DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1–20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,325 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims represent substantially overlapping subject matter particularly with respect to the feature found novel (quantity of significant bits informing shift of difference between luma values).
Claims 1–20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,595,669 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims represent substantially overlapping subject matter particularly with respect to the feature found novel (quantity of significant bits informing shift of difference between luma values).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by a prior art DVD or similar. Claim 20 is a product-by-process claim. Such claims must be structurally distinguishable over the prior art without regard to the process by which they are made. In this case, because there is no patentable weight given to the “plurality of operations” that generates the CRM, a prior art DVD or similar manufacture reads on the claimed manufacture. Accordingly, claim 20 is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Allowable Subject Matter
Subject to either cancellation or amendment to claim 20 and subject to filing a terminal disclaimer, claims 1–19 are indicated allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Examiner was unable to find a teaching or suggestion in the prior art drawn to Applicant’s feature of deriving CCLM parameters “based on a quantity of significant bits of the first difference” between minimum and maximum luma as further explained below. While several relevant prior art references are cited herein, the closest prior art is (1) Bross et al., “Versatile Video Coding (Draft 3),” JVET-L1001-v5, 12th Meeting: Macao, CN, 3–12 Oct. 2018, actual version appears to be v9 and uploaded (publicly available) on December 10, 2018 (herein “Bross”)1 and (2) Hsu et al., “Simplified Parameter Calculation for Chroma LM Mode,” 9th Meeting: Geneva, CH, JCT-VC-I0166, Apr-May 2012.
Bross’s Section 8.2.4.2.8 teaches CCLM and specifically teaches in numbered step 8 that the alpha parameter (a) of the linear prediction model is calculated based on maxC and minC (Applicant’s first and second chroma values) and based on a variable named, “div” (perhaps Applicant’s “second difference”).2 Section 8.2.4.2.8 further teaches that “div” is based on another variable, “diff,”3 which itself is based on the difference between maxY and minY (Applicant’s first difference)4 as well as “add” and “shift” parameters wherein those parameters are based on bit depth (Applicant’s “first preset bit depth”).5 However, as close as the prior art is to the recited features, Examiner was unable to determine from a prima facie analysis of Bross whether the reference was providing a teaching, perhaps in the form of an inexplicit intermediate value, regarding Applicant’s feature, “based on a quantity of significant bits.” In addition, Examiner was unable to find a teaching or suggestion in other analogous art drawn to Applicant’s feature of deriving CCLM parameters “based on a quantity of significant bits of the first difference” between minimum and maximum luma. Accordingly, the claims are allowed. Examiner notes that should Applicant’s review of the cited portions of Bross and the corresponding explanation above suggest Examiner is misunderstanding the reference or how it may be relevant to Applicant’s claimed features, Examiner would appreciate such explanation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al., “Enhanced Cross-Component Linear Model for Chroma Intra-Prediction in Video Coding,” IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, Vol. 27, No. 8 August 2018. Section II explains that the division operation for obtaining the offset (β) parameter uses a shift to avoid the computationally expensive division operation.
Jiang et al., “CE3: Multiple neighbor-based linear model (Test 5.3.1),” JVET-L0388r1, JVET 12th Meeting: Macao, CN 3–12 October 2018.
Wang et al., “CE3: Adaptive multiple cross-component linear model (Test 5.9.1),” JVET-L0419, JVET 12th Meeting: Macao, CN 3–12 October 2018.
Laroche (US 2020/0288135 A1) teaches cross-component prediction (CCP) can be used between luma and chroma and chroma and chroma (e.g. ¶ 0006), teaches the derived linear parameters are alpha and beta (e.g. ¶ 0008), and teaches taking an average of the reference samples to derive a threshold for grouping reference samples (¶ 0174).
Slim (US 10,477,205 B1) teaches inter-component prediction (col. 1) and teaches representative values as derived as an average.
Ikai (US 2019/0327466 A1) teaches multiple CCLM modes and averaging the reference samples (¶ 0295).
Zhang (US 2018/0205946 A1) teaches grouping CCLM reference samples according to thresholds and averages (¶ 0108).
Zhang (US 2018/0176594 A1) teaches downsampling for CCLM and different positions and either horizontally or vertically to match direction and phase of the chroma samples (Figs. 11–15; ¶ 0082). It also teaches evaluating whether top or left samples are available (¶ 0077).
Zhang et al., “Multi-model Based Cross-component Linear Model Chroma Intra-Prediction for Video Coding,” VCIP 2017, Dec. 10–13, 2017.
Zhang et al., “Chroma Intra Prediction Based on Inter-Channel Correlation for HEVC,” IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, Vol. 23, No. 1, January 2014.
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481
1 Obtained at the following website which lists the version as version 9, https://jvet-experts.org/
2 Section 8.2.4.2.8, Eq. 8-158
3 Section 8.2.4.2.8, Eq. 8-157
4 Section 8.2.4.2.8, Eq. 8-155
5 Section 8.2.4.2.8, Eq. 8-154 and 8-153