DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freda et al. (US 2020/0396654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freda discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (e.g. 204) in a wireless communication system (e.g. fig. 2), the method comprising: identifying a failure of a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume (paragraph [0003]; [0080]; [0134]; [0187]-[0189]; [0192]-[0194]; [0198]-[0201]; [0203]-[0204]; and so on, illustrate determining failure of RRC connection re-establishment or resume); generating first information (paragraph [0199]; [0213]; [0130]-[0134]; and so on, explaining generating information) including a synchronization signal block (SSB) index associated with a random access performed for the RRC connection resume (paragraph [0130]-[0134]; [0192]-[0197], the information is related to SSB associated with random access or RACH), second information associated with an uplink carrier for the random access performed for the RRC connection resume (paragraph [0003]; [0077]-[0082]; [0084]; [0117]; [0126]; [0129]-[0130]; [0134]; [0198]-[0201]; [0203]-[0204]; [0219]-[0221]; [0223]; [0251], describing information related to SUL or NUL for RACH performed for the RRC re-establishment), and third information indicating whether a contention was detected in the random access or not (paragraph [0147]-[0151]; [0191]-[0197]; and etc., illustrating the determination of contention random or free); and transmitting, to a base station, a first message for reporting the failure of the RRC connection resume, the first message including the first information, the second information, and the third information (paragraph [0003]; [0180]-[0184]; [0211]; [0251]; and so on, explaining the transmission of a report message of information regarding the failure of the RRC connection re-establishment).
Regarding claim 5, Freda discloses a method performed by a base station (e.g. 202) in a wireless communication system (e.g. fig. 2), the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (204), a first message for reporting a failure of a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume (paragraph [0003]-[0004]; [0211]-[0213]; [0151]; [0251]; [0130]; [0194]; [0199]; and so on); and identifying the failure of the RRC connection resume based on first information, second information, and third information included in the first message (paragraph [0003]; [0080]; [0130]-[0134]; [0187]-[0189]; [0192]-[0194]; [0198]-[0201]; [0203]-[0204]; [0211]-[0213]; [0151]; and so on), wherein the first information includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index associated with a random access performed for the RRC connection resume (paragraph [0130]-[0134]; [0192]-[0197]), wherein the second information is associated with an uplink carrier for the random access performed for the RRC connection resume (paragraph [0003]; [0077]-[0082]; [0084]; [0117]; [0126]; [0129]-[0130]; [0134]; [0198]-[0201]; [0203]-[0204]; [0219]-[0221]; [0223]; [0251]), and wherein the third information indicates whether a contention was detected in the random access or not (paragraph [0003]; [0180]-[0184]; [0211]; [0251]; and so on).
Regarding claim 9, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding user equipment (UE), and rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 13, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 5. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 5 in order to define the corresponding base station, and rejection to claim 5 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, 6, 10, and 14, Freda discloses wherein the uplink carrier includes a normal uplink (NUL) carrier or a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier (paragraph [0003]; [0077]-[0082]; [0084]; [0117]; [0126]; [0129]-[0130]; [0134]; [0198]-[0201]; [0203]-[0204]; [0219]-[0221]; [0223]; [0251]).
Regarding claim 4, 8, 12, and 16, Freda discloses wherein the first information, the second information, and the third information are included in connection establishment failure report information of the first message (paragraph [0003]-[0004]; [0211]-[0213]; [0151]; [0251]; [0130]; [0194]; [0199]; and so on).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of Tang (US 2020/0067762 A1).
Regarding claim 3, 7, 11, and 15, Freda comprising receiving, from the base station, a message (paragraph [0003]-[0007]; [0033]-[0038]; and so on). Freda does not further disclose comprising receiving, from the base station, a second message for requesting a report of the failure of the RRC connection resume, wherein the first message is transmitted as a response to the second message.
Tang teaches comprising receiving, from the base station, a second message for requesting a report of the failure of the RRC connection resume, wherein the first message is transmitted as a response to the second message (paragraph [0075]-[0077]; [0082]-[0089]; [0124]-[0132]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprising receiving, from the base station, a second message for requesting a report of the failure of the RRC connection resume, wherein the first message is transmitted as a response to the second message as taught by Tang into Freda in order to improve quality of service and resource utilization.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461