DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by DeRuntz (US 20060206057 A1).
Re Claim 1, DeRuntz discloses a medication injection method(abstract, Fig. 1-18), wherein a predication injection pen (20, ¶0035) comprises a housing (60, Fig. 5); a dose set knob (68) comprising at least one internal thread (152, Fig. 6, ¶0054) and being rotatable with respect to said housing during dose setting to set a desired injection dose ( Fig, 14, Fig. 16, ¶0052); a leadscrew (62) provided with a thread element (84, ¶0044) and advanceable in a first direction (direction toward injection, ¶0044), said first direction being that which expels a medication (¶0044) from a cartridge (50, Fig. 2); a driver (64) selectively rotatable with said dose set knob to rotate said leadscrew and advance said leadscrew in said first direction during dose injection (¶0046); a setback member (110) rotationally fixed to said driver for preventing relative rotation therebetween (the rotation is locked due to 102, 122, ¶0050); and a dose stop member (66 and/or 88, ¶0054, ¶0055) movably engaged with said dose set knob (¶0054-¶0055), the method comprising: rotating said dose set knob with respect to said setback member for setting the desired injection dose of medication (¶0059), said dose stop member is movable relative to said dose set knob when said dose set knob is rotated relative to said setback member (¶0055); and rotationally fixing said dose set knob with respect to said setback member for injection of the desired dose of medication (¶0054), said dose stop member is not movable relative to said dose set knob during said injection (Fig. 14, 15), wherein movement of said dose stop member with respect to said dose set knob limits said setting of the desired injection dose that is greater than an injectable volume of medication remaining in the cartridge (¶0044).
Re Claim 2, DeRuntz discloses wherein said dose stop member is rotationally movable with respect to said dose set knob when said dose set knob is rotated relative to said setback member (Fig. 10-12, ¶0055) and said dose stop member is rotationally coupled to the setback member (as 107 coupled to 174, Fig. 7, ¶0049).
Re Claim 3, DeRuntz discloses wherein said dose stop member comprises a partial nut situated on said setback member between a pair of longitudinally extending ribs provided on said setback member (ribs 107, Fig. 7, Fig. 8).
Re Claim 4, DeRuntz discloses wherein said dose stop member is rotationally coupled to the setback member via engagement between corresponding ridges provided on an internal surface of said dose stop member (174) and an external surface of said setback member (107, Fig. 8).
Re Claim 5, DeRuntz discloses wherein said dose stop member comprises a ring link structure situated on said setback member (174, Fig. 7, Fig. 8).
Re Claim 6, DeRuntz discloses wherein the axial movement of said dose stop member is limited when a first edge of the dose stop member (edge of one tooth of 170 and or 174) abuts a fixed stop on said dose set knob or on said setback member (107, Fig. 8).
Re Claim 7, DeRuntz discloses wherein said dose stop member is rotationally coupled to said dose set knob (Fig. 7-8), and said dose stop member is rotationally movable with respect to said setback member when said dose set knob is rotated relative to said setback member (Fig. 14-15).
Re Claim 8, DeRuntz discloses wherein said dose stop member comprises a partial nut including internal threads engaging an external thread of said setback member (ribs 107, Fig. 7, Fig. 8).
Re Claim 9, DeRuntz discloses wherein said does set knob comprises two longitudinally extending ribs (154, ¶0054) engaging corresponding edges of said dose stop element to rotationally couple said dose stop element to said dose set knob (114, ¶0054).
Re Claim 10, DeRuntz discloses wherein said medication injection pen further comprises a click element (98, ¶0049) positioned between said dose set knob and said setback member (Fig. 6, Fig. 15), said click element comprising a first arm member engaging an internal surface of said dose set knob (107, 106), and a second arm member engaging an external surface of said setback member (94 that engage with 102, 122, Fig. 7-8), the method further comprising producing an audible signal when said dose set knob is rotated with respect to said housing (¶0049).
Re Claim 11, DeRuntz discloses wherein said internal surface of said dose set knob (154, ¶0054) and said external surface of said setback member (114, ¶0054), each comprise a plurality of teeth, and one of said first and second arms slides over ridges of said plurality of teeth of said setback member or ridges of said plurality of teeth of said dose set knob to produce the audible signal at each ridge (¶0054).
Re Claim 12, DeRuntz discloses wherein said plurality of teeth of said dose set knob are configured to allow relative rotation between said dose set knob and said click element in a second rotational direction (¶0049), and said plurality of teeth of said setback member are configured to allow relative rotation between said setback member and said click element in an opposite direction to the second rotational direction (¶0044).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783