DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Islam et al. (US 20200057218; “Islam”).
Regarding claim 1, Islam teaches a photonics package, comprising: a substrate 412 (e.g., fig. 4B) having an opening (e.g., fig. 4B; ¶ 0039) therein; a photonics die coupled to the substrate, the photonics die 402 having a top and a bottom (e.g., fig. 4B), and the photonics die having an optical interconnect therein (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038), the optical interconnect exposed at the bottom of the photonics die and overlapping with the opening in the substrate (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039); and a die 202 coupled to the top of the photonics die 402, the die outside of a footprint of the optical interconnect in the photonics die (e.g., fig. 4B; ASICS 202 is outside footprint of where light is transmitted from element 402 from the lens 410).
Regarding claim 2, Islam teaches photonics package of claim 1, further comprising: an optical coupler 410 in the opening in the substrate 412, the optical coupler coupled to the optical interconnect in the photonics die (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 8, Islam teaches photonics package of claim 1, further comprising: a heat spreader (e.g., fig. 4B see heat spreader in fig. 4B analogous to heat spreader 510in fig. 5) over the substrate 412, the photonics die 402 , and the die/ASICS 202.
Regarding claim 2, Islam teaches a photonics system, comprising: a board 404 (e.g., fig. 4B); and a photonics package coupled to the board 404 (e.g., fig. 4B), the photonics package comprising: a substrate 412 having an opening therein (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039); a photonics die coupled to the substrate, the photonics die having a top and a bottom, and the photonics die having an optical interconnect therein, the optical interconnect exposed at the bottom of the photonics die and overlapping with the opening in the substrate (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039); and a die coupled to the top of the photonics die, the die outside of a footprint of the optical interconnect in the photonics die (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 12, Islam teaches the photonics system of claim 11, further comprising: an optical coupler in the opening in the substrate (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039), the optical coupler coupled to the optical interconnect in the photonics die (e.g., fig. 4B, ¶ 0038-0039).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9-10, 13-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874