track the position of the mobile user device (Yeh para 0005, 0006, 0037)
Claim 20: Bendetto discloses processing the positioning data generated by the circuitry to determine an unexpected movement of the component, a respective position of a portable device, or any combination thereof to identify the occurrence of the impact event for the component (para 0013-0020)
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 2022/0317782) in view of Benedetto (US 2023/0213546).
Claim 14: Yeh discloses An interactive system, comprising: a portable device configured to be carried by a user through an interactive environment, wherein the portable devices comprises an array of ultra-wideband (UWB) tags; one or more sensors, or both; wherein the data is generated by UWB anchors based on communication with the array of UWB tags, by the one or more sensors, or both (fig 1, para 0005, 0006, 0022, 0037, 0039-0041);
Further, Benedetto discloses a control system comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions, that when executed by the control system, cause the control system to:
process data to determine occurrence of an impact event at the component, update an impact profile for the component based on the occurrence of the impact event; and assess the updated impact profile for the component to identify maintenance operations due for the component (para 0013-0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention of Yeh such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Benedetto in order to monitor for the impact and damage of the portable device (Benedetto para 0013-0020)
Claim 15: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the control system, cause the control system to: process positioning data to determine a position of a portable device in the interactive environment; and determine the impact event occurred via contact between the component and the portable device based on the position of the portable device relative to a location of the component in the interactive environment during the occurrence of the impact event (Benedetto para 0013-0020)
Claim 16: Yeh discloses the component comprises the UWB tags, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the control system, cause the control system to: determine the location of the component in the interactive environment based on the data, wherein the data is generated by UWB anchors based on communication with the array of UWB tags (fig 1, para 0005, 0006, 0022, 0037, 0039-0041);
Claim 17: Benedetto discloses the instructions, when executed by the control system, cause the control system to: access a map of the interactive environment to determine the location of the component in the interactive environment (para 0013-0020)
Claim 18: Benedetto discloses the component comprises a display, a speaker, a light source, a camera, a ride vehicle, a physical interactive element, an ultra-wideband anchor, or any combination thereof (para 0013-0020)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited prior art comprises the state of the art in interactive environment collision detection
For example:
Wang (US 2019/0043259), Taylor (US 9779605), Bond (US 10535199), Chiarella (US 2020/0103521) disclose virtual reality or augmented reality devices having preset boundaries in an environment and detect collision of a user device with those boundaries.
Zheng (US 2019/0357618), Wilson (US 2018/0054502) disclose drop detection and impact sensing devices for cellular phones or bicycle helmets.
Nguyen (US 2019/0340909) discloses an industrial safety system for detecting surroundings of a device equipped user and having a predetermined boundary around the user for collision avoidance
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648